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This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.
Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6.

GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice
a month and contains the following information
submitted for publication by a state agency:

(1)  temporary rules;

(2)  text of proposed rules;

(3)  text of permanent rules approved by the Rules
Review Commission;

(4)  emergency rules

(5)  Executive Orders of the Governor;

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney
General concerning changes in laws affecting
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by
G.S. 120-30.9H; and

(7)  other information the Codifier of Rules
determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME: In computing time in the schedule,
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register
is not included. The last day of the period so computed
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State
holiday, in which event the period runs until the
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or
State holiday.

FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE: The Register is published on the first and
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for
employees mandated by the State Human Resources
Commission. If the first or fifteenth of any month is a
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees,
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be
published on the day of that month after the first or
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for
State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING: The last day for filing for any
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees.

NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing
date shall be at least 15 days but not later than 60 days
after the date a notice of the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is
published.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW
COMMISSION: The Commission shall review a rule
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month
by the last day of the next month.



EXECUTIVE ORDERS

State of North Carolina

JOSH STEIN
GOVERNOR

June 27, 2025
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 17
EXTENDING THE FOOD SAFETY AND DEFENSE TASK FORCE

WHEREAS, the Food Safety and Defense Task Force (““Task Force™) is a public body
originally established by executive order on September 12, 2003 and most recently
reestablished by Executive Order No. 259 (May 24, 2022); and

WHEREAS, the Task Force was first established by executive order on September 12,
2003 to identify. evaluate, and address vulnerabilities in North Carolina’s food-supply system
and agricultural industry; and

WHEREAS, the Task Force is comprised of state and local government officers and staff,
academic professionals. and agricultural industry stakeholders: and

WHEREAS, the Task Force has assisted North Carolina in its navigation of multiple
wide-spread food safety emergencies and food-borne illness outbreaks in the last few decades;
and

WHEREAS, for example. in 2007 the Task Force, in collaboration with other state
agencies. helped remove more than 30.000 recalled canned food products from circulation
and prevented the spread of botulism in the state; and

WHEREAS, the United States Food and Drug Administration (“"FDA™) extensively
reviewed the Task Force's response efforts during the 2007 recall. which have since become
a model for similar recall efforts nationwide; and

WHEREAS, the Task Force also provided vital assistance to the North Carolina
Department of Health and Human Services (“DHHS™) during the adoption of the 2009 and
2017 FDA Food Codes, which have significantly enhanced and improved the State's retail food
safety inspection process; and

WHEREAS, the Task Force coordinated recall efforts in the 2021 salmonella outbreak
linked to onions as well as the apple cinnamon fruit puree recall for lead in 2023; and

WHEREAS, the Task Force organized tabletop exercises for emergencies in both
2024 and 2025 and provided coordination for food safety efforts during Hurricane Helene in
western North Carolina: and

WHEREAS, the Task Force's emergency response plans have been incorporated into
the North Carolina Emergency Operations Plan: and

WHEREAS, the Task Force continues to support necessary updates to food safety
regulations based on available science and continues to provide training and support to
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

personnel across the food-supply system; and

WHEREAS, since its inception in 2003, the Task Force has subsequently been
extended or reestablished by executive orders issued by previous Governors; and

WHEREAS, the most recent Executive Order directing the continuation of the Task
Force's important work expires on June 30, 2025.

NOW, THEREFORE, pursuant to the authority wested in me as Govemor by the
Constitution and the laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1. Extending Executive Order No. 259

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 147-16.2, Executive Order No. 259, which reestablished the
Task Force, is hereby extended as modified below. 5

Section 2, Purpose

The purpose of the Task Force is to coordinate interagency and public-private
collaborative efforts to enhance protection of the State's food-supply system and agricultural
industry.
Section 3. Meml} hi

a. The Governor shall appoint members to the Task Force as follows:

The Secretary of DHHS, or designee;

N o=

The Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality (*DEQ™),
or designee;

3. The Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, or designee;

4. The Commissioner of Agriculture, or designee;

5. Representatives from the University of North Carolina System; and

6. Representatives from other government agencies, private industry, and other public

members associated with the State's food-supply system or agricultural industry
(representatives from this Section 3(a)(6) collectively referred to as “Appointed
Members™).

b. The Secretary of DHHS, the Secretary of DEQ, and the Commissioner of Agriculture or
their respective designees, shall serve as Co-Chairs of the Task Force.

Spcfiig.4. Wizt

The Task Force shall meet at least six (6) times a year. A simple majority of the members
shall constitute a quorum for the purpose of transacting business.

Section 5. C it

The Task Force may establish such committees or other work groups as necessary to carry
out its duties.

Section 6. Duti
The Task Force, by and through its committees, shall have the following duties:

a. Conduct focused studies on the vulnerability of the State's food system and
make recommendations that would, if implemented, accomplish or address the
following:

1. Improve the safety and defense of the food system by, among other things, reducing
the potential threat and impact of terrorism on the food system; and
2. Improve food safety and defense mitigation and response plans; and
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

3. Implement and coordinate the training for key stakeholders in the State’s food
supply system that incorporates the findings from these studies.

b. Recommend legislation and policy aimed at improving the ability of state departments and
agencies to protect the State's food supply and agricultural industry base, including
legislation that would protect sensitive and proprietary information pertaining to the
State's food-supply system, safety and defense vulnerability data, and defense plans
that, if compromised, would increase the State's food-supply system's exposure to
criminal or terrorist acts.

c. Recommend necessary adjustments to improve the ability and capacity of state
departments and agencies to protect the State's food-supply system and agricultural
industry.

d. Submit an annual report to the Governor no later than December 1% each year that
includes recommendations or proposals for changes in laws, rules, policies, and
programs that the Task Force determines are appropriate to enhance food satety and
defense in the state.

Secti 7. No Privs Rigl £ .

This Executive Order is not intended to create. and does not create, an individual right,
privilege or benefit, whether substantive or procedural, enforceable in law or in equity by any
party against the State of North Carolina, its agencies, departments, political subdivisions. or
other entities. or any other officers, employees, or agents thereof.

Section 8. Miscellaneous

a. The Task Force’s expenditures. if any. shall comply with state law and with the rules
and policies of the Office of State Budget and Management.

b. DHEHS shall provide administrative and staff support services to the Task Force.
Section 9. Effi 1 D ti

This Executive Order shall be effective immediately. It shall remain in effect until June
30, 2027, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 147-16.2, or until rescinded. whichever occurs first.

IN WITNESS WHEREOPF. | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great
Seal of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 27th day of
June in the year of our Lord two thousand and twenty-five.

Josh Syf: n
Governor

ATTEST:

Lltrreey 4. 71 20ldon
Rodney € Maddox
Chief Deputy Secretary of State
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IN ADDITION

North Carolina License and Theft Bureau

PUBLIC NOTICE

This serves as a notice pursuant to G.S. § 20-288 of a license application submission by a
manufacturer, factory branch, factory representative, distributor, distributor branch, or distributor
representative that has not been previously issued a license by the Division.

Applicant’s Name: KEYSTONE RV COMPANY
Applicant’s Address: 2642 HACKBERRY DRIVE
Application Date: 07102025

Names and titles of any individual listed on the application as an owner, partner, member or
officer of the applicant:

JEFFREY RUNELS- CEO

DAVID CHUPP - COO

ERIC A. MYER — VP OF FINANCE

JEREMY AVILA — VP OF MANUFACTURING

JERI EDWARDS — PRESIDENT OF MANUFACTURING QUALITY
GARETT CAROLUS - SENIOR VP OF SERVICE

MICHAEL FERRO — VP OF PURCHASING

NICHOLAS JOHNSON - VP OF MARKETING

BRADD GIGGY - VP OF ENGINEERING

ROBERT R. PETTIT — VP OF SUPPORT SERVICE

DAVID G. THOMAS — SENIOR VP OF ADMIN/GENERAL COUNSEL/ SECRETARY
COLLEEN ZUHL — TREASURER

CHRISTOPHER L. LAWRENCE — ASSISTANT TREASURER

DUTCHMEN MANUFACTURING & CROSSROADS RV — DIVISIONAL PRES — MICAH
AARON YOUNG

40:03

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

AUGUST 1, 2025

270



IN ADDITION

North Carolina License and Theft Bureau
PUBLIC NOTICE

This serves as a notice pursuant to G.S. 8 20-288 of a license application submission by a
manufacturer, factory branch, factory representative, distributor, distributor branch, or
distributor representative that has not been previously issued a license by the Division.

Applicant’s Name: LIVEWIRE EV, LLC

Applicant’s Address: 3700 W JUNEAU AVE., MILWAUKEE, W1 53208

Application Date: 07/09/2025

Names and titles of any individual listed on the application as an owner, partner, member

or officer of the applicant:

LIVEWIRE GROUP, INC, SOLE STOCKHOLDER
KARIM DONNEZ, MEMBER

ALLEN GERRARD, MEMBER

JOCHEN ZEITZ, MEMBER

BILL CORNOG, MEMBER

KJELL GRUNER, MEMBER

GLEN KOVAL, MEMBER

PAUL KRAUSE, MEMBER

LUKE MANSFILED, MEMBER

HIROMICHI MIZUNO, MEMBER

JONATHAN ROOT, MEMBER
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IN ADDITION

North Carolina License and Theft Bureau

PUBLIC NOTICE

This serves as a notice pursuant to G.S. § 20-288 of a license application submission by a
manufacturer, factory branch, factory representative, distributor, distributor branch, or distributor
representative that has not been previously issued a license by the Division.

Applicant’s Name: Load Rite Trailers, LLC
Applicant’s Address: 265 Lincoln Highway, Fairless Hills, PA, 19030
Application Date: 06/23/2025

Names and titles of any individual listed on the application as an owner, partner, member or
officer of the applicant:

Thomas Morrison, President
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IN ADDITION

North Carolina License and Theft Bureau

PUBLIC NOTICE

This serves as a notice pursuant to G.S. § 20-288 of a license application submission
by a manufacturer, factory branch, factory representative, distributor, distributor
branch, or distributor representative that has not been previously issued a license
by the Division.

Applicant’s Name: VINFAST USA DUSTRIBUTION LLC
Applicant’s Address: 9881 IRVINE CENTER DRIVE
IRVINE, CA 92618

Application Date: 7/08/2025

Names and titles of any individual listed on the application as an owner, partner,
member or officer of the applicant:

VINGROUP USA LLC, SOLE MEMBER

HUONG GIANG NGUYEN, CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER
JOHN F. HARRIS, GENERAL COUNSEL AND SECRETARY
HAI VAN NGUYENM SECRETARY
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IN ADDITION

North Carolina License and Theft Bureau

PUBLIC NOTICE

This serves as a notice pursuant to G.S. § 20-288 of a license application submission by a
manufacturer, factory branch, factory representative, distributor, distributor branch, or distributor
representative that has not been previously issued a license by the Division.

Applicant’s Name: Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A.
Applicant’s Address: 6555 Katella Avenue, Cypress, CA, 90630
Application Date: June 26, 2025

Names and titles of any individual listed on the application as an owner, partner, member or
officer of the applicant:

S. Michael Grbic, Sr. Vice-President, AS
Tom Kawaguchi, Vice-President, AT

Nobuhiko Saito, Sr. Vice-President, S/T
Michael Chrzanowski, President & CEQO
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PROPOSED RULES

Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2.

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules. The agency
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice,
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days.

TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND
CONSUMER SERVICES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Agriculture intends to amend the rules cited as 02 NCAC
37.0201-.0203.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c¢):
https://www.ncagr.gov/divisions/legal-affairs/legal-affairs-rules

Proposed Effective Date: December 1, 2025

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be
requested in writing within 15 days of notice): Any person may
request a public hearing on the proposed rules by submitting a
request in writing no later than August 16th, 2025 to Anna
Hayworth, mailing address 1002 Mail Service Center, Raleigh,
NC 27699.

Reason for Proposed Action: These rules (02 NCAC 37 .0201-
soil testing; 02 NCAC 37 .0202 - plant analysis to include analysis
of waste, solutions, and media; and 02 NCAC 37 .0203 - nematode
assay) mandate the delivery of agronomic laboratory advisory
services to all NC residents for the purpose of increasing
agricultural  productivity, — promoting  responsible land
management, and safeguarding environmental quality. These
proposed amendments are for fees associated with this service,
which have not been updated in approximately 20 years.

Comments may be submitted to: Anna Rebecca Hayworth,
1002 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699, phone (984) 236-
4509, email anna.hayworth@ncagr.gov

Comment period ends: September 30, 2025

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff
attorney at 984-236-1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.

] State funds affected
] Local funds affected
] Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
L] Approved by OSBM
X No fiscal note required
CHAPTER 37 - AGRONOMIC SERVICES
SECTION .0200 - PROGRAMS

02 NCAC 37.0201 SOIL TESTING SERVICE

The-Agronomic—Services Divisionshall-analyze-all samples—for

(a) The Agronomic Services Division shall analyze all samples

for volume weight, pH, BpH, humic matter, phosphorus,
potassium, calcium, magnesium, sulfur, sodium, manganese,
copper and zinc. The Agronomic Services Division shall make
nutrient and management recommendations to  correct
deficiencies or toxicities by the application of lime, fertilizer, and
other soil amendments.

(b) Fees for these services shall be as follows:

(@8] Routine soil analysis during peak season - five
dollars ($5.00).
2) Expedited soil testing — two hundred fifty

dollars ($250.00).

3) Special services:
(A) Heavy metals — thirty dollars ($30.00).

(B) Research — ten dollars ($10.00).

Authority G.S. 106-22(17).

02 NCAC 37.0202 PLANT ANALYSIS SERVICE
(a) The Agronomic Services Division shall analyze all samples
for nitrogen, phosphorus, potassium, calcium, magnesium,
manganese, copper, zinc, boron and other elements, as needed to
make recommendations for corrective action. Results of the test
and recommendations for corrective action shall be provided by
the Agronomic Services Division. For the purposes of this Rule,
"plant analyses" shall include analysis of wastes, soilless media,
and other solutions for agronomic purposes.
(b) Fees for these services, to be paid at the time of submission,
shall be as follows:

H Routine plant analysis - $5:060- ten dollars

(810.00).
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(2) Routine solution analysis - $5:00- ten dollars

(810.00).
3) Routine soilless media analysis - $5:60- ten

dollars ($10.00).
4 Routine waste analysis - $8:00- fifteen dollars

(815.00).
(5) Research plant, waste, soilless media, and
solution analysis — twelve dollars ($12.00).
(6) Nonresident plant, waste, soilless media, and
solution analysis — twenty-five dollars ($25.00).
@) Special services:
(A) Heavy metals - $20-00- forty dollars
(840.00).

(B) Waste-N breakout - $10:00. fifteen
dollars ($15.00).

© Waste-liming equivalent — ten dollars

($10.00).
(D) Plant-chloride - $2-06: five dollars

($5.00).

(E) Molybdenum - $2:00- five dollars
($5.00).

(F) Plant-petiole nitrates - $2:00- five

dollars ($5.00).
(G) Bulk density — ten dollars ($10.00).

Authority G.S. 106-22(17).

02 NCAC 37.0203
SERVICE
(a) Individuals desiring nematode analysis may obtain sample
containers and instructions from the Agronomic Services
Division, county extension office, farm supply dealers,
Agronomic Division Regional Agronomists, or other local
agricultural advisors. If plant-destructive nematodes are found,
the best method of control will be recommended.
(b) Per sample fees for those services, to be paid at the time of
submission, are as follows:

(1) Routine nematode assay - $3-60- ten dollars

($10.00).
2) Research nematode assay - $10:00- fifteen

dollars ($15.00).
3) Pinewood nematode assay - $10-00: fifteen

dollars ($15.00).
4) Nematode species identification by molecular
diagnosis - $26-00- thirty dollars ($30.00).
5) Out-of-state surcharge — ten dollars ($10.00).
(6) Regulatory assay — twenty dollars ($20.00).

NEMATODE ADVISORY

Authority G.S. 106-22(17).

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission intends
to adopt the rule cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0412, amend the rules
cited as 12 NCAC 10B .1002, .1006, .1202, .1206, .1402, .1406,
1602, .1606, .1901, and repeal the rules cited as 12 NCAC 10B
1004, 1005, .1204, .1205, .1404, .1405, .1604, and .1605.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless
the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available
on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/sheriffs/all-
certification-forms-publications/proposed-rule-amendments/

Proposed Effective Date: December 1, 2025

Public Hearing:

Date: August 19, 2025

Time: /0:00 a.m.

Location: 1700 Tryon Park Dr. Raleigh NC 27610

Reason for Proposed Action:

12 NCAC 10B .0412- This new rule sets forth the requirements of
G.S. 17E - 16 for agencies to report critical incidents to the
Division to be maintained in a database.

12 NCAC 10B.1002 - This amended rule updates the Professional
certificate program for sheriffs by pulling information from .1004
and.1005.

12 NCAC 10B.1006 - This amended rule updates the Professional
certificate program for sheriffs by specifying how to apply.

12 NCAC 10B.1202 - This amended rule updates the Professional
certificate program for sheriffs by pulling information from .1204
and.1205.

12 NCAC 10B .1206 - This amended rule updates the Professional
certificate program for sheriffs by specifying how to apply.

12 NCAC 10B .1402 - This amended rule updates the Professional
certificate program for sheriffs by pulling information from .1404
and.1405.

12 NCAC 10B.1406 - This amended rule updates the Professional
certificate program for sheriffs by specifying how to apply.

12 NCAC 10B.1602 - This amended rule updates the Professional
certificate program for sheriffs by pulling information from .1604
and.1605.

12 NCAC 10B .1606 - This amended rule updates the Professional
certificate program for sheriffs by specifying how to apply.

12 NCAC 10B .1901 - This amended rule updates the military
transferee rules to streamline the language regarding when the
applicant submits documentation to the Division.

The following rules are repealed since the relevant information
has been incorporated into the above listed proposed amended
rules.
12 NCAC 10B .1004, .1005, .1204, .1205, .1404, .1405, .1604,
.1605.

Comments may be submitted to: Robin Pendergraft, 1700
Tryon Park Dr., Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 779-8213; email
rpendergraft@ncdoj.gov

Comment period ends: September 30, 2025
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules
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Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff
attorney at 984-236-1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOooo

CHAPTER 10 - SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND
TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND
TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION

SECTION .0400 - CERTIFICATION OF JUSTICE
OFFICERS

12 NCAC 10B .0412 DEPARTMENT HEAD
RESPONSIBILITIES: CRITICAL INCIDENT
REPORTING

(a) For all law enforcement agencies in the State that employ
personnel certified by the North Criminal Sheriffs' Education and
Training Standards Commission, the Department Head shall
submit the Critical Incident Report, Form F-27, to the Sheriff's
Standards Division no later than 30 days after making the

determination that an incident involving any use of force by a law
enforcement officer that resulted in death or serious bodily injury

to a person has occurred. The Critical Incident Report (F-27) shall
contain the following:

a date and time of incident;

2) location of incident;

3) officer involved;

“4) whether the incident involved serious bodily
injury or death; and

(@) notice that the officer has 30 days after receipt

to request a hearing in superior court for a

determination _of whether the officer's

involvement was properly placed in the

database and that if a copy of that filing is not

provided to the Division within the 30 days, the

officer's name will be placed in the database.
(b) Information contained in the submitted Critical Incident
Report, (F-27), that is confidential under state or federal law shall
remain confidential.

(¢) The Division shall develop and maintain a statewide database
for use by law enforcement agencies that tracks all critical
incident data in North Carolina that is reported to the Division.

Authority G.S. 17E-15.

SECTION .1000 - PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE
PROGRAM FOR SHERIFFS AND DEPUTY SHERIFFS

12 NCAC 10B .1002 GENERALPROVISIONS
ELIGIBILITY FOR PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATES

(a) In order to be eligible for one or more of the professional
awards; certificates, a sheriff or deputy sheriff shall first meet the
following preliminary qualifications:

) be an elected or appointed sheriff or be a deputy
sheriff who holds valid General general or
Grandfather—Certification. grandfather
certification as defined in G.S. 17E-7(a). A
deputy sheriff serving under a probationary
certification is not eligible for consideration.
Any justice officer subject to suspension or

revocation preeeedings proceedings, er under
investigation for possible decertification action

action, by—the—Ceommission—or—the—North
Carolina—Criminal—Justice—Eduecation—and

Fraining Standards-Commisston under a period
of active revocation of their certification, or
under probation or suspended sanction, by the
Commission or the North Carolina Criminal
Justice Education and Training Standards
Commission, is not eligible for professional
awards certificates for the pendency of the
proeeeding; proceedings or period of probation,
suspension, or revocation;

2) be—famihar—with—and-—subsecribe—to—the Law
Enforcement Code-of Ethics-aspromulgated by
he 1 onal . e Chicfs of
Police;and meet and maintain the requirements
of certification pursuant to Rule .0301 and
Section .0500 of this Subchapter; and

3) if the applicant is a deputy sheriff, the applicant
shall be a full-time sworn law enforcement
officer of a North Carolina Sheriffs-Office-as
eertifted—in—writing—by—the—sheriff; sheriff's
office. erbe-afull-timelawenforcementofficer
of an-agency-who-must be-sworn-by-the-sheriff
. | ; his_duti Fed

writing-by-the Sheriff

(b) Employees of a North Carolina Sheriff's Office who have
previously held general or grandfather law enforcement officer
certification but are presently, by virtue of promotion or transfer,
serving in non-sworn positions not subject to certification are
eligible to participate in the Professional Certificate Program.
Eligibility for this exception requires continuous employment
with the sheriff's office from the date of promotion or transfer
from a sworn, certified position to the date of application for a
professional certificate.
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(c) Only training or experience gained in an officer's area of
expertise as described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule is eligible for
application to this program.

(d) Certificates shall be awarded based upon a formula that
combines formal education, law enforcement training, and aetual
experience as in a sworn law enforcement efficer: position as

(e) In addition to the qualifications set forth in Paragraphs (a),
(b). (c), and (d) of this Rule, applicants for the Intermediate Law
Enforcement Certificate shall have acquired the following
combination of educational points or degrees, law enforcement

training points, and years of law enforcement experience:

defined in Rule .0103(19) of this Subchapter. These professional Educational None None None Associate Bachelor
certificates are-appropriate shall be for sworn sheriffs and full- Degrees
time deputy sheriffs. Points are computed in the following Years of 8 6 4 4 2
manner: Law
(D) each semester hour of college credit shall equal Enforcement
one education point and each quarter hour shall Experience
equal two-thirds of an education point. No Minimum 20 35 50 24 23
correspondence or vocational courses shall be Law
credited towards education points unless an Enforcement
accredited institution, as set out in :2-NCAC Training
1+0B—1004(b); Rule .1004(b) of this Section, Points
credits the eourse(s) courses towards a degree; Minimum 39 69 99 24 23
2) twenty 20 elassroom hours of eeommission- Total
approeved law enforcement training shall equal Education
one training point; and and
3) experience as a sworn law enforcement officer Training
as defined in Rule .0103(19) of this Subchapter Points

is acceptable for consideration.

(f) In addition to the qualifications set forth in Paragraphs (a), (b). (¢). and (d) of this Rule, applicants for the Advanced Law Enforcement

Certificate shall have acquired the following combination of educational points or degrees, law enforcement training points, and years

of law enforcement experience:

Doctoral
Educational Degrees None None Associate Bachelor Professional
or Master
Years of Law 12 9 9 6 4
Enforcement
Experience
Minimum Law 35 50 33 27 23
Enforcement
Training Points
Minimum Total 69 99 33 27 23
Education and
Training Points
(2) Educational points or degrees claimed shall have been earned 12 NCAC 10B .1004 INTERMEDIATE LAW

at a technical institute, technical college, community college,
junior college, college or university accredited as such by the
Department of Education of the state in which the institution is
located, a national or regional accrediting body, or the state
university of the state in which the institution is located. No credit
shall be given for any correspondence or vocational courses
unless credited towards a degree by an accredited institution.

(h) No more than 160 hours of training obtained by completing

an accredited basic law enforcement training program required to
serve in a sworn law enforcement position as defined in Rule

.0103(19) of this Subchapter shall be credited toward training
points.

Authority G.S. 17E-4.

ENFORCEMENT CERTIFICATE
I addit | Lificat; orth-in Rule 1002 of thi
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Minitn 20 35 50 24 23

Authority G.S. 17E-4(b)(1); 17E-4(b)(12).

12 NCAC 10B .1006 HOW TO APPLY

(a) All applicants for an award of the baste; intermediate or
advanced professional certificates for sheriffs and deputy sheriffs
shall complete an"Apphecation:Professional-Certificate/Service
Award—F-6). the "Application for  Professional

Certificate/Service Award," Form F-6.

(b) Documentation of education shall be provided by copies of
transcripts, diplomas, or certified letters from the accredited
institution.

(c) Documentation of training shall be provided by copies of
training records signed by the agency's training officer or

Authority G.S. 17E-4(b)(1); 17E-4(b)(12).

12 NCAC 10B .1005 ADVANCED LAW
ENFORCEMENT CERTIFICATE

verification-of employment-orcopies-of federal-oaths-of office:
(d) Military Police Officers shall provide a military DD214,
Certificate of Release from Active Duty form, for verification of
service. Federal government employees with service in a sworn
law _enforcement position, as defined in Rule .0103(19) of this
Subchapter, shall provide letters of verification of dates of
employment on the agency letterhead signed by the department
head or their designee.

£é(e) Documentation of the applicant's length of service in North
Carolina shall be based upon the Division's certification records,
however, oaths of office may be requested of the applicant
applicant if confirmation of dates of service is required.
Documentation shall be provided by eertified letters of
verification of employment from present or former out-of-state

employers (faw—enforeement—ageneies): where the applicant

served in a sworn law enforcement position, as defined in Rule

.0103(19) of this Subchapter.

(%)(Q The appl—xeaﬂt—shaﬂ—submﬁ—&Hmahe&Heﬂ—meessw&al
s "Application for Professional

Certificate/Service Award," Form F-6, shall be signed by the

department head and forwarded to the Division. te-the—ageney
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head—who—shall b hi lati L g L4
application—to—the Diviston. Certificates shall be issued to the
ageney department head for award to the applicant.

Authority G.S. 17E-4.

SECTION .1200 - PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE
PROGRAM FOR DETENTION OFFICERS

12 NCAC 10B .1202 GENERALPROVISIONS
ELIGIBILITY FOR PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATES
(a) In order to be eligible for one or more of the detention officer
professional awards; certificates, a detention officer shall first
meet the following preliminary qualifications:
(1) be a full-time detention officer who holds a
valid general or grandfather -eertifieation:
certification as defined in G.S. 17E-7(a). A
detention officer serving under a probationary
certification is not eligible for consideration.

Any-detention-officersubjectto-suspension-of

2) any detention officer subject to suspension or

revocation proceedings, under investigation for
possible decertification action, under a period

(c) Only training and experience gained in an officer's area of
expertise expertise, as described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule,
shall be eligible for application to this program.

(d) Certificates shall be awarded based upon a formula contained
herein whieh that combines formal education, training, and aetual
experience as a detention officer. Points are computed in the
following manner:

) each semester hour of college credit shall equal
one education point and each quarter hour of
college credit shall equal two thirds of an
education point. No correspondence or
vocational courses shall be credited towards
education points unless an accredited
institution, as set out in 12-—NCAC—1OB
+204(b); Paragraph (g) of this Rule, credits the
eourse{s) courses towards a degree;

2) twenty 20 elasstroom hours of ecommission-
approved detention officer training shall equal
one training point; and

3) experience as a member of a correctional or
detention facility in North Carelina Carolina, as
defined in Rule .0103(6) of this Subechapter-is
aceeptable forconsideration; Subchapter.

(e) In addition to the qualifications set forth in Paragraphs (a),
(b). (c), and (d) of this Rule, applicants for the Intermediate
Detention Officer Professional Certificate shall have acquired the
following combination of educational points or degrees, detention

officer or corrections training points, and years of detention
officer experience:

of active revocation of their certification, or Educational None None None Associate Bachelor
under probation or suspended sanction, by the Degrees
Commission or the North Carolina Criminal Years of 8 6 4 4 2
Justice Education and Training Standards Detention
Commission, shall not be eligible for any Officer
professional certificates for the pendency of the Experience
proceedings or period of probation, suspension, Minimum 6 12 16 24 23
or revocation; Detention

2)3) befamiliar—with—andsubseribe—to—theLaw Officer
Enforeement-Code-of Ethics-as-promulgated-by Training
the—International—Association—of —Chicfs—of Points
Police—includinganysubsequent—editions—or Minimum 13 23 33 24 23
medifications—thereto—A—ecopy-of-the Code—of Total
Ethies—maybe—obtainedat no—costfromthe Education
Sheriffs'-Standards—Division,—North-—Carolina and
Department-of Justice;, Post Office Box—629; Training
Raleigh, North-Carelina 27602-0629. meet and Points

maintain _the requirements of certification
pursuant to Rule .0301 and Section .0600 of this

(f) In addition to the qualifications set forth in Paragraphs (a), (b),

Subchapter.
(b) Employees of a North Carolina Sheriff's Offiee sheriff's office

(¢), and (d) of this Rule, applicants for the Advanced Detention
Officer Professional Certificate shall possess or be eligible to

who have previously held a general or grandfather detention
officer eertifieation certification, but are presently, by virtue of
promotion or transfer, serving in positions not subject to
eertifieation certification, are eligible to participate in the
Professional Certificate Program. Eligibility for this exception

possess _the Intermediate Detention Officer Professional

Certificate and shall have acquired the following combination of
educational points or degrees, detention officer or corrections

training points, and years of detention officer experience:

requires continuous employment with the a sheriff's office from Doctoral
the date of promotion or transfer from a certified position to the Education Non Non Associat Bachelo Profession
date of application for a professional certificate. al Degrees € € € r al
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or Master by—Educational points—and—degrees—eclaimed-shall havebeen

Years of 12 9 9 6 4 earned—at—a—technical institate;technicalcolege,community
Detention colegejuniorcollege college-oruniversity aceredited-assuch-by
Officer the-Department-of Education-of the-state-in-which-the-institution
Experienc is-located.—anational-or-regional-accrediting body,-or-the-state
e university-of the-state-in-which-the institution-is-located- No-eredit
Minimum 12 16 27 26 26 shall-be—givenforanyecorrespondence,—on-line or—voeational
Detention courses—unless—ereditedtowards—a—degree—by—an—aceredited
Officer stitation

Training

Points

Minimum 23 33 27 26 26 eredited-toward-training points:

Total

Education Authority G.S. 17E-4(b)(1),; 17E-4(b)(12).

and

Training 12 NCAC 10B .1205 ADVANCED DETENTION

Points OFFICER PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE

(2) Educational points or degrees claimed shall have been earned i i i
at a technical institute, technical college, community college,
junior college, college or university accredited as such by the
Department of Education of the state in which the institution is
located, or a national or regional accrediting body. No credit shall
be given for any correspondence or vocational courses unless
credited towards a degree by an accredited institution.

(h) No more than 80 hours of training obtained by completing the Doectoral;

detention officer certification course, as set out in Rule .0601 of FEducation  Non  Nen  Associat Bachelo  Profession

this Subchapter, shall be credited toward training points. al Degrees e e e 3 al

or-Master

Authority G.S. 17E-4. Years—of 42 9 9 6 4
Detention

12 NCAC 10B .1204 INTERMEDIATE DETENTION Officer

OFFICER PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE Experiene

. . . .. ' e. .
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Authority G.S. 17E-4(b)(1); 17E-4(b)(12).

12 NCAC 10B .1206 HOW TO APPLY
(a) All applicants for an award of the detention officer Basie;
Intermediate intermediate or Advaneed—Certifieates advanced

profess10na1 certlﬁcates shall complete an—"Appleation:

5 - the "Application
for Professional Certificate/Service Award," Form F-6.

(b) Documentation of education shall be provided by copies of
transcripts, diplomas, or certified letters from the accredited
institution.
(c) Documentation of training shall be provided by copies of
training records signed by the agency's training officer or
department head, or by providing certificates of completion. No
out-of-state training shall be accepted, ualess; unless the officer is
employed in North Carolina as a justice officer as defined in 17E-
2 during the time of training.
(d) Documentation of the applicant's length of service in North
Carolina shall be based upon the Division's certification records,
however, certified letters of verification of employment from
present or former employers may be requested of an apphieant
applicant if confirmation of dates of service is required. No out-
of-state length of service shall be applicable to this certificate
program.
(e) The &ppl—xeaﬁt—shaﬂ—mbimt—&}%/&ppheaﬂeﬁ—%efessmﬁal
LS "Application for Professional
Certificate/Service Award," Form F-6, shall be signed by te-his
sheriff the department head whe-shall-attach-his recommendation
and-forward-the-applicationto-the Commission- and forwarded to
the Division. Certificates will shall be issued to the sheriff
department head for award to the applicant.

Authority G.S. 17E-4.

SECTION .1400 - PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE FOR
RESERVE DEPUTY SHERIFFS

12 NCAC 10B .1402 GENERALPROVISIONS
ELIGIBILITY FOR PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATES
(a) In order to be eligible for one or more of the professional
certificates, a reserve deputy sheriff shall first meet the following
preliminary qualifications:
(1) be an appointed reserve deputy sheriff who
holds a valid General general or Grandfather
Certification- grandfather certification as
defined in G.S. 17E-7(a). A reserve deputy
sheriff serving under a probationary
certification is not eligible for consideration.

2) any reserve deputy sheriff subject to suspension
or revocation proceedings, under investigation
for possible decertification action, under a

period of active revocation of their certification,
or under probation or suspended sanction, by
the Commission or the North Carolina Criminal
Justice Education and Training Standards

Commission, shall not be eligible for any
professional certificates for the pendency of the

proceedings or period of probation, suspension,
or revocation;

203)

Raleigh; Nerth-Carelina27602-0629; meet and
maintain the requirements of certification
pursuant to Rule .0301 and Section .0500 of this
Subchapter;
the applicant shall be a sworn law enforcement
offieer officer, as defined in Rule .0103(19) of
this Subchapter, of a North Carolina Sheriffs
efice, Fed iting by the sheriff:
be—a—sworn—law—enforcement—officer of an
g’ 3 ; l'”l' 5 Fedi
writing-by-the-Sheriffand sheriff's office.

(4)

(b) Only training or experience gained in an officer's area of

expertise, as described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, shall be
eligible for application to this program.

)(c) Certificates are shall be awarded based upon a formula
whieh that combines law enforcement training and aetual
participation experience as a reserve deputy sheriff in a law
enforcement funetions: position, as defined in Rule .0103(19) of
this Subchapter. Points are computed in the following manner:

(1) a minimum of ninety-six—96) 96 hours
achieved worked as a reserve deputy sheriff
over a one-year period ef-participation—intaw
enforeementfunetions; by-having been—called
ntoreserve-duty by-the-appeinting sheriff; shall
equal one year of reserve service;

2) twenty 20 hours of commission-approved law
enforcement training shall equal one law
enfereement training point; and

3) service as a reserve deputy sheriff in a sworn
law enforcement position, as defined in Rule
.0103(19) of this Subchapter. shal—be
aceeptable for-consideration- An officer who is
otherwise ineligible to receive an equivalent
certificate through the Professional Certificate
Program for Sheriffs sheriffs and Deputy
Sheriffs deputy sheriffs, as set out in 12 NCAC
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10B—1000 Section .1000 of this Subchapter,
may receive a certificate under this pregram;
program. ir—which-ease-ene One year of full-
time service may be substituted for one year of
reserve service in computing eligibility under
this Section.
(d) In addition to the qualifications set forth in Paragraphs (a),
(b), and (c) of this Rule, applicants for the Intermediate Reserve
Deputy Sheriff Professional Certificate shall have acquired the
following law enforcement training points and years of service as
a reserve law enforcement officer:
a 8 years of reserve officer law enforcement

experience; and

2) 35 minimum law enforcement training points.
(e) In addition to the qualifications set forth in Paragraphs (a),

(b), and (c) of this Rule, applicants for the Advanced Deputy
Sheriff Professional Certificate shall possess or be eligible to
possess the Intermediate Reserve Deputy Sheriff Professional
Certificate and shall have acquired the following law enforcement

Authority G.S. 17E.

12 NCAC 10B .1406 HOW TO APPLY

(a) All applicants for an award of the basie; intermediate or

advanced reserve officer professional certificates shall complete
" Asslication:I i Shesiff Professional

Certificate/ServieeRecognition . (E-6R). the "Application for

Professional Certificate/Service Award," Form F-6R.

training points and years of service as a reserve law enforcement
officer:

a 12 years of reserve officer law enforcement
experience; and
2) 50 minimum law enforcement training points.
(f) No more than 160 hours of training obtained by completing
an accredited basic law enforcement training program required to
serve in a sworn law enforcement position, as defined in Rule

.0103(19) of this Subchapter, shall be credited toward training

points for the Intermediate or Advanced Reserve Deputy Sheriff

(b) Documentation of training shall be provided by copies of
training records signed by the agency's training officer or
department head, or by providing certificates of completion.

(c) Verification of the applicant's length of service as a reserve
deputy sheriff sheriff, as required in 2 NCACH0BI402(b)}H
Rule .1402(c)(1) of this Section, shall be documented by
providing certified letters, signed by the employing sheriff or
histher his or her authorized designee.

(d) The applicant-shall-submit-the-applieation "Application for
Professional Certificate/Service Award," Form F-6R, te—the

Professional Certificate.

Authority &S G.S. 17E-4.

12 NCAC 10B .1404 INTERMEDIATE RESERVE

DEPUTY SHERIFF CERTIFICATE
Inaddit | Lificati corth_in Rule_1462 in thi

Authority G.S. 17E.

12 NCAC 10B .1405 ADVANCED RESERVE DEPUTY
SHERIFF CERTIFICATE

In_addit | Lificati corthin Rule 1402 of thi
Seetion. L Cor i} | LT Sheriff Certif
hall be_elicib] he ] Liate R

E Sheriff Cortifi L shatll - red-the_followi

forward-the-application shall be signed by the department head
and forwarded to the Division. Certificates shall be issued to the

ageney department head for award to the applicant.
Authority G-S—H7E: G.S. 17E-4.

SECTION .1600 - PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE
PROGRAM FOR TELECOMMUNICATORS

12 NCAC 10B .1602 GENERALPROVISIONS
ELIGIBILITY FOR PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATES

(a) In order to be eligible for one or more of the telecommunicator
professional awards; certificates, a telecommunicator shall first
meet the following preliminary qualifications:

(D be a full-time telecommunicator who holds a
valid general or grandfather -eertification
certification, as defined in G.S. 17E-7(a). under
Fraining—Standards—Commission: A
telecommunicator serving under a probationary
certification is not eligible for consideration;

2 any telecommunicator subject to suspension or
revocation proceedings, under investigation for
possible decertification action, under a period
of active revocation of their certification, or
under probation or suspended sanction, by the
Commission or the North Carolina Criminal

Justice Education and Training Standards
Commission, shall not be eligible for any
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telecommunicator professional certificates for

|c0
o
I+~
I+~
N

Years of

the pendency of the proceedings or period of

Telecommunicat

probation, suspension, or revocation; and

be—familiar —with—and—subseribe—to—the

23)

Office—Box—629— Raleigh, North—Carelina
27602-0629. meet and maintain _ the

or
Experience
Minimum
Telecommunicat
or

Training Points
Minimum Total 12 20 28 12 10
Education and

Training Points

(f) In addition to the qualifications set forth in Paragraphs (a), (b),
(c), and (d) of this Rule, applicants for the Advanced

requirements of certification pursuant to Rule

.0301 and Section .1300 of this Subchapter.
(b) employees Employees of a North Carolina Sheriff's-Office
sheriff's office or other agency who have previously held general
or grandfather telecommunicator certification under the Nerth
Commission, but are presently, by virtue of promotion or transfer,
serving in positions not subject to eertification certification, are
eligible to participate in the Professional Certificate Program.
Eligibility for this exception requires continuous employment
with the sheriff's office or agency from the date of promotion or
transfer from a certified position to the date of application for a
professional certificate.
(c) Only training and experience gained in a telecommunicator's
area of expertise expertise, as described in Paragraph (d) of this
Rule, will be eligible for application to this program.
(d) Certificates shall be awarded based upon a formula contained
herein whieh combines formal education, training, and aetual
experience as a telecommunicator. Points are computed in the
following manner:

(D) each semester hour of college credit shall equal
one education point and each quarter hour of
college credit shall equal two thirds of a-peint;
an_education point. No correspondence or
vocational courses shall be credited towards
education points unless an  accredited

Telecommunicator Professional Certificate shall possess or be
eligible to possess the Intermediate Telecommunicator

Professional Certificate and shall have acquired the following
combination of educational points or degrees, telecommunicator

training points, and years of telecommunicator experience:

Doctoral
Non Non Associ Bachel Professio
€ € ate or nal
or Master
Years of 12 9 9 6 4
Telecommunic
ator
Experience
Minimum 10 12 17 14 12
Telecommunic
ator Training
Points
Minimum 20 23 17 14 12
Total
Education and
Training
Points

Educational
Degrees

(g) Educational points or degrees claimed shall have been earned

at a technical institute, technical college, community college,

institution, as set out in Paragraph (g) of this

junior college, college or university accredited as such by the

Rule, credits the courses towards a degree;

2) twenty 20 elassroom hours of eeommission-
approved telecommunicator training shall equal
one training point; and

3) only experience as a full-time
telecommunieater  telecommunicator,  as

Department of Education of the state in which the institution is
located, or a national or regional accrediting body. No credit shall
be given for any correspondence or vocational courses unless
credited towards a degree by an accredited institution.

(h) No more than 40 hours of training obtained by completing the

telecommunicator certification course, as set out in Rule .1302 of

defined in Rule .0103(20) of this Subchapter.

eertified—through—the Commission—shallbe
(e) In addition to the qualifications set forth in Paragraphs (a),
(b), (¢), and (d) of this Rule, applicants for the Intermediate
Telecommunicator Professional Certificate shall have acquired
the following combination of educational points or degrees,

telecommunicator training points, and years of telecommunicator
experience:

this Subchapter, shall be credited toward training points.

Authority G.S. 17E-4.

12 NCAC 10B .1604 INTERMEDIATE

TELECOMMUNICATOR CERTIFICATE
In addit | Lificat; corth in Rule 1602 of thi

Educational Non Non Non Associat Bachelo
Degrees S e S e T
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Authority G.S. 17E-4(b)(1); 17E-4(b)(12).

12 NCAC 10B .1605 ADVANCED
TELECOMMUNICATOR CERTIFICATE

Authority G.S. 17E-4(b)(1); 17E-4(b)(12).

12 NCAC 10B .1606 HOW TO APPLY
(a) All applicants for an award of the telecommunicator basie;
intermediate or advanced professwnal certlﬁcates shall complete
the "Apphcatlon for Professional Certificate/Service Award,"
Form F-6.
(b) Documentation of education shall be provided by copies of
transcripts, diplomas, or certified letters from the accredited
institution.
(c) Documentation of training shall be provided by copies of
training records signed by the agency's training officer or
department head, or by providing certificates of completion. No
out-of-state training shall be accepted, unless the officer is
employed in North Carolina as a justice officer as defined in 17E-
2 during the of training.
(d) Documentation of the applicant's length of service in North
Carolina shall be based upon the Division's certification records,
however, certified letters of verification of employment from
present or former employers may be requested of the-applicant: an
applicant if confirmation of dates of service is required. No out-
of-state length of service shall be applicable to this certificate
program.
(e) The apphe&&t—sh&ﬂ—subfm{—&%%pphe&twﬂ—llrefesswﬂa%
- "Application for Professional
Certificate/Service Award," Form F-6, shall be signed by the

@Mte—%%&ge&ey—h&ad—whe—sh&ﬂ—meh—hﬁ

Educational Doctoral and forwarded to the
Pegrees Noen Nen Assoei Bachel Professio Division. Certificates shall be issued to the ageney department
e e ate or nal head for award to the applicant.
er-Master
Years-of 12 9 9 6 4 Authority G.S. 17E-4.
Telecommunie
ater SECTION .1900 - MILITARY TRAINED APPLICANT
Experience AND MILITARY SPOUSE
Minimam 0 17 14 2
TFelecommmunie 12 NCAC 10B .1901 MILITARY AND MILITARY
ator—Training SPOUSE TRANSFEREES
Points (a) An individual who applies for seeking justice officer
Minimum 20 23 7 4 12 certification as a military trained applicant pursuant to G.S. 93B-
Fotal 15.1 whe-applies-to-the Divistonfor-a-certification-issued-by-the
Edueationand Commisston—must shall meet and submit, along with other
Fraining documentation required in Rule .0408, documentation verifying
Points his or her compliance with the following requirements:
40:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2025
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(D Been awarded a military occupational specialty
that is substantially equivalent to or exceeds the
training requirements required for certification
and performed in the occupational specialty;

2) Completed a military program of training,
completed testing or equivalent training and
experience as determined by Paragraph (c) of
this Rule;

3) Engaged in the active practice of that
occupation for at least two of the five years
prior to the date of appointment; and

4 Not committed any act in any jurisdiction that
would have constituted grounds for refusal,
suspension ef or revocation of a license to
practice that occupation in this State at the time

the act was committed. Fhe—military—trained
pphe o . . .
he ol 5 5’ £ f

(b) An individual who applies for seeking justice officer
certification as a military spouse pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1 whe

applies—to—theDivision—for —a—ecertification—issaed—by—the
Commission—must shall meet and submit, along with other
documentation required in Rule .0408 of this Subchapter, the
following requirements:
(D Hold a current license, certification or
registration from another jurisdiction which is
substantially equivalent to or exceeds the
training requirements required for certification;
(2) Be in good standing with the issuing agency and
not have been disciplined by the agency that has
the jurisdiction to issue the license, certification
or permit; and
3) Demonstrate competency in the occupation by:
(A) Having completed continuing
education comparable to the education
and training required for the type of
certification for which application is
being made, as determined by
Paragraph (c) of this Rule; or

(B) Having engaged in the active practice
of that occupational specialty for at
least two of the five years prior to the
date of appointment.

The il hall sl ! he Divisi

(c) The Division shall review the documents received to
determine if any additional training is required to satisfy the
certification requirements of-this-Subehapter- as set out in Rule
.0504 of this Subchapter. Where training provided by the military
or in other states require approval of prior training, such approval
by the appropriate entity sust shall also be documented.

(d) In the event the applicant's prior training is not equivalent to
the Commission's standards, the Commission shall prescribe as a
condition of certification, supplementary or remedial training
deemed necessary to equate previous training with current
standards.

(e) Where certifications issued by the Commission require
satisfactory performance on a written examination as part of the

training, the Commission shall require such examinations for the
eertifieation- certification of military trained and military spouse

applicants.

Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 93B-15.1.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Department of Environmental Quality intends to adopt the rules
cited as 154 NCAC 01W .0101-.0105.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://www.deq.nc.gov/accessdeq/rules-regulations/deq-
proposed-rules/proposed-rules

Proposed Effective Date: December 1, 2025

Public Hearing:

Date: August 21, 2025

Time: :00 p.m.

Location: [st Floor in the Coastal Plains Rm (#1107), DEQ
Green Square Office Building, 217 West Jones Street, Raleigh,
NC 27603, or  virtually  using  Cisco WebEx.
https://ncgov.webex.com/ncgov/j.php? MTID=mab1b17ec6f5926
46ac9e0cde4909771a Webinar number (access code): 2433 393
6495 Webinar password NCDEQ (62337 when dialing from a
phone or video system) Audio conference: To receive a call back,
provide your phone number when you join the event, or call the
number below and enter the access code. US TOLL +1-415-655-
0003, Access code: 2433 393 6495, Pass code: 62337 If you wish
to speak at the digital public hearing, you must register, provide
the required information, and follow instructions on ways to join
the public hearing. Registration must be completed by 5:00 PM
on August 19, 2025. To register, please use the following link:
https://forms.office.com/g/kC72Absnzz ~ *For instructions on
ways to join the public hearing, please refer to the following link:
https://www.deq.nc.gov/about/boards-and-commissions/how-
attend-webex-meeting-0

Reason for Proposed Action: The adoption of proposed rules
154 NCAC 01W .0101-.0105, “Emergency Infrastructure Bridge
Loan Program for Commercial UST” is in response to the
requirement for DEQ to adopt rules in compliance with Session
Law 2024-53, Section 4C.8.(]). The Department adopted
emergency rules effective February 14, 2025, and adopted
temporary rules to replace the emergency rules effective April 8,
2025. The Department is proposing these permanent rules to
replace the temporary rules. The proposed rules provide
clarification of the Session Law requirements, including
applicability of the program and key definitions. The proposed
rules outline the application requirements and establish
December 31, 2025, as the application submission deadline. The
proposed rules also clarify the eligibility criteria, describe the
Department’s application review process, the contents of the loan
agreement, and the procedure for appealing a loan denial. The
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proposed rules also detail the loan terms, limitations, and
conditions and include clarification on loan usage.

Carin Kromm, 1646 Mail
27699-1646;  email

Comments may be submitted to:
Service  Center,  Raleigh,  NC
dwm.publiccomments@deq.nc.gov

Comment period ends: September 30, 2025

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff
attorney at 984-236-1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

OXOXX

CHAPTER 01 - DEPARTMENTAL RULES

SUBCHAPTER 01W - EMERGENCY
INFRASTRUCTURE BRIDGE LOAN PROGRAM FOR
COMMERCIAL USTS

SECTION .0100 - EMERGENCY INFRASTRUCTURE
BRIDGE LOAN PROGRAM FOR COMMERCIAL USTS

15A NCAC 01W .0101
DEFINITIONS

(a) Applicability. The rules of this Subchapter shall apply to
emergency infrastructure bridge loans for commercial
underground storage tanks as established by S.L. 2024-53, s. 4C.8
for short-term financial liquidity necessary to immediately
conduct emergency services in the affected area, pending federal
disaster relief or payment or reimbursement by insurance. The
requirements of S.L. 2024-53. s. 3.1.(b), (c¢), and (d) are applicable
to the rules of this Subchapter, including subsequent amendments
or editions. 15A NCAC 02N is incorporated by reference
including subsequent amendments or editions.

(b) Documents and payments required to be submitted to the
Division by the rules of this Subchapter may be submitted to the
Division's Underground Storage Tank Section at the Division's

APPLICABILITY AND

mailing address at 1646 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-
1646.

(¢) Definitions. The definitions found in Part 2A of Article 21A
of Chapter 143 of the General Statutes, the definitions in 15A
NCAC 02N, the definitions in Sections 1.4 and 4C.8 of S.L. 2024-
53 shall apply to the rules of this Subchapter. For the purposes of
this Subchapter, "applicant" means the owner or operator of a
commercial underground storage tank permitted by the Division
in accordance with 15A NCAC 02N that is located in the affected
area, and that is submitting an application for an emergency
infrastructure bridge loan.

Authority S.L. 2024-53, 5. 4C.8.(1).

15A NCAC 01W .0102 LOAN APPLICATION

(a) _An owner or operator of a commercial underground storage
tank permitted by the Division in accordance with 15A NCAC
02N that is located in the affected area may apply for an
emergency infrastructure bridge loan in accordance with S.L.
2024-53, s. 4C.8 and the rules of this Subchapter. The application
shall be submitted on a form provided by the Division, which can
be found on the Division's website at
https://www.deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/waste-
management/underground-storage-tanks-section/bridge-loan-
program. The application shall include the following information
and attachments:

(@8] the owner's contact information, including the
name, phone number, email address, and
mailing address for the contact person or
authorized representative for the owner, and the
business name if the owner is a business;

2) the operator's contact information, including
the name, phone number, email address, and
mailing address for the contact person or
authorized representative for the operator, and
the business name if the operator is a business;

3) the UST facility name, UST facility
identification number for the operating permit
issued by the Division in accordance with 15A
NCAC 02N, and the physical address and the
county in which the UST system is located;

[C)] a description of the impacts and damage to the
UST system from Hurricane Helene, including
photographs of the impacts or damage;

5) a description of the testing and repairs and the
scope of work for which the applicant is
requesting funds;

(6) a list of contractors the applicant is proposing to
use for completion of the scope of work;

[@2) the project costs, including costs expended at
the time of application and estimated future
costs;

[¢)] a description and the amount of federal disaster
relief  funds and _ private insurance
reimbursement that the applicant has applied
for and the source of those funds;

) a description and the amount of disaster relief
funds that the applicant has already received
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from other sources as of the date of the
application;

(10) copies of repair cost estimates, contracts, or
receipts that comply with Paragraphs (d), (e),
and (f) of this Rule;

a1 a description of the attachments included with
the application; and

(12) a certification signed by the applicant or the

applicant's authorized representative certifying
that the application and documentation
provided to the Division are true and accurate
to the best of the applicant's knowledge.
(b) The application shall be submitted by December 31, 2025.
(c) The Division shall review the submitted application and
provide a response in writing stating either that the application is
complete and under review, or that the application is incomplete
and stating the information or attachments that are required to be
submitted for the application to meet the requirements of

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. The owner or operator shall submit any

additional information requested by the Division in the response

4) whether the costs included in the scope of work
are significantly different from a range of
expected or reasonable costs for such work, as
determined by the Division;

(&) federal disaster relief or private insurance
reimbursement received for Hurricane Helene
response prior to submittal of the application;

©6) the level of need for other submitted
applications under review by the Division that
have not yet been awarded pursuant to S.L.
2024-53, s. 4C.8.(h);

(@A) the type of work included in the scope of work,
with funding priority given to the specific
examples of repairs and testing listed in the
definition of emergency services in S.L. 2024-
53,s.4C.8.(b); and

[£)] the operational status of the UST system and the
status of the scope of work submitted.

(b) _If the Division determines that the loan is eligible for
approval, either for the requested amount or a portion of the

within 30 days following the date the Division's response was

requested amount, the Division shall send the applicant a letter of

issued.
(d) The UST system testing and repairs for which the loan is being

intent to award the loan in accordance with S.L. 2024-53, s.
4C.8.(1) with a copy of the loan agreement developed in

requested shall comply with S.L. 2024-53 and the rules of this

accordance with Rule .0104 of this Section within 60 days after

Subchapter.
(e) Copies of receipts from testing or repairs in accordance with

receipt of the application. Within 30 days after the offer is issued,
the recipient shall:

Paragraph (d) of this Rule that have been completed and paid for
at the time the application is submitted shall be submitted with the
application. The receipts shall include the name and contact
information for the contractor, a description of the testing or
repair, and the actual cost for the testing or repair.

(f) Copies of cost estimate documentation such as quotes,

(@8] accept the offer by executing a loan agreement
in accordance with Rule .0104(c) of this Section
and returning it to the Division; or

2 provide a written response to the Division
rejecting the offer.

(c) If the applicant has not accepted or rejected the offer in

invoices, contracts, or similar documents for testing and repairs in

accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule within 30 days after

accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule shall be submitted with

the offer is issued, the Division may rescind the offer to award the

the application for testing or repairs that are proposed or in

loan by providing written notice to the applicant. The awarding of

progress and have not been paid for at the time the application is

new loans shall cease on June 30, 2028.

submitted. The testing or repair estimates shall include the name

(d) If the Division determines that the loan is not eligible for

and contact information for the contractor, a description of the

approval because it does not comply with S.L. 2024-53 or the

proposed testing or repair, and the estimated cost of the proposed
testing or repair.

Authority S.L. 2024-53, 5. 4C.8.(1).

15A NCAC 01W .0103 APPLICATION REVIEW AND
LOAN ELIGIBILITY
(a) The Division shall review an application submitted that

rules of this Subchapter, the Division shall send the applicant a
letter via certified mail outlining the reasons that the applicant is
not eligible within 60 days after receipt of the application.

(e) If the applicant disagrees with the Division's determination,
the applicant may elect to submit an informal appeal to the
Division supplying additional supporting information. The appeal
must be submitted within 30 days of the date the Division issued
the notification of the Division's determination. The Division shall

complies with Rule .0102 of this Section and determine whether

review the additional information and shall issue a final written

the loan is eligible for approval. The Division may determine that

agency decision via certified mail. Pursuant to S.L. 2024-53, s.

the loan is not eligible for approval, that the loan is eligible for the

4C.8.(h), the Division's determination of need is conclusive.

amount requested, or that the loan is eligible for a portion of the
amount requested. In making the determination for loan approval
and the amount approved, the Division may consider the
following criteria:

[@0)] the information submitted in the application;

2) the remaining amount of loan funds available;
3) the location of the UST system within the

Authority S.L. 2024-53, 5. 4C.8.(1).

15A NCAC 01W .0104 LOAN AGREEMENT

(a) Within 10 business days after an applicant elects to accept a
loan after it is awarded in accordance with S.L. 2024-53, s.
4C.8.(i), the recipient shall submit a signed NC Substitute W-9

affected areas as defined in S.L. 2024-53, with

form to the Division. The Substitute W-9 form may be obtained

priority given to the areas with the greatest

from the NC Office of the State Controller website at:

impacts from Hurricane Helene;

https://www.osc.nc.gov/state-north-carolina-sub-w-9.
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(b) Loan Agreement. If an applicant elects to accept a loan after
it is awarded in accordance with S.L. 2024-53, s. 4C.8.(i), a loan
agreement shall be executed between the Division and the

recipient. The loan agreement shall include the terms and
conditions of the agreement such as:

[@0)] the conditions for issuance of the loan,
including the requirements in Paragraph (a) of
this Rule;

2) information regarding the intended use of the

loan proceeds:
3) a deadline by which the applicant shall have

entered into a construction contract to begin
testing and repairs;

“4) conditions under which the loan will be repaid,
including any payment plan schedules if a

included in the loan agreement required by Rule
.0104 of this Section. Loan payments shall be
submitted to the Division of Waste
Management Underground Storage Tank
Section by certified check or money order.

4 The applicant may not assign, transfer, or
otherwise convey any of their rights or
obligations under the loan agreement to any
third party without the prior written consent of
the Division. The applicant shall not be released
from the loan obligation by the Division until
the approved third party executes a loan
agreement with the Division in accordance with
Rule .0104 of this Section.

(b) In addition to the loan limitations in S.L. 2024-53,s. 4C.8, a

payment plan is required by Rule .0105(a) of
this Section, or requested by the applicant;

[®)] the rights and responsibilities of the parties;

(6) the loan identification number assigned by the
Division; and

(@A) any other applicable terms and conditions of the

loan as outlined in Rule .0105 of this Section.
(c) The recipient shall sign the loan agreement, the signature shall
be notarized by a notary public, and the original signed and
notarized copy shall be returned to the Division. The Division
shall also sign the loan agreement, and the signature shall be
notarized by a notary public, to execute the agreement. The

agreement shall be effective on the date the agreement is signed
by the Division.

(d) After the loan agreement is executed, the applicant may
submit a request in writing for an amendment to the loan amount
or the terms of the loan agreement. The request shall include the
amendment being requested and supporting evidence for the
request, including supporting documentation such as updates to
any information that was provided in the application that has
changed since the application was submitted. The Division shall
review and respond to the request in accordance with Rule .0103
of this Section. If approved, the agreement shall be revised
accordingly and shall be signed and notarized by the Division and
the recipient. No amendments to awarded loans shall be approved
after June 30, 2028.

Authority S.L. 2024-53, 5. 4C.8.(1).

15ANCAC 01W .0105 LOAN TERMS, LIMITATIONS,
AND CONDITIONS
(a) In addition to the loan terms in S.L. 2024-53, s. 4C.8 and the
applicable requirements of S.L.. 2024-53, s. 3.1, a bridge loan from
the program is subject to the following terms and conditions:
[@0)] The total amount awarded for the loan shall be
repaid in full by the maturity date as defined in

bridge loan from the program shall not be used for purposes that
do not comply with the requirements of S.L. 2024-53, such as the

following purposes:

@ removal of a commercial UST unless the
applicant _provides evidence in the loan
application that damage or impacts from
Hurricane Helene necessitated the removal, and
the removal is necessary to restore the UST
system to operational capacity;

2) work or testing or repairs related to
aboveground storage tanks or non-commercial
underground storage tanks, notwithstanding
new action from the General Assembly;

3) purposes that are or may be eligible for
reimbursement from the Commercial Leaking
Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Cleanup
Fund in accordance with G.S. 143-215.94B;

4) any repairs or testing that have already been
paid for or reimbursed by federal disaster relief
or private insurance or other emergency
funding sources; or

5) any repairs or testing that occurred or were
necessary prior to the date of Hurricane Helene,
or that were not a result or impact of Hurricane
Helene.

(c) The recipient shall submit a final report within 90 days after
completion of testing and repairs. The report shall include a
description of:

(@8] the operational capacity of the UST system;

2) any deviations from the scope of work
submitted in the application; and

3) receipts for completed repairs that were not

submitted in the application.
(d) If a recipient fails to comply with S.L. 2024-53, the rules of

this Subchapter, or the loan agreement, the Division shall notify
the recipient in writing that they are in default, and provide the

S.L.2024-53, s. 4C.8, and no later than June 30,

actions the recipient must take in order to cure the default and the

2030.
2) A loan may be repaid early or on a payment
plan outlined in the loan agreement prior to the

deadlines to take those actions. If the recipient fails to take the

required actions by the deadlines stated in the notice, the loan shall
be considered to be in default and the Division will refer the loan

maturity date without penalty.

3) A loan in the amount of $200,000 or more shall
be placed on a structured payment plan. The
terms and schedule of the payment plan shall be

for collection in accordance with State law.

Authority S.L. 2024-53, 5. 4C.8.(1).
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Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Environmental Management Commission intends to amend the
rule cited as 154 NCAC 02H .0804.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c¢):
https://www.deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-
resources-commissions/environmental-management-
commission/emc-proposed-rules

Proposed Effective Date: December 1, 2025

Public Hearing:

Date: September 25, 2025

Time: 6:00 p.m.

Location: Ground Floor Hearing room in the Archdale Bldg.,
512 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27603

Reason for Proposed Action: The scope of Parameter Methods
Jfor which the Wastewater/Groundwater Laboratory Certification
Branch (WW/GW LCB) may offer certification is limited to those
Parameters listed in Rule 154 NCAC 02H .0804. Amending the
Rule as proposed to add Total Nitrogen and Pharmaceutical
Pollutants will enable commercial and state laboratories that
provide analytical services to request certification for these two
Parameters. In addition, it will enable permittees to report
certified data in compliance with existing regulatory
requirements.

Comments may be submitted to: Laboratory Certification
Branch Manager, 1623 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-
1623; email DEQ.WR.CertificationRuleComments@deq.nc.gov

Comment period ends: September 30, 2025

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(bl). The Commission will receive
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff
attorney at 984-236-1850.

] No fiscal note required
CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 02H - PROCEDURES FOR PERMITS:
APPROVALS

15A NCAC 02H .0804 PARAMETERS FOR WHICH
CERTIFICATION MAY BE REQUESTED
(a) Commercial Laboratories shall obtain Certification for
Parameter Methods used to generate data that will be reported by
the client to the State in accordance with the rules of this Section.
Municipal and Industrial Laboratories shall obtain Certification
for Parameter Methods used to generate data that will be reported
to the State in accordance with the rules of this Section.
Commercial Laboratories shall obtain Certification for Field
Parameter Methods used to generate data that will be reported by
the client to the State in accordance with the rules of this Section.
Municipal and Industrial laboratories shall obtain Certification for
Field Parameter Methods used to generate data that will be
reported to the State in accordance with the rules of this Section.
(b) Inorganics: Each of the inorganic, physical characteristic, and
microbiological analytes listed in this Paragraph shall be
considered a certifiable parameter. Analytical methods shall be
determined from the sources listed in Rule .0805(a)(1) of this
Section. One or more analytical methods or Parameter Methods
may be listed with a laboratory's certified Parameters. Certifiable
inorganic, physical characteristic, and microbiological Parameters
are as follows:

1) Acidity;

2) Alkalinity;

3) Biochemical Oxygen Demand;

4) Bromide;

5) Carbonaceous Biochemical Oxygen Demand;

(6) Chemical Oxygen Demand;

@) Chloride;

®) Chlorine, Free Available;

) Chlorine, Total Residual;

(10) Chlorophyll;

(11) Coliform, Fecal,

(12) Coliform, Total;

(13) Color;

(14) Conductivity/Specific Conductance;

(15) Cyanide;

(16) Dissolved Organic Carbon;

(17) Dissolved Oxygen;

(18) Enterococci;

(19) Escherichia Coliform (E. coli);

(20) Flash Point;

(21) Fluoride;

(22) Hardness, Total,

(23) Ignitability;

(24) Surfactants as Methylene Blue Active
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this Surfactants;
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. (25) Nitrogen, Ammonia;
X State funds affected (26) Nitrogen, Nitrite plus Nitrate;
X Local funds affected 27 Nitrogen, Nitrate;
] Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) (28) Nitrogen, Nitrite;
X Approved by OSBM (29)_  Nitrogen, Total
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£29(30) Nitrogen, Total Kjeldahl;

306)(31) Oil and Grease;

1H(32) Orthophosphate;

32)(33) Paint Filter Liquids;

63)(34) pH;

B34)(35) Phenols;

35)(36) Phosphorus, Total;

36)(37) Residue, Settleable;

3H(38) Residue, Total;

38)(39) Residue, Total Dissolved;

39(40) Residue, Total Suspended;

40)(41) Residue, Volatile;

“4b(42) Salinity;

42)(43) Salmonella;

“43)(44) Silica;

“44)(45) Sulfate;

45)(46) Sulfide;

46)(47) Sulfite;

“41(48) Temperature;

48)(49) Total Organic Carbon;

“49(50) Turbidity;

50)(51) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 1;
5D(52) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 2;
52)(53) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 3;
53)(54) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 4;
54)(55) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 5;
55)(56) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 6;
56)(57) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 7;
59D(58) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 8; and
58)(59) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 12.

(c) Metals: Each of the metals listed in this Paragraph shall be
considered a certifiable Parameter. One or more Parameter
Methods shall be listed with a laboratory's certified Parameters.
Analytical methods shall be determined from the sources listed in
Rule .0805(a)(1) of this Section. Certifiable metals are as follows:

(1)
2)
)
4)
)
(6)
(7
)
)
(10)
(11)
(12)
(13)
(14)
(15)
(16)
(17
(18)
(19)
(20)
@
(22)
(23)
(24)

Aluminum;

Antimony;

Arsenic;

Barium,;

Beryllium;

Boron;

Cadmium;

Calcium,;

Chromium, Hexavalent (Chromium VI);
Chromium, Total;

Chromium, Trivalent (Chromium III);
Cobalt;

Copper;

Hardness, Total (Calcium + Magnesium);
Iron;

Lead;

Lithium;

Magnesium;

Manganese;

Mercury;

Molybdenum;

Nickel;

Potassium;

Phosphorus;

(25) Selenium;
(26) Silica;
27 Silver;
(28) Sodium;
(29) Strontium,;
(30) Thallium;
31 Tin;
32) Titanium;
(33) Vanadium; and
34) Zinc.
(d) Organics: Each of the organic Parameters listed in this
Paragraph shall be considered a certifiable Parameter. One or
more Parameter Methods shall be listed with a laboratory's
certified Parameters. Analytical methods shall be determined
from the sources listed in Rule .0805(a)(1) of this Section.
Certifiable organic Parameters are as follows:
(D) 1,2-Dibromoethane (EDB); 1,2-Dibromo-3-
chloro-propane (DBCP);, 1,2,3-
Trichloropropane (TCP);
2) Acetonitrile;
3 Acrolein, Acrylonitrile;
@) Adsorbable Organic Halides;
5) Base/Neutral and Acid Organics;
) Benzidines;
7 Chlorinated Acid Herbicides;
®) Chlorinated Hydrocarbons;
) Chlorinated Phenolics;
(10) Explosives;
(11) Extractable Petroleum Hydrocarbons;
(12) Haloethers;
(13) N-Methylcarbamates;
(14) Nitroaromatics and Isophorone;
(15) Nitrosamines;
(16) Nonhalogenated Volatile Organics;
(17) Organochlorine Pesticides;
(18) Organophosphorus Pesticides;
(19) Per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS);
(20)  Pharmaceutical Pollutants
£26)(21) Phenols;
21H(22) Phthalate Esters;
£22)(23) Polychlorinated Biphenyls;
23)(24) Polynuclear Aromatic Hydrocarbons;
24)(25) Purgeable Aromatics;
25)(26) Purgeable Halocarbons;
26)(27) Purgeable Organics;
£275(28) Total Organic Halides;
28)(29) Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons — Diesel Range
Organics;
£29(30) Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons — Gasoline
Range Organics; and
B30)(31) Volatile Petroleum Hydrocarbons.

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(10); Eff. February
1, 1976.

% % sk k ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok % ok ok ok ok

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Marine Fisheries Commission intends to amend the rules cited as
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15ANCAC 031.0101, .0114, 030 .0201, .0207, .0208, .0210, and
.0501-.0503.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c¢):
https://deq.nc.gov/mfc-proposed-rules

Proposed Effective Date: Subject to Legislative Review

Public Hearing:

Date: August 26, 2025

Time: 6:00 pm

Location: WebEx Events meeting link:
https://ncgov.webex.com/ncgov/j.php? MTID=m5bba69179ac81
774461e45721b2f9452  Event number: 2426 352 8767 Event
password: 1234 Event phone number:  1-415-655-0003
Access code: 242 635 28767 Listening station: Division of
Marine Fisheries Central District Office, 5285 Highway 70 West,
Morehead City, NC 28557

Reason for Proposed Action:
Permits

154 NCAC 031.0101 DEFINITIONS

Proposed amendments broaden the definition of "educational
institution” to better align with the original purpose of the
Scientific and Educational Activity Permit and Coastal
Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit. Additional
proposed amendments add a definition of "quota monitoring log"
in support of requirements for dealer permits for monitoring
fisheries under a quota or allocation, and a definition of
"permittee" to address the ubiquitous and interchangeable use of
"permittee” and "permit holder" (which is already defined)
throughout N.C. Marine Fisheries Commission rules.

154 NCAC 031.0114
REQUIREMENTS
Proposed amendments set the same recordkeeping requirements
for quota monitoring logs as for trip tickets for licensed fish
dealers but apply only to dealers holding a permit for monitoring
fisheries under a quota or allocation. Additional proposed
amendments clarify a fish dealer is required to submit a trip ticket
for fish not sold consistent with N.C. law and MFC rules for
commercial harvest reporting requirements.

RECORDKEEPING

154 NCAC 030 .0501 PROCEDURES
REQUIREMENTS TO OBTAIN PERMITS
Proposed amendments remove the requirement for a permit
application signature to be notarized, instead requiring the initial
permit general condition form to be notarized. This is a more
appropriate time in the permit issuance process to verify a
permittee's identity. Additional proposed amendments clarify
existing requirements for holders of an Estuarine Gill Net Permit
to hold a valid Recreational Commercial Gear License, Standard
Commercial Fishing License, or Retired Standard Commercial
Fishing License. Proposed amendments also add a link to the N.C.
Division of Marine Fisheries website to access permit
applications and related information.

AND

154 NCAC 030 .0502 GENERAL PERMIT CONDITIONS
Proposed amendments relocate from proclamation to rule the
permit condition that makes it unlawful to refuse to allow N.C.
Division of Marine Fisheries (DMF) employees to obtain data for
the conservation and management of marine and estuarine
resources, and data for the protection of public health related to
the public health programs that fall under the authority of the
N.C. Marine Fisheries Commission. These requirements are in
five other N.C. Marine Fisheries Commission rules, so the
proposed amendments would bring consistency across rules and
add clarity for regulated stakeholders.
154 NCAC 030 .0503  PERMIT
SPECIFIC

Proposed amendments address seven items. First, proposed
amendments relocate four existing permits from proclamation
into rule: Estuarine Gill Net Permit, Estuarine Flounder Dealer
Permit, Shellfish Lease Restoration Permit, and Shellfish
Relocation Permit to aid in the clarity of existing requirements for
the public. Relocating the permit requirements in rule has no real
impact on holders of the permits as the application process,
permit conditions, and reporting requirements would not change.
Second, proposed amendments require any seafood dealer that
reports trip tickets electronically be required to report quota
monitoring logs electronically, improving the timeliness and
accuracy of reporting. Third, proposed amendments include
email as a way to satisfy the call-in requirements for Scientific
and Educational Activity Permits and Permits for Weekend
Trawling for Live Shrimp, making it easier for regulated
stakeholders to forward required information to the N.C. Division
of Marine Fisheries and improving the tracking of activity by the
Division. Fourth, proposed amendments clarify requirements for
a Coastal Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit to
reflect proposed changes to another rule that broadens the
definition of "educational institution”, to better align with the
original purpose of the permit. Fifth, proposed amendments add
a link to the N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries website to access
information about which Division offices issue striped bass tags
for permitted dealers. Sixth, management for horseshoe crabs
falls under the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission
Interstate Fishery Management Plan for Horseshoe Crab, which
establishes state-by-state quotas in all Atlantic states for
horseshoe crabs harvested for bait and the requirement to collect
information on the use of horseshoe crabs for biomedical
purposes. The Horseshoe Crab Biomedical Use Permit was
designed to collect that information but is proposed for repeal
because the industry has not shown the anticipated growth since
its inception over 25 years ago. Eliminating the permit would not
disallow use of horseshoe crabs for biomedical purposes in North
Carolina, but access to horseshoe crabs would be limited to the
open commercial bait harvest season and counted towards the
annual bait quota to maintain compliance with the Interstate
Fishery Management Plan. Lastly, proposed amendments add
nongovernmental conservation organizations as entities eligible
for a Scientific or Educational Activity Permit that exempts the
holder from N.C. license, rule, proclamation, or statutory
requirements  for approved scientific, educational, or
conservation activities, pursuant to S.L. 2015-241, 5. 14.10A.

CONDITIONS;

Franchises and Shellfish Leases
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15A NCAC 031.0101 DEFINITIONS
Proposed amendments clarify the existing definition of "holder"
to align occurrences of "franchise holder" throughout N.C.

Marine Fisheries Commission rules with shellfish franchises
recognized pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 113-206.

154 NCAC 030 .0201
REQUIREMENTS
FRANCHISES
Proposed amendments include the removal of franchises from all
shellfish  production requirements, as the production
requirements are grounds for termination of a leasehold only.
Shellfish franchises recognized under N.C.G.S. § 113-206 are
perpetual. The N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries has understood
that because franchises are perpetual, the Division does not have
the authority to terminate franchises and thus subjecting a
franchise to production requirements would have no
consequence. The N.C. General Assembly codified this
understanding with the passage of Session Law 2024-32, Section
5.(a), which removed franchises from the production
requirements of Session Law 2019-37, Section 3. The N.C. Marine
Fisheries Commission's authority over private and protected
deeded rights of a shellfish franchise is limited to subjects such as
proper marking requirements and permitting of the aquaculture
activities occurring on a franchise. Additional amendments in
paragraphs (d) through (g) clarify production requirements for
shellfish leases based on the date a shellfish lease was granted or
last renewed. Additional amendments to paragraphs (a) and (i)
clarify who determines eligibility for additional shellfish lease
acreage, the time at which the determination of eligibility for
additional acreage occurs, what is considered additional shellfish
lease acreage, and what is considered acres under a shellfish
lease.

STANDARDS AND
FOR SHELLFISH LEASES AND

15A NCAC 030 .0207 SHELLFISH
FRANCHISE PRODUCTION REPORTS
Proposed amendments remove franchises from production report
requirements. Franchises are perpetual and not subject to
termination, and compliant production reports relate to
procedures for termination.

LEASE AND

154 NCAC 030 .0208 TERMINATION PROCEDURES
FOR SHELLFISH LEASES AND FRANCHISES

Proposed amendments align the rule with Session Law 2024-32,
Section 5.(a), by eliminating references to franchises.

15A NCAC 030.0210  STANDARDS
REQUIREMENTS FOR FRANCHISES
Proposed amendments clarify the proper activation of a shellfish
franchise enables the franchise to be permitted, remove the time
limit of 30 days following activation, and remove the method for
evaluating production of a franchise, as franchises are perpetual
and not subject to termination.

AND

Comments may be submitted to: Catherine Blum, PO Box 769,
Morehead City, NC 28557 (Written comments may also be
submitted via an online form available at https://deq.nc.gov/mfc-
proposed-rules.)

Comment period ends: September 30, 2025

Rule(s) is automatically subject to legislative review: S.L.
2019-37, Section 3, as amended by S.L. 2024-32, Section 5.(a):
15ANCAC030.0201; S.L. 2019-198: ISANCAC 031.0114, 030
.0501-.0503

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

OIXOOX

CHAPTER 03 - MARINE FISHERIES
SUBCHAPTER 031 - GENERAL RULES
SECTION .0100 - GENERAL RULES

15A NCAC 031 .0101 DEFINITIONS
All definitions set out in G.S. 113, Subchapter IV and the
following additional terms shall apply to this Chapter:

(N enforcement and management terms:

(a) "Commercial quota" means total
quantity of fish allocated for harvest
by commercial fishing operations.

(b) "Educational institution" means a
college, university, or community
college accredited by an accrediting
agency recognized by the U.S.
Department of  Education; an
Environmental Education Center
certified by the N.C. Department of
Environmental Quality Office of
Environmental Education and Public
Affairs; ef a zoo or aquarium certified
by the Association of Zoos and

Agquariams: Aquariums; or a public

school unit, private school, or an

organization whose mission includes

education.
(c) "Internal Coastal Waters" or "Internal

Waters" means all Coastal Fishing

Waters except the Atlantic Ocean.

(d) length of finfish:

(1) "Curved fork length" means a
length determined by
measuring along a line
tracing the contour of the
body from the tip of the upper
jaw to the middle of the fork
in the caudal (tail) fin.

(i1) "Fork length" means a length
determined by measuring
along a straight line the
distance from the tip of the
snout with the mouth closed
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(e)

®

to the middle of the fork in
the caudal (tail) fin, except
that fork length for billfish is
measured from the tip of the
lower jaw to the middle of the
fork of the caudal (tail) fin.

(1ii) "Pectoral fin curved fork
length" means a length of a
beheaded fish from the dorsal
insertion of the pectoral fin to
the fork of the tail measured
along the contour of the body
in a line that runs along the
top of the pectoral fin and the
top of the caudal keel.

(iv) "Total length" means a length
determined by measuring
along a straight line the
distance from the tip of the
snout with the mouth closed
to the tip of the compressed
caudal (tail) fin.

"Nongovernmental conservation

organization" means an organization

whose primary mission is the
conservation of natural resources. For

the purpose of this Chapter, a

determination of the organization's

primary mission is based upon the

Division of Marine  Fisheries'

consideration of the organization's

publicly stated purpose and activities.

"Polluted" means any shellfish

growing waters as defined in 15A

NCAC 18A .0901:

(1) that are contaminated with
fecal material, pathogenic
microorganisms, poisonous
or deleterious substances, or
marine biotoxins that render
the consumption of shellfish
from those growing waters
hazardous. This includes
poisonous or deleterious
substances as listed in the
latest approved edition of the
National Shellfish Sanitation
Program (NSSP) Guide for
the Control of Molluscan
Shellfish, Section IV:
Guidance Documents,
Chapter 1I: Growing Areas;
Action Levels, Tolerances
and Guidance Levels for
Poisonous or Deleterious
Substances in  Seafood,
which is incorporated by
reference, including
subsequent amendments and

(2)

(h)

(@)

)

editions. A copy of the
reference material can be
found at
https://www.fda.gov/food/fe
deralstate-food-
programs/national-shellfish-
sanitation-program-nssp,  at
no cost;

(i) that have been determined
through a sanitary survey as
defined in 15A NCAC 18A
.0901 to be adjacent to a
sewage treatment plant
outfall or other point source
outfall that may contaminate
shellfish and cause a food
safety hazard as defined in
15A NCAC 18A .0301;

(1i1) that have been determined
through a sanitary survey as
defined in 15A NCAC 18A
.0901 to be in or adjacent to a
marina;

(iv) that have been determined
through a sanitary survey as
defined in 15A NCAC 18A
.0901 to be impacted by other
potential sources of pollution
that render the consumption
of shellfish from those
growing waters hazardous,
such as a  wastewater
treatment facility that does
not contaminate a shellfish
area when it is operating
normally but will
contaminate a shellfish area
and shellfish in that area
when a malfunction occurs;
or

) where the Division is unable
to complete the monitoring
necessary to determine the
presence of contamination or
potential pollution sources.

"Recreational possession limit" means

restrictions on size, quantity, season,

time period, area, means, and methods

where take or possession is for a

recreational purpose.

"Recreational quota" means total

quantity of fish allocated for harvest

for a recreational purpose.

"Regular closed oyster season" means

March 31 through October 15, unless

amended by the Fisheries Director

through proclamation authority.

"Scientific institution" means one of

the following entities:
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2

(1) an educational institution as
defined in this Item;

(ii) a state or federal agency
charged with the

management of marine or
estuarine resources; or

(1ii) a professional organization
or secondary school working
under the direction of, or in
compliance with mandates
from, the entities listed in
Sub-items (j)(i) and (ii) of
this Item.

fishing activities:

(a)

(b)

(©)

"Aquaculture operation" means an
operation that produces artificially
propagated stocks of marine or
estuarine resources, or other non-
native species that may thrive if
introduced into Coastal Fishing
Waters, or obtains such stocks from
permitted sources for the purpose of
rearing on private bottom (with or
without the superadjacent water
column) or in a controlled
environment. A controlled
environment provides and maintains
throughout the rearing process one or
more of the following:

6) food;

(ii) predator protection;

(1ii) salinity;

(iv) temperature controls; or

v) water circulation, utilizing

technology not found in the

natural environment.
"Attended" means being in a vessel, in
the water or on the shore, and
immediately available to work the
gear and be within 100 yards of any
gear in use by that person at all times.
Attended does not include being in a
building or structure.
"Blue crab shedding" means the
process whereby a blue crab emerges
soft from its former hard exoskeleton.
A shedding operation is any operation
that holds peeler crabs in a controlled
environment. A controlled
environment provides and maintains
throughout the shedding process one
or more of the following:

(1) food;

(i1) predator protection;

(ii1) salinity;

@iv) temperature controls; or

v) water circulation, utilizing

technology not found in the
natural  environment. A

3

(d)

(e)
®

(@

(h)

0

)

gear:

(a)

(b)

(c)

shedding operation does not
include transporting pink or
red-line peeler crabs to a
permitted shedding
operation.
"Depurate" or "depuration" has the
same meaning as defined in the 2019
revision of the NSSP Guide for the
Control of Molluscan Shellfish,
Section I: Purpose and Definitions.
This definition is incorporated by
reference, not including subsequent
amendments and editions. A copy of
the reference material can be found at
https://www.fda.gov/food/federalstate
-food-programs/national-shellfish-
sanitation-program-nssp, at no cost.
"Long haul operation" means fishing a
seine towed between two vessels.
"Peeler crab" means a blue crab that
has a soft shell developing under a
hard shell and having a white, pink, or
red-line or rim on the outer edge of the
back fin or flipper.
"Possess" means any actual or
constructive holding whether under
claim of ownership or not.
"Recreational purpose” means a
fishing activity that is not a
commercial fishing operation as
defined in G.S. 113-168.
"Swipe net operations" means fishing
a seine towed by one vessel.
"Transport" means to ship, carry, or
cause to be carried or moved by public
or private carrier by land, sea, or air.
"Use" means to employ, set, operate,
or permit to be operated or employed.

"Bunt net" means the last encircling
net of a long haul or swipe net
operation constructed of small mesh
webbing. The bunt net is used to form
a pen or pound from which the catch is
dipped or bailed.

"Channel net" means a net used to take

shrimp that is anchored or attached to

the bottom at both ends or with one
end anchored or attached to the bottom
and the other end attached to a vessel.

"Commercial fishing equipment or

gear" means all fishing equipment

used in Coastal Fishing Waters except:

(1) cast nets;

(i1) collapsible crab traps, a trap
used for taking crabs with the
largest open dimension no
larger than 18 inches and that
by design is collapsed at all
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(d)

(e)

®

(@

times when in the water,
except when it is being
retrieved from or lowered to
the bottom,;

(iii) dip nets or scoops having a
handle not more than eight
feet in length and a hoop or
frame to which the net is
attached not exceeding 60
inches along the perimeter;

@iv) gigs or other pointed
implements that are
propelled by hand, whether
or not the implement remains
in the hand;

v) hand operated rakes no more
than 12 inches wide and
weighing no more than six
pounds and hand operated
tongs;

(vi) hook and line, and bait and
line equipment other than
multiple-hook or multiple-
bait trotline;

(vii) landing nets used to assist in
taking fish when the initial
and primary method of taking
is by the use of hook and line;

(viii)  minnow traps when no more
than two are in use;

(ix) seines less than 30 feet in
length;
(x) spears, Hawaiian slings, or

similar devices that propel
pointed implements by
mechanical means, including
elastic tubing or bands,
pressurized gas, or similar
means.
"Corkline" means the support
structure a net is attached to that is
nearest to the water surface when in
use. Corkline length is measured from
the outer most mesh knot at one end of
the corkline following along the line to
the outer most mesh knot at the
opposite end of the corkline.
"Dredge" means a device towed by
engine power consisting of a frame,
tooth bar or smooth bar, and catchbag
used in the harvest of oysters, clams,
crabs, scallops, or conchs.
"Fixed or stationary net" means a net
anchored or staked to the bottom, or
some structure attached to the bottom,
at both ends of the net.
"Fyke net" means an entrapment net
supported by a series of internal or
external hoops or frames, with one or

(h)

)

(9]

@

(m)

more lead or leaders that guide fish to
the net mouth. The net has one or more
internal funnel-shaped openings with
tapered ends directed inward from the
mouth, through which fish enter the
enclosure. The portion of the net
designed to hold or trap fish is
completely enclosed in mesh or
webbing, except for the openings for
fish passage into or out of the net
(funnel area).

"Gill net" means a net set vertically in
the water to capture fish by
entanglement of the gills in its mesh as
a result of net design, construction,
mesh length, webbing diameter, or
method in which it is used.
"Headrope" means the support
structure for the mesh or webbing of a
trawl that is nearest to the water
surface when in use. Headrope length
is measured from the outer most mesh
knot at one end of the headrope
following along the line to the outer
most mesh knot at the opposite end of
the headrope.

"Hoop net" means an entrapment net
supported by a series of internal or
external hoops or frames. The net has
one or more internal funnel-shaped
openings with tapered ends directed
inward from the mouth, through which
fish enter the enclosure. The portion of
the net designed to hold or trap the fish
is completely enclosed in mesh or
webbing, except for the openings for
fish passage into or out of the net
(funnel area).

"Lead" means a mesh or webbing
structure  consisting of nylon,
monofilament, plastic, wire, or similar
material set vertically in the water and
held in place by stakes or anchors to
guide fish into an enclosure. Lead
length is measured from the outer most
end of the lead along the top or bottom
line, whichever is longer, to the
opposite end of the lead.

"Mechanical methods for clamming"
means dredges, hydraulic clam
dredges, stick rakes, and other rakes
when towed by engine power, patent
tongs, kicking with propellers or
deflector plates with or without trawls,
and any other method that utilizes
mechanical means to harvest clams.
"Mechanical methods for oystering"
means dredges, patent tongs, stick
rakes, and other rakes when towed by
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“4)

(n)

(0)

(p)

(@

engine power, and any other method
that utilizes mechanical means to
harvest oysters.

"Mesh length" means the distance
from the inside of one knot to the
outside of the opposite knot, when the
net is stretched hand-tight in a manner
that closes the mesh opening.

"Pound net set" means a fish trap
consisting of a holding pen, one or
more enclosures, lead or leaders, and
stakes or anchors used to support the
trap. The holding pen, enclosures, and
lead(s) are not conical, nor are they
supported by hoops or frames.

"Purse gill net" means any gill net used
to encircle fish when the net is closed
by the use of a purse line through rings
located along the top or bottom line or
elsewhere on such net.

"Seine" means a net set vertically in
the water and pulled by hand or power
to capture fish by encirclement and
confining fish within itself or against
another net, the shore or bank as a
result of net design, construction,
mesh length, webbing diameter, or
method in which it is used.

"Fish habitat areas" means the estuarine and
marine areas that support juvenile and adult
populations of fish species throughout their
entire life cycle, including early growth and
development, as well as forage species utilized
in the food chain. Fish habitats in all Coastal
Fishing Waters, as determined through marine
and estuarine survey sampling, are:

(a)

(b)

(©)

"Anadromous fish nursery areas"
means those areas in the riverine and
estuarine systems utilized by post-
larval and later juvenile anadromous
fish.

"Anadromous fish spawning areas"
means those areas where evidence of
spawning of anadromous fish has been
documented in Division sampling
records through direct observation of
spawning, capture of running ripe
females, or capture of eggs or early
larvae.

"Coral" means:

(1) fire corals and hydrocorals
(Class Hydrozoa);
(i1) stony corals and black corals

(Class Anthozoa, Subclass
Scleractinia); or

(ii1) Octocorals; Gorgonian corals
(Class Anthozoa, Subclass
Octocorallia), which include
sea fans (Gorgonia sp.), sea

(d)

(e)

)

whips (Leptogorgia sp. and

Lophogorgia sp.), and sea

pansies (Renilla sp.).
"Intertidal oyster bed" means a
formation, regardless of size or shape,
formed of shell and live oysters of
varying density.
"Live rock" means living marine
organisms or an assemblage thereof
attached to a hard substrate, excluding
mollusk shells, but including dead
coral or rock. Living marine
organisms associated with hard
bottoms, banks, reefs, and live rock
include:

1) Coralline algae (Division
Rhodophyta);
(i1) Acetabularia sp., mermaid's

fan and cups (Udotea sp.),
watercress (Halimeda sp.),
green feather, green grape
algae (Caulerpa sp.)(Division
Chlorophyta);

(iii) Sargassum sp., Dictyopteris
sp., Zonaria sp. (Division

Phaeophyta);
@iv) sponges (Phylum Porifera);
) hard and soft corals, sea
anemones (Phylum

Cnidaria), including fire
corals (Class Hydrozoa), and
Gorgonians, whip corals, sea

pansies, anemones,
Solengastrea (Class
Anthozoa);

(vi) Bryozoans (Phylum
Bryozoa);

(vii) tube worms (Phylum
Annelida), fan  worms

(Sabellidae), feather duster
and Christmas treeworms
(Serpulidae), and sand castle
worms (Sabellaridae);
(viii)  mussel banks  (Phylum
Mollusca: Gastropoda); and
(ix) acorn barnacles (Arthropoda:
Crustacea: Semibalanus sp.).
"Nursery areas" means areas that for
reasons such as food, cover, bottom
type, salinity, temperature, and other
factors, young finfish and crustaceans
spend the major portion of their initial
growing season. Primary nursery areas
are those areas in the estuarine system
where initial post-larval development
takes place. These are areas where
populations are uniformly early
juveniles. Secondary nursery areas are
those areas in the estuarine system
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(@

(h)

(i)

where later juvenile development
takes place. Populations are composed
of developing sub-adults of similar
size that have migrated from an
upstream primary nursery area to the
secondary nursery area located in the
middle portion of the estuarine system.
"Shellfish producing habitats" means
historic or existing areas that shellfish,
such as clams, oysters, scallops,
mussels, and whelks use to reproduce
and survive because of such favorable
conditions as bottom type, salinity,
currents, cover, and cultch. Included
are those shellfish producing areas
closed to shellfish harvest due to
pollution.
"Strategic Habitat Areas" means
locations of individual fish habitats or
systems of habitats that provide
exceptional habitat functions or that
are particularly at risk due to imminent
threats, vulnerability, or rarity.
"Submerged aquatic vegetation (SAV)
habitat" means submerged lands that:
(1) are vegetated with one or
more species of submerged
aquatic vegetation including
bushy pondweed or southern
naiad (Najas guadalupensis),
coontail (Ceratophyllum
demersum), eelgrass (Zostera
marina), horned pondweed

(Zannichellia palustris),
naiads (Najas spp.), redhead
grass (Potamogeton
perfoliatus), sago pondweed
(Stuckenia pectinata,
formerly Potamogeton
pectinatus), shoalgrass
(Halodule wrightii), slender
pondweed (Potamogeton

pusillus), water stargrass
(Heteranthera dubia), water
starwort (Callitriche
heterophylla), waterweeds
(Elodea spp.), widgeongrass
(Ruppia maritima), and wild
celery (Vallisneria
americana). These areas may
be identified by the presence
of above-ground leaves,
below-ground rhizomes, or
reproductive structures
associated with one or more
SAV species and include the
sediment within these areas;
or

5) licenses,

(i) have been vegetated by one
or more of the species
identified in  Sub-item
(4)()(1) of this Rule within
the past 10 annual growing
seasons and that meet the
average physical
requirements of water depth,
which is six feet or less,
average light availability,
which is a secchi depth of one
foot or more, and limited
wave exposure that
characterize the environment
suitable for growth of SAV.
The past presence of SAV
may be demonstrated by
aerial photography, SAV
survey, map, or other
documentation. An extension
of the past 10 annual growing
seasons criteria may be
considered when average
environmental conditions are
altered by drought, rainfall,
or storm force winds.

This habitat occurs in both subtidal

and intertidal zones and may occur in

isolated patches or cover extensive
areas. In defining SAV habitat, the

Marine Fisheries Commission

recognizes the Aquatic Weed Control

Act of 1991 (G.S. 113A-220 et. seq.)

and does not intend the submerged

aquatic vegetation definition, of this

Rule or 15A NCAC 03K .0304 and

.0404, to apply to or conflict with the

non-development control activities

authorized by that Act.
permits, shellfish leases and

franchises, and record keeping:

(a)

(b)

(c)

"Assignment"  means temporary
transferal to another person of
privileges under a license for which
assignment is permitted. The person
assigning the license delegates the
privileges permitted under the license
to be exercised by the assignee, but
retains the power to revoke the
assignment at any time, and is still the
responsible party for the license.
"Designee" means any person who is
under the direct control of the
permittee or who is employed by or
under contract to the permittee for the
purposes authorized by the permit.
"For hire vessel", as defined by G.S.
113-174, means when the vessel is
fishing in State waters or when the

40:03

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

AUGUST 1, 2025

298



PROPOSED RULES

(d)
(e)

¢

(2

(h)

(1)

W)

vessel originates from or returns to a
North Carolina port.

"Franchise" means a franchise
recognized pursuant to G.S. 113-206.
"Holder" means a person who has
been lawfully issued in the person's
name a license, permit, franchise;

shellfish lease, or assishment

assignment, or who possesses a
shellfish franchise recognized

pursuant to G.S. 113-206.

"Land" means:

(i) for commercial fishing
operations, when fish reach
the shore or a structure
connected to the shore.

(i1) for purposes of trip tickets,
when fish reach a licensed
seafood dealer, or where the
fisherman is the dealer, when
fish reach the shore or a
structure connected to the
shore.

(iii) for  recreational fishing
operations, when fish are
retained in possession by the
fisherman.

"Licensee" means any person holding
a valid license from the Department
Division to take or deal in marine
fisherics—resourees; resources
governed by any provision of
Subchapter 113 of the North Carolina
General Statutes under the authority of
the Marine Fisheries Commission or
any rule adopted by the Marine
Fisheries Commission pursuant to
Subchapter 113, except as otherwise
defined in 15A NCAC 030 .0109.
"Logbook" means paper forms
provided by the Division and
electronic data files generated from
software or web-based utilities
provided by the Division for the
reporting of fisheries statistics by
persons engaged in commercial or
recreational  fishing or for-hire
operators.

"Master" means captain or operator of

a vessel or one who commands and

has control, authority, or power over a

vessel.

"New fish dealer" means any fish

dealer making—appheation applying

for a fish dealer license who did not
possess a valid dealer license for the
previous license year in that name. For
purposes of license issuance, adding
new categories to an existing fish

)

hn)

tm)(0)

)(p)

o)

dealers license does not constitute a
new dealer.

"Office of the Division" means
physical locations of the Division
conducting license and permit
transactions in Wilmington, Morehead
City, Washington, and Roanoke
Island, North  Carolina.  Other
businesses or entities designated by
the Secretary to issue Recreational
Commercial Gear Licenses or Coastal
Recreational Fishing Licenses are not
considered Offices of the Division.
"Permittee" means any person who
has been issued a permit from the
Division to take or deal in resources
governed by any provision of
Subchapter 113 of the North Carolina
General Statutes under the authority of
the Marine Fisheries Commission or
any rule adopted by the Marine

Fisheries Commission pursuant to

Subchapter 113.
"Quota monitoring log" means paper

forms provided by the Division and
electronic data files generated from
software or web-based utilities
provided by the Division for the
reporting of fisheries statistics by
licensed fish dealers who hold dealer
permits for monitoring fisheries under
a quota or allocation.

"Responsible party" means the person
who coordinates, supervises, or
otherwise directs operations of a
business entity, such as a corporate
officer or executive level supervisor of
business operations, and the person
responsible for use of the issued
license in compliance with applicable
statutes and rules.

"Tournament organizer" means the
person who coordinates, supervises, or
otherwise directs a recreational fishing
tournament and is the holder of the
Recreational ~ Fishing Tournament
License.

"Transaction" means an act of doing
business such that fish are sold,
offered for sale, exchanged, bartered,
distributed, or landed.

"Transfer" means permanent
transferal to another person of
privileges under a license for which
transfer is permitted. The person
transferring the license retains no
rights or interest under the license
transferred.
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P)(r) "Trip ticket" means paper forms
provided by the Division and
electronic data files generated from
software or web-based utilities
provided by the Division for the
reporting of fisheries statistics by

licensed fish dealers.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-174; 113-182; 143B-289.52; S.L.
2015-241, s. 14.10A.

15A NCAC 031 .0114
REQUIREMENTS
(a) It shall be unlawful for a licensed fish dealer:

(1) to record false information on the North
Carolina trip ticket or to fail to legibly record
all items on the North Carolina trip ticket for
each transaetion transaction, including for fish
harvested but not sold pursuant to 15A NCAC

RECORDKEEPING

031 .0123., and submit the trip ticket in

accordance with G.S. 113-168.2, including the

following:

(A) fisherman's name;

(B) fisherman's North Carolina license
number;

© dealer's North Carolina license
number;

(D) start date of trip, including year,
month, and day;

(E) unload date of trip, including year,
month, and day;

(F) North Carolina Division of Marine
Fisheries Vessel Identification
Number or indicate if no vessel was
used;

(G) crew size;

(H) gear fished;

) waterbody fished;

@) species landed;

(K) quantity of each species landed in
pounds, numbers of fish, bushels, or
other units of measurement;

@) disposition of species;

M) transaction number;

N) number of crab pots or peeler pots
fished, if applicable;

(O) state where species was taken if other

than North Carolina;

P) lease number, if applicable;

Q) bottom type, if applicable; and

(R) shellfish harvest area, if applieable:
applicable;

2) to fail to provide to the Division a Trip Ticket
Submittal/Transaction form indicating the
number of transactions that occurred during the
previous month;

3) to fail to make paper copies or electronic copies
of trip tickets or N.C. Trip Ticket Program

Dock Tickets available at the dealer location for
inspection by Marine Fisheries inspectors;

4) to fail to submit trip tickets to the Division via
electronic file transfer if that dealer reported an
annual average of greater than 50,000 pounds
of finfish for the previous three calendar years.
Dealers subject to the electronic reporting
requirement shall be notified by the Division
via certified mail and within 120 days of receipt

shall:

(A) initiate electronic file transfer of trip
tickets; and

B) continue to report by electronic file

transfer until the dealer no longer
holds a fish dealer license with finfish
or consolidated categories;

®)] to fail to use software or web-based utilities
authorized by the Division when reporting
electronically; and

6) to fail to keep all trip tickets and all supporting
documentation for each transaction including
receipts, checks, bills of lading, records,
electronic files, and accounts for a period of not
less than three years- years;

(@A) to fail to submit quota monitoring logs in
accordance with 15A NCAC 030 .0503 if the
licensed fish dealer holds a dealer permit for
monitoring  fisheries under a quota or
allocation; and

®) to fail to keep all quota monitoring logs
including electronic files for a period of not less
than three years.

(b) It shall be unlawful for a seller licensed under G.S. 113,
Article 14A or donor to fail to provide to the fish dealer, at the
time of transaction, the following:

)] a current and valid license or permit to sell the
type of fish being offered and if a vessel is used,
the Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration;
and

2) complete and accurate information on harvest
method and area of catch and other information
required by the Division, in accordance with
G.S. 113-168.2 and G.S. 113-169.3.

(c) It shall be unlawful to transport fish without having ready at
hand for inspection a bill of consignment, bill of lading, or other
shipping documentation provided by the shipping dealer showing
the following items:

)] name of the consignee;

2) name of the shipper;

3) date of the shipment;

@) name of fish being shipped; and

(5) quantity of each fish being shipped.

In the event the fisherman taking the fish is also a licensed fish
dealer and ships from the point of landing, all shipping records
shall be recorded at the point of landing. Fishermen who transport
their fish directly to licensed fish dealers are exempt from this
Paragraph.

(d) It shall be unlawful to export fish landed in the State in a
commercial fishing operation without a North Carolina licensed
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fish dealer completing all the recordkeeping requirements in G.S.
113-168.2(i).
(e) It shall be unlawful to offer for sale fish purchased from a
licensed fish dealer without having ready at hand for inspection
by Marine Fisheries inspectors or other agents of the Fisheries
Director written documentation of purchase showing the
following items:

(1) name of the licensed fish dealer;

2) name of the purchaser;

3) date of the purchase;

4) name of fish purchased; and

(5) quantity of each fish purchased.
(f) It shall be unlawful for a holder of a Fish Dealer License to
have fish in possession at a licensed location without written
documentation from a licensed fish dealer or a completed North
Carolina trip ticket to show the quantity and origin of all fish.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-168.2; 113-168.3; 113-169.3; 113-
170; 113-170.3; 113-170.4; 113-182; 143B-289.52.

SUBCHAPTER 030 - LICENSES, LEASES,
FRANCHISES, AND PERMITS

SECTION .0200 - SHELLFISH LEASES AND
FRANCHISES

15A NCAC 030.0201 STANDARDS AND
REQUIREMENTS FOR SHELLFISH LEASES AND
FRANCHISES

(a) For the purpose of this Section:

a "any acres under a shellfish lease" shall include
a water column amendment superjacent to a

franchise.
2) "application for additional shellfish lease
acreage" shall include a water column

amendment application to an existing shellfish
bottom lease or to a franchise when the
franchise holder also holds a shellfish bottom
lease.

"extensive shellfish culture" shall mean
shellfish grown on the bottom without the use
of cages, racks, bags, or floats.

"intensive shellfish culture" shall mean
shellfish grown on the bottom or in the water
column using cages, racks, bags, or floats.
"plant" shall mean providing evidence of
purchasing shellfish seed or planting shellfish
seed or authorized cultch materials on a
shellfish lease-or-franchise- lease.

"produce" shall mean the culture and harvest of
oysters, clams, scallops, or mussels from a
shellfish lease er—franchise and lawful sale of
those shellfish to the public at large or to a
licensed shellfish dealer.

(b) All areas of the public bottom underlying Coastal Fishing
Waters shall meet the following standards and requirements, in
addition to the standards in G.S. 113-202, in order to be deemed
suitable for leasing for shellfish aquaculture purposes:

5H3)

2 C]

306

(6)

)] the proposed shellfish lease area shall not
contain a "natural shellfish bed," as defined in
G.S. 113-201.1, or have 10 bushels or more of
shellfish per acre;

2) the proposed shellfish lease area shall not be
closer than 250 feet from a developed shoreline
or a water-dependent shore-based structure,
except no minimum setback is required when
the area to be leased borders the applicant's
property, the property of "riparian owners" as
defined in G.S. 113-201.1 who have consented
in a notarized statement, or is in an area
bordered by undeveloped shoreline. For the
purpose of this Rule, a water-dependent shore-
based structure shall include docks, wharves,
boat ramps, bridges, bulkheads, and groins;

3) the proposed shellfish lease area shall not be
closer than 250 feet to an existing lease;

4) the proposed shellfish lease area, either alone or
when considered cumulatively with other
existing lease areas in the vicinity, shall not
interfere with navigation or with existing,
traditional uses of the area; and

%) the proposed shellfish lease area shall not be
less than one-half acre and shall not exceed 10
acres.

(c) To be suitable for leasing for shellfish aquaculture purposes,
shellfish water column leases superjacent to a shellfish bottom
lease shall meet the standards in G.S. 113-202.1 and shellfish
water column leases superjacent to franchises shall meet the
standards in G.S. 113-202.2.

(d) Shellfish bottom leases and-franchises granted or renewed on
or before July 1, 2019 and not renewed after July 1, 2019 shall be
terminated unless they meet the following requirements, in
addition to the standards in and as allowed by G.S. 113-202:

(D) they produce 10 bushels of shellfish per acre per
year; and

2) they are planted with 25 bushels of seed
shellfish per acre per year or 50 bushels of
cultch per acre per year, or a combination of
cultch and seed shellfish where the percentage
of required cultch planted and the percentage of
required seed shellfish planted totals at least
100 percent.

(e) Shellfish water column leases granted or renewed on or before
July 1, 2019 and not renewed after July 1, 2019 shall be
terminated unless they meet the following requirements, in
addition to the standards in and as allowed by G.S. 113-202.1 and
G.S. 113-202.2:

) they produce 40 bushels of shellfish per acre per
year; or

2 the underlying bottom is planted with 100
bushels of cultch or seed shellfish per acre per
year.

(f) Shellfish bottom leases andfranchises granted or renewed
after July 1, 2019 shall be terminated unless they meet the
following requirements, in addition to the standards in and as
allowed by G.S. 113-202:
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(D they produce a minimum of 20 bushels of
shellfish per acre averaged over the previous
three-year period beginning in year five of the
shellfish bottom lease-erfranchise; lease; or

2) for intensive culture bottom operations, the
holder of the shellfish bottom lease erfranchise
provides evidence of purchasing a minimum of
23,000 shellfish seed per acre annually and for
extensive culture bottom operations, the holder
of the lease er—franechise plants a minimum of
15,000 shellfish seed per acre per year.

(g) Shellfish water column leases granted or renewed after July
1, 2019 shall be terminated unless they meet the following
requirements, in addition to the standards in and as allowed by
G.S. 113-202.1 and 113-202.2:

(1) they produce a minimum of 50 bushels of
shellfish per acre averaged over the previous
three-year period beginning in year five of the
shellfish water column lease; or

2) the holder of the shellfish water column lease
provides evidence of purchasing a minimum of
23,000 shellfish seed per acre annually.

(h) The following standards shall be applied to determine
compliance with Paragraphs (d), (e), (f), and (g) of this Rule:

(D only shellfish planted or produced as defined in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be included in
the annual shellfish lease and—franchise
production reports required by Rule .0207 of
this Section.

2) if more than one shellfish lease erfranchise is
used in the production of shellfish, one of the
leases er—franchises used in the production of
the shellfish shall be designated as the
producing lease erfranchise for those shellfish.
Each bushel of shellfish shall be produced by
only one shellfish lease—er—franchise- lease.
Shellfish transplanted between shellfish leases
orfranehises shall be credited as planting effort
on only one lease-orfranchise- lease.

3) production information and planting effort
information shall be compiled and averaged
separately to assess compliance with the
requirements of this Rule. Shellfish bottom
leases and-franchises granted on or before July
1, 2019 shall meet both the production
requirement and the planting effort requirement
within the dates set forth in G.S. 113-202.1 and
G.S. 113-202.2 to be deemed in compliance.
Shellfish bottom leases and-franchises granted
after July 1, 2019 and shellfish water column
leases shall meet either the production
requirement or the planting effort requirement
within the dates set forth in G.S. 113-202.1 and
G.S. 113-202.2 to be deemed in compliance.

4) all bushel measurements shall be in standard
U.S. bushels.

%) in determining production and—marketing
averages and planting effort averages for
information not reported in  bushel

measurements, the following conversion
factors shall be used:
(A) 300 oysters, 400 clams, or 400

scallops equal one bushel; and

(B) 40 pounds of scallop shell, 60 pounds
of oyster shell, 75 pounds of clam
shell, or 90 pounds of fossil stone
equal one bushel.

(6) production rate averages shall be computed
irrespective of transfer of the shellfish lease-or
franchise: lease. The production rates shall be
averaged for the following situations using the
time periods described:

(A) for an initial shellfish bottom lease-or
franchise; lease, over the consecutive
full calendar years remaining on the
bottom lease er—franchise contract
after December 31 following the
second anniversary of the initial
bottom lease-orfranchise; lease;

(B) for a renewal shellfish bottom lease-er
franchise; lease, over the consecutive
full calendar years beginning January
1 of the final year of the previous
bottom lease er—franechise term and
ending December 31 of the final year
of the current bottom lease eor
franchise contract;

© for a shellfish water column lease,
over the first five-year period for an
initial water column lease and over the
most recent five-year period thereafter
for a renewal water column lease; or

(D) for a shellfish bottom Ilease er
franchise issued an extension period
under Rule .0208 of this Section, over
the most recent five-year period.

@) in the event that a portion of an existing
shellfish lease erfranchise is obtained by a new
lease erfranehise holder, the production history
for the portion obtained shall be a percentage of
the originating lease er—franehise production
equal to the percentage of the area of lease er
franchise site obtained to the area of the
originating lease-erfranchise- lease.

(i) Fe Consistent with G.S. 113-202, G.S. 113-202.1, and G.S.
113-202.2, to be deemed eligible for by the Secretary to hold
additional shellfish lease acreage, persons holding any acres under
a shellfish lease er—franchise shall meet the following
requirements established-in: at the time of submitting a shellfish
lease application for additional shellfish lease acreage:

1 Paragraphs (d), (e), (f), and (g) of this Rule;

2) Rule .0204 of this Section; and

3) Rule .0503(a) of this Subchapter.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 113-202; 113-202.1;
113-202.2; 113-206, 143B-289.52; S.L. 2019-37, 5. 3; S.L. 2024-

32, 5. 5.(a).
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15A NCAC 030 .0207 SHELLFISH LEASE AND
ERANCHISE PRODUCTION REPORTS

(a) The holder or holders of a shellfish lease erfranchise shall
provide an annual production report to the Division of Marine
Fisheries by March 31 of each year showing the amounts of
material planted, purchased, and harvested; where and when the
material was obtained; and when the material was planted in
accordance with Rules .0201 and .0202 of this Section. The report
shall include documentation of purchased seed in accordance with
Rule .0201 of this Section.

(b) The Division shall provide reporting forms annually to each
shellfish lease er—franchise holder to be used for the annual
production report.

(c) Failure by the holder or holders of the shellfish lease e
franehise to submit the required annual production report or filing
an incomplete report or a report containing false information
constitutes grounds for termination as set forth in Rule .0208 of
this Section.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 113-202; 113-202.1;
113-202.2; H43-206; 143B-289.52.

15A NCAC 030 .0208 TERMINATION PROCEDURES
FOR SHELLFISH LEASES AND-FRANCHISES

(a) Procedures for termination of shellfish leases and-franchises
are provided in G.S. 113-202.

(b) Consistent with G.S. 113-202(11) and G.S. 113-201(b), a
shellfish lease or—franchise holder that failed to meet the
requirements in G.S. 113-202, G.S. 113-202.1, G.S. 113-202.2, or
the rules of this Section that govern a determination of failure to
utilize the lease on a continuing basis for the commercial
production of shellfish may be granted a single extension period
of no more than two years per contract period upon a showing of
hardship by written notice to the Fisheries Director or the
Fisheries Director's designee received prior to the expiration of
the lease term that documents one of the following occurrences
caused or will cause the lease erfranchise holder to fail to meet
lease requirements:

(1) death, illness, or incapacity of the shellfish
lease er—franchise holder or the holder's
immediate family as defined in G.S. 113-168
that prevented or will prevent the lease o
franehise holder from working the lease;

2) damage to the shellfish lease er-franchise from
hurricanes, tropical storms, or other severe
weather events recognized by the National
Weather Service;

3) shellfish mortality caused by disease, natural
predators, or parasites; or

4 damage to the shellfish lease erfranchise from
a manmade disaster that triggers a state
emergency declaration or federal emergency
declaration.

(c) In the case of hardship as described in Paragraph (b) of this
Rule, the notice shall state the shellfish lease erfranchise number.
In the case of hardship as described in Subparagraph (b)(1) of this
Rule, the notice shall also state the name of the shellfish lease or
franchise holder or immediate family member and either the date
of death or the date of the illness or incapacity. The Fisheries

Director may require a doctor's verification that the illness or
incapacity occurred. In the case of hardship as described in
Subparagraphs (b)(2) through (b)(4) of this Rule, the notice shall
also include documentation of damage to the shellfish lease-or
franehise- lease. Written notice and supporting documentation
shall be addressed to the Director of the Division of Marine
Fisheries, 3441 Arendell Street, P.O. Box 769, Morehead City,
NC 28557.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 113-202; 113-202.1;
113-202.2; 113-205; H3-206; 143B-289.52.

15A NCAC 030 .0210 STANDARDS AND
REQUIREMENTS FOR FRANCHISES

(a) A franchise holder desiring a permit from the Division of
Marine Fisheries to conduct shellfish aquaculture on their
franchise shall submit a Shellfish Management Plans; Plan,
prepared in accordance with the standards for a Shellfish Lease
Management Plan in Rule .0202 of this Section, shall-be-provided

to the Division ef-Marine—Fisheries—within30-days following

formal recognition of a valid chain of title and at ten-year intervals
thereafter.

(b) The Shellfish Management Plan requirements in Paragraph
(a) of this Rule and all other requirements and conditions of this
Section affecting management of franchises shall apply to all
valid franchises.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-201; 113-202; 113-202.2;
113-205; 113-206; 143B-289.52.

SECTION .0500 - PERMITS

15A NCAC 030 .0501 PROCEDURES AND
REQUIREMENTS TO OBTAIN PERMITS

(a) To obtain a Division of Marine Fisheries permit, an applicant,
responsible party, or person holding a power of attorney shall
provide the following information:

(D) the full name, physical address, mailing
address, date of birth, and signature of the
applicant on the application and, if the applicant
is not appearing before a license agent or the
designated Division of Marine Fisheries

4 5 . . |
apphication-shall-be-notarized: contact;

2 a current picture identification of the applicant,
responsible party, or person holding a power of
attorney, acceptable forms of which shall
include driver's license, North Carolina
Identification card issued by the North Carolina
Division of Motor Vehicles, military
identification card, resident alien card (green
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3)

(4)

)

card), or passport or, if applying by mail, a copy
thereof;

for permits that require a list of designees, the
full names and dates of birth of the designees of
the applicant who will be acting pursuant to the
requested permit;

certification that the applicant and his or her
designees do not have four or more marine-or
estuarine-resenree convictions for violation of
any provision of Subchapter 113 of the North
Carolina General Statutes under the authority of

the Marine Fisheries Commission or any rule

adopted by the Marine Fisheries Commission
pursuant to Subchapter 113 during the previous

three years; and

for permit applications from business entities:

(A) the business name;

(B) the type of business entity:
corporation, "educational institution"
as defined in 15A NCAC 03I .0101,
limited liability company (LLC),
partnership, or sole proprietorship;

© the name, address, and phone number
of responsible party and other
identifying information required by
this Subchapter or rules related to a
specific permit;

(D) for a corporation applying for a permit
in a corporate name, the current
articles of incorporation and a current
list of corporate officers;

(E) for a partnership that is established by
a written partnership agreement, a
current copy of such agreement shall
be provided when applying for a
permit; and

(F) for business entities other than
corporations, copies of current
assumed name statements if filed with
the Register of Deeds office for the
corresponding county and copies of
current  business privilege tax
certificates, if applicable.

(b) A permittee shall hold a valid:

@

5HQ2)

Recreational Commercial Gear License,

Standard Commercial Fishing License, or

Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License

to hold an Estuarine Gill Net Permit.

Standard or Retired Standard Commercial

Fishing License #-oerder to hold:

(A) an Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass
Commercial Gear Permit;

(B) a Permit for Weekend Trawling for
Live Shrimp; or

© a Pound Net Set Permit.

The master designated on the single vessel

corporation Standard Commercial Fishing

License is the individual required to hold the

Permit for Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp.

&)(3) Fish Dealer License in the proper category in
order to hold dealer permits for monitoring
fisheries under a quota or allocation for that
category.

(c) An individual who is assigned a valid Standard Commercial
Fishing License with applicable endorsements shall be eligible to
hold any permit that requires a Standard Commercial Fishing
License except a Pound Net Set Permit.

(d) If mechanical methods to take shellfish are used, a permittee
and his a permittee's designees shall hold a valid Standard or
Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License with a Shellfish
Endorsement in-erder for a permittee to hold a:

)] Depuration Permit;

2) Permit to Transplant Oysters from Seed Oyster
Management Areas; or

3) Permit to Use Mechanical Methods for
Shellfish on Shellfish Leases or Franchises,
except as provided in G.S. 113-169.2.

(e) If mechanical methods to take shellfish are not used, a
permittee and his a permittee's designees shall hold a valid
Standard or Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License with a
Shellfish Endorsement or a Shellfish License #—etrder for a
permittee to hold a:

)] Depuration Permit; or

2) Permit to Transplant Oysters from Seed Oyster
Management Areas.

(f) Aquaculture Operation Permit and Aquaculture Collection
Permit:

€8 A permittee shall hold a valid Aquaculture
Operation Permit issued by the Fisheries
Director to hold an Aquaculture Collection
Permit.

2) The permittee or designees shall hold
appropriate licenses from the Division of
Marine Fisheries for the species harvested and
the gear used under the Aquaculture Collection
Permit.

(g) Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit:

1) An applicant for an Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass
Commercial Gear Permit shall declare one of
the following types of gear for an initial permit
and at intervals of three consecutive license
years thereafter:

(A) a gill net;

(B) a trawl net; or

© a beach seine.

For the purpose of this Rule, a "beach seine"
shall mean a swipe net constructed of multi-
filament or multi-fiber webbing fished from the
ocean beach that is deployed from a vessel
launched from the ocean beach where the
fishing operation takes place. Gear declarations
shall be binding on the permittee for three
consecutive license years without regard to
subsequent annual permit issuance.

2 A person is not eligible for more than one
Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear
Permit regardless of the number of Standard
Commercial  Fishing Licenses, Retired
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Standard Commercial Fishing Licenses, or
assignments held by that person.
(h) Applications submitted without complete and required
information shall not be processed until all required information
has been submitted. Incomplete applications shall be returned
within two business days to the applicant with the deficiency in
the application noted.
(i) A permit shall be issued only after the application is deemed
complete and the applicant certifies his or her agreement to abide
by the permit general and specific conditions established under
15A NCAC 03] .0501 and .0505, 03K .0103 and .0107, Rule
.0211 of this Subchapter, and Rules .0502 and .0503 of this
Section, as applicable to the requested permit. The permittee's
signature on the initial permit general conditions form shall be
notarized. In the case of a person holding more than one permit,
the permittee's signature on the permit general conditions form
shall be notarized for the initial permit issued but shall not be
required for subsequent permits.
(j) For permit renewals, the permittee's signature on the specific
condition form shall certify all information is true and accurate.
Notarized signatures on renewal permits shall not be required.
(k) In determining whether to issue, modify, or renew a permit,
the Fisheries Director or his or her agent shall evaluate the
following factors:
(D potential threats to public health or marine and
estuarine resources regulated by the Marine
Fisheries Commission;

2) whether the permit application meets the
requirements for the permit; and
3) whether the applicant has a history of eight or

more violations of any provision of Subchapter

113 of the North Carolina General Statutes

under the authority of the Marine Fisheries

Commission or any rule adopted by the Marine

Fisheries Commission pursuant to Subchapter

113 within 10 years.
da(1) The Division of Marine Fisheries shall notify the applicant
in writing of the denial or modification of any permit application
and the reasons therefor. The applicant may submit further
information or reasons why the permit application should not be
denied or modified.
@(m) Permits are valid from the date of issuance through the
expiration date printed on the permit. Unless otherwise
established by rule, the Fisheries Director may establish the
issuance timeframe for specific types and categories of permits
based on season, calendar year, or other period based upon the
nature of the activity permitted, the duration of the activity,
compliance with federal or State fishery management plans or
implementing rules, conflicts with other fisheries or gear usage,
or seasons for the species involved. The expiration date shall be
specified on the permit.

. , .

(m) o . ae—permite g .
]? redsi 3 | Licati hall |
(n) It shall be unlawful for a permit holder to fail to notify the
Division of Marine Fisheries within 30 days of a change of name
or address, in accordance with G.S. 113-169.2.

(o) It shall be unlawful for a permit holder to fail to notify the
Division of Marine Fisheries of a change of designee prior to use
of the permit by that designee.

(p) Permit applications shall be available at all the Division of
Marine Fisheries—offices: Fisheries; a list of permits and the
location where each permit application is available is on the
Division's website at https://deq.nc.gov/dmf-permit-info.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.1; 113-169.2; 113-169.3; 113-
182; 113-210; 143B-289.52.

15A NCAC 030 .0502
CONDITIONS
(a) It shall be unlawful to violate any permit condition.
(b) The following conditions shall apply to all permits issued by
the Fisheries Director:

(1) it shall be unlawful to:

(A) operate under the permit except in
areas, at times, and under conditions
specified on the permit.

B) operate under a permit without having
the permit or copy thereof in
possession of the permittee or the
permittee's designees at all times of
operation and the permit or copy
thereof shall be ready at hand for
inspection, except for a Pound Net Set
Permit.

© operate under a permit without having
a current picture identification in
possession and ready at hand for
inspection.

(D) refuse to allow inspection and
sampling of a permitted activity by an
agent of the Division of Marine
Fisheries.

(E) fail to provide complete and accurate
information requested by the Division
in connection with the permitted
activity.

(F) provide false information in the
application for initial issuance,
renewal, or transfer of a permit.

(G) hold a permit issued by the Fisheries
Director if not eligible to hold any
license required as a condition for that
permit as stated in Rule .0501 of this
Section.

H) fail to provide reports within the
timeframe required by the specific
permit conditions.

D) fail to keep such records and accounts
as required by the rules in this Chapter
for determination of conservation
policy, equitable and efficient
administration and enforcement, or
promotion  of  commercial or
recreational fisheries.

GENERAL PERMIT
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2)

)

Q) assign or transfer permits issued by the
Fisheries Director, except for a Pound
Net Set Permit as authorized by 15A
NCAC 03] .0504.

K) fail to participate in and provide
accurate  information for data
collection in accordance with 15A
NCAC 031 .0113 and for survey
programs  administered by the
Division.

the Fisheries Director or the Fisheries Director's

agent may, by conditions of the permit, impose

on a commercial fishing operation and for
recreational purposes any of the following
restrictions for the permitted purposes:

(A) specify time;

(B) specify area;

©) specify means and methods;
(D) specify record keeping and reporting
requirements;

(E) specify season;
F specify species;
(G) specify size;

(H) specify quantity;

) specify disposition of resources;
@) specify marking requirements; and
(K) specify harvest conditions.

unless specifically stated as a condition on the
permit, all statutes, rules, and proclamations
shall apply to the permittee and the permittee's
designees.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.1; 113-170.2; 113-170.3; 113-
182; 113-210; 143B-289.52.

15A NCAC 030 .0503 PERMIT CONDITIONS;

SPECIFIC

(a) Aquaculture Operation Permit and Aquaculture Collection

disposition of marine and estuarine
resources collected under authority of
an Aquaculture Collection Permit.

3) Aquaculture Operation Permits and
Aquaculture Collection Permits shall be issued
or renewed on a calendar year basis.

4) It shall be unlawful to fail to provide the
Division with a listing of all designees acting
pursuant to an Aquaculture Collection Permit at
the time of application.

(b) Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit:

e It shall be unlawful to take striped bass from the
Atlantic Ocean in a commercial fishing
operation without first obtaining an Atlantic
Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit.

2) It shall be unlawful to obtain more than one
Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear
Permit during a license year, regardless of the
number of Standard Commercial Fishing
licenses, Retired Standard Commercial Fishing
licenses, or assignments.

(c) Blue Crab Shedding Permit: It shall be unlawful to possess
more than 50 blue crabs in a shedding operation without first
obtaining a Blue Crab Shedding Permit from the Divisien—of
MarineFisheries: Division.

(d) Coastal Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit:

€8 It shall be unlawful for the responsible party
seeking exemption from recreational fishing
license requirements for eligible individuals to
conduct an organized fishing event held in Joint
or Coastal Fishing Waters without first
obtaining a Coastal Recreational Fishing
License Exemption Permit.

2) The Coastal Recreational Fishing License
Exemption Permit shall only be issued for
recreational fishing activity conducted solely
for the participation and benefit of one of the
following groups of eligible individuals:

Permit: (A) individuals with physical or mental
(1) It shall be unlawful to conduct aquaculture impairment;

operations using marine and estuarine resources (B) members of the United States Armed

without first securing an Aquaculture Operation Forces and their dependents, upon

Permit from the Fisheries Director. presentation of a valid military

2) It shall be unlawful: identification card;

(A) to take marine and estuarine resources © individuals receiving instruction on
from Coastal Fishing Waters for recreational fishing techniques and
aquaculture purposes without first conservation practices from
obtaining an Aquaculture Collection employees of state or federal marine or
Permit from the Fisheries Director; estuarine  resource  management

(B) to sell or use for any purpose not agencies or instructors affiliated with
related to North Carolina aquaculture an educational institutiens; institution
marine and estuarine resources taken as defined in 15SA NCAC031.0101(1);
pursuant to an Aquaculture Collection and
Permit; or D) disadvantaged youths as set forth in 42

©) to fail to submit to the Fisheries U.S. Code 12511.

Director an annual report, due on Eor-thepurpese-of-this Paragraph;-edueational
December 1 of each year on the form nstitutions—tnelude—hish—schools—and—other
provided by the Division of Marine secondary-educational-institations:
Fisheries, stating the amount and
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3)

4)

The Coastal Recreational Fishing License
Exemption Permit shall be valid for the date,
time, and physical location of the organized
fishing event for which the exemption is
granted and the duration of the permit shall not
exceed one year from the date of issuance.
The Coastal Recreational Fishing License
Exemption Permit shall only be issued if all of
the following, in addition to the information
required in Rule .0501 of this Section, is
submitted to the Fisheries Director, in writing,
at least 30 days prior to the event:
(A) the name, date, time, and physical
location of the event;
(B) documentation  that  substantiates
local, state, or federal involvement in
the organized fishing event, if

applicable;

© the cost or requirements, if any, for an
individual to participate in the event;
and

(D) an estimate of the number of
participants.

(¢) Requirements for Dealer dealer permits for monitoring

fisheries under a quota or allocation:

(1

All _ species-specific ~ permits  listed in
Subparagraphs (e)(2) through (e)(6) of this Rule
are subject to the requirements of this
Paragraph. During the commercial seasen
harvest of a fishery opened by proclamation or
rule forthe-fishery for which a dealer permit for
monitoring fisheries under a quota or allocation
shall be issued, it shall be unlawful for a fish
dealer issued such permit to fail to:

(A) fax-orsend-via-electronic-mail submit
by electronic means, including
electronic mail, fax, or text message,
by noon daily,-enfermsprevided-by
the Division-of Marine Eisheries; daily
in quota monitoring logs, the previous
day's landings for the permitted
fishery to the Division. The form shall
include the dealer's name, dealer's
license number, date the fish were
landed, permittee's or designee's
signature, date the permittee or
designee signed the form, and species-
specific information as listed in Parts
(©)(2)(A), (e)(3)(A), (e)(4)(A), and
(€)(5)(A) of this Rule. If the dealer
submits their trip tickets by electronic
means, then the dealer shall submit
their quota monitoring logs by
electronic means. If the dealer is
unable to submit by electronic means
the required information, the permittee
shall call in the previous day's
landings to the Division of Marine
Fisheries Communications Center at

2

3

800-682-2632  or  252-515-5500.

Landings for Fridays or Saturdays

shall be submitted no later than noon

on the following Menday-tthe-dealer
. fon. N

hall 1 0 in 4l et 1oy
i tvistor; Monday;

(B) submit the required form set forth in
Part (e)(1)(A) of this Rule to the
Division upon request or no later than
five days after the close of the seasen
harvest in a commercial fishing
operation for the fishery permitted;

© maintain faxes—and—other related
documentation in accordance with
I5SANCAC 031 .0114;

(D) contact the Division daily, regardless
of whether a transaction for the fishery
for which a dealer is permitted
occurred; and

(E) record the permanent dealer
identification number on the bill of
lading or receipt for each transaction
or shipment from the permitted

fishery.
Atlantic Ocean Flounder Dealer Permit:
(A) In addition to the information required

in Part (e)(1)(A) of this Rule, the form
to record the previous day's landings
of Atlantic Ocean flounder shall
include the permit number, number of
vessels used for harvest, and the
pounds harvested.

(B) It shall be unlawful for a fish dealer to
allow vessels holding a valid License
to Land Flounder from the Atlantic
Ocean to land more than 100 pounds
of flounder from a single transaction at
their licensed location during the open
season without first obtaining an
Atlantic Ocean Flounder Dealer
Permit. The licensed location shall be
specified on the Atlantic Ocean
Flounder Dealer Permit and only one
location per permit shall be allowed.

©) It shall be unlawful for a fish dealer to
possess, buy, sell, or offer for sale
more than 100 pounds of flounder
from a single transaction from the
Atlantic Ocean without first obtaining
an Atlantic Ocean Flounder Dealer
Permit.

Black Sea Bass North of Cape Hatteras Dealer

Permit:

(A) In addition to the information required
in Part (¢)(1)(A) of this Rule, the form
to record the previous day's landings
of black sea bass north of Cape
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H(5)

)(6)

Hatteras shall include the permit
number, number of vessels used for
harvest, and the pounds harvested.

(B) It shall be unlawful for a fish dealer to
purchase or possess more than 100
pounds of black sea bass taken from
the Atlantic Ocean north of Cape
Hatteras (35° 15.0321' N) per day per
commercial fishing operation during
the open season unless the dealer has a
Black Sea Bass North of Cape
Hatteras Dealer Permit.

Estuarine Flounder Dealer Permit:

(A) In addition to the information required
in Part (e)(1)(A) of this Rule, the form
to record the previous day's landings
of estuarine flounder shall include the
permit number, number of vessels
used for harvest, pounds harvested,
gear category, and management area.

(B) It shall be unlawful for a fish dealer to
possess, purchase, sell, or offer for
sale flounder taken from estuarine
waters without first obtaining an
Estuarine Flounder Dealer Permit
required for specific management
purposes for the applicable fisheries
and harvest area.

Spiny Dogfish Dealer Permit:

(A) In addition to the information required
in Part (e)(1)(A) of this Rule, the form
to record the previous day's landings
of spiny dogfish shall include the
permit number, number of vessels
used for harvest, and the pounds
harvested.

(B) It shall be unlawful for a fish dealer to
purchase or possess more than 100
pounds of spiny dogfish per day per
commercial fishing operation unless
the dealer has a Spiny Dogfish Dealer

Permit.
Striped Bass Dealer Permit:
(A) In addition to the information required

in Part (e)(1)(A) of this Rule, the form
to record the previous day's landings
of striped bass shall include the permit
number, number of tags used by area,
pounds harvested by area, and for the
Atlantic Ocean, type of gear used for
harvest.

(B) It shall be unlawful for a fish dealer to
possess, buy, sell, or offer for sale
striped bass taken from the following
areas without first obtaining a Striped
Bass Dealer Permit validated for the
applicable harvest area:

(1) the Atlantic Ocean,;

(i) the Albemarle Sound
Management Area as
designated in 15A NCAC

03R .0201; or

(iii) the Joint and Coastal Fishing
Waters of the
Central/Southern

Management Area as
designated in 15A NCAC

03R .0201.
© No permittee shall possess, buy, sell,
or offer for sale striped bass taken
from the harvest areas opened by
proclamation without having a valid
o ; . i heries i I
Division-issued tag for the applicable
area affixed through the mouth and gill
cover or, in the case of striped bass
imported from other states, a similar
tag that is issued for striped bass in the
state of origin. Division striped bass
tags shall not be bought, sold, offered
for sale, or transferred. Tags shall be
obtained at from the Division-offices:
Division; office locations that provide
tags can be found on the Division's

website at
https://www.deq.nc.gov/striped-bass-
commercial-harvest-tags. The

Division shall specify the quantity of
tags to be issued based on historical
striped bass landings. It shall be
unlawful for the permittee to fail to
surrender unused tags to the Division
upon request.
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(f) Estuarine Gill Net Permit:

@

It shall be unlawful for an individual to deploy

gill nets in Internal Waters, except for

runaround, strike, drop, or drift gill nets,
without possessing a valid Estuarine Gill Net

Permit issued by the Division.

Estuarine Gill Net Permits shall be issued or

renewed by the Division on a calendar year

basis. For renewals, any changes in information
or supporting documents shall be provided by
the permit holder at the time of renewal.

It shall be unlawful for a permit holder:

(A) to violate the provisions of any rules or
proclamations regarding the
conditions set out in the federally
issued Endangered Species Act 16
U.S.C. 1539(a)(1)(B) Incidental Take
Permits, for the estuarine non-exempt
gill net fisheries;

(B) to refuse or deny Division employees
a trip aboard the vessel the permit
holder is using or observation from a
Division vessel to obtain data or
samples in accordance with 15A
NCAC 031.0113;

(@) and the master and crew members of
the boat, to interfere with or obstruct
Division employees in the course of

obtaining data or samples, which shall
include refusal or failure to provide

information on fishing gear
parameters _or to relinquish any
captured sturgeon or sea turtle to
Division employees;

(D) to avoid or mislead Division
employees by providing incorrect
information on fishing activity;

(E) to fail to provide a valid phone number
at which the Estuarine Gill Net Permit
holder can be reached, return phone
calls, or answer text messages from
the Division, or fail to notify the

Division of a phone number change
within 14 calendar days of such

change:
(3] to fail to comply with all observer
notification  system or  call-in

requirements set out by permit
conditions, proclamations, or rules;
and

(G) to fail to report to the Division any
incidental take of sea turtle or sturgeon
within 24 hours.

(g) Permit for Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp:

(M

2

3)

It shall be unlawful to take shrimp with trawls

from 9:00 p.m. on Friday through 12 noon on

Saturday without first obtaining a Permit for

Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp.

It shall be unlawful for a holder of a Permit for

Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp to use

trawls from 12:01 p.m. on Saturday through

4:59 p.m. on Sunday.

It shall be unlawful for a permit holder during

the timeframe specified in Subparagraph (g)(1)

of this Rule to:

(A) use trawl nets to take live shrimp
except from areas open to the harvest
of shrimp with trawls;

B) take shrimp with trawls that have a
combined headrope length of greater
than 40 feet in Internal Coastal

Waters;

© possess more than one gallon of dead
shrimp (heads on) per trip;

(D) fail to have a functioning live bait tank
or a combination of multiple

functioning live bait tanks, with
aerators or circulating water, with a
minimum combined tank capacity of
50 gallons; or

(E) fail to call or email the Division ef
Center—at-800-682-2632-or 252-515-
5500 prior to each weekend use of the
permit, specifying activities and
location. Calls shall be directed to the
Division of Marine  Fisheries
Communications Center at 800-682-
2632 or 252-515-5500 and emails
shall be sent to the email address
provided in the permit specific
conditions.

(h) Pound Net Set Permit: The holder of a Pound Net Set Permit
shall follow the Pound Net Set Permit conditions as set forth in
15A NCAC 03] .0505.

(i) Scientific or Educational Activity Permit:

M

2

3)

It shall be unlawful for institutions or ageneies
organizations seeking exemptions from license,
rule, proclamation, or statutory requirements to
collect, hold, culture, or exhibit for scientific or
educational purposes any marine or estuarine
species without first obtaining a Scientific or
Educational Activity Permit.

The Scientific or Educational Activity Permit
shall only be issued for collection methods and
possession allowances approved by the
Division-ef Marine Fisheries: Division.

The Scientific or Educational Activity Permit
shall only be issued for appreved activities
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(4)

)

(6)

(7

conducted by or under the direction of
educational _institutions, nongovernmental
conservation organizations, or _scientific
institutions as defined in 15A NCAC 031 -6+64-
.0101(1) and approved by the Division.
It shall be unlawful for the responsible party
issued a Scientific or Educational Activity
Permit to fail to submit an annual report on
collections and, if authorized, sales to the
Division, due on December 1 of each year,
unless otherwise specified on the permit. The
reports shall be filed on forms provided by the
Division. Scientific or Educational Activity
permits shall be issued on a calendar year basis.
It shall be unlawful to sell marine or estuarine
species taken under a Scientific or Educational
Activity Permit without:
(A) the required license for such sale;
(B) an authorization stated on the permit
for such sale; and
© providing the information required by
15A NCAC 03I .0114 if the sale is to
a licensed fish dealer.
It shall be unlawful to fail to provide the
Division with a list of all designees acting under
a Scientific or Educational Activity Permit at
the time of application.
The permittee or designees utilizing the permit
shall call or email the Division efMarine
2632 o+ 252-515-5500 no later than 24 hours
prior to use of the permit, specifying activities
and location. Calls shall be directed to the
Division of Marine Fisheries Communications
Center at 800-682-2632 or 252-515-5500 and
emails shall be sent to the email address
provided in the permit specific conditions.

(1) Shellfish [.ease Restoration Permit:

@

It shall be unlawful to transport shellfish
cultivated on a shellfish lease or franchise to a

restoration site without first obtaining a
Shellfish Lease Restoration Permit.

The Shellfish Lease Restoration Permit shall
only be issued for approved activities
associated with a shellfish lease or franchise.

It shall be unlawful to harvest shellfish under a
Shellfish Lease Restoration Permit without
being recorded on a trip ticket through a
certified shellfish dealer as set forth in 15A
NCAC 031.0114.

It shall be unlawful for the permittee or permit

designee to fail to maintain a record of all
shellfish transported for restoration purposes

and to fail to submit the record annually, unless
otherwise specified on the permit.

The permittee or designees utilizing the permit
shall call the Division of Marine Fisheries
Communications Center at 800-682-2632 or

252-515-5500 no later than 24 hours prior to
use of the permit, specifying activities, location,
and product size.

(k) Shellfish Relocation Permit:

)

It shall be unlawful, without first obtaining a
Shellfish Relocation Permit, to relocate

shellfish from an area designated by the
Fisheries Director as a site where shellfish
would otherwise be destroyed due to
maintenance dredging, construction, or other
development activities.

The Shellfish Relocation Permit shall be issued
by the Fisheries Director only as part of a
Coastal Area Management Act Permit issued in
accordance with G.S. 113A-118 and G.S. 113-
229 for development projects based on the
status of shellfish resources in the development
area, availability of Division employees to
supervise the relocation activity, and if the
Division has verified that there is no other
avoidance or minimization measure that can be

incorporated.

() Under Dock Oyster Culture Permit:

M

2

3

“

It shall be unlawful to cultivate oysters in
containers under docks for personal
consumption without first obtaining an Under
Dock Oyster Culture Permit.

An Under Dock Oyster Culture Permit shall be
issued only in accordance with provisions set
forth in G.S. 113-210(c).

The applicant shall complete and submit an
examination, with a minimum of 70 percent
correct answers, based on an educational
package provided by the Division efMarine
FEisheries pursuant to G.S. 113-210(),
demonstrating the applicant's knowledge of:
(A) the application process;

B) permit criteria;

© basic oyster biology and culture
techniques;

D) shellfish harvest area closures due to
pollution;

(E) safe handling practices;

(F) permit conditions; and

(G) permit revocation criteria.

Action by an Under Dock Oyster Culture
Permit holder to encroach on or usurp the legal
rights of the public to access public trust
resources in Coastal Fishing Waters shall result
in permit revocation.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-169.1; 113-169.2; 113-169.3; 113-
182; 113-210; 143B-289.52.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND

COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 16 - DENTAL EXAMINERS
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Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Dental Examiners intends to adopt the rule cited as 21
NCAC 16Q .0105, and amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 16Q
.0301.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c¢):
www.ncdentalboard.org

Proposed Effective Date: December 1, 2025

Public Hearing:

Date: September 11, 2025

Time: 6:30 p.m.

Location: 2000 Perimeter Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville,
NC 27560

Reason for Proposed Action: 27 NCAC 16Q .0105 is proposed
Jfor adoption to require a sedation refresher course for all IV-level
sedation permit holders covering certain critical patient safety
areas.

21 NCAC 16Q .0301 is proposed for amendment to make clear
the standards for courses that would qualify an applicant to apply
for a moderate conscious sedation permit and to also clarify
conduct that is prohibited for the moderate conscious sedation
permit holder.

Comments may be submitted to: Bobby White, 2000 Perimeter
Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, NC 27560

Comment period ends: September 30, 2025

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff
attorney at 984-236-1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

4

SUBCHAPTER 16Q - GENERAL ANESTHESIA AND
SEDATION

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL

21 NCAC 16Q .0105 UPDATE COURSE FOR
GENERAL ANESTHESIA AND MODERATE
CONSCIOUS SEDATION PERMIT HOLDERS

(a) _All general anesthesia permit holders, moderate conscious
sedation permit holders, moderate pediatric conscious sedation
permit holders, and all auxiliaries dedicated to patient monitoring
for these sedation procedures, shall complete a Board-approved
update course, once every two years, that includes at least six total
hours and covers the following topics:

(@8] patient assessment and selection;

2) appropriate medications and dosages;

3) different levels of sedation and anesthesia,
including  inducement, recognition, and
reversal;

[C)] proper patient monitoring;

(&) effective airway management; and
(6) recognizing, diagnosing, and effectively

managing medical emergencies.
(b) The update course shall incorporate a demonstration of

sedating a patient or a simulation that includes induction of deep
sedation, recognition of deep sedation, and reversal of deep
sedation. If this demonstration involves a live patient, it shall be
taught by an instructor who holds a permit or license to administer
general anesthesia, including a general anesthesia permit holder
or medical anesthesiologist.

¢) The update course may apply toward fulfillment of the
continuing education requirements for permit renewal.
(d) The requirements of this Rule shall take effect on January 1,
2027.

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-31.1; 90-48.
SECTION .0300 - MODERATE CONSCIOUS SEDATION

21 NCAC 16Q .0301 CREDENTIALS AND PERMITS
FOR MODERATE PARENTERAL AND ENTERAL
CONSCIOUS SEDATION
(a) Before a dentist licensed to practice in North Carolina may
administer or supervise a CRNA employed to administer
administer, or RN employed to deliver deliver, moderate
conscious sedation, the dentist shall obtain a permit from the
Board by completing the application requirements in this Rule and
paying a fee of three hundred seventy-five deHar dollars ($375.00)
that includes the one-hundred dollar ($100.00) application fee and
the two-hundred seventy-five dollar ($275.00) inspection fee. The
permit shall be renewed annually and shall be displayed with the
current renewal at all times in the facility of the permit holder
where it is visible to patients receiving treatment.
(b) The permit holder shall provide supervision to any CRNA
employed to administer administer, or RN employed to deliver
deliver, sedation, and shall ensure that the level of the sedation
does not exceed the level of the sedation allowed by the permit
holder's permit.
(c) A dentist applying for a permit to administer moderate
conscious sedation shall deeument provide the—feHowing:
documentation of the following:

(D) Training that may consist of either:
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(A) Course: Completion of 60 hours of
Board approved didactic training in
intravenous conscious sedation, and
30 hours of clinical training that shall
include a record of the applicant's
individual management of all aspects
of intravenous moderate sedation for a
minimum of 20 live patients, under
supervision of the course instructor.

BLS training shall not count toward
the required hours. Fraining Course

training shall be-provided-byeone—or
mere—individuals—whe meet the
requirements of the American Dental
Association Guidelines for Teaching
Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists
and Dental Students for moderate
sedation that is are hereby
incorporated by reference, including
subsequent amendments and editions.
The guidelines may be found at
www-ada-orglcoda; www.ada.org
no charge. The course director shall
provide a written certification of the
applicant's competence in moderate
sedation techniques and medications,
and in rescuing patients from a deeper
level of sedation than moderate,
including managing the airway,
intravascular or intraosseous access,
and use of reversal medications; or
(B) Program: Completion of a pre-
doctoral dental or postgraduate
program that included intravenous
conscious sedation training equivalent
to that defined in Part (¢)(1)(A) of this
Rule;
2) Unexpired ACLS certification; and
3) Fhat-al All auxiliaries involved in sedation
procedures that have unexpired BLS
certification.
(d) All applicants for a moderate conscious sedation permit shall
be in good standing with the Board.
(e) Prior to issuance of a moderate conscious sedation permit, the
applicant shall pass an evaluation and a facility inspection. The
applicant shall be responsible for passing the evaluation and
inspection of his or her facility.
(f) A dentist who holds a moderate conscious sedation permit
shall not intentionally administer deep sedatien- sedation, or
administer deep sedation or reversal agents on a repeated basis.
(g) A moderate conscious sedation permit holder may provide
moderate conscious sedation at the office of another licensed
dentist, regardless of the permit, if any held, by the hosting dentist.
The permit holder shall ensure that the facility where the moderate
conscious sedation is administered has been inspected and
complies with the requirements set out in Rules .0103 and .0302
of this Subchapter. The permit holder shall also obtain an itinerant

moderate conscious sedation permit and comply with the
requirements of Rule .0304 of this Section.

Authority G.S. 90-30.1; 90-39; 90-48.

TITLE 26 — OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Office of Administrative Hearings intends to adopt the rules cited
as 26 NCAC 03 .0601-.0622.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://www.oah.nc.gov/hearings-division

Proposed Effective Date: December 1, 2025

Public Hearing:

Date: August 26, 2025

Time: 70:00 A.M.

Location: RRC Commission Room, 1711 New Hope Church
Road, Raleigh, NC 27609.

Reason for Proposed Action: OAH seeks to adopt Section .0600
to govern the process of special education complaints arising
under the federal Individual with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) (codified at 20 U.S.C. 1400, et seq.), its supporting
regulations in the CFR (34 CFR Part 300), and Article 9 of
Chapter 115C of the North Carolina General Statutes.

This is a reposting of rules that were originally published in
Volume 40, Issue 02 on July 15, 2025.

Comments may be submitted to: Brian Liebman, 1711 New
Hope  Church  Road, Raleigh, NC 27609; email
brian.liebman@oah.nc.gov

Comment period ends: September 30, 2025

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules
Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives
written and signed objections after the adoption of the Rule in
accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons
clearly requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review
Commission approves the rule, the rule will become effective as
provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive
written objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive
letters via U.S. Mail, private courier service, or hand delivery to
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, or via
email to oah.rules@oah.nc.gov. If you have any further questions
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission,
please review 26 NCAC 05 .0110 or call a Commission staff
attorney at 984-236-1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
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] State funds affected 4) "Certificate of Service" means a mandatory
] Local funds affected document that shall accompany all documents
] Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) filed in the record to prove that the opposing
L] Approved by OSBM party has been served, as defined by Item (47)
X No fiscal note required of this Rule.
(&) "Child with a disability" is defined by 34 CFR
CHAPTER 03 - HEARINGS DIVISION 300.8.
(6) "CMS" means the electronic case management
SECTION .0600 — SPECIAL EDUCATION COMPLAINT system used by OAH for filing documents.
PROCESS (@A) "Complaint" means a petition for a contested
case hearing filed with OAH pursuant to 20
26 NCAC 03 .0601 GENERAL U.S.C. 1415()7)(A), G.S. 115C-109.6, 34
(a)  Applicability to Special Education Complaints. This CFR 300.503, and 34 CFR 300.508.
Subchapter applies to special education Complaints filed in the (a) "Regular FAPE Complaint" means a
Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) pursuant to the federal Complaint filed for a contested case
Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act of 2004 hearing on issues including:
(IDEA)(20 U.S.C. 1400, et seq.), its supporting regulations (34 (1) Identification of a student
CFR Part 300), and Article 9 of Chapter 115C of the North with disabilities;
Carolina General Statutes. The rules in this Section supplement (ii) Evaluation of a student with
other OAH rules in this Chapter for the purpose of adjudicating disabilities;
special education Complaints. In the event of a conflict with other i1l Educational placement for a
OAH rules, the rules in this Section shall take precedence. student with disabilities; or
b) Waiver of Rules. The presiding administrative law judge (iv) Other denial of the provision
(ALJ) may waive the rules of this Section to promote the interests of a free and appropriate
of justice or judicial economy. All waiver requests shall be by public education.
motion. In determining whether to grant a waiver, the presiding (b) "Expedited FAPE Complaint" means a
administrative law judge shall consider the following factors: Complaint filed for a contested case
[@0)] the necessity of the waiver; hearing on issues including:
2) the party's responsibility for the conditions () Manifestation determination
creating the need for the waiver; review (MDR);
[€)) the party's prior requests for a waiver; (ii) Other issues related to a
“4) the precedential value of such a waiver; change in placement due to a
5) notice to and opposition by the opposing disciplinary suspension of
parties; and more than 10 days;
(6) the potential harm to the party if the waiver is iii An  interim  alternative
not granted. educational placement of at
(c) The provisions of 34 CFR Part 300 are hereby incorporated least 45 days whether related
by reference, including all subsequent amendments and editions. to a disciplinary matter but
34 CFR Part 300 is available online at no cost at due to behaviors resulting
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-34/subtitle-B/chapter-I11/part- from the student's disability;
300. or
(iv) At the discretion of the
Authority G.S. 74-751; 150B-21.6; 150B-22.1; 150B-29. administrative law judge, for
cases involving a breach of a
26 NCAC 03 .0602 DEFINITIONS mediation agreement.
As used in this Section, the following terms have the meanings (8) "Date-stamped copy" means a copy of a
indicated: document sent by another party, on which the
a "Administrative law judge (ALJ)" means the receiving party has noted the date the document
judge assigned to preside over the contested was received, either through a date-stamp or
case, as defined in G.S. 150B-2(1), and with the other written confirmation including the date.
powers and duties outlined in G.S. 150B-33 and 9 "Day" means calendar day unless otherwise
Rule .0105 of this Chapter. specified as a "business day" or "school day."
2) "Adult student" means a child with a disability, (10) "DPI" means the North Carolina Department of
aged 18 years or older, to whom all rights Public Instruction.
granted to the student's parents have been an "Due Process Hearing Coordinator" means the
transferred per 20 U.S.C. 1415(m) and G.S. person designated by the State Board of
115C-109.2. Education at DPI to receive electronic copies of
3) "Business day" is defined in 34 CFR 300.11. Complaints, motions, notices, and
communications from OAH and the parties
40:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2025
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(19)

regarding  special education  Complaint

hearings.
"Education records" include any documentation
pertaining to the student's education, excluding

generic communications disseminated to the
entire school body. This includes:

(a) Special education file;
(b) Cumulative folder;
(c) Written correspondence (including

emails) to and from school staff,
parents, and others regarding the
student's  educational needs  or
services;

(d) Report cards and transcripts;

(e) Progress monitoring of IEP goals and
related services;

[63) Documentation of service delivery,
including related service provider
logs;

(2) Documentation of work samples used
for progress monitoring;

(h) Documentation of the implementation
of accommodations; and

(i) Any information provided by parents

to the school, including medical and
independent evaluations obtained by

the parents.
"E-filing" means electronic filing as defined
and governed by Rules .0501 and .0502 of this

Chapter.

'Extraordinary cause" means circumstances
beyond a party's control that could not have

been anticipated.

"Evidentiary hearing" means a legal proceeding
where parties present evidence, including
witness testimony, documents, and records, to
the administrative law judge who evaluates the
evidence to determine whether a student has
received a free and appropriate public
education.

"File" is defined by Rule .0102(2) of this
Chapter.

"Five-day evaluation disclosure rule" means the
requirement in 20 U.S.C. 1415(f)(2) and 34
CFR 300.512(b) to disclose evaluations and
recommendations based on those evaluations at
least five business days before a hearing.

l

'Five-day evidence exchange rule" means the
requirement _in 34 CFR 300.512(a)(3) to

exchange evidence, witness lists, and
stipulations at least five business days before a
hearing.

"Formal discovery" is defined in Article 5 of
G.S. 1A-1, including Rules 26 (generally), 27
(depositions), 33 (interrogatories), 34
(production of documents and entry upon land
for inspection), 35 (physical/mental exams),
and 36 (requests for admission). The mandatory

document exchange and disclosures in Items

(26)

@27

(28)

(29)

(32)
(33)

(17) and (18) of this Rule, and Rule .0617 of
this Section are not formal discovery.

"Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE)" is
defined by 34 CFR 300.17.

"Good cause" is defined in Rule .0118(a)(1) and
(2) of this Chapter.

"Hearing Period" means the timeframe after the
end of the Resolution Period until the issuance
of a Final Decision, or other disposition of the
case such as a voluntary dismissal, during
which the Complaint is formally processed and
all procedures are handled, leading to a Final
Decision or voluntary dismissal, including legal
motions and the evidentiary hearing.
"Individualized Education Program (IEP)" is
defined by 34 CFR 300.22.

"Individuals With Disabilities Education
Improvement Act of 2004 (IDEA)" is codified
in 20 U.S.C. 1400 et seq. (2004), as amended.
"Lay advocate" means an individual not
licensed by the State Bar of North Carolina, but
who possesses special knowledge or training
regarding the issues faced by children with
disabilities.

"Local education agency (LEA)" is defined by
G.S. 115C-106.3(11) and may also be referred
to_as the "school board.," "public agency." or
"Public School Unit (PSU)." For consistency,
the LEA shall be referred to as the PSU in the
rules of this Section.

"Manifestation determination review (MDR)"

means the process of determining whether a
child's conduct was a manifestation of the

child's disability, as described in 20 U.S.C.
1415(k)(1)(E).

"DPI Mediation" means mediations conducted
by a DPI mediator pursuant to G.S. 115C-109.4
and includes mediations held before or during
the pendency of a special education Complaint.
"Mediation Request Form" means a form
provided by DPI in which the parties request the
appointment of a mediator by DPI.

"Notice of Insufficiency" is defined by 20
U.S.C. 1415(c)(2)(A) and 34 CFR 300.508(d).

"OAH" or "Tribunal" means the hearings
division of the North Carolina Office of

Administrative Hearings, including the Clerk's

Office and the administrative law judge
assigned to preside over a special education

contested case.

"Parent" is defined by 20 U.S.C. 1401(23) and
34 CFR 300.30.

"Party" means the named individuals or groups
engaged in DPI Mediation, the resolution
process, or the hearing process, who have an
interest in the outcome of a special education
Complaint  (excluding attorneys or lay

advocates).
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(34) "Petitioner" means the party filing the
Complaint, which may be a parent, individual

with educational decision-making rights, or a
PSU. Unless specified otherwise in the rules of

Meditation as defined by Item (29) of this Rule
has failed. A Settlement Conference shall be
governed by Rules .0107 and .0611 of this

Chapter.

this Section, "Petitioner" means a parent 49) "State Education Agency (SEA)" is defined by
Petitioner. 34 CFR 300.41 and is also referred to as the
(35 "Prior Written Notice" is as defined at 20 State Board of Education.
U.S.C. 1415(c)(1). (50) "Transcript" means a written document created
(36) "Prehearing Conference" means an informal by a court reporter that captures everything said
meeting conducted by the administrative law during the hearing.
judge with the parties to address issues in
preparation for the hearing, as outlined in Rule Authority G.S. 7A4-751;115C-109.5; 150B-22.1; 20 U.S.C.
.0108 of this Chapter. 1415(k)(4)(B); 34 CFR 300.507.
37 "Public agency" is defined by 34 CFR 300.33.
(38) "Public School Unit (PSU)" is defined by G.S. 26 NCAC 03.0603 FILING OF COMPLAINT AND
115C-5(7a). SERVICE OF DOCUMENTS
39) "Record of the administrative proceeding" (a) Initiating the Complaint Process. To begin the Complaint
means the same as the Official Record defined process, the Petitioner shall file the Complaint with OAH in
by G.S. 150B-37. accordance with Rule .0101(b) of this Chapter.
(40) "Resolution Form" means a form filed with (b) Service of Complaint:

OAH reporting_the parties' decisions about
whether to proceed to resolution, waive
resolution for DPI Mediation, or not participate
in a Resolution Session.

41 "Resolution  Period" means the period
following the initiation of the contested case,
during which the parties may attempt to resolve
the issues. The Resolution Period for a Regular
FAPE Complaint is 30 calendar days from
Respondent's receipt of the Complaint. The
Resolution Period for an Expedited FAPE

Complaint is 15 calendar days from filing with

E

OAH.

(42) "Resolution Session" is described in 20 U.S.C.
1415(H(1)(B).

(43) "Resolution process" means the process

described in 34 CFR 300.510.

(44) "Respondent" means the party against whom
the Complaint is filed, usually a PSU or SEA,
but it may also be a parent of a child with a
disability or an adult student. Unless specified

(@8] Service to Opposing Party. Petitioner shall
serve the opposing party with a copy of the
Complaint. If the Respondent is a Public School
Unit (PSU) or State Education Agency (SEA),
Petitioner shall serve either the superintendent
or the exceptional children director of the PSU
or SEA;

Q) Service to the Due Process Hearing
Coordinator. Petitioner shall serve a copy of the

Complaint and all subsequent filings on the
DPI's Due Process Hearing Coordinator;

3) Certificate of Service. Petitioner shall
simultaneously file a Certificate of Service as
evidence that the Complaint has been served on
both the opposing party and the Due Process
Hearing Coordinator.

(c) Service by Electronic Mail. The three-day period for service

under G.S. 1A-1, Rule 6(e) does not apply to service by e-filing

or electronic mail.

(d) No Additional Mailing Requirement for E-Filers. E-filers are

not required to send an additional copy of the document to OAH,

otherwise in the rules of this Section,

as specified in Rule .0101(b) of this Chapter.

"Respondent” means a PSU or SEA.

(e)_Certificate of Service Required. All subsequent documents,

(45) "Response to Complaint" means the response notices, and orders filed in the case shall include a Certificate of
the Respondent is required to file within 10 Service, confirming service to both the parties and the Due
calendar days of receiving a Regular FAPE Process Hearing Coordinator.

Complaint if Respondent has not previously (f) Form Requirements. All documents filed with the Office of
provided Petitioner with Prior Written Notice Administrative Hearings shall comply with the form requirements
per 20 U.S.C. 1415(c)(2)(b). outlined in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 10, and, if filed electronically, with

(46) "School day" means any day that children the requirements in Section .0500 of this Chapter.
attend school for instructional purposes,
including partial days. Authority G.S. 74-751; 115C-109.6; 150B-22.1.

47 "Serve" or "Service" means to simultaneously 26 NCAC 03 .0604 CONTENTS OF A COMPLAINT
provide a copy of any document filed with (a) Complaint Contents. A Regular FAPE Complaint and an
OAH to the opposing party and the Due Process Expedited FAPE Complaint shall comply with 34 CFR
Hearing Coordinator, as outlined in Rule 300.508(b) and the rules of this Section. A Petitioner may, but is
.0102(a)(3) of this Chapter. not required to use, the model Complaint forms developed by the

(48) "Settlement Conference" means another IDEA State Board of Education in accordance with G.S. 115C-107.2(d).

mediation process available after a DPI
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In addition, the Petitioner shall file and serve a separate document
that includes:

a A clear delineation of the contested issue or
issues, separate from general background
information.

2) If applicable, the names and last known contact
information of any person who may be subject
to joinder as a party under G.S. 1A-1, Rule 19,
including noncustodial parents and any
individual or entity with educational decision-
making authority for the minor child.

(b) Non-Parent Filing on Behalf of a Student. When a non-parent
files and serves a Complaint on behalf of a student, the Petitioner
shall include a court order from the General Court of Justice or
another signed and notarized document from the child's parents,
legal guardians, or another authorized representative, granting the
Petitioner legal authority to act on the child's behalf.

(c) Parent Filing on Behalf of an Adult Student. When a parent
files and serves a Complaint on behalf of an adult student, the
parent shall include proof of guardianship, power of attorney, or
another written document granting him or her legal authority to
act on the adult student's behalf.

Authority G.S. 74-751; 115C-109.6; 150B-23; 14-1, Rule 19(c).

26 NCAC 03 .0605
PROCESS
In a Regular FAPE Complaint, the Petitioner, the Respondent, and

OAH shall adhere to the following procedures after the Complaint
is filed:

[@0)] Notice of Contested Case and Assignment.
Within two business days of receiving the
Complaint, the Clerk's Office shall serve the
Notice of Contested Case and Assignment (the
"First Notice") to the parties and the Due
Process Hearing Coordinator.

2) Acknowledgment of Complaint Receipt.
Within one business day of receiving the
Complaint from the Petitioner, the PSU or the
designated  agency  representative  shall

electronically transmit a date-stamped copy of
the Complaint to OAH and the Due Process

Hearing Coordinator.
3) Notice of Mandatory Statutory Deadlines.

REGULAR FAPE COMPLAINT

within three business days after service of the
Notice of Complaint.

5) Alternative Evidence of Service. If the
Petitioner provides evidence of the date of
service e.g., certified mail, trackin

information with address, signed affidavit, or

other method), the presiding administrative law

judge may adjust the Resolution Period and

Hearing Period accordingly.

(6) Scheduling Order. Within five business days of
the issuance of the Second Notice by the Clerk's
Office, the presiding administrative law judge
shall issue a Scheduling Order for the Hearing
Period to the parties.

[@2) Scheduling of Evidentiary and Motion
Hearings. The administrative law judge shall
schedule the evidentiary hearing in accordance
with G.S. 115C-109.6(d). Virtual evidentiary
hearings may only be scheduled with the
consent of both parties and in accordance with
Rule .0120(g) of this Chapter. A motion hearing
may be scheduled virtually at the discretion of
the administrative law judge

(8) Federal Timelines Compliance. To ensure
compliance with the federal timelines set out in
34 CFR 300.515(a), the administrative law
judge shall:

(a) Schedule a hearing date within 15
calendar days after conclusion of the
Resolution Period. To the extent
possible, the hearing shall be held on
consecutive business days.

(b) Set deadlines for the Prehearing
Conference, five-day  evaluation
disclosures, five-day evidence
exchanges, filing of admitted exhibits,
Proposed  Final Decisions, and
issuance of the Final Decision.

Authority: G.S. 74-751; 115C-109.6; 150B-33(b).

26 NCAC 03 .0606
PROCESS
The Expedited FAPE Complaint process follows the same

EXPEDITED FAPE COMPLAINT

Within one business day of receiving the date-

procedures contained in Rule .0605 of this Section, except as

stamped copy of the Complaint, the Clerk's

stated below. The Petitioner, the Respondent, and OAH shall

Office shall serve the parties with a Notice of

adhere to the following procedures with respect to an Expedited

Mandatory  Statutory Deadlines for the

FAPE Complaint:

Resolution Period and Hearing Period (the
"Second Notice").

“4) Failure to Acknowledge Receipt of Complaint.
If the PSU fails to acknowledge receipt of the
Complaint as required in Item (2) of this Rule
within seven business days of the filing of the
Complaint, the Clerk's Office shall file a Notice
of Complaint, attach the Complaint, and serve a
copy on the PSU. The timelines outlined in the
rules of this Section and IDEA shall begin

(@8] Expedited Deadlines. The timelines for
scheduling the hearing, the Resolution Period,
and the issuance of the Final Decision shall
comply with expedited deadlines in 20 U.S.C.
1415(k)(4)(B) and 34 CFR 300.532(c).

2 Failure to Acknowledge Receipt of Expedited
Complaint. If the Respondent fails to
electronically transmit a date-stamped copy of
the Expedited FAPE Complaint to OAH within

three business days of the filing, the Clerk's
Office shall serve Respondent with a Notice of
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Expedited FAPE Complaint with the attached

multiple Regular FAPE Complaints shall be consolidated in

Complaint.
3) Notice of Expedited Contested Case. The

accordance with Rule .0111 of this Chapter. However,
consolidation shall not be used in lieu of amending a Complaint

Notice _of Expedited Contested Case

or to delay the hearing process.

Assignment shall include the expedited
deadlines as required by 34 CFR 300.532(c¢).

4 Order Setting Expedited Deadlines. Within one

(b) _Scheduling After Consolidation. After consolidation, the

parties shall confer with the presiding administrative law judge
regarding the scheduling of the evidentiary hearing and

business day of acknowledgement or service by

adjustment of applicable timelines. A revised Consent Scheduling

the Clerk's Office on the Respondent, the

Order shall be issued, including the revised timeline for the

administrative law judge shall issue an Order
Setting  Expedited  Deadlines  for  the

adjudication of the case.

5) Prehearing Conference. The administrative law
judge shall conduct a Prehearing Conference at
least three business days before the expedited

evidentiary hearing, and the parties shall
comply with Rule .0615 of this Section in

issuance of the Final Decision.

Authority G.S. 74-751, 150B-33(b).

26 NCAC 03 .0609 RESPONSE TO COMPLAINT,
EXTENSIONS OF DEADLINE FOR THE RESPONSE

a) Response Deadline. The opposing party shall file a Response
to Complaint within 10 days of service of a Regular FAPE

preparing the Proposed Prehearing Conference

Complaint, unless the opposing party has previously provided

Order.
(6) Filing of Exhibits and Proposed Final
Decisions. The parties shall file their admitted

Petitioner with a Prior Written Notice regarding the allegations.

(b) Extension of Response Deadline An administrative law judge

may grant a motion for an extension of time to extend the response

exhibits and Proposed Final Decisions within

deadline for good cause or by mutual consent. In either case, the

five business days after the last day of the

response deadline for a Regular FAPE Complaint shall initially be

hearing.
(@A) Issuance of Final Decision. The Final Decision

extended by no more than 10 days. The administrative law judge
shall not grant any further extensions without the consent of both

shall be issued within 10 school days after the

parties.

last day of the hearing.

Authority G.S. 74-751; 115C-109.6; 150B-33(b); 20 U.S.C.
1415(k)(4)(B).

26 NCAC 03 .0607 PROCEDURES FOR
BIFURCATION OF ISSUES
(a) Bifurcation of Regular FAPE Complaint and Expedited FAPE

Complaint Issues. An administrative law judge, either on his or
her own motion or upon the motion of a party, shall bifurcate the

(c) Response to Expedited FAPE Complaint. No response is
required to an Expedited FAPE Complaint.
(d) Impact on Notice of Insufficiency. An extension of the

response deadline shall not affect the deadline for the filing of a
Notice of Insufficiency.

Authority G.S. 74-751; 150B-33(b).

26 NCAC 03 .0610 REQUESTS FROM PARTIES
(a) Motion Requirements. In addition to the requirements of Rule

issues related to a Regular FAPE Complaint and an Expedited

FAPE Complaint when they are combined in a single Complaint.
In the event of bifurcation:

[@0)] Issues related to the Expedited FAPE

Compliant shall be adjudicated following the

expedited resolution and hearing process as

.0115 of this Chapter, any request for the administrative law judge
to enter an order or act on behalf of any party shall be made in
writing, through a motion filed in the record. With the
administrative law judge's permission, an oral motion may be

made on record during the hearing, and the opposing party shall
be given an opportunity to respond before a ruling is made.

described in Rule .0606.
2) Issues related to the Regular FAPE Complaint

(b) Motion Content. A motion shall clearly state the reasons for
the desired action and specify whether a hearing on the motion is

shall be adjudicated following the regular

being requested. A motion shall be decided without oral

resolution and hearing process in Rule .0605.
(b) Bifurcation of Other Issues in a Regular FAPE Complaint. A
party may request bifurcation of other issues in a Regular FAPE

argument, unless a hearing is requested by either party. The

administrative law judge has discretion to deny the request for a
hearing if he or she finds a hearing would not aid in the decision-

Complaint either by mutual agreement, stipulation, or by filing a
Motion to Bifurcate with OAH.

(c)_If either party files a motion to bifurcate, the opposing party
shall have five business days from the service of the motion to file

a response.
Authority G.S. 74-751(a); 115C-109.6; 150B-33.

26 NCAC 03 .0608 CONSOLIDATION OF
REGULAR FAPE COMPLAINTS
(a) Consent and Approval for Consolidation. With the consent of

making process.
(c) Pre-filing Communication. Before filing a motion, the moving
party shall inform the opposing party about the basis of the

motion. The parties shall attempt to resolve the need for the
motion. If the parties are unable to reach resolution, the moving

party shall include a statement in the motion to that effect.

(d) Response to Motion. Regardless of whether the administrative
law judge requests a response to the motion, a response may be
filed within 10 days of service. Replies to responses and sur-
replies shall not be filed without prior approval from the

all parties and the approval of the Chief administrative law judge,
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administrative law judge; otherwise, they shall be stricken from
the record.

e) Supporting Documentation. Upon filing, the motion and

response shall include all supporting documentation, legal
memoranda, and a proposed order.

Authority G.S. 74-751; 150B-33(3a).

26 NCAC 03 .0611
OF COMPLAINT
(a) Within the applicable timelines during the Resolution Period

OPTIONS FOR SETTLEMENT

(b) Joint Motion for 30-Day Extension. Before the Resolution
Period expires, the parties may jointly file a motion for a 30-day
extension of the Resolution Period for a Regular FAPE

Complaint. The administrative law judge shall grant further
extensions for only the following reasons:

@ Finalization of a settlement agreement.
Q) School board approval of a settlement

agreement.
3) Additional

signatures.
(¢) Impact of DPI Mediation or Settlement Conference on

time to obtain all necessary

and Hearing Period for a Regular or Expedited FAPE Complaint,

Resolution Period. The use of DPI Mediation or a Settlement

the parties may choose to participate in the following options:

Conference shall not affect the 30-day Resolution Period unless

a a Resolution Session, the administrative law judge grants a joint motion to extend the

2) DPI Mediation, and Resolution Period.

[€))] if DPI Mediation is unsuccessful, a Settlement (d) Motion to Continue Hearing and Extension of Resolution
Conference Periods. If the parties jointly move for a continuance of the

(b) Waiver of Resolution Session for DPI Mediation. If the parties

hearing deadline before the Resolution Period expires for

agree to waive the Resolution Session in accordance with 34 CFR

settlement purposes, the motion shall be treated as a motion to

300.506 and G.S. 115C-109.4 and participate in DPI Mediation,
the Respondent shall file a Resolution Form noticing this

extend the Resolution Period, which shall automatically extend
the hearing deadlines.

decision.
(c¢) Request for DPI Mediation. If the parties agree to continue
settlement negotiations after a Resolution Session or waive the

(e) Extension Order Requirements. If an extension of the

Resolution Period is granted, the administrative law judge shall
specify:

Resolution Session to participate in DPI Mediation, they shall
request the appointment of a DPI mediator through DPI's Due
Process Hearing Coordinator and file a Mediation Request Form
with both DPI's Due Process Hearing Coordinator and OAH.

(d) Notice of Mediation Date. Within 10 days of requesting the
appointment of a DPI mediator, the parties shall file with OAH a
Notice of Mediation Date or a Status Report if the mediation date
has not yet been scheduled

(e) Status Report After Resolution Session or DPI Mediation.
Within three days of the completion of a Resolution Session or

(@8] the specific time period for the extension,

2) the end date of the Resolution Period,

3) the start date of the 45-day Hearing Period, and
“) the deadline for issuance of the Final Decision.

Authority G.S. 74-751; 150B-33(b).

26 NCAC 03 .0613
PERIOD
(a) Expedited FAPE Complaints. No continuance of the hearing

CONTINUANCE OF HEARING

DPI Mediation, the parties shall file with OAH a Status Report

deadline shall be allowed for an Expedited FAPE Complaint.

detailing the results.
() Request for Settlement Conference. After DPI Mediation has

(b) Motion for Continuance. After the Resolution Period ends and
during the 45-day Hearing Period, either party may file a motion

been attempted, the parties may file a joint motion requesting the

for a continuance of the hearing for good cause. However, the

appointment of an administrative law judge to hold a Settlement
Conference pursuant to Rule .0107 of this Chapter.

(2) _Report of Settlement Conference. Within three days of the

administrative law judge shall grant a further continuance only

upon finding extraordinary cause exists.
(¢) _Motion Requirements. A motion to continue the Hearing

completion of a Settlement Conference, the settlement
administrative law judge shall file a Report of Settlement
Conference.

(h) Enforceability of Written Agreements. A party may seek
enforcement, through OAH, of a written agreement resulting from
a resolution meeting, DPI Mediation, or Settlement Conference.
This mechanism is not mandatory and cannot delay or deny a
party the right to seek enforcement of the written agreement in a
State court of competent jurisdiction, or a federal district court.

Authority G.S. 74-751; 115C-107.2(d); 115C-109.4(h)(4); 34
CFR 300.537.

26 NCAC 03 .0612
RESOLUTION PERIOD
(a) No Extension in Expedited FAPE Complaints. No extension

EXTENSION OF THE

Period shall include a Proposed Consent Scheduling Order, which
sets deadlines for the following:

(@8] Expert witness designations.

2) Dispositive motions.

3) Prehearing Conference.

4) Court Reporter Contract.

5) Five-day evaluation disclosure and five-day
evidence exchange.

©6) Filing of admitted exhibits.

(@A) Proposed Final Decisions.

}) Final Decision issuance.

(d)  Mediation or Settlement Conference Continuances. If
continuance is requested and granted due to DPI Mediation or a
Settlement Conference, the parties shall file the notices and Status
Reports as required by Rules .0611 and .0612 of this Section.

of the Resolution Period in an Expedited FAPE Complaint shall
be allowed.

Authority G.S. 74-751; 150B-33(b).
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26 NCAC 03 .0614 AMENDMENT OF COMPLAINT
(a) Allowable Amendments. Amendment of a Complaint shall
only be allowed as prescribed by 20 U.S.C. 1415(c)(2)(E) and 34
CFR 300.508(d)(3).

(b) Motion for Leave to Amend. The administrative law judge
shall decide a motion for leave to amend a Complaint without
response unless, within three business days of receipt of the
motion, the Respondent files a response or files notice that it
intends to respond. In its response, the Respondent shall
demonstrate how the amendment of the Complaint would be
prejudicial.

(c) Effect of Amendment on Pending Motions and Notices. Once
an amended Complaint is filed, all pending motions and notices
shall be considered moot.

(d) Resetting of Timelines. The filing of an amended Complaint

shall reset the timelines for the Resolution Period and Hearing

Period, and the administrative law judge shall issue an Amended
Scheduling Order.

Authority G.S. 74-751;150B-33(b).

26 NCAC 03 .0615 PREHEARING CONFERENCE
(a) Except as provided below, the Prehearing Conference shall be
governed by Rule .0108 of this Chapter, and by Rule 7 of the
North Carolina General Rules of Practice for the Superior and
District Courts.

(b) Purpose and Requirements. A Prehearing Conference shall be
held at least once before the evidentiary hearing to:

[@0)] finalize the issues to be litigated;

2) establish the length of the hearing and the
number of witnesses;

3) determine time limitations for each party's case;

“4) discuss remaining matters not previously
resolved; and

5) draft the Prehearing Conference Order.

(c) Timing of the Prehearing Conference.

The Prehearing Conference shall be held within
two weeks prior to a Regular FAPE Complaint
hearing;

The Prehearing Conference shall be held five
business days prior to an Expedited FAPE
Complaint hearing.

S

S

Authority G.S. 74-751; 150B-33(b).

26 NCAC 03 .0616 RESERVED FOR FUTURE
CODIFICATION
26 NCAC 03 .0617 MANDATORY PRODUCTION

OF EDUCATION RECORDS, DISCLOSURES, AND
EVIDENCE
Regardless of whether the parent or the PSU is the Petitioner or
the Respondent, the following governs the exchange of education
records, disclosures and evidence:

a Provision of Education Records by PSU.

education records as defined in Rule .0602(12)
of this Section.

2) Progress Monitoring and Email
Communication Records. If all the progress
monitoring and email communication records
cannot be accessed within the timelines
specified in Item (1) of this Rule, the PSU shall
provide any accessible progress monitoring and
email communication records. Any remaining
records shall be provided at least 48 hours
before a Resolution Session or DPI Mediation,
if the Resolution Session is waived.

3) Provision of Education Records by Parent.
Within 10 days of service of a Regular FAPE
Complaint, or five days of an Expedited FAPE
Complaint, the parent shall provide the PSU

with copies of:

(a) independent educational evaluations,

(b) private school records,

(©) service records for private related
service providers, and

(d) reimbursement documentation, or

written releases for these records.
If the parent cannot obtain these records within
the timelines specified in this Item, he or she
shall provide them at least 48 hours before the
Resolution Session or DPI Mediation, if
resolution is waived.

“) Five-Day Evaluation Disclosure and Five-Day
Evidence Exchange: The parties shall comply
with the five-day evaluation disclosure and
five-day evidence exchange requirements
unless mutually agreed otherwise. If the parties
agree to shorten either the five-day evaluation
disclosure or the five-day evidence exchange
period, they waive objections to timeliness and
the introduction of the applicable disclosures.

%) Failure to Produce Required Documents: If
either party fails to produce the records required
by Items (1) through (4) of this Rule within the
requisite time periods, the opposing party may
file a motion to compel or a motion to exclude.
If granted, the administrative law judge may
exclude the records or impose sanctions,
including attorney's fees, as allowed by G.S.
115C-109.6(3), G.S. 1A-1, Rule 37, and Rule
.0114 of this Chapter.

Authority G.S. 74-751; 150B-33(b); 34 CFR 300.613.

26 NCAC 03 .0618
LIMITATIONS
Beyond the mandatory disclosures required in Rule .0617 of this
Section, formal discovery is available under the following
conditions:

FORMAL DISCOVERY

Within 10 calendar days of service of a Regular
FAPE Complaint, and five calendar days of an
Expedited FAPE Complaint, the PSU shall
provide the parent with copies of the student's

(@8] Mutual Agreement or Administrative Law
Judge Approval. Formal discovery shall occur

if the parties mutually agree to it, if it aligns
with expert witness disclosures as outlined in
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Item (5) of this Rule, or if the administrative

law judge grants prior approval.
2) Exhaustion of Informal Discovery. Informal

(b) Court Reporter Fees and Transcript Costs. DPI shall pay the
court reporter's appearance fee, expenses, and the costs for the
Petitioner's and OAH's non-expedited transcripts.

means of obtaining materials shall be exhausted
before formal discovery is sought.

[€)) Motion for Discovery Approval. If informal
means are not productive, the party seeking

(¢) Transcript Requests and Delivery. Transcript requests shall be

made before the hearing adjourns. The court reporter shall provide

the transcripts to the parties and submit the original transcript to
OAH within 15 business days following the last day of the

discovery shall file for a motion requesting
approval for formal discovery. The motion shall

contain the following:

hearing.

Authority G.S. 74-761; 150B-37(b); 20 U.S.C. 1415(h)(3); 34

(a) The reasons for the requested CFR 300-512(c)(3).
discovery.
(b) Any prior attempts to obtain the 26 NCAC 03 .0620 PROPOSED FINAL DECISIONS
material. Each Proposed Final Decision shall contain citations to exhibits
(©) The unavailability of other means to and transcripts that support factual allegations. Citations shall
obtain the material. refer to the specific bate-stamped page numbers in the exhibits
(@ A proposed discovery scheduling and the volume, page, and line numbers of the transcripts.

order which shall complete discovery
within the deadlines set by the IDEA.

“4) Depositions of Minor or Incompetent Adult
Children. Depositions of minor children or
incompetent _adult children require prior
approval and are subject to conditions imposed
by the administrative law judge.

5) Expert Witness Disclosure. Expert witness
facts and opinions shall be obtained in
accordance with G.S. 1A-1, Rule 26(a)(4).
However, the deadlines for written report
disclosures are as follows:

(a) Regular FAPE Complaints. Written
reports shall be disclosed at least 15
days before the hearing.

(b) Expedited FAPE Complaints. Written
reports shall be disclosed at least five
business days before the hearing.

(c) Contradictory or Rebuttal Expert
Evidence. Contradictory or rebuttal
expert evidence is due within 10 days
after the opposing party's disclosure
for a Regular FAPE Complaint and
three days after the opposing party's
disclosure for an Expedited FAPE
Complaint. These deadlines may be
altered by mutual agreement or order.

(6) Deposition Time Limitation. Depositions shall
be limited to seven hours on record.
(@A) Noncompliance and Sanctions. Noncompliance

with discovery deadlines or orders may result in
sanctions, including attorney's fees, under G.S.
1A-1, Rule 37 and Rules .0112 and .0114 of this

Chapter.

Authority G.S. 74-751; 150B-33(b).

26 NCAC 03 .0619 TRANSCRIPT REQUIREMENTS
(a) Petitioner's Court Reporter Contract. At least five business
days before the hearing, the Petitioner shall contract with a court
reporter and file the OAH Court Reporter Contract for a special
education hearing.

@ Submission Deadline. Within 30 days of receipt
of the hearing transcripts, or as otherwise
ordered by the administrative law judge, each
party shall submit a Proposed Final Decision.

2) Transcript Citation. The proper citation format
for transcripts is:[volume number: page
number: line numbers]. Note: for example, T
vol 2 p 35:2-5.

A3) Exhibit Labeling. The proper labeling and
citations to exhibits are as follows:

(a) Petitioner's  Exhibits.  Petitioner's
exhibits shall be marked as: Pet'r Ex.
1, Pet'r Ex. 2, etc.

(b) Respondent's Exhibits. Respondent's
exhibits shall be marked as: Resp't Ex.
1, Resp't Ex. 2, etc.

(©) Stipulations of Fact. Stipulations of
fact shall be marked as: Stip. 1, Stip.
2, etc.

(d) Stipulated Exhibits. Stipulated

exhibits shall be marked as: Stip. Ex.

1, Stip. Ex. 2, etc.
(e) Joint Exhibits. Joint exhibits shall be

marked as: Jt Ex. 1, Jt Ex. 2, etc.

4 Offers of Proof. Offers of Proof shall be marked
as follows: Petitioner's offers: Pet'r Offer 1,
Pet'r Offer 2, etc. and Respondent's offers:
Resp't Offer 1, Resp't Offer 2, etc.

5) Conclusions of Law Citation Requirements.
Each Proposed Final Decision shall include
conclusions of law with citations to legal
authorities, in accordance with The Bluebook:
A Uniform System of Citation (21st Edition).
The Bluebook citation system is incorporated
by reference, including any subsequent
amendments or editions. The Bluebook may be
purchased at https://www.legalbluebook.com/
for forty-six dollars ($46.00).

Authority G.S. 74-751; 150B-29(b).
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26 NCAC 03 .0621 FINAL DECISION
(a) Issuance Deadline. OAH shall issue the Final Decision

(b) Filing in State Court. After filing a civil action in a State

reviewing court, the aggrieved party shall file a copy of the

separately to the parties or their attorneys on or before the

petition for review with OAH within 10 days of initiating the

deadline established in the final scheduling order, unless an

review. The Clerk's Office shall forward the record of the

extension is granted upon joint request of the parties.
(b) __Appeal Information. The Final Decision shall include

administrative proceeding to the State court in accordance with
G.S. 150B-37 and G.S. 150B-47.

information on the judicial review process and advise the party
seeking judicial review to file a copy of the Petition for Judicial

(c) Filing in Federal District Court. After filing a civil action in

federal district court, the aggrieved party shall file a copy of the

Review in Superior Court or a copy of the Federal Complaint in

federal district court complaint with OAH. Within the timeframe

the Federal District Court with the OAH.
(c¢) Redacted Version. Within 14 days of the issuance of the Final
Decision, each party may file a redacted version of the Final

specified by the federal court, the parties are responsible for

preparing the administrative record in compliance with Article IV
of the North Carolina Rules of Appellate Procedure or as

Decision, indicating proposed redactions.
(d) Redacted Final Decision Filing. Within 30 days of the

otherwise ordered by the federal district court judge. Once
completed, the Clerk's office shall review and certify the record

issuance of the Final Decision, a Redacted Final Decision shall be
filed and published on the OAH website. The Redacted Final

of the administrative proceedings, and the parties shall forward
the record to the federal district court.

Decision shall conform to 34 CFR 300.32 and 34 CFR 99.3.
Authority G.S. 74-751; 150B-33(b),; 150B-34.

26 NCAC 03 .0622 JUDICIAL REVIEW

(a) Civil Action. Any party aggrieved by the Final Decision may
bring a civil action in any State court of competent jurisdiction or
federal district court of the United States.

Authority G.S. 74-751; 150B-34; 150B-37; 150B-43; 150B-47.
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the Rules Review Commission by the 270" day.

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements.

Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the
Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative
Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270" day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired. See G.S. 150B-21.1

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

Rule-making Agency: Wildlife Resources Commission
Rule Citation: /54 NCAC 10C .0325
Effective Date: July 7, 2025

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission: June 26,
2025

Reason for Action: The N.C. Marine Fisheries Commission
adopted the Spotted Seatrout Fishery Management Plan
Amendment 1 at their March 2025 meeting. To be consistent with
the Spotted Seatrout Fishery Management Plan, a slot limit for
Spotted Seatrout where the minimum size limit remains 14 inches,
but no fish may be possessed between 20 and 26 inches and only
one fish in the creel may be over 26 inches in length is proposed.
The daily creel limit will be reduced from four fish to three fish
per person. Current data indicates that the Spotted Seatrout
population is not overfished but overfishing is occurring. These
measures should end overfishing within two years.

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER
SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER 10C - INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS

SECTION .0300 - GAME FISH IN INLAND FISHING
WATERS

15A NCAC 10C .0325 SEA TROUT

(a) The daily creel limit for sea trout (spotted or speckled) is four
three fish.

(b) The minimum size limit is 14 inehes: inches, but no fish
between 20 and 26 inches in length may be possessed and only
one sea trout greater than 26 inches may be possessed.

(c) There is no closed season.

History Note:
113-305;
Temporary Adoption Eff. September 1, 2022;
Eff. March 15, 2023,

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2025.

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304;

sk % sk ok % sk ok ok ok ok sk k% ok ok ok ok % sk ok

Rule-making Agency: Wildlife Resources Commission

Rule Citation: /54 NCAC 10D .0260

Effective Date: July 7, 2025

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission: June 26,
2025

Reason for Action: The Lutz Tract portion of the game land is
heavily used and overcrowded in the summer months with people
camping and gathering. This use results in litter and human waste
that creates environmental hazards and habitat degradation. The
overcrowding also creates safety issues along the narrow
roadway where cars block the thoroughfare on a NCDOT
roadway, hindering access for emergency vehicles if needed. The
Caldwell County Sheriff’s Office has expressed concern and asked
for allowed activities on the property to be restricted.

The US Forest Service is closing the southern section of the
Wilson Creek corridor, and NCDOT is beginning construction on
the access road which will exacerbate issues on the game land.
The portion of Wilson Creek on the Lutz Tract is designated as
Delayed Harvest Trout Waters, and additional use of the Lutz
Tract will impact angler access and experience. The proposed
amendment should help reduce overcrowding.

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER
SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS
SECTION .0200 - USE OF GAME LANDS

15ANCAC 10D .0260 PISGAH GAME LAND IN
AVERY, BUNCOMBE, BURKE, CALDWELL,
HAYWOOD, HENDERSON, MADISON, MCDOWELL,
MITCHELL, TRANSYLVANIA, WATAUGA, AND
YANCEY COUNTIES
Pisgah gametand Game Land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in
which the following applies:
)] Deer of either sex may be taken the first open
Saturday of the applicable Deer With Visible
Antlers Season.
2) Horseback riding is prohibited on the Black
Bear (McDowell County), Linville River
(Burke County), and Little Tablerock Tracts
(Avery, McDowell, and Mitchell counties).
3) The use of bicycles shall be restricted to
designated trails on the Linville River Tract
(Burke County). Persons engaged in the act of
hunting on the Linville River Tract during any
open day of an applicable season for game birds
or game animals shall be exempt from this
restriction.
4) Alcohol and fires are prohibited on the Lutz
Tract (Caldwell County). in-the-Wilsen-Creek
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)

. ¢ Piscah G Land—(Caldwell
County)

Target shooting is prohibited on the Black Bear
(McDowell County), Linville River (Burke
County), and Little Tablerock Tracts (Avery,
McDowell, and Mitchell counties).

[Aetivities] Entry on the Lutz Tract (Caldwell

prohibited. [are—prohibited—on—the LutzTraet
(Caldwell-County)].

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2;
113-291.5; 113-296, 113-305;

Eff. October 1, 2022;

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2025.

County) for purposes other than hunting,

fishing, trapping, and [autherized | posted use
of [pested] trails and parking areas is
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules. The rules
that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required
to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules. Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17.

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on June 26, 2025 Meeting.

REGISTER CITATION TO THE

NOTICE OF TEXT
CHILD CARE COMMISSION
Definitions 10A NCAC 09 .0102 39:15NCR
License 10A NCAC 09 2902  39:15NCR
Family Services 10A NCAC 09 .2905* 39:15NCR
Facility Requirements 10A NCAC 09 3002 39:15NCR
Staff-to-Child Ratio and Class Size 10A NCAC 09 3009 39:15NCR
Family Engagement 10A NCAC 09 .3010*  39:15NCR
Scope 10A NCAC 09 3201 39:15NCR
Application for a Two Through Five Start Rated License 10A NCAC 09 .3202*  39:15 NCR
Program Assessment Pathway for Child Care Centers 10A NCAC 09 .3203*  39:15NCR
Program Assessment Pathway for Family Child Care Homes 10A NCAC 09 .3204*  39:15 NCR
Classroom and Instructional Quality Pathway for Child Car... 10A NCAC 09 .3205*  39:15 NCR
Classroom and Instructional Quality Pathway for Family Ch... 10A NCAC 09 .3206*  39:15 NCR
Accreditation and Head Start Pathway for Child Care Facil... 10A NCAC 09 .3207*  39:15 NCR
Enhanced Staff/Child Ratios for a Rated License for Child... 10A NCAC 09 .3208*  39:15 NCR
Reduced, Enhanced Staff/Child Care Rations for a Rated Li... 10A NCAC 09 3209  39:15NCR
Enhanced Space Requirements for Child Care Centers 10A NCAC 09 .3210*  39:15 NCR
Enhanced Education Standards for Child Care Center On-... 10A NCAC 09 3211 39:15 NCR
Enhanced Education Standards for Child Care Center Lead... 10A NCAC 09 3212 39:15NCR
Enhanced Education Standards for Child Care Center 10A NCAC 09 3213 39:15 NCR
Teachers
Enhanced Education Standards for Program Coordinators... 10A NCAC 09 3214 39:15NCR
Enhanced Education Standards for Group Leaders in Child... 10A NCAC 09 3215 39:15 NCR
Enhanced Education Standards for Administrators of Child ... 10A NCAC 09 .3216*  39:15 NCR
Enhanced Education Standards for Family Child Care Home... 10A NCAC 09 .3217*  39:15 NCR
Competency Evaluations 10A NCAC 09 .3218*  39:15 NCR
Family and Community Engagement Standards for Child... 10A NCAC 09 3219 39:15NCR
Family and Community Engagement Standards for Family... 10A NCAC 09 3220  39:15NCR
Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) Standards 10A NCAC 09 .3221*  39:15NCR
Maintaining the Star Rating 10A NCAC 09 3222 39:15NCR
How an Operator May Request or Appeal a Change in Rating 10A NCAC 09 3223 39:15 NCR
Recognition of Quality Initiatives 10A NCAC 09 .3224*  39:15 NCR
Accrediting Organizations and Star Rating Equivalency 10A NCAC 09 3225 39:15 NCR
Approval of Formative Assessments 10A NCAC 09 3226 39:15NCR
SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION
Lateral Transfer/Reinstatements 12 NCAC 10B .0406* 39:14 NCR
In-State Lateral Transfer of a Deputy Sheriff 12 NCAC 10B  .0411* 39:14 NCR
Evaluation for Training Waiver 12 NCAC 10B .0505* 39:14 NCR
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Purpose
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Applicability

Requests for Express Review

Granting Requests for Express Review

Processing of Requests for Express Review

15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC

Project Eligibility

Application Submission Requirements

Review of Applications
Project Eligibility

Application Submission Requirements

Review of Applications

OIL AND GAS COMMISSION
Definitions
Correspondence

Site Regulation

Permit Required

Permit Application

Permit Duration
Geographic Limits on Work
Seismic Agents

Daily Report Required
Notification

Size of Explosive Charges
Placing of Charges
Removal

Identification

Pipes and Bouys
Explosives

Shooting
Minimum Depths

Detailed Provisions

Powers of Seismic Agents

Duties of Party Chief

Release From These Regulations

Duties of Operators

REVENUE, DEPARTMENT OF
Independent Bookingkeeping
CPA's: Not a Requlatory License
Draftsman

Grave Plots

Optician
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Practicing Physicians
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15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
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15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
15A NCAC
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17 NCAC
17 NCAC
17 NCAC
17 NCAC
17 NCAC
17 NCAC

01X
01X
01X
01X
01X
01X
01X
01X
01X
01X
01X
01X

05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C
05C

04B
04B
04B
04B
04B
04B
04B

.0101*
.0102*
.0103*
.0104*
.0105*
.0106*
.0201*
.0202*
.0203*
.0301*
.0302

.0303*

.0101
.0103
.0104
.0105
.0106
.0107
.0108
.0109
.0110
.0111
.0112
.0113
.0115
.0116
.0117
.0118
.0119
.0120
.0121
.0123
.0124
.0125
.0126

.0603*
.0604*
.0605*
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.0610*
.0611*
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39:17 NCR
39:17 NCR
39:17 NCR
39:17 NCR
39:17 NCR
39:17 NCR

39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR
39:12 NCR

G.S. 150B-21.5(b)(1)
G.S. 150B-21.5(b)(1)
G.S. 150B-21.5(b)(1)
G.S. 150B-21.5(b)(1)
G.S. 150B-21.5(b)(1)
G.S. 150B-21.5(b)(1)
G.S. 150B-21.5(b)(1)
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Government Attorneys-at-Law and Other Professionals...

Psychologist

CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS, BOARD OF
Licensure; Renewal of License

LOCKSMITH LICENSING BOARD

Fees
Due Date

Reinstatement of Expired License

AGRICULTURAL FINANCE AUTHORITY

Purpose
Definitions

Evaluation of Applications

Grant Agreement

Reporting
Records

The following rule is subject to Legislative Review.

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION

Installation and Maintenance of Wheat Straw Bales for San...

17 NCAC
17 NCAC

21 NCAC

21 NCAC
21 NCAC
21 NCAC

24 NCAC
24 NCAC
24 NCAC
24 NCAC
24 NCAC
24 NCAC

15A NCAC

04B  .0612* G.S.150B-21.5(b)(1)
04B  .0614* G.S.150B-21.5(b)(1)
10 .0204* 39:17 NCR
29  .0404 39:16 NCR
29 0702 39:16 NCR
29  .0703* 39:16 NCR
02D .0101 39:15NCR
02D .0102* 39:15NCR
02D .0103* 39:15NCR
02D .0104 39:15NCR
02D .0105 39:15NCR
02D .0106 39:15 NCR
07H .0314* 39:15NCR

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN

10A NCAC 09 .0102

SERVICES

DEFINITIONS

The terms and phrases used in this Chapter are defined as follows:

(1

2

3)

“4)
)

"Activity area" means a space that is accessible
to children and where related equipment and
materials are kept in accordance with G.S. 110-
91(12).

"Administrative work experience" shall mean
verifiable experience in completing
administrative duties such as planning,
implementation and oversight for operational
and personnel systems in a licensed child care
arrangement or a child care arrangement not
required to be licensed as identified in G.S. 110-
86(2).

"Agency" as used in this Chapter means
Division of Child Development and Early
Education, Department of Health and Human
Services located at 333 Six Forks Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

"Appellant" means the person or persons who
request a contested case hearing.

"Asbestos hazard" means a condition that
results in an exposure to asbestos is excess of
the standards set forth in 10A NCAC 41C

(6)

Q)

®)

®

(10)

.0607(a) or a category of asbestos containing
material defined at 40 C.F.R. 763.88(b)(1)-(6).

"Basic School-Age Care" training (BSAC
training) means the training on the elements of
quality afterschool care for school-age children,
developed by the North Carolina State
University Department of 4-H Youth
Development and subsequently revised by the
North Carolina School-age Quality
Improvement Project.

"Biocontaminant" means blood, bodily fluids,
or excretions that may spread infectious
disease.

"Centers Located In a Residence" means a child
care center located in a residence where, at any
one time, more than two children, but less that
15 children, receive child care.

"Child Care Center" means an arrangement
where, at any one time, there are three or more
preschool-age children or nine or more school-
age children receiving child care. This does not
include arrangements described in Item (22) of
this Rule regarding Family Child Care Homes.

"Child Care Facility" means child care centers,
family child care homes, and any other child
care arrangement not excluded by G.S. 110-
86(2) that provides child care, regardless of the
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(11

(12)

(13)

(14)

(15)

(16)

(17)

(18)

time of day, wherever operated, and whether or
not operated for profit.

"Child care provider" as defined by G.S. 110-
90.2(a)(2) includes the following employees
who have contact with the children in a child
care program:

(a) facility directors;

(b) child care administrative staff;
(c) teachers;

(d) teachers' aides;

(e) substitute providers;

® uncompensated providers;

(2) cooks;

(h) maintenance personnel; and
@) drivers.

"Child Development Associate Credential”
means the national early childhood credential
administered by the Council for Early
Childhood Professional Recognition.
"Curriculum" means a curriculum that has been
approved as set forth in these Rules by the NC
Child Care Commission as comprehensive,
evidenced-based, and with a reading and
literacy component.

"Developmentally appropriate”" means suitable
to the chronological age range and
developmental characteristics of a specific
group of children.

"Division" means the Division of Child
Development and Early Education within the
Department of Health and Human Services.
"Domains" means the developmental areas of
learning described in the North Carolina
Foundations for Early Learning and
Development © 2013, available on the
Division's website at
https://ncchildcare.nc.gov/providers/pv_found
ations.asp. This instrument is incorporated by
reference and does not include subsequent
editions. The domains address children's
emotional and social development, health and
physical development, approaches to play and
learning,  language  development, and
communication and cognitive development.
"Drop-in care" means a child care arrangement
where children attend on an intermittent,
unscheduled basis.

"Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale —
Third Edition" (Harms, Clifford, and Cryer,
2014, published by Teachers College Press,
New York, NY) is the instrument used to
evaluate the quality of care received by a group
of children in a child care center using the
program assessment licensure pathway. This
instrument is incorporated by reference and
does not include subsequent editions. A copy of
the scale is available for purchase on the
Teachers  College  Press  website  at
https://www.tcpress.com/search?search_term=

19)

(20)

@n

(22)

(23)

(24)

(25)

assessment+materials. The cost of this scale is
twenty-eight dollars and ninety-five cents
($28.95). A copy of this instrument is on file at
the Division at the address given in Item (3) of
this Rule and is available for public inspection
during regular business hours. For the purposes
of this Rule, "regular business hours" for the
Division means 8§ am. to 5 p.m. during
weekdays, excluding state holidays.
"Early childhood education work experience"
shall mean verifiable caregiving experience
with children ages birth through five years of
age in licensed child care arrangements or child
care arrangements not required to be licensed as
identified in G.S. 110-86(2).
"Experience working with school-age children"
means working with school-age children as a
child care administrator, program coordinator,
group leader, assistant group leader, lead
teacher, teacher or aide.
"Family Child Care Environment Rating Scale
— Third Edition" (Harms, Cryer and Clifford,
2019, published by Teachers College Press,
New York, NY) is the instrument used to
evaluate the quality of care received by children
in family child care homes using the program
assessment licensure pathway. This instrument
is incorporated by reference and does not
include subsequent editions. A copy of the scale
is available for purchase on the Teachers
College Press website at
https://www.tcpress.com/search?search_term=
assessment+materials. The cost of the scale is
twenty-eight dollars and ninety-five cents
($28.95). A copy of this instrument is on file at
the Division at the address given in Item (3) of
this Rule and is available for public inspection
during regular business hours.
"Family Child Care Home", as defined by G.S.
110-86(3)(b) means a child care arrangement
located in a residence where, at any one time,
more than two children, but less than 11
children, receive child care. Family child care
home operators must reside at the location of
the family child care home.
"First aid kit" is a collection of first aid supplies
(such as bandages, tweezers, disposable
nonporous gloves, micro shield or face mask,
liquid soap, cold pack) for treatment of minor
injuries or stabilization of major injuries.
"Group" means the children assigned to a
specific caregiver or caregivers, to meet the
staff/child ratios set forth in G.S. 110-9(7) and
this Chapter, using space the Division has
identified for each group.
"Health care professional" means:
(a) a physician licensed in North Carolina
(b) a nurse practitioner approved to
practice in North Carolina; or
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(26)

27

(28)

(29)

(c) a licensed physician assistant.

"Household member" means a person who

resides in a family home as evidenced by

factors including maintaining clothing and
personal effects at the household address,
receiving mail at the household address, using
identification with the household address, or
eating and sleeping at the household address on

a regular basis.

"If weather conditions permit" means:

(a) temperatures that fall within the
guidelines developed by the Iowa
Department of Public Health and
specified on the Child Care Weather
Watch chart. These guidelines shall be
used when determining appropriate
weather conditions for taking children
outside for outdoor learning activities
and playtime. This chart may be
downloaded free of charge from
https://idph.iowa.gov/Portals/1/Files/
HCCl/weatherwatch.pdf;

(b) following the air quality standards as
set forth in 15A NCAC 18A .2832(d).
The Air Quality Color Guide can be
found on the Divisions website at
https://www.deq.nc.gov/mitigation-
services/publicfolder/library/news/bro
chures/air-quality-color-
guide/download; and

(c) no active precipitation. Caregivers
may choose to go outdoors when there
is active precipitation if children have
appropriate clothing such as rain boots
and rain coats, or if they are under a
covered area.

"Infant" means any child from birth through 12

months of age.

"Infant Toddler Environment Rating Scale —

Third Edition" (Harms, Clifford, Cryer, and

Yazejian, 2017, published by Teachers College

Press, New York, NY) is the instrument used to

evaluate the quality of care received by a group

of children in a child care center using the
program assessment licensure pathway. This
instrument is incorporated by reference and
does not include subsequent editions. A copy of
the scale is available for purchase on the

Teachers  College  Press  website at

https://www.tcpress.com/search?search _term=

assessment+materials. The cost of this scale is
twenty-eight dollars and ninety-five cents

($28.95). A copy of this instrument is on file at

the Division at the address given in Item (3) of

this Rule and is available for public inspection
during regular business hours. For the purposes
of this Rule, "regular business hours" for the

Division means 8 am. to 5 p.m. during

weekdays, excluding state holidays.

(30)

(€2))

(32

(33)

(34)

(35)

"ITS-SIDS training" means the Infant/Toddler
Safe Sleep and SIDS Risk Reduction Training
developed by the NC Healthy Start Foundation
and administered by the North Carolina Child
Care Health and Safety Resource Center for the
Division of Child Development and Early
Education for caregivers of children ages 12
months and younger. Information regarding
trainer and training availability can be found on
the Division's website at
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/pv_it
ssidsproject.asp.

"Lead Teacher" means an individual who is
responsible for planning and implementing the
daily program of activities for a group of
children in a child care facility. A lead teacher
is counted in staff/child ratio, has unsupervised
contact with children, and is monetarily
compensated by the facility.

"Licensee" means the person or entity that is
granted permission by the State of North
Carolina to operate a child care facility. The
owner of a facility is the licensee.

"Lockdown drill" means an emergency safety
procedure in which occupants of the facility
remain in a locked indoor space and is used
when emergency personnel or law enforcement
determine a dangerous person is in the vicinity.
"North Carolina Early Childhood
Administration Credential" means the state
early childhood administration credential that is
based on completion of required early
childhood coursework taken at any NC
Community College. Other post secondary
curriculum coursework shall be approved as
equivalent if the Division determines that the
content of the other post secondary curriculum
coursework offered is substantially equivalent
to the NC Early Childhood Administration
Credential Coursework. A copy of the North
Carolina Early Childhood Administration
Credential requirements is on file at the
Division at the address given in Item (2) of this
Rule and is available for public inspection or
copying at no charge during regular business
hours. This information can be found on the

Division's website at
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/crede
nt.asp.

"North Carolina Early Educator Certification
(certification)" is an acknowledgement of an
individual's verified level of educational
achievement based on a standardized scale. The
North Carolina Institute for Child Development
Professionals certifies individuals and assigns a
certification level on two scales:
(a) the Early Care and Education
Professional Scale (ECE Scale) in
effect as of July 1, 2010; or
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(36)

(b) the School Age Professional Scale
(SA Scale) in effect as of May 19,
2010. Each scale reflects the amount
of education earned in the content area
pertinent to the ages of children
served. The ECE scale is designed for
individuals working with or on behalf
of children ages birth to five. The SA
scale is designed for individuals
working with or on behalf of children
ages five to 12 who are served in
school age care settings. Information
on the voluntary certification process
can be found on the North Carolina
Institute for Child Development
Professionals website at
https://ncicdp.org/certification-
licensure/eec-overview/.
"North Carolina Early Childhood Credential”
means the state early childhood credential that
is based on completion of required early
childhood coursework taken at any North
Carolina ~ Community  College.  Other
equivalences shall be approved by the Division
if the Division determines that the content of
other coursework or other pathways are
substantially equivalent to the North Carolina
Early Childhood Credential coursework.
Substantially equivalent coursework shall
include, but not be limited to:
(a) a current active Child Development
Associate Credential from the Council
for Professional Recognition, a
Certified Child Care Professional
Credential form the National Early
Childhood Program Accreditation, or
a Montessori Credential from any of
the Montessori Accreditation Council
for Teacher Education, American
Montessori Society, National center
for Montessori  Education, or

Association Montessori
Internationale; or
(b) a passing score on a test developed by

the early childhood faculty of the
North Carolina Community College
System designed to demonstrate an
individual's mastery of the concepts
taught in early childhood coursework
taken at any North Carolina
community college.
A copy of the North Carolina Early Childhood
Credential requirements is on file at the
Division at the address given in Item (3) of this
Rule and is available for public inspection or
copying at no charge during regular business
hours. This information can be found on the
Division's website at

(37

(3%)

(39

(40)
(41)

(42)

(43)

(44)

(45)

https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/providers/crede

nt.asp.

"Operator" means the owner, director, or other

person having responsibility for operation of a

child care facility subject to licensing.

"Owner" means any person with a five percent

or greater equity interest in a child care facility;

however, stockholders of corporations who
own child care facilities shall not be subject to
mandatory criminal history checks pursuant to

G.S.110-90.2 unless they are a child care

provider.

"Parent" means a child's parent, legal guardian,

or full-time custodian.

"Passageway" means a hall or corridor.

"Person" means any individual, trust, estate,

partnership, corporation, joint stock company,

consortium, or any other group, entity,
origination or association.

"Premises" means the entire child care building

and grounds including natural areas,

outbuildings, dwellings, vehicles, parking lots,
driveways and other structures located on the
property.

"Preschooler" or "preschool-age child" means

any child who is at least three years of age and

does not fit the definition of school-age child in
this Rule.

"Reside" refers to any person that lives at a

child care facility location. Factors for

determining residence include:

(a) use of the child care facility address as
a permanent address for personal
identification or mail delivery;

(b) use of the child care facility to store
personal belongings such as furniture,
clothing, and toiletry items; and

(c) name listed on official documents
such as criminal records or property
tax records.

"School-Age Care Environment Scale Rating

Scale, Updated Edition" (Harms, Jacobs, and

White, 2014, published by Teachers College

Press) is the instrument used to evaluate the

quality of care received by a group of children

in a child care center using the program
assessment licensure pathway., This instrument
is incorporated by reference and does not
include subsequent editions. A copy of the scale
is available for purchase on the Teacher College

Press website at

https://www.tcpress.com/search?search _term=

assessmrnt+materials. The cost of this scale is
twenty-eight dollars and ninety-five cents

28.95). A copy of this instrument is on file at

the Division at the address in Item (3) of this

Rule and is available for public inspection

during regular business hours.

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

AUGUST 1, 2025

329



APPROVED RULES

(46)

(47)

(48)

(49)

(50)

(1)

(52)

(53)

(54)

(55)

(56)

"School-age child" means any child who is
attending or who has attended public or private
grade school or kindergarten and meets age
requirements as specified in G.S. 115C-364.
"Seasonal Program" means a recreational
program as set forth in G.S. 110-86(b).
"Shelter-in-Place drill" means staying in place
to take shelter rather than evacuating. It
involves selecting a small interior room, with
no or few windows, and used when emergency
personnel or law enforcement determine there
is a threat.

"Staff" or "staff member" as used in this
Chapter includes child care providers,
substitute  workers, and uncompensated
providers. Volunteers, as defined in this Rule,
are not staff members.

"Substitute provider" means any person who
temporarily assumes the duties of a staff person
for a time period not to exceed two consecutive
months and may or may not be monetarily
compensated by the facility. Any substitute
provider must be at least 18 years of age and
literate.

"Teacher" means an individual who assists the
Lead Teacher in planning and implementing the
daily program of activities for a group of
children in a child care facility. A teacher is
counted in staff/child ratio, has unsupervised
contact with children, and is monetarily
compensated by the facility.

Teachers aide" or "Aide" means a person who
assists the lead teacher or the teacher in
planning and implementing the daily program.
A teacher's aide shall be at least 16 years old
and less than 18 years old, shall be literate, and
may count in staff/child ratio as long as there is
also a credentialed staff person who is at least
21 years of age present in the room and
available to respond to the needs of the teacher's
aide and children in care.

"Toddler" means any child ages 13 months to
35 months of age.

"Track-Out Program" means any child care
provided to school-age children when they are
out of school on a year-round school calendar.
"Uncompensated provider" means a person
who works in a child care facility and is counted
in staff/child ratio or has unsupervised contact
with children, but who is not monetarily
compensated by  the facility. An
uncompensated provider must be at least 18
years of age and literate.

"Volunteer" means a person who works in a
child care facility and is not counted in
staff/child ratio, does not have unsupervised
contact with children, and is not monetarily
compensated by the facility. A person who is at
least 13 years of age, but less than 16 years age,

may work on a volunteer basis, as long as he or
she is supervised by and works with a staff
person who is at least 21 years of age and meets
staff qualification requirements.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-90.2;
143B-168.3; 45 CFR 98.41; S.L. 2021-180; S.L. 2022-71, 45 CFR
98.16; S.L. 2024-34;

Eff. January 1, 1986,

Amended Eff. April 1, 1992; October 1, 1991, October 1, 1990,
November 1, 1989;

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1996,

Amended Eff- March 1, 2015; May 1, 2013; Septemberl, 2012;
July 3, 2012; July 1, 2012; November 1, 2007; May 2006, May 1,
2004; April 1, 2003; July 1, 2000; April 1, 1999; July 1, 1998;
April 1, 1997;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017,

Amended Eff. July 1, 2025; January 1, 2024; July 1, 2023;
February 1, 2022; February 1, 2021; September 1, 2019.

10A NCAC 09 .2902 LICENSE

(a) Developmental Day services shall be available for preschool

children for a minimum of 8 hours per day, 5 days per week,

Monday through Friday, and 12 months per year except in the

following circumstances:

) in counties where no Community-Based
Developmental Day Center operates, a
Developmental Day program operated by the
Local Education Agency may provide services
for the 10 month school year (as defined by the
State Board of Education); or
2 if a Community-Based Developmental Day

center opens in a county where Developmental
Day services are only provided by a
Developmental Day program operated by the
Local Education Agency, the Developmental
Day program operated by the Local Education
Agency shall continue to provide services for
the 10 month school year until the end of the
following school year. At the end of the
following school year, all Developmental Day
services in the county shall be available as
described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

(b) For purposes of this Rule, a "Community-Based

Developmental Day Center" means a Developmental Day Center

not operated by the Local Education Agency.

(c) Developmental Day Centers shall maintain a four or five star

rated license as set forth in Section .3200 of this Chapter.

(d) A child care center with a temporary license may receive

certification status if all rules in this Section are met, except for

Paragraph (c) of this Rule, and an application for a two to five star

rated licensed has been submitted in accordance with Section

.2800 of this Chapter. At the end of the temporary license period

the child care center shall obtain a four or five star rated license

as specified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. Failure to receive and

maintain a four or five star rated license shall result in the removal

of certification status as a Developmental Day Center.

(e) The child care center license shall indicate certification as a

Developmental Day Center.
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(f) The center shall comply with the staff-child ratio and
maximum group size as follows:

MAXIMUM

AGE RATIO STAFF/ GROUP SIZE
CHILDREN

0-12 Months 1/4 8

1to 2 Years 1/5 10

2 Years and Older 1/6 18

(g) A minimum of two staff members shall be on site at all times
while children are in attendance at the facility.

(h) A child care center may appeal the removal of certification
status in accordance with G.S. 110-94; however, an appeal shall
not preclude a Local Education Agency from removing contracted
children from the program before a final decision on the appeal is
reached.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(5); 110-88(10);
110-88(14); S.L 2024-34; 42 USCS 9858¢c; 45 CFR 98.41; 45
CFR 98.68; S.L 2024-34;

Eff July 1, 2010;

Amended Eff- August 1, 2016,

Readopted Eff. October 1. 2017,

Amended Eff. July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .2905 FAMILY SERVICES

The center shall facilitate family involvement as evidenced by
meeting the following requirements. The activities used to meet
this requirement may not be used to meet the requirements set
forth in Rule .3219 of this Chapter.

)] Providing quarterly parent education sessions;
2) Communicating on an individual basis with
parents daily; and
3) Having parents as members of a center advisory
board.
History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(14); 42

USCS 9858, 45 CFR 98.1; 45 CFR 98.16; S.L. 2024-34;
Eff- July 1, 2010;

Readopted Eff- October 1, 2017;

Amended Eff- July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3002 FACILITY REQUIREMENTS

(a) Programs serving NC Pre-K children shall maintain a four-or
five-star rated license in accordance with G.S. 110-90(4) and
Section .3200 of this Chapter.

(b) NC Pre-K programs that have earned a four-or five-star rated
license using the program assessment licensure pathway or the
classroom instructional quality licensure pathway in Rules .3203
and .3205 of this Chapter shall have an assessment completed
every three years using the Early Childhood Environment Rating
Scale-Third Edition assessment tool. Classrooms that score below
5.0 shall be reassessed the following year and a minimum score
of 5.0 must be achieved in order to continue to be approved as a
NC Pre-K site. At least one NC Pre-K classroom shall be selected
for an assessment during the reassessment process. NC Pre-K
programs that have earned a four-or five-star rated license using
the accreditation and Head Start licensure pathway in Rule .3207
of this Section are not required to have an assessment and shall

instead comply with standards set forth by those organizations
regarding program quality standards.

(c) During the NC Pre-K day, classrooms serving NC Pre-K
children shall provide outdoor time, either as part of a small
group, whole group, or individual activity, for no less than 45
minutes per day when weather conditions permit as defined in
Rule .0102 of this Chapter.

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145,
s. 10.7(a); S.L. 2024-34;

Eff. November 1, 2012;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2017,

Amended Eff- July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3009
CLASS SIZE

The classroom shall not exceed a maximum staff-to-child ratio of
one to 10 with a maximum class size of 20 children, with at least
one teacher and one teacher assistant per classroom. A classroom
of 10 children or less is not required to have a teacher assistant.

STAFF-TO-CHILD RATIO AND

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145,
s. 10.7(a); S.L. 2023-134,

Eff. November 1, 2012;

Readopted Eff- October 1, 2017,

Amended Eff- July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3010 FAMILY ENGAGEMENT

NC Pre-K programs shall develop a plan for family engagement
consisting of strategies designed to develop partnerships with
families that promote shared decision-making opportunities.
These opportunities shall include:

(@9)] An enrollment orientation that includes an
opportunity for families and child(ren) to visit
the assigned classroom and lead teacher prior to
the first day of enrollment.

2) Family and teacher conferences are offered at
least twice annually to discuss child needs and
progress toward individual goals and to receive
feedback from families regarding their
child(ren)'s experiences at home and at the child
care facility. During each conference, families
are offered an opportunity to set goals for their
child. Conferences shall be conducted in a
manner that is convenient for the family such as
by telephone, virtually or in-person.

3) Classroom visits and options for parents and
families to participate in classroom activities.
4) At least one family event annually that includes

an educational opportunity for staff and
families to learn together.

%) Allowing family members the opportunity for
involvement in decision making about their
own child and about their child's early
childhood program; and

6) Opportunities to engage families outside of the
regular school day, including at least two family
events annually.
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Items (1), (2), (4) and (6) of this Rule may be used to meet
requirements set forth in Rule .3219 of this Chapter regarding
family and community engagement.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; S.L. 2011-145,
s. 10.7(a);42 USCS 9858c; 45 CFR 98.1; 45 CFR 98.16; S.L.
2024-34;

Eff. November 1, 2012;

Readopted Eff- October 1, 2017,

Amended Eff. July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3201 SCOPE

(a) This Section shall apply to all child care facilities that have
met requirements for a one-star rated license and choose to apply
for and earn a rated license of two-stars or higher.

(b) A child care facility shall be eligible for a rated license of two
through five-stars upon application and assessment of compliance
with the requirements of this Section.

(¢) No requirement in any component of a two-star or higher
rating shall be less than the requirements for a one-star rating
described in G.S. 110-91 and this Chapter. Prior to issuance of an
initial two through five-star rating, all requirements in G.S. 110-
91 and this Chapter shall be met at the time the program is
assessed for a higher rating. The requirements for a rated license
of two-stars or higher shall be in addition to the standards found
in G.S 110-91 and this Chapter.

(d) Nothing in this Section shall preclude or interfere with the
issuance of an administrative action as allowed by G.S. 110,
Article 7 and this Chapter.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-
90(4); 143B-168.3; 42 USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45;
Eff. July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3202 APPLICATION FOR A TWO
THROUGH FIVE STAR RATED LICENSE

(a) After a licensed child care facility has demonstrated
compliance with applicable child care requirements while
operating with a temporary license as set forth in Rules .0403 and
.1701 of this Chapter, the operator may apply for an initial two
through five-star rated license.

(b) The operator shall submit a completed application to the
Division for a two through five-star rated license on the form
provided by the Division. The substance of the form shall cover
requirements established by statute and the rules of this Chapter.
(¢c) An operator may select one of three licensure pathways in
order to earn a two through five-star rated license. The operator
shall meet the requirements set forth in this Section for the star
rating desired within the selected licensure pathway.
Requirements for licensure pathways may not be combined. The
three licensure pathways are as follows:

(1) Program Assessment Pathway as set forth in
Rules .3203 and .3204 of this Section;
2) Classroom and Instructional Quality Pathway

as set forth in Rules .3205 and .3206 of this
Section: and

3) Accreditation and Head Start Pathway as set
forth in Rule .3207 of this Section.

(d) A Division representative shall assess a facility requesting a
two through five-star rated license to determine if all applicable
requirements have been met to achieve the requested star rating.
The assessment shall include a review of Division records and site
visits.

(e) Upon completion of the Divisions assessment:

1) If the assessment indicates all the applicable
requirements to achieve the requested rating
have been met, the Division shall issue the
rating.

2) If the assessment indicates all the applicable
requirements to achieve the requested rating
have not been met, the Division shall notify the
operator of the requirements that were not met
and the requested two through five-star rating
shall not be issued. The operator may:

(A) accept the rating for which the
Division has found the operator to be
eligible;

(B) withdraw the request and reapply
when the identified requirements to
achieve the requested rating have been
met; or

© appeal the denial of the requested
rating as provided in G.S. 110-91.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-
90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2011-145, 5.10.7(b); 42 USCS 9858e; 45
CFR 98.45;

Eff. July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3203 PROGRAM ASSESSMENT
PATHWAY FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS

(a) This Rule shall apply to child care centers, including centers
located in a residence, that choose to earn a two through five-star
rated license using the program assessment licensure pathway.
(b) Asused in this Rule, "educators" shall mean teachers, group
leaders, and administrative staff, including directors, assistant
directors, program coordinators, education coordinators,
curriculum specialists, and other staff that have responsibility for
planning, caregiving, mentoring or training on-site in a child care
center. Educators shall meet the education standards of a position
as set forth in Rules .3211, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218
of this Section and work full-time. If a program operates less than
40 hours per week, full-time shall mean the hours the program is
in operation.

(¢) As used in this Rule, "structured self-study" shall mean the
process used to reflect on current teaching practices and
educational environments, and identify areas of strength, needs,
and action steps required to achieve the standards of the applicable
program assessment tool(s) as set forth in Paragraph (d) of this
Rule, based on the age of the children served. A structured self-
study shall be completed over a minimum of three consecutive
months and include a self-assessment using the appropriate
program assessment tool and additional resources located at
https://ncrlap.org/Resources/, a written reflection of the self-
assessment, including identification of goals for continuous
quality improvement, and documentation of the structured self-
study. Sample self-study forms may be found on the Division's
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website at  http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Provider/Provider-
Documents-and-Forms.

(d) Child care centers shall be evaluated using "Infant/Toddler
Environment Rating Scale, Third Edition" (ITERS-3), "Early
Childhood Environment Rating Scale, Third Edition" (ECERS-3),
and "School-Age Care Environment Rating Scale, Updated
Edition" (SACERS-U), based on the ages of children served.
Centers located in a residence, as described in Rule .0102 of this
Chapter, shall be evaluated using "Family Child Care
Environment Rating Scale, Third Edition" (FCCERS-3).
Alternatively, the Commission may approve additional program
assessment tools that meet the following criteria:

(1) the program assessment tool is research-based;

(2) the program assessment tool has demonstrated
reliability and validity;

3) the program assessment tool has been
developed and validated for the intended
population;

@) the standards being evaluated by the program
assessment tool are measurable;

(5) the program assessment tool is published or
otherwise publicly available;
(6) the program assessment tool assesses and

supports early childhood environments in a way
that is sensitive and responsive to the needs of
all children and families from culturally,
linguistically, economically, and ability diverse
backgrounds; and

@) the program assessment tool and training for its
use has a process to reduce bias.

Upon approval of additional program assessment tools, a child
care center may choose which assessment tool they utilize to earn
a star rating in this licensure pathway, as long as their choice is
applicable to the ages of children served, the type of facility in
operation, or other criteria specified by the Commission in its
approval.

(e) For a child care center to earn a two-star rated license, the
following requirements shall be met:

(1) The child care center shall meet either the
enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule
.3208 of this Section or the enhanced space
requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this
Section.

2) At least fifty percent of lead teachers and at
least fifty percent of educators shall meet the
individual education standards at the two-star
level, as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213,

3214, .3215,
.3216 and .3218 of this Section, or higher.
3) The child care center shall implement family

and community engagement foundational
practices set forth in Rule .3219 of this Section.
4) The child care center shall implement the
continuous quality improvement standards set
forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
%) All administrators and lead teachers shall
complete a structured self-study.
(f) For a child care center to earn a three-star rated license, the
following requirements shall be met:

€8 The child care center shall meet either the
enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule
.3208 of this Section or the enhanced space
requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this
Section.

2 At least fifty percent of lead teachers and at
least fifty percent of educators shall meet the
individual education standards at the three-star
level, as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213,
3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section,
or higher.

3) The child care center shall implement the
family and community engagement standards
set forth in Rule .3219 of this Section for a
three-star rated license.

“) The child care center shall implement the
continuous quality improvement standards set
forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.

5) All administrators and lead teachers shall
complete a structured self-study.
6) The child care center shall request and complete

an external program assessment and use the
results of the assessment in the continuous
quality improvement plan set forth in Rule
.3221 of this Section.
(g) For a child care center to earn a four-star rated license, the
following requirements shall be met:

1) The child care center shall meet either the
enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule
.3208 of this Section or the enhanced space
requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this
Section.

2 At least fifty percent of lead teachers and at
least fifty percent of educators shall meet the
individual education standards at the four-star
level, as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213
3214, 3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section,
or higher.

3) The child care center shall implement the
family and community engagement standards
set forth in Rule .3219 of this Section for a four-
star rated license.

4) The child care center shall implement the
continuous quality improvement standards set
forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.

5) All administrators and lead teachers shall
complete a structured self-study.

(6) The child care center shall request and complete
an external program assessment:
(A) For any assessment that occurs prior to

January 1, 2028, the child care center
must earn an average score of 3.5 or
higher for its ITERS-3 and ECERS-3
classrooms and an average score of 4.0

or higher for its SACERS-U
classrooms. When calculating an
average score for ITERS-3 and

ECERS-3 or SACERS-U, the child
care center may drop one classroom's
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(7

assessment score, so long as there is at
least one additional classroom serving
the same age children and that
classroom's score is included in the
average score. A child care center
using an alternative approved program
assessment tool shall earn a
comparable assessment score based on
the tool's scoring scale, as determined
by the Commission.

(B) For any assessment that occurs on or
after January 1, 2028, a child care
center using the ITERS-3, ECERS-3,
or SACERS-U assessments must earn
an average score of 4.0 or higher by
averaging all classroom scores. The
child care center may drop one
classroom's assessment score, so long
as there is at least one additional
classroom serving the same age
children and that classroom's score is
included in the average score. A child
care center using an alternative
approved program assessment tool
shall earn a comparable score based on
the tool's scoring scale, as determined
by the Commission.

Child care centers that are licensed to serve

four-year-old children shall implement a

curriculum as defined in Rule .0102(11) of this

Chapter in any classroom serving four-year-old

children and older.

(h) For a child care center to earn a five-star rated license, the
following requirements shall be met:

(1)

2)

)

“4)

)
(6)

The child care center shall meet the enhanced
ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3208 of this
Section. Meeting the enhanced space
requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this
Section is optional.
At least fifty percent of all lead teachers and at
least fifty percent of educators shall meet the
individual education standards at the five-star
level, as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213,
3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section,
or higher.
The child care center shall implement the
family and community engagement standards
set forth in Rule .3219 of this Section for a five-
star rated license.
The child care center shall implement the
continuous quality improvement standards set
forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
All administrators and lead teachers shall
complete a structured self-study.
The child care center shall request and complete
an external program assessment:
(A) For any assessment that occurs prior to
January 1, 2028, the child care center
must earn an average score of 4.0 or

(N

higher for its ITERS-3 and ECERS-3
classrooms and an average score of 5.0
or higher for its SACERS-U
classrooms. When calculating an
average score for the ITERS-3 and
ECERS-3 or SACERS-U, the child
canter may drop one classroom's
assessment score, so long as there is at
least one additional classroom serving
the same age children and that
classroom's score is included in the
average score. A child care center
using an alternative approved program
assessment tool shall earn a
comparable assessment score based on
the tool's scoring scale, as determined
by the Commission.

B) For any assessment that occurs on or
after January 1, 2028, a child care
center using the ITERS-3, ECERS-3,
or SACERS-U assessments must earn
an average score of 5.0 or higher by
averaging all classroom scores. The
child care center may drop one
classroom's assessment score, so long
as there is at least one additional
classroom serving the same age
children and that classroom's score is
included in the average score. A child
care center using an alternative
approved program assessment tool
shall earn a comparable score based on
the tool's scoring scale, as determined
by the Commission.

Child care centers that are licensed to serve

four-year-old children shall implement a

curriculum as defined in Rule .0102(11) of this

Chapter in any classroom serving four-year-old

children and older.

(i) For any child care center serving pre-school age children, the
following shall also apply:

(M

2

3)

Each child care center shall comply with the
requirements set forth in Rule .0508 of this
Chapter for written activity schedules and plans
and Rule .0509 of this Chapter for general
activity requirements;

Each child care center shall comply with the
requirements for activity areas for preschool-
age children as set forth in Rule .0510 of this
Chapter, expect that all five of the activity areas
listed in G.S. 110-91(12) shall be available each
day and the activities listed in Rule .0510 of this
Chapter shall be offered for each group of
children at least once per week; and

The requirements for activities for infants and
toddlers set forth in Rule .0511 of this Chapter
shall apply for children under three years of
age.
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(j) For child care centers with a licensed capacity of 200 or more,
there shall be a second administrator on-site for a minimum of 20
hours per week who shall have the Level I North Carolina Early
Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent.

(k) For child care centers providing school-age care with 200 or
more school-aged children enrolled, there shall be two program
coordinators on-site, one of whom shall not have concurrent group
leader responsibilities. The additional program coordinator shall
have completed all the applicable staff requirements in Rule
.2510(b) of this Chapter.

(1) The above requirements shall apply to centers located in a
residence, as described in Rule .0102 of this Chapter, expect that
the following shall apply when determining individual staff
education standards;

(1) If the operator is the only lead teacher, the
operator shall meet the individual education
standards at the desired star level, as set forth in
Rule .3212 of this Section, or higher.

(2) If additional lead teachers are employed by the
operator, at least fifty percent of all lead
teachers, including the operator, shall meet the
individual education standards at the desired
star level, as set forth in Rule .3212, or higher.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-
90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L 2011-145, 5.10.7(b) and (d); 42 USCS
9858e; 45 CFR 98.45;

Eff July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3204 PROGRAM ASSESSMENT
PATHWAY FOR FAMILY CHILD CARE HOMES

(a) This Rule shall apply to operators of family child care homes
that choose to earn a two through five-star rated license using the
program assessment licensure pathway.

(b) For purposes of this Rule, "structured self-study" shall mean
the process that family child care home operators use to reflect on
current teaching practices and educational environments, and
identify areas of strength, needs and action steps required to
achieve the standards of the program assessment tool as set forth
in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. A structured self-study shall be
completed over a minimum of three consecutive months and
include a self-assessment using the appropriate program
assessment tool and additional resources located at
https://ncrlap.org/Resources/, a written reflection of the self-
assessment, including identification of goals for continuous
quality improvement, and documentation of the structured self-
study using forms found on the Division's website at
http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Provider/Provider-Documents-
and-Forms.

(c) Family child care homes shall be evaluated using "Family
Child Care Environment Rating Scale, Third Edition" (FCCERS-
3). Alternatively, the Commission may approve additional
program assessment tools that meet the following criteria:

(1) the program assessment tool is research-based;

(2) the program assessment tool has demonstrated
reliability and validity;

3) the program assessment tool has been
developed and validated for the intended
population;

@ the standards being evaluated by the program
assessment tool are measurable;

(®)] the program assessment tool is published or
otherwise publicly available;
(6) the program assessment tool assesses and

supports early childhood environments in a way
that is sensitive and responsive to the needs of
all children and families from culturally,
linguistically, economically, and ability diverse
backgrounds; and

@) the program assessment tool and training for its
use has a process to reduce bias.

Upon approval of additional program assessment tools, the
operator of a family child care home may choose which
assessment tool they utilize to earn a star rating in this licensure
pathway, as long as their choice is applicable to the ages of
children served, the type of facility in operation, or other criteria
specified by the Commission in its approval.

(d) For a family child care home to earn a two-star rated license,
the following requirements shall be met:

(N The operator shall meet education standards at
the two-star level set forth in Rule .3217 of this
Section or higher.

2 The operator shall implement the family and
community engagement foundational practices
set forth in Rule .3220 of this Section.

3) The operator shall implement the continuous
quality improvement standards set forth in Rule
.3221 of this Section.

@) The operator shall complete a structured self-
study.

(e) For a family child care home to earn a three-star rated license,
the following requirements shall be met:

(1 The operator shall meet education standards at
the three-star level set forth in Rule .3217 of this
Section or higher.

2 The operator shall implement the family and
community engagement standards set forth in
Rule .3220 of this Section for a three-star rated
license.

3) The operator shall implement the continuous
quality improvement standards set forth in Rule
.3221 of this Section.

4) The operator shall complete a structured self-
study.
5) The operator shall request and complete an

external program assessment and use the results
of the assessment in the continuous quality
improvement plan set forth in Rule .3221 of this
Section.
(f) For a family child care home to earn a four-star rated license,
the following requirements shall be met:
)] The operator shall meet education standards at
the four-star level set forth in Rule .3217 of this
Section or higher.
2 The operator shall implement the family and
community engagement standards set forth in
Rule .3220 of this Section for a four-star rated
license.
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3) The operator shall implement the continuous
quality improvement standards set forth in Rule
.3221 of this Section.

The operator shall complete a structured self-
study.

The family child care home operator shall
request and complete external program
assessment:

(A) For any assessment that occurs prior to
January 1, 2028, the family child care
home must earn a score of 3.5 or
higher on its FCCERS-3 assessment.
An operator using an approved
alternative program assessment tool
shall earn a comparable score based on
the tool's scoring scale, as determined
by the Commission.

For any assessment that occurs on or
after January 1, 2028, the family child
care home shall earn a score of 4.0 or
higher on its FCCERS-3 assessment.
An operator using an alternative
approved program assessment tool
shall earn a comparable score based on
the tool's scoring scale, as determined
by the Commission.

Operators that are licensed to serve four-year-
old children shall implement a curriculum as
defined in Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter for
use with children four years old and older.

(g) For a family child care home to earn a five-star rated license,
the following requirements shall be met:

(1) The operator shall meet education standards at
the five-star level set forth in Rule .3217 of this
Section, or higher.

The operator shall implement the family and
community engagement standards set forth in
Rule .3220 of this Section for a five-star rated
license.

The operator shall implement the continuous
quality improvement standards set forth in Rule
.3221 of this Section.

The operator shall complete a structured self-
study.

The operator shall request and complete an
external program assessment:

(A) For any assessment that occurs prior to
January 1, 2028, the family child care
home must earn a score of 4.0 or
higher on its FCCERS-3 assessment.
An operator using an approved
alternative program assessment tool
shall earn a comparable score based on
the tool's scoring scale, as determined
by the Commission.

For any assessment that occurs on or
after January 1, 2028, the family child
care home shall earn a score of 5.0 or
higher on its FCCERS-3 assessment.

(4)
)

(B)

(6)

2)

3)

“4)
)

(B)

An operator using an alternative
approved program assessment tool
shall earn a comparable score based on
the tool's scoring scale, as determined
by the Commission.

(6) Operators that ae licensed to serve four-year-
old children shall implement a curriculum as
defined in Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter for
use with children four years old or older.

History Note:  Authority G.S 110-85 (3); 110-88(7); 110-

90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2011-145, 5.10.7(b) and (d); 42USCS
9858e; 45 FR 98.45;
Eff. July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3205 CLASSROOM AND
INSTRUCTIONAL QUALITY PATHWAY FOR CHILD
CARE CENTERS

(a) This Rule shall apply to child care centers that choose to earn
two through five star rated license using the classroom and
instructional quality licensure pathway.

(b) As used in this Rule, "educators" shall mean teachers, group
leaders, and administrative staff, including directors, assistant
directors, program coordinators, education coordinators,
curriculum specialists, and other staff that have responsibility for
planning, caregiving, mentoring or training on-site in a child care
center. Educators shall meet the education standards of a position
as set forth in Rules .3211, .3213, .3214, .3214, .3216 and .3218
of this Section and work full-time. If a program operates less than
forty hours per week, full-time shall mean the hours the program
is in operation.

(c) For a child care center to earn a two-star rated license, the
following requirements shall be met:

1) The child care center shall meet either the
enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule
.3208 of this Section or the enhanced space
requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this
Section.

A least fifty percent of lead teachers and at least
fifty percent of educators shall meet the
individual education standards at the two-star
level as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213,
3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section or
higher.

The child care center shall implement the
family and community engagement
foundational practices set forth in Rule .3219 of
this Section.

The child care center shall implement the
continuous quality improvement standards set
forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.

The child care center shall implement a
curriculum for all ages served that is:

2

3)

“)

(6]

(A) aligned with the North Carolina
Foundations for Early Learning and
Development;

(B) child focused;

© developmentally appropriate; and
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(6)

(D) culturally and
appropriate.

In curriculum planning, the child care center

shall ensure modifications and adaptations are

made to involve all children with special health

and developmental needs.

linguistically

(d) For a child care center to earn a three-star rated license, the
following requirements shall be met:

(1

2

3)

(4)

)

(6)

(7

@®)

The child care center shall meet either the
enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule
.3208 of this Section or the enhanced space
requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this

Section.

At least fifty percent of the lead teachers and

fifty percent of the educators shall meet the

individual education standards at the three-star

level as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213,

3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section or

higher.

The child care center shall implement the

family and community engagement standards

set forth in Rule .3219 of this Section for a

three-star rated license.

The child care center shall implement

continuous quality improvement standards set

forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.

The child care center shall implement a

curriculum for all ages served that is:

(A) aligned with the North Carolina
Foundations for Early Learning and
Development;

(B) child focused;

© developmentally appropriate; and

(D) culturally and linguistically
appropriate.

In curriculum planning, the child care center

shall ensure modifications and adaptations are

made to involve all children with special health
and developmental needs.

The child care center shall ensure child

observations are conducted for each child

enrolled in the facility. Child observations shall
include evidence of the child's activities and
may include the following:

(A) anecdotal notes;

(B) portfolio of child's work samples;
© developmental screenings

(D) formative assessment tools; or

(E) photographs, audio, or video
recordings with permission from the
child's family.

The administrator participates in one of the

following activities regarding classroom and

instructional quality practices:

(A) annual completion of five hours of
coaching or mentoring by another
administrator of a licensed child care
center with a star rating of three stars

or higher, or a community resource
partner;

(B) annual completion of five on-going
training hours, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rule .1103
of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212,
3213, .3214, 3215, 3216 and .3218
of this Section; or

©) annual completion of 0.5 continuing
education unit, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rule .1103
of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212,
3213, 3214, 3215, 3216 and .3218
of this Section.

(e) For a child care center to earn a four-star rated license, the
following requirements shall be met:

)

2

3

“

)

(6)

(7

The child care center shall meet the enhanced
ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3208 of this
Section. The child care center may choose to
meet the enhanced space requirements set forth
in Rule .3210 of this Section.

At least fifty percent of lead teachers and at
least fifty percent of educators shall meet the
individual education standards at the four-star
level as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213,
3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section or
higher.

The child care center shall implement the
family and community engagement standards
set forth in Rule .3219 of this Section for a four-
star license.

The child care center shall implement the
continuous quality improvement standards set
forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.

The child care center shall implement a
curriculum that has been approved by the
Commission as defined in Rule .0102(11) of
this Chapter for all ages served. A list of
curricula that has been approved by the
Commission is available at
http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensi
ng/Star-Rated-License.Curriculum.

In curriculum planning, the child care center
shall ensure modifications and adaptations are
made to involve all children with special health
and developmental needs.

The child care center shall conduct on-going
formative assessments to gather information
about each child's growth and skill
development based on individual development
and learning needs and maintain evidence of
each child's on-going assessment. The child
care center shall use a formative assessment(s)
that has been approved by the Commission,
available at
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licens
ing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum. Evidence
of formative assessments shall include
documentation required or contemplated by the
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®)

)

(10)

(11)

approved formative assessment and may also
include:

(A) anecdotal notes;
(B) portfolio of child's work samples;
© developmental screenings; or

(D) photographs, audio, or video
recordings with permission from the
child's family.

The lead teacher shall share the results of the

formative assessment with families at least once

annually. The manner in which the results are
shared shall be convenient for the family such
as by telephone, email, virtually, or in-person.

The administrator shall complete training

related to the approved curriculum and

formative assessment tool that is used by center
staff with children, in addition to applicable
requirements in Rule .1103 of this Chapter.

Verification of this training shall be maintained

in the administrator's personnel file.

The administrator shall participate in one of the

following activities regarding classroom and

instructional quality practices:

(A) annual completion of five hours of
coaching or mentoring by another
administrator of a licensed child care
facility with a star-rating of four or
five stars or a community resource
partner;

(B) annual completion of five on-going
training hours, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rule .1103
of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212,
3213, 3214, 3215, .3216 and .3218
of this Section; or

© annual completion of 0.5 continuing
education unit, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rule .1103
of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212,
3213, .3214, 3215, .3216 and .3218
of this Section.

All lead teachers shall participate in one of the

following activities regarding classroom and

instructional quality practices:

(A) annual completion of five hours of
coaching or mentoring by the
administrator, another lead teacher in
the center, a lead teacher in another
licensed child care center with a star-
rating of four or five stars, an
administrator of another licensed child
care center with a star-rating of four or
five stars, or a community resource
partner;

B) annual completion of five on-going
training hours, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rule .1103
of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212,

3213, .3214, .3215, 3216 and .3218
of this Section; or

© annual completion of 0.5 continuing
education unit, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rule .1103
of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212,
3213, .3214, .3215, 3216 and .3218
of this Section.

(f) For a child care center to earn a five-star rated license, the
following requirements shall be met:

)

2

3

“

&)

(6)

(7

The child care center shall meet the reduced,
enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule
.3209 of this Section. The child care center may
choose to meet the enhanced space
requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this
Section.

At least fifty percent of lead teachers and at
least fifty percent of educators shall meet the
individual education standards at the five-star
level as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213,
3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section,
or higher.

The child care center shall implement the
family and community engagement standards
set forth in Rule .3219 of this Section for a five-
star rated license.

The child care center shall implement the
continuous quality improvement standards set
forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.

The child care center shall implement a
curriculum that has been approved by the
Commission as defined in Rule .0102(11) of
this Chapter for all ages served. A list of
curricula that has been approved by the
Commission is available at
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licens
ing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum.

In curriculum planning, the child care center
shall ensure modifications and adaptations are
made to involve all children with special health
and developmental needs.

The child care center shall conduct on-going
formative assessments to gather information
about each child's growth and skill
development based on individual development
and learning needs and maintain evidence of
each child's on-going assessment. The child
care center shall use a formative assessment(s)
that has been approved by the Commission,
available at
http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensi
ng/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum. Evidence
of formative assessments shall include
documentation required or contemplated by the
approved formative assessment and may also
include:

(A) anecdotal notes;
(B) portfolio of child's work samples;
© developmental screenings; or
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)

)

(10)

(11

(D) photographs, audio, or video
recordings with permission from the
child's family.

The lead teacher shall share the results of the
formative assessment with families at least
twice annually. While sharing the results, the
lead teacher shall provide an opportunity for
families to contribute additional information to
the formative assessment. The manner in which
the results are shared shall be convenient for the
family such as by telephone, email, virtually, or
in-person.

The administrator and all lead teachers shall

complete training related to the curriculum and

formative assessment tool that is used by the
center with children, in addition to applicable
requirements in Rule .1103 of this Chapter.

Verification of this training shall be maintained

in the individual's' personnel file.

The administrator participates in one of the

following activities regarding classroom and

instructional quality practices:

(A) annual completion of five hours of
coaching or mentoring by an
administrator of another licensed child
care center with a star-rating of five

stars, or a community resource
partner;
(B) annual completion of five on-going

training hours, in additional to
applicable requirements in Rule .1103
of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212,
3213, 3214, 3215, .3216 and .3218
of this Section; or

© annual completion of 0.5 continuing
education unit, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rule .1103
of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212,
3213, .3214, 3215, .3216 and .3218
of this Section.

All lead teachers participate in one of the

following activities regarding classroom and

instructional quality practices:

(A) annual completion of five hours of
coaching or mentoring by the
administrator, another lead teacher in
the center, a lead teacher in another
licensed child care center with a star-
rating of five stars, an administrator of
another licensed child care center with
a star-rating of five stars, or a
community resource partner;

(B) annual completion of five on-going
training hours, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rule .1103
of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212,
3213, 3214, 3215, .3216 and .3218
of this Section; or

© annual completion of 0.5 continuing
education unit, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rule .1103
of this Chapter and Rules .3211, .3212,
3213, 3214, 3215, .3216 and .3218
of this Section.

(g) For any child care center serving pre-school age children, the
following shall also apply:

M

2

3)

Each child care center shall comply with the
requirements set forth in Rule .0508 of this
Chapter for written activity schedules and plans
and Rule .0509 of this Chapter for general
activity requirements;

Each child care center shall comply with the
requirements for activity areas for preschool-
age children as set forth in Rule .0510 of this
Chapter, except that all five of the activity areas
listed in G.S. 110-91(12) shall be available each
day and the activities listed in Rule .0510(c) of
this Chapter shall be offered for each group of
children at least once per week; and

The requirements for activities for infants and
toddlers set forth in Rule .0511 of this Chapter
shall apply for children under three years of
age.

(h) For centers with a licensed capacity of two hundred or more,
there shall be a second administrator on-site for a minimum of
twenty hours per week who shall have the Level I North Carolina
Early Childhood Administrator Credential or its approved

equivalent.

(i) For centers providing school-age care with two hundred or
more school-aged children enrolled, there shall be two program
coordinators on-site, one of whom shall not have concurrent group
leader responsibilities. The additional program coordinator shall
have completed all the applicable staff requirements in Rule
.2510(b) of this Chapter.

(j) The above requirements shall apply to centers located in a
residence, as describes in Rule .0102 of this Chapter, except that
the following shall apply when determining individual staff
education standards:

M

2

History Note:

If the operator is the only lead teacher, the
operator shall meet the individual education
standards at the desired star level, as set forth in
Rule .3212 of this Section, or higher.

If additional lead teachers are employed by the
operator, at least fifty percent of all lead
teachers, including the operator, shall meet the
individual education standard at the desired star
level, as set forth in Rule .3212, or higher.

Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-

90(4); 143B-168.3, S.L. 2011-145, 5.10.7(b) and (d); S.L. 2024-
34; 42 USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45;

Eff. July 1, 2025.
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10A NCAC 09 .3206 CLASSROOM AND
INSTRUCTIONAL QUALITY PATHWAY FOR FAMILY
CHILD CARE HOMES

(a) This Rule shall apply to family child care homes that choose
to earn two through five-star rated license using the classroom and
instructional quality licensure pathway.

(b) For a family child care home to earn two-star rated license,
the following requirements shall be met:

(N The operator shall meet education standards at
the two-star level as set forth in Rule .3217 of
this Section or higher.

2) The operator shall implement the family and
community engagement foundational practices
set forth in Rule .3220 of this Section for a two-
star rated license.

3) The operator shall implement the continuous
quality improvement standards set forth in Rule
.3221 of this Section.

4 The operator shall implement a curriculum for
all ages served that is:

(A) aligned with the North Carolina
Foundations for Early Learning and
Development;

(B) child focused;

© developmentally appropriate; and

(D) culturally and linguistically
appropriate.

%) In curriculum planning, the operator shall
ensure modifications and adaptations are made
to involve all children with special health and
developmental needs.

(c) For a family child care home to earn a three-star rated license,

O]

include evidence of the child's activities and
may include the following:

(A) anecdotal notes;

B) portfolio of child's work samples;
© developmental screenings;

D) formative assessment tools; or

(E) photographs, audio, pr video
recordings with permission from the
child's family.

The operator participates in one of the

following activities regarding classroom and

instructional quality practices:

(A) annual completion of five hours of
coaching or mentoring by a center
administrator of a licensed child care
center with a star-rating of three stars
or higher, an operator of another
licensed family child care home with a
star-rating of three stars or higher, or a
community resource partner;

B) annual completion of five on-going
training hours, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rule
.1703(f) of this Chapter and Rule
.3217 of this Section; or

© annual completion of 0.5 continuing
education unit, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rule
.1703(f) of this Chapter and Rule
.3217 of this Section.

(d) For a family child care home to earn a four-star rated license,
the following requirements shall be met:

the following requirements shall be met: 1 The operator shall meet education standards at
1) The operator shall meet education standards at the four-star level as set forth in Rule .3217 of
the three-star level as set forth in Rule .3217 of this Section or higher.
this Section or higher. 2 The operator shall implement the family and
(2) The operator shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in
community engagement standards set for in Rule .3220 of this Section for a four-star rated
Rule .3220 of this Section for a three-star rated license.
license. 3) The operator shall implement the continuous
3) The operator shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule
quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
.3221 of this Section. 4) The operator shall implement a curriculum that
@) The operator shall implement a curriculum for has been approved by the Commission as
all ages served that is: defined in Rule .0102(13) of this Chapter for all
(A) aligned with the North Carolina ages served. A list of curricula that has been
Foundations for Early Learning and approved by the Commission is available at
Development; http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensi
(B) child focused; ng/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum.
© developmentally appropriate; and &) In curriculum planning, the operator shall
(D) culturally and linguistically ensure modifications and adaptations are made
appropriate. to involve all children with special health and
6) In curriculum planning the operator shall ensure developmental needs.
modifications and adaptations are made to (6) The operator shall conduct on-going formative
involve all children with special health and assessments to gather information about each
developmental needs. child's growth and skill development based on
(6) The operator shall ensure child observations are individual development and learning needs and
conducted for each child enrolled in the family maintain evidence of each child's on-going
child care home. Child observations shall assessment. The operator shall use a formative
40:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 1, 2025
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(7

®)

)

assessment(s) that has been approved by the
Commission, available at
http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensi
ng/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum. Evidence
of formative assessments shall include
documentation required or contemplated by the
approved formative assessment and may also
include:

(A) anecdotal notes;
(B) portfolio of child's work samples;
© developmental screenings; or

(D) photographs, audio, or video
recordings with permission from the
child's family.

The operator shall share the results of the

formative assessment with families at least once

annually. The manner in which the results are
shared shall be convenient for the family such
as by telephone, email, virtually, or in-person.

The operator shall complete training related to

the curriculum and formative assessment tool

that is used by center staff with children, in
addition o applicable requirements in Rule

.1703(f) of this Chapter. Verification of this

training shall be maintained in the operator's

personnel file.

The operator participates in one of the

following activities regarding classroom and

instructional quality practices:

(A) annual completion of five hours of
coaching or mentoring by a center
administrator of a licensed child care
center with a star-rating of four or five
stars, an operator of another licensed
family child care home with a star-
rating or four or five stars, or a
community resource partner;

(B) annual completion of five on-going
training hours, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rule
.1703(f) of this Chapter and Rule
.3217 of this Section; or

©) annual completion of 0.5 continuing
education unit, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rule
.1703(f) of this Chapter and Rule
.3217 of this Section.

(e) For a family child care home to earn a five-star rated license,
the following requirements shall be met:

(1

2)

If the family child care home is meeting license
capacity requirements in G.S. 110-91(7)(b)(1),
no more than four children shall be under the
age of twenty-four months of the children who
are birth to five years of age. This requirement
shall not reduce the licensed capacity of the
family child care home.

The operator shall meet the education standards
at the five-star level set forth in Rule .3217 of
this Section, or higher.

3

“

)

(6)

(7

®)

(€))

(10)

The operator shall implement the family and
community engagement standards set forth in
Rule .3220 of this Section for a five-star rated
license.

The operator shall implement the continuous
quality improvement standards set forth in Rule
.3221 of this Section.

The operator shall implement a curriculum that
has been approved by the Commission as
defined in Rule .0102(13) of this Chapter for all
ages served. A list of curricula that has been
approved by the Commission is available at
http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensi
ng/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum.

In curriculum planning, the operator shall
ensure modifications and adaptations are made
to involve all children with special health and
developmental needs.

The operator shall conduct on-going formative
assessments to gather information about each
child's growth and skill development based on
individual development and learning needs and
maintain evidence of each child's on-going
assessment. The operator shall use a formative
assessment(s) that has been approved by the
Commission, available at
http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensi
ng/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum. Evidence
of formative assessments shall include
documentation required or contemplated by the
approved formative assessment and may also
include:

(A) anecdotal notes;
(B) portfolio of child's work samples;
© developmental screenings; or

(D) photographs, audio, or video
recordings with permission from the
child's family.

The operator shall share the results of the
formative assessment with families at least
twice annually. While sharing the results, the
operator shall provide an opportunity for
families to contribute additional information to
the formative assessment. The manner in which
the results are shared shall be convenient for the
family such as by telephone, email, virtually, or
in-person.

The operator shall complete training related to

the curriculum and formative assessment tool

that is used, in addition to applicable
requirements in Rule .1703(f) of this Chapter.

Verification of this training shall be maintained

in the operator's personnel file.

The operator participates in one of the

following activities regarding classroom and

instructional quality practices:

(A) annual completion of five hours of
coaching or mentoring by a center
administrator of a licensed child care
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center with a star-rating of five stars,
an operator of another licensed family
child care home with a star-rating of
five stars, or a community resource
partner;

B) annual completion of five on-going
training hours, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rule
.1703(f) of this Chapter and Rule
.3217 of this Section; or

©) annual completion of 0.5 continuing
education wunit, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rule
.1703(f) of this Chapter and Rule
.3217 of this Section.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-
90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2011-145, 5.10.7(b) and (d); S.L. 2024-
32; 42 USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45;

Eff- July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3207 ACCREDITATION AND HEAD
START PATHWAY FOR CHILD CARE FACILITIES
(a) This Rule shall apply to child care facilities that choose to
earn a two through five-star rated license using the accreditation
and Head Start licensure pathway.
(b) As used the Rule, "educators" shall mean teachers, group
leaders, and administrative staff, including directors, assistant
directors, program coordinators, education coordinators,
curriculum specialists, and other staff that have responsibility for
planning, caregiving, mentoring or training on-site in a child care
center. Educators shall meet the education standards of a position
as set forth in Rules .3211, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218
of this Section and work full-time. If a program operates less than
forty hours per week, full-time shall mean the hours the program
is in operation.
(c) When a child care facility is accredited by one of the following
organizations, a three-star license may be issued based on
programmatic standards:

@) National Association for Family Child Care

(NAFCCQC)

2) National Early Childhood Program
Accreditation (NECPA)

3) American Montessori Society (AMS)

@) International Montessori Council (IMC)

(d) A child care facility accredited by one of the organizations
listed in Paragraph (c) of this Rule may increase its star rating to
a four- star rated license, by requesting an evaluation of its
education standards and be issued a four-star rated license if the
following applicable standard is met:

(1) For child care centers, at least fifty percent of
lead teachers and at least fifty percent of
educators shall meet the individual education
standards at the four-star level, as set forth in
Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216
and .3218 of this Section or higher.

(2) For a family child care home, the operator shall
meet education standards at the four-star level,

as set forth in Rule .3217 of this Section or
higher.
(e) A child care facility accredited by one of the organizations
listed in Paragraph (c) of this Rule may increase its star rating to
a five-star rated license, by requesting an evaluation of its
education standards and be issued a five-star rated license if the
following applicable standard is met:

1 For child care centers, at least fifty percent of
all lead teachers and at least fifty percent of all
other educators shall meet individual education
standards at the five-star level, as set forth in
Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216
and .3218 of this Section or higher.

2 The operator of a family child care home shall
meet education standards at the five-star level,
as set forth in Rule .3217 of this Section or
higher.

(f) When a child care facility is accredited by one of the following
organizations, a five-star rated license may be issued based on
educational and programmatic standards:

(N National Association for the Education of
Young Children (NAEYC)

2) National Accreditation Commission for Early
Care and Education Programs (NAC)

3) Cognia, that includes early learning standards

4 Cognia, that includes extended learning

standards for school age care only programs
(g) When a child care facility is designated as Head Start or Early
Head Start, a five-star rated license may be issued based on
educational and programmatic standards,
(h) Verification of accreditation status, Head Start designation or
Early Head Start designation shall be maintained at the child care
facility at all times and be provided to the Division on request.
(1) Accredited, Head Start and Early Head Start facilities shall
meet the staff/child ratio requirements of the organization when
required to obtain and maintain the accreditation or designation.
If a facility may receive an accreditation award or Head Start
designation without adhering to the accreditation standards or
Head Start performance standards, the facility shall meet the
organization's staff/child ratio standard or enhanced staff/child
ratio requirements specified in Rule .3208 of this Section.
(j) Accredited facilities, Head Start facilities and Early Head Start
facilities are not required to meet additional programmatic
requirements described in this Section when in good standing with
accreditation or performance standards. Programmatic
requirement topics include curriculum, continuous quality
improvement, and family and community engagement.
(k) For any child care center serving pre-school age children, the
following shall also apply:

n Each child care center shall comply with the
requirements set forth in Rule .0508 of this
Chapter for written activity schedules and plans
and Rule .0509 of this Chapter for general
activity requirements;

2) Each child care center shall comply with the
requirements for activity areas for preschool-
age children as set forth in Rule .0510 of this
Chapter, except that all five of the activity areas
listed in G.S. 110-91(12) shall be available each
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day and the activities listed in Rule .0510(c) of
this Chapter shall be offered for each group of
children at least once per week; and
3) The requirements for activities for infants and
toddlers set forth in Rule .0511 of this Chapter
shall apply for children under three years of
age.
(1) For centers with a licensed capacity of 200 or more, there shall
be a second administrator on-site for a minimum of 20 hours per
week who shall have the Level I North Carolina Early Childhood
Administration Credential or its approved equivalent.
(m) For centers providing school-age care with two hundred or
more school-age children enrolled, there shall be two program
coordinators on-site, one of whom shall not have concurrent group
leader responsibilities. The additional program coordinator shall
have completed all the applicable staff requirements in Rule
.2510(b) of this Chapter.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-
90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2011-145, 5.10.7(b) and (d); S.L. 2024-
34, 42 USCS 9858¢; 45 CFR 98.45;

Eff- July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3208 ENHANCED STAFF/CHILD
RATIOS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR CHILD CARE
CENTERS

(a) This Rule shall apply to evaluating the staff/child ratios and
maximum group sizes for a rated license for child care centers.
(b) Enhanced staff/child ratio means that the center shall comply
with the following staff/child ratios and maximum group sizes.

Age Ratio Staff/Children | Maximum Group
Size

0 to 12 Months 1/5 10

1to 2 Years 1/6 12

2 to 3 Years 1/9 18

3 to 4 Years 1/10 20

4 to 5 Years 1/13 25

5to 6 Years 1/15 25

6 Years and | 1/20 25

Older

(c) The provisions of Rule .0713(a) through (e) of this Chapter
shall apply in evaluating the staff/child ratios and maximum group
sizes within this Rule.

(d) Enhanced staff/child ratios shall not apply to facilities who
choose to use multi-age group staff child ratios as set forth in Rule
.0713(f) of this Chapter.

(e) The staff/child ratio applicable to a classroom shall be posted
in that classroom in an area that parents are able to view at all
times.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 143B-168.3; 42
USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45;
Eff. July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3209 REDUCED, ENHANCED
STAFF/CHILD RATIOS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR
CHILD CARE CENTERS

(a) This Rule shall apply to evaluating the staff/child ratios and
maximum group sizes for a rated license for child care centers.
(b) Enhanced staff/child ratio means that the center shall comply
with the following staff/child ratios and maximum group sizes.

Age Ratio Staff/Children | Maximum Group
Size

0 to 12 Months 1/4 8

1to 2 Years 1/5 10

2 to 3 Years 1/8 16

3 to 4 Years 1/9 18

4t0 5 Years 1/12 24

5to 6 Years 1/14 25

6 Years and | 1/19 25

Older

(c) The provisions of Rule .0713(a) through (e) of this Chapter
shall apply in evaluating the staff/child ratios and maximum group
sizes within this Rule.

(d) Reduced, enhanced staff/child ratios shall not apply to
facilities who choose to use multi-age group staff/child ratios as
set forth in Rule .0713(f) of this Chapter.

(e) The staff/child ratio applicable to a classroom shall be posted
in that classroom in an area that parents are able to view at all
times.

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 143B-168.3; 42
USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45;
Eff July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3210 ENHANCED SPACE
REQUIRMENTS FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS

In order for a child care center to meet enhanced space
requirements:

(1) There shall be at least 30 square feet inside
space per child per the total licensed capacity
and 100 square feet outside space for each child
using the outdoor learning environment at any
one time; and

2) There shall be an area that can be arranged for
administrative ~ and  private  conference
activities.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 143B-168.3;, 42

USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45;
Eff. July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3211 ENHANCED EDUCATION
STANDARDS FOR CHILD CARE CENTER ON-SITE
ADMINISTRATORS

(a) This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of an on-
site administrator, as defined in G.S. 110-86(2a), in a child care
center.

(b) A child care provider meets the two-star education standard
for on-site administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, the
requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
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(1

2

Option One:

(A)

B

©

(D)

Level 1 NC Early Childhood
Administration Credential or its
approved equivalent or higher; and
Successful completion at least six
semester hours in early childhood
education or child development
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and

Annual completion of at least 1.0
continuing education credit in early
childhood education and school-age
related topics in addition to applicable
requirements in Rule .1103 of this
Chapter; and

If the center is licensed for school-age
care, have at least three months
licensed or unlicensed school-age care
work experience or successful
completion of BSAC training.

Option Two:

(A)

B

©

Level I NC Childhood Administration
Credential or its approved equivalent
or higher; and

Have at least two years of early
childhood education work experience
or have at least one year of
administrative work experience; and
If the center is licensed for school-age
care, have at least three months
licensed or unlicensed school-age care
work experience or successful
completion of BSAC training.

(c) A child care provider meets the three-star education standard
for on-site administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, the
requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
Option One:

(1)

2

(A)

(B)

©

Level I NC Early Childhood
Administration Credential or its
approved equivalent or higher; and
Successful completion of at least 12
semester hours in early childhood
education or child development
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and

Have at least one year of
administrative work experience or, if
the center is licensed for school-age
care, have at least six months licensed
or unlicensed school-age care work
experience or, if the center is licensed
for school-age care, successful
completion of BSAC training.

Option Two:

(A)

(B)

Level I NC Early Childhood
Administration Credential or its
approved equivalent or higher; and

Successful completion of a least six
semester hours in early childhood

©

D)

education or child development
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and

Have at least three years of early
childhood education work experience
or administrative work experience or a
combination of both types of
experience; and

If the center is licensed for school-age
care, have at least six months licensed
or unlicensed school-age care work
experience or successful completion
of BSAC training.

(d) A child care provider meets the four-star education standard
for on-site administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, the
requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
Option One:

)

2

(A)

B)

©

D)

Level 1 NC Early Childhood
Administration Credential or its
approved equivalent or higher; and
Successful completion of at least 12
semester hours in early childhood
education or child development
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and

Be enrolled in or have completed an
associate or bachelor's degree
program; and

Have at least two years of early
childhood education or administrative
work experience or, if the center is
licensed for  school-age care,
successful completion of BSAC
training.

Option Two:

(A)

(B)

©

D)

Level II NC Early Childhood
Administration Credential or its
approved equivalent or higher; and
Be enrolled in or have completed an
associate or bachelor's degree
program; and

Have at least two years of early
childhood education work experience;
and

If the center is licensed for school-age
care, have at least one year licensed or
unlicensed school-age care work
experience or successful completion
of BSAC training.

(e) A child care provider meets the five-star education standard
for on-site administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, the
requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, or Option

Three as follows:

M

Option One:

(A)

Level 11 NC Early NC Early
Childhood Administration Credential
or its approved equivalent or higher;
and
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(B) Successful completion of at least 18
semester hours in early childhood
education or child development
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and

© Be enrolled in or have completed a
bachelor's degree program; and
(D) Have at least four years of work

experience in early childhood
education, administrative duties, or a

combination of both types of
experience; and
(E) If the center is licensed for school-age

care, have at least two years licensed
or unlicensed school-age care work
experience or successful completion
of BSAC training.

2) Option Two:

(A) Level II NC Early childhood
Administration Credential or its
approved equivalent or higher; and

(B) Successful completion of at least 18
semester hours in early childhood
education or child development
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and

© Be enrolled in or have completed a
bachelor's degree program; and

(D) Have at least four years combined
early childhood education and
administrative work experience; and

(E) If the center is licensed for school-age
care, successful completion of BSAC
training.

3) Option Three:

(A) Level III NC Ealy Childhood
Administration Credential or its
approved equivalent; and

(B) Have at least three years of work
experience in early childhood
education, administrative duties. Or a

combination of both types of
experience; and
©) If the center is licensed for school-age

care, have at least one year licensed or
unlicensed school-age care experience
or successful completion of BSAC
training.
(f) Semester hours in early childhood education or child
development coursework required to meet the education standards
set forth in this Rule shall not include the coursework necessary
for the North Carolina Early Childhood Administration Credential
(NCECAC).
(g) Completion of school-age experience requirements shall
count toward meeting work experience requirements.
(h) For centers located in a residence, if an individual has
responsibility both for administering the child care program and
for planning and implementing the daily activities of a group of
children, the educational requirements for lead teacher in Rule

.3212 of this Section shall apply. All other teachers shall follow
the educational requirements for teachers in this Section.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88(7); 110-90(4);
143B-18.3; S.L. 2023-40; S.L. 2024-34; USCS 9858e; 45 CFR
98.45;

Eff. July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3212 ENHANCED EDUCATION
STANDARDS FOR CHILD CARE CENTER LEAD
TEACHERS

(a) This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of a lead
teacher, as defined by G.S. 110-86(5a), in a child care center.

(b) A child care provider meets the two-star education standard
for lead teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the
requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, or Option
Three as follows:

(1) Option One: Completion of a Child
Development Associate (CDA) that is active
with no credit for prior learning.

2) Option Two: Successful completion of at least
three semester hours in early childhood
education or child development coursework at
an accredited college or university.

3) Option Three:

(A) Have at least one year of early
childhood education work experience;
and

B) Annual completion of at least 0.5
continuing education credit specific to
the ages and needs of children in care,
in addition to applicable requirements
in Rule .1103 of this Chapter, or
successful ~ completion of a
competency evaluation as set forth in
Rule .3218 of this Section.

(c) A child care provider meets the three-star education standard
for lead teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the
requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, Option Three,
or Option Four as follows:

@) Option One: Completion of a Child
Development Associate (CDA) that is active
with credit for prior learning.

2) Option Two: Successful completion of at least
nine semester hours in early childhood
education or child development coursework at
an accredited college or university.

3) Option Three:

(A) Successful completion of at least three
semester hours in early childhood
education or child development
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and

B) Have at least three years of early
childhood education work experience.

4) Option Four:

(A) Have at least three years of early
childhood education work experience;
and
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(B) Annual completion of at least 1.0
continuing education credit specific to
the ages and needs of children in care,
in addition to applicable requirements
in Rule .1103 of this Chapter, or
successful ~ completion of a
competency evaluation as set forth in
Rule .3218 of this Section.

(d) A child care provider meets the four-star education standard
for lead teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the
requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, or Option
Three as follows:

(1) Option One:

(A) Successful completion of at least 12
semester hours in early childhood
education or child development
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and

(B) Have at least two years of early
childhood work experience.

(2) Option Two: Completion of an Early

Childhood Certificate.

3) Option Three:

(A) Have at least five years of early
childhood work experience;

(B) Annual completion of at least of at
least 2.0 continuing education credits
specific to the ages and needs of
children in care, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rule .1103
of this Chapter, or successful
completion of a  competency
evaluation as set forth in Rule .3218 of
this Section.

(e) A child care provider meets the five-star education standard
for lead teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the
requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, Option Three,
Option Four, or Option Five as follows:

(N Option One:

(A) Completion of an AAS degree or
higher in early childhood education or
child development; and

B) Have at least one year early childhood
work experience or at least six months
of coaching/mentoring by a Level 11 or
higher administrator for at least five
hours per week. A coach/mentor shall
be responsible for no more than two
lead teachers who require
coaching/mentoring at any given time.

) Option Two:

(A) Enrollment in an AAS degree program
and successful completion of all
required early childhood education
coursework for an AAS degree
program, without full completion of
the degree; and

(B) Have at least one year of early
childhood education work experience.

3) Option Three:

(A) Successful completion of at least 60
semester hours toward a bachelor's
degree at an accredited college or
university with at least 12 semester
hours in early childhood education or
child development coursework; and

B) Have at least two years of early
childhood work experience.

“) Option Four:

(A) Completion of an AAS degree or
higher at an accredited college or
university in any major with at least 12
semester hours in early childhood
education or child development
coursework; and

(B) Have at least two years of early
childhood work experience or at least
six months of coaching/mentoring by
a Level II or higher administrator for
at least five hours per week. A
coach/mentor shall be responsible for
no more than two lead teachers who
require coaching/mentoring at any
given time.

®) Option Five:

(A) Have at least 10 years of ecarly
childhood work experience; and

(B) Annual completion of at least 2.5
continuing education credits specific
to the ages and needs of children in
care, in addition to applicable
requirements in Rule .1103 of this
Chapter; and

©) Successful ~ completion of a
competency evaluation as set forth in
Rule .3218 of this Section.

(f) Semester hours in early childhood education or child
development coursework required to meet the education standards
set forth in this Rule shall not include the coursework necessary
for the North Carolina Early Childhood Credential.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-
90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2023-40; S.L.2024-34; 42 USCS 9858e;
45 CFR 98.45;

Eff. July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3213 ENHANCED EDUCATION
STANDARDS FOR CHILD CARE CENTER TEACHERS
(a) This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of a
teacher, defined in Rule .0102(47) of this Chapter, for a child care
center.

(b) A child care provider meets the two-star education standard
for teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements
set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:

(1) Option One: Be enrolled in at least three
semester hours in early childhood education or
child development coursework at an accredited
college or university.
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2)

Option Two: Have at least one year of early
childhood work experience.

(c) A child care provider meets the three-star education standard
for teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements
set forth in Option One, Option Two, Option Three, or Option

Four as follows:

(1)
2

3)
“4)

Option One: NC Early Childhood Credential or

its approved equivalent.

Option Two: Successful completion of at least

three semester hours in early childhood

education or child development coursework at

an accredited college or university.

Option Three: Have at least two years of early

childhood work experience.

Option Four:

(A) Have at least one year of ecarly
childhood work experience; and

(B) Annual completion of at least 0.5
continuing credit specific to the ages
and needs of children in care, in
addition to applicable requirements in
Rule .1103 of this Chapter, or
successful completion of a
competency evaluation as set forth in
Rule .3218 of this Section.

(d) A child care provider meets the four-star education standard
for teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements
set forth in Option One, Option Two, or Option Three as follows:

(1

2)

A3)

Option One:

(A) NC Early Childhood Credential or its
approved equivalent; and

(B) Successful completion of at least three
semester hours in early childhood
education or child development
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and

© Have at least one year of early
childhood work experience.

Option Two:

(A) Have at least two years of early

childhood work experience; and

(B) Annual completion of at least 1.0
continuing education credit specific to
the ages and needs of children in care,
in addition to applicable requirements
in Rule .1103 of this Chapter, or
successful completion of a
competency evaluation as set forth in
Rule .3218 of this Section.

Option Three: Completion of a Child

Development Associate (CDA) that is active

with no credit for prior learning

(e) A child care provider meets the five-star education standard
for teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements
set forth in Option One, Option Two, Option Three, or Option

Four as follows:

(M

Option One:
(A) NC Early Childhood Credential or its
approved equivalent; and

(B) Successful completion of at least six
semester hours in early childhood
education or child development
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and

© Have at least two years of early
childhood work experience.

2) Option Two:

(A) NC Early Childhood Credential or its
approved equivalent; and

(B) Successful completion of at least three
semester hours in early childhood
education or child development
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and

© Annual completion of at least 1.5
continuing education credits specific
to the ages and needs of children in
care, in addition to applicable
requirements in Rule .1103 of this
Chapter; and

(D) Have at least two years of early
childhood work experience.

3) Option Three:

(A) NC Early Childhood Credential or its
approved equivalent; and

(B) Annual completion of at least 1.5
continuing education credits specific
to the ages and needs of children in
care, in addition to applicable
requirements in Rule .1103 of this
Chapter; and

©) Successful completion of a
competency evaluation as set forth in
Rule .3218 of this Section; and

(D) Have at least three years of early
childhood work experience.

4) Option Four: Completion of a Child
Development Associate (CDA) that is active
with credit for prior learning.

(f) Semester hours in early childhood education or child
development coursework required to meet the standards set forth
in this Rule shall not include the coursework necessary for the
North Carolina Early Childhood Credential.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-
90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L 2023-40; S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 9858e;
45 CFR 98.45;

Eff. July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3214 ENHANCED EDUCATION
STANDARDS FOR PROGRAM COORDINATORS IN
CHILD CARE CENTERS THAT PROVIDE CARE FOR
SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN

(a) This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of a
program coordinator for a child care center that serves school-age
children, as required by Rule .2510(b) of this Chapter.
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(b) A child care provider meets the two-star education standard
for program coordinators if the providers meets, at minimum, the
requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:

(1) Option One: Be enrolled in at least three
semester hours of school-age care coursework
at an accredited college or university.

2) Option Two: Have at least three months
licensed school-age care experience or have at
least six months unlicensed school-age care
experience.

(c) A child care provider meets the three-star education standard
for program coordinators if the provider meets, at minimum, the
requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:

(1) Option One:

(A) Successful completion of at least three
semester hours of school-age care
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and

(B) Have three months licensed school-
age care experience or have six
months unlicensed school-age care
experience.

2) Option Two: Have six months licensed school-
age care experience or have nine months
unlicensed school-age care experience.

(d) A child care provider meets the four-star education standard
for program coordinators if the provider meets, at minimum, the
requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, or Option
Three as follows:

(N Option One:

(A) Successful completion of at least three
semester hours of school-age care
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and

(B) Be enrolled in an additional three
semester hours of school-age care
coursework at an accredited college or
university or have nine months
licensed school-age care experience or
have one year unlicensed school-age
care experience.

2) Option Two: Completion of an AAS degree in
early childhood education, child development
or school-age related field at an accredited
college or university.

3) Option Three:

(A) Completion of an AAS degree in any
field at an accredited college or
university; and

(B) Successful completion of three
semester hours of school-age care
coursework at an accredited college or
university.

(e) A child care provider meets the five-star education standard
for program coordinator if the provider meets, at minimum, the
requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, Option Three,
or Option Four as follows:

(1) Option One: Completion of a bachelor's degree
in early childhood, child development, or a

school-age related field at an accredited college
or university.
2) Option Two:

(A) Completion of a bachelor's degree in
any field at an accredited college or
university; and

B) Successful completion of six semester
hours of school-age care coursework
at an accredited college or university.

3) Option Three:

(A) Successful completion of nine
semester hours of school-age care
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and

(B) Have three months licensed school-
age care experience or have six
months unlicensed school-age care

experience.
4) Option Four:
(A) Successful completion of six semester

hours of school-age care coursework
at an accredited college or university;
and

(B) Have six months licensed school-age
care experience or have nine months
unlicensed school-age care
experience.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-
90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2023-40; S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 9858e;
45 CFR 98.45;

Eff. July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3215 ENHANCED EDUCATION
STANDARDS FOR GROUP LEADERS IN CHILD CARE
CENTERS

(a) This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of a
group leader for a child care center, as required by Rule .2510(c)
of this Chapter.

(b) A child care provider meets the two-star education standard
for group leaders if the provider successfully completes BSAC
training.

(c) A child care provider meets the three-star education standard
for group leaders if the provider meets, at minimum, the following

requirements:
1) Successful completion of BSAC training; and
2) Annual completion of at least 0.5 continuing

education credits related to school-age care, in
addition to applicable requirements in Rules
.1103 and .2510 of this Chapter; or
3) Has at least three months licensed or unlicensed
school-age care experience.
(d) A child care provider meets the four-star education standard
for group leaders if the provider meets, at minimum, the
requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, or Option
Three as follows:
(1) Option One:
(A) Successful
training; and

completion of BSAC
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(B

Annual completion of at least 1.0
continuing education credit related to
school-age care, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rules
.1103 and .2510 of this Chapter.

2) Option Two: Is currently enrolled in at least two
semester hours of school-age care coursework
at an accredited college or university if BSAC
has not yet been completed as set forth in Rule
.2510(j) of this Chapter.

3) Option Three:

(A)
(B)

Successful
training; and
Have at least three months licensed or
unlicensed school-age care
experience.

completion of BSAC

(e) A child care provider meets the five-star education standard

for group leaders if the provider meets, at minimum, the

requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
(1) Option One:

(A)
B)
©

(D)

Group leader is at least eighteen years
of age; and
Successful
training; and
Be enrolled in or have successfully
completed at least two semester hours
of school-age care coursework at an
accredited college or university; and
Have at least six months licensed or
unlicensed school-age care
experience.

completion of BSAC

(2) Option Two:

(A)
B
©

(D)

History Note:

Group leader is at least eighteen years
of age; and
Successful
training; and
Annual completion of at least 1.5
continuing education credits related to
school-age care, in addition to
applicable requirements in Rules
.1103 and .2510 of this Chapter; and
Have at least nine months licensed or
unlicensed school-age care
experience.

completion of BSAC

Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-

90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2023-40; S.L. 2024-34; 42 U.S.C. 9858e;

45 CFR 98.45;
Eff- July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3216

ENHANCED EDUCATION

STANDARDS FOR ADMINISTRATORS OF CHILD
CARE CENTERS THAT ONLY PROVIDE CARE FOR
SCHOOL-AGE CHILDREN

(a) This Rule and not Rule .3211 of this Section shall apply when
evaluating the education of an administrator, as defined by G.S.
110-86(2a), for a child care center that only provides care to

school-age children.

(b) A child care provider meets the two-star education standard

for administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, the

requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
@9)] Option One:

(A)

(B)

Completed or be enrolled in
coursework for the NC Early
Childhood Administration Credential;
and

Have at least one year licensed or
unlicensed school-age care
experience.

2) Option Two:

(A)

(B)

Level I NC Early Childhood
Administration Credential or its
approved equivalent or higher; and
Have at least three months licensed or
unlicensed school-age care
experience.

(c) A child care provider meets the three-star education standard

for administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, the

requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
)] Option One:

(A)

(B)

Level I NC Early Childhood
Administration Credential or its
approved equivalent or higher; and
Have at least six months licensed or
unlicensed school-age care
experience.

2 Option Two:

(A)

(B)

©

Level I NC Early Childhood
Administration Credential or its
approved equivalent or higher; and

Have at least three months licensed or

unlicensed school-age care
experience; and
Successful completion of BSAC

training.

(d) A child care provider meets the four-star education standard

for administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, the

requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
@) Option One:

(A)

(B)

Level I NC Early Childhood
Administration credential or its
approved equivalent or higher; and
Have at least one year licensed and
unlicensed school-age care
experience.

) Option Two:

(A)

(B)

Level II NC Early Childhood
Administration Credential or its
approved equivalent or higher; and
Have at least six months licensed or
unlicensed school-age care
experience.

(e) A child care provider meets the five-star education standard

for administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, the

requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
e Option One:
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(A) Level I NC Early Childhood
Administration Credential or its
approved equivalent or higher; and

(B) Have at least one year experience
licensed or unlicensed school-age care
experience; and

©) Successful completion of BSAC

training.
2) Option Two:
(A) Level III NC Early Childhood

Administration Credential or its
approved equivalent; and

(B) Have at least six months licensed
school-age care experience or have
eight months unlicensed school-age
care experience.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-
90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2023-40; S.L. 2024-34; 42 U.S.C. 9858e,
45 CFR 98.45;

Eff: July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3217 ENHANCED EDUCATION
STANDARDS FOR FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME
OPERATORS

(a) This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of a
family child care home operator.

(b) A child care provider meets the two-star education standard
for a family child care home operator if the provider meets, at
minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two,
Option Three, or Option Four as follows:

(1) Option One: Completion of a Child
Development Associate (CDA) that is active
with no credit for prior learning.

2) Option Two: Successful completion of at least
four semester hours in early childhood
education or child development coursework at
an accredited college or university.

3) Option Three: NC Family Child Care
Credential or its approved equivalent.

4) Option Four:

(A) Have at least three years of early
childhood work experience; and
(B) Annual completion of at least 0.5
continuing education credit specific to
the ages and needs of children in care,
in addition to applicable requirements
in Rule .1703 of this Chapter; or
successful completion of a
competency evaluation as set forth in
Rule .3218 of this Section.
(c) A child care provider meets the three-star education standard
for a family child care home operator if the provider meets, at
minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two,
or Option Three as follows:

(1) Option One: Completion of a Child
Development Associate (CDA) that is active
with credit for prior learning.

2) Option Two:

(A) NC Family Child Care Credential or
its approved equivalent; and
(B) Successful completion of at least six
semester hours in early childhood
education or child development
coursework at an accredited college or
university.
3) Option Three:
(A) Have at least five years of early
childhood work experience; and
(B) Annual completion of at least 1.0
continuing education credit specific to
the ages and needs of children in care,
in addition to applicable requirements
in Rule .1703 of this Chapter; or
successful ~ completion of a
competency evaluation as set forth in
Rule .3218 of this Section.
(d) A child care provider meets the four-star education standard
for a family child care home operator if the provider meets, at
minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two,
Option Three, or Option Four as follows:
) Option One:
(A) NC Family Child Care Credential or
its approved equivalent; and
(B) Successful completion of at least 12
semester hours in early childhood
education or child development
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and
©) Have at least one year early childhood
work experience.
2) Option Two:
(A) NC Family Child Care Credential or
its approved equivalent; or
B) Successful completion of at least 15
semester hours in early childhood
education or child development
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and
© Have at least one year early childhood
work experience.
3) Option Three: Completion of an Early
Childhood Certificate.
“) Option Four:
(A) Have at least eight years of carly
childhood work experience; and
B) Annual completion of at least 1.5
continuing education credits specific
to the ages and needs of children in
care, in addition to applicable
requirements in Rule .1703 of this
Chapter; or successful completion of a
competency evaluation as set forth in
Rule .3218 of this Section.
(e) A child care provider meets the five-star education standard
for a family child care home operator if the provider meets, at
minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two,
Option Three, Option Four, or Option Five as follows:
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(D Option One:

(A) Completion of an AAS degree in early
childhood  education or child
development at an accredited college
or university; and

(B) Have at least eighteen months early
childhood work experience.

(2) Option Two:

(A) Successful completion of all required
early childhood education coursework
for an AAS degree program an
individual is enrolled in at an
accredited college or university,
without full completion of the degree;
and

(B) Have at least three years of early
childhood education work experience.

3) Option Three:

(A) Completion of an AAS degree or
higher in any major with at least 12
semester hours in early childhood
education or child development
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and

(B) Have at least two years of early
childhood work experience.

4) Option Four:

(A) NC Family Child Crae Credential or
its approved equivalent; and

(B) Successful completion of at least 18
semester hours in early childhood
education or child development
coursework at an accredited college or
university; and

© Have at least four years
childhood work experience.

(5) Option Five:

(A) Have at least 10 years of early
childhood work experience; and

(B) Annual completion of at least 2.5
continuing education credits specific
to the ages and needs of children in
care, in addition to applicable
requirements in Rule .1703 of this
Chapter; and

© Successful ~ completion of a
competency evaluation as set forth in
Rule .3218 of this Section.

(f) Semester hours in early childhood education or child
development coursework required to meet the standards set forth
in this Rule shall not include the coursework necessary for the
North Carolina Family Child Care Credential.

early

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-
90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2023-40; S.L. 2024-34; 42 U.S.C. 9858e;
45 CFR 98.45;

Eff- July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3218 COMPETENCY EVALUATIONS
(a) This Rule shall apply to operators of a family child care home,
lead teachers, and teachers that choose an education standard
option in this Section that requires successful completion of a
competency evaluation.
(b) Successful completion of a competency evaluation means that
an individual has demonstrated the knowledge, skills, and abilities
set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule.
(c) Competency evaluations shall align with the developmental
domains described in the North Carolina Foundations for Early
Learning and Development and address an individual's
knowledge, skills, and abilities to provide developmentally,
linguistically, and culturally appropriate experiences and
interactions that support children's development and learning by:
(1) supporting children's approaches to learning by

providing  engaging  experiences  and

interactions that nurture:

(A) curiosity, information-seeking, and

eagerness;
B) play and imagination;
© risk-taking, problem-solving, and
flexibility; and
(D) attentiveness, effort, and persistence.
2) engaging in responsive, respectful interactions
with each child and offering guidance that

supports children's emotional and social
development including:
(A) developing a sense of self;
B) developing a sense of self with others;
and
©) learning about feelings.
3) providing developmentally appropriate

learning opportunities to promote children's
health and physical development including:
(A) physical health and growth;

B) motor development;
© self-care; and
(D) safety awareness.

4) facilitating verbal and non-verbal
communication through  back-and-forth
exchanges and use  developmentally

appropriate, play-based experiences to promote
language development and foundational
emergent literary skills such as:

(A) learning to communicate;

B) foundations for reading; and

© foundations for writing.

%) fostering children's cognitive development by
providing experiences and interactions that
support children's exploration, thinking, and
knowledge or the world around them including:
(A) construction of knowledge;

B) thinking and reasoning;

©) creative expression;

(D) social connections;

(E) mathematical thinking and expression;
and

F) scientific exploration and knowledge.
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(d) An initial competency evaluation shall be completed by
individuals approved by the Division to perform the evaluation
and shall include:

(1) One in-person unannounced observation of the
family child care home operator, lead teacher or
teacher performing the duties of their position.
The evaluator shall provide written notification
to the individual requesting the competency
evaluation regarding the unannounced
observation to be conducted during operating
hours; and

2) A review of documentation submitted by the
family child care home operator, lead teacher or
teacher that provides evidence of each
applicable competency for their employment
position, age range of children served, and
education standards as set forth in this Rule.
Evidence may include:

(A) sample activity plans written by the
individual requesting a competency
evaluation;

(B) anecdotal notes regarding how
competencies are implemented;

© observation of the individual by a
center administrator or other licensed
family child care home operator;

(D) surveys or other type of feedback from
families of children enrolled in the
individual's classroom or family child
care home;

(B) audio or video recordings of activities
with permission from families of
children who are participants;

F self-assessment of the classroom or
program using a program assessment
tool,

(G) performance-based evaluations; and

H) participation  in  apprenticeships,
technical assistance, coaching, or

mentoring processes.
(e) The evaluator shall document the individual's competency
evaluation using a form approved by the Division that includes all
applicable competencies and documents how each competency
was met or not met.
(f) If the evaluator determines that the provider meets the
competencies set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the provider
will be notified in writing, and the successful completion
determination shall be valid for a period of three years.
(g) To renew a competency evaluation determination, the
provider shall submit updated evidence of each applicable
competency for their employment position and education
standards as set forth in Paragraph (d)(2) of this Rule at least thirty
days prior to expiration of the determination.
(h) If the evaluator determines that the provider does not meet the
competencies in Paragraph (c) of this rule, the provider shall be
notified in writing and have an opportunity to provide additional
information within 30 days regarding the competency evaluation
before a final decision is made by a different evaluator.

(i) When an individual does not meet the requirements for
successful completion of the competency evaluation, whether or
not they submit additional information for a record review, they
may resubmit for a competency evaluation six months after the
letter notifying them of their unsuccessful evaluation is issued, or
when the second review decision is issued, whichever is later.

(j) Competency evaluation standards and forms may be found on
the Division's website at
http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Provider/Provider-Documents-
and-Forms.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-
90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2023-40; S.L. 2024-34,; 42 USCS 9858e;
45 CFR 98.45;

Eff July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3219 FAMILY AND COMMUNITY
ENGAGEMENT STANDARDS FOR CHILD CARE
CENTERS

(a) The rule shall apply to child care centers that have earned a
two through five-star rated license using the program assessment
licensure pathway or the classroom and instructional quality
licensure pathway in Rules .3203 and .3205 of this Section. A
child care center that has earned a two through five-star rated
license using the accreditation and Head Start licensure pathway
in Rule .3207 of this Section shall comply with standards set forth
by those organizations for family and community engagement.
(b) For a child care center to meet family and community

engagement standards at the two-star level, the center
administrator shall implement the following foundational
practices:

(N Provide communication from the center to

families regarding program activities in a
manner that is responsive to the needs of the
families served, such as via text, email, and
electronic  applications, and considering
language comprehension.

2 Offer an annual family conference with
teaching staff for the purpose of providing
information to the family about their child.
During the conference, families are offered an
opportunity to set a goal(s) for their child.
Conferences shall be conducted in a manner
that is convenient for the family such as by
telephone, virtually or in person.

3) Offer annual opportunities for families to share
cultural heritage in their child's classroom.

“4) Offer annual volunteer opportunities for
families.
&) Communicate  with  families regarding

community resources and services that are

available, upon request from the family or when

a need is identified by a child's lead teacher.
(c) For a child care center to meet family and community
engagement standards at the three-star level, the center
administrator shall ensure that the child care facility meets the
foundational practices as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule
plus two additional family and community engagement options
from separate categories set forth in Subparagraphs (f)(1), (f)(2)
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and (f)(3) of this Rule. A single activity shall not be used to meet
multiple requirements or categories of engagement.

websites, and in-person opportunities
with local community services.

(d) For a child care center to meet family and community 2) Engagement and Leadership Options:
engagement standards at the four-star level, the center (A) The child care center has a structured,
administrator shall ensure that the child care facility meets the ongoing process to receive and review
foundational practices set forth in Paragraphs (b) of this Rule plus suggestions and recommendations
three additional family and community engagement options, one from families, including
from each category set forth in Subparagraphs (f)(1), (f)(2) and anonymously. The center
(H)(3) of this Rule. A single activity shall not be used to meet administrator considers these
multiple requirements or categories of engagement. suggestions and recommendations for
(e) For a child care center to meet family and community planning within the child care center.
engagement standards at the five-star level, the center B) The child care center offers an
administrator shall ensure that the child care facility meets the enrollment orientation that includes an
foundational practices set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule plus opportunity for families and child(ren)
four additional family and community engagement options, with to visit the assigned classroom and
at least one from each category set forth in Subparagraphs (f)(1), lead teacher prior to the first day of
(H)(2) and ()(3) of this Rule. A single activity shall not be used to enrollment.
meet multiple requirements or categories of engagement. © The child care center offers at least
(f) Categories of family and community engagement shall include two family events annually.
the following: (D) The child care center offers a family
(1) Communications Options: event that is culturally responsive to
(A) Two-way  communication  with the heritage and practices of enrolled
families. "Two-way communication" families at least once annually.
means that the child care center shares (E) The center administrator, the lead
information with families about their teacher, families and service providers
child(ren) and that families may share shall collaboratively plan to ensure
information with the child care center children's needs and goals are being
about their child(ren) in a manner that addressed in the classroom, not only
is available and accessible to the during scheduled time with the service
family. provider. Service providers include,
(B) A family resource area is accessible in but are not limited to, speech
the child care center that includes therapists, occupational therapists,
information regarding community behavior specialists, physical
resources and services that assist therapists, and intervention service
families with knowledge, support, and specialists.
advocacy for their child in the ) The center administrator offers an
languages of the children and families annual evaluation or survey of the
being served by the child care center. child care center to families, including
© Family and teacher conferences are the option to reply anonymously. The
offered at least twice annually to center administrator considers these
discuss child needs and progress evaluations or surveys for planning
towards individual goals and to within the child care center.
receive feedback from families (G) The center administrator has a plan for
regarding their child(ren)'s children's transitions that is shared
experiences at home and at the child with families at the time of enrollment.
care facility. During each conference, The transition plan shall include the
families are offered an opportunity to child's transition from home to
set a goal(s) for their child. enrollment in the child care center, a
Conferences shall be conducted in a child's transition to a new classroom
manner that is convenient for the within the child care center, and a
family such as by telephone, virtually child's transition to another program,
or in person. including Kindergarten. The center
(D) The child care center offers families administrator provides families the
connection to local community opportunity to provide feedback on
services and resources on at least a transition plans to address the
quarterly  basis, such as via individual needs of their child(ren).
newsletters, email, text, electronic (H) The child care center offers a family
applications, community resource council, advisory board, or family
representative role to act as a liaison to
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the center administrator for responsive
and reciprocal planning within the
child care center.

3) Educational Opportunity Options:

(A) The center administrator offers at least
one family event annually that
includes an educational opportunity
for staff and families to learn together.

(B) The center administrator offers at least
one educational opportunity annually
for staff and families that addresses a
topic identified as a need for the
program based on family feedback.

© The center administrator offers at least
one educational opportunity annually
for staff and families that includes the
participation of a local community
resource.

(D) The center administrator offers at least
one educational opportunity annually
for staff and families regarding one of
the following topics: social emotional
health; challenging behaviors; or
culturally responsive practices.

(E) The center administrator provides
supports that anticipate and remove
barriers for families and enable family
involvement, at the child care facility,
such as but not limited to, virtual
options with technology support,
interpreter services, child appropriate
activities, care for children during the
event, meals or snacks during events
or providing materials for families to
take home related to the event.

F The center administrator provides paid
planning time for lead teachers to
prepare information for family and
teacher conferences, time to conduct
the conferences and supports needed
to conduct conferences by telephone,
virtually or in-person.

(g) Options set forth in Subparagraphs (£)(1)(C), (H)(2)(B),
H(2)(C), and (H)(3)(A) of this Rule shall be used to meet
requirements set forth in Rule .3010 of this Chapter regarding
family engagement for NC Pre-K Programs.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-
90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2024-34; 42 U.S.C. 9858¢; 45 CFR 98.1;
45 CFR 98.16;

Eff- July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3220 FAMILY AND COMMUNITY
ENGAGEMENT STANDARDS FOR FAMILY CHILD
CARE HOME OPERATORS

(a) This rule shall apply to operators of a family child care home
that have earned a two through five-star rated license using the
program assessment licensure pathway or the classroom and
instructional quality licensure pathway in Rules .3204 and .3206

of this Section. Operators of a family child care home that have
earned a two through five-star rated license using the accreditation
and Head Start licensure pathway in Rule .3207 of this Section
shall comply with standards set forth by those organizations for
family and community engagement.

(b) For a family child care home to meet family and community
engagement standards for a two-star level, the operator shall
implement the following foundational practices:

(1) Have a plan that will encourage family
participation that shall be reviewed with the
family on or before the child's first day of
attendance. A copy of this plan shall be given
to the family at the time of review. The plan
shall include the following:

(A) a procedure for enrolling a child that
encourages families to visit the family
child care home prior to the first day
of attendance;

(B) encouragement of family participation
in the family child care home,
including  information  regarding
scheduled activities, sharing cultural
heritage and volunteer opportunities;

© opportunities for the operator to meet
with families to discuss their child's
needs and progress and to exchange
information about the family child
care home;

(D) a procedure for families who need
information or who have complaints
about the family child care home.

2) Provide communication to families regarding
family child care home activities in a manner
that is responsive to the needs of the families
served, such as via text, email, and electronic

applications, and considering language
comprehension.
3) Communicate  with  families regarding

community resources and services that are

available, upon request from the family or when

a need is identified by the operator.
(c) For a family child care home to meet family and community
engagement standards at the three-star level, the operator shall
ensure implementation of foundational practices set forth in
Paragraph (b) of this Rule plus one additional family and
community engagement option from the categories set forth in
Subparagraphs (f)(1), (f)(2) and (f)(3) of this Rule.
(d) For a family child care home to meet family and community
engagement standards at the four-star level, the operator shall
ensure implementation of foundational practices set forth in
Paragraph (b) of this Rule plus two additional family and
community engagement options from separate categories set forth
in Subparagraphs (f)(1), (f)(2) and (f)(3) of this Rule. A single
activity shall not be used to meet multiple requirements or
categories of engagement.
(e) For a family child care home to meet family and community
engagement standards at the five-star level, the operator shall
ensure implementation of foundational practices set forth in
Paragraph (b) of this Rule plus three additional family and
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community engagement options, with at least one from each
category set forth in Subparagraphs (f)(1), (f)(2), and (f)(3) of this
Rule. A single activity shall not be used to meet multiple
requirements or categories of engagement.

(f) Categories of family and community engagement shall include

the following:

(1)

2

Communication Options:

(A)

(B)

©

(D)

Two-way communication  with
families. "Two-way communication"
means that the operator shares
information with families about their
child(ren) and that the families may
share information with the operator
about their child child(ren) in a
manner that is available and is
accessible for the families in care.
Resources for families are accessible
in the family child care home that
include information regarding
community resources and services that
assist families with knowledge,
support and advocacy for their child in
the languages of the children and
families being served by the operator
of the family child care home.

A family conference with the operator
is offered at least twice annually to
discuss child needs and progress
toward individual goals and to receive
feedback from families regarding their
child(ren)'s experiences at home and at
the family child care home. During the
conference, families are offered an
opportunity to set a goal(s) for their
child. Conferences shall be conducted
in a manner that is convenient for the
family such as by telephone, virtually
or in-person.

The  operator offers families
connection to local community
services and resources on at least a
quarterly  basis, such as via
newsletters, email, text, electronic
applications, community resource
websites, and in-person opportunities
with local community services.

Engagement and Leadership Options:

(A)

(B)

The operator has a structured, ongoing

process to receive and review
suggestions and recommendations
from families, including

anonymously. The operator considers
family feedback for planning within
the family child care home.

The operator offers an enrollment
orientation  that  includes  an
opportunity for families and child(ren)
to visit the family child care home
prior to the first day of enrollment.

3

©

D)

(E)

(F)

(&)

The operator offers at least one family
event annually, which may include
activities that are culturally responsive
to the heritage and practices of
enrolled families.

The operator, families, and service
providers shall collaboratively plan to
ensure children's needs and goals are
being addressed during their daily
activities, not only during scheduled
time with the service provider. Service
providers include, but are not limited
to, speech therapists, occupational
therapists,  behavior  specialists,
physical therapists, and intervention
service specialists.

The operator offers an annual
evaluation or survey to families,
including the option to reply
anonymously. The operator considers
family feedback for reciprocal
planning within the family child care
home.

The operator has a plan for children's
transitions that is shared with families
at the time of enrollment. The
transition plan shall include a child's
transition from home to enrollment in
the family child care home and a
child's transition to another program,
including Kindergarten. The operator
provides families the opportunity to
provide feedback on transition plans to
address the individual needs of their

child(ren).
The operator offers a family council,
advisory board, or family

representative role to act as a liaison
for responsive and reciprocal planning
with the family child care home.

Educational Opportunities Options:

(A)

(B)

©

The operator communicates with
families regarding at least one
educational opportunity  annually
where the operator and families learn
together.

The operator communicates with
families regarding at least one
educational opportunity — annually
where the operator and families learn
together about a topic identified as a
need for the family child care home
based on family feedback.

The operator communicates with
families regarding at least one
educational opportunity  annually
hosted by a local community resource
that the operator and families may
attend together.
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(D) The operator communicates with
families regarding at least one
educational  opportunity annually
regarding the following topics: social
emotional health; challenging
behaviors; or
culturally responsive practices.

(E) The operator provides supports that
anticipate and remove barriers for
families and enable family
involvement, at the family child care
home, such as but not limited to,
virtual options with technology
support, interpreter services, child
appropriate activities, care for children
during the event, meals or snacks
during the events or providing
materials for families to take home
related to the event.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-
90(4),; 143B-168.3; S.L. 2024-34; 42 U.S.C. 9858¢; 45 CFR 98.1;
45 CFR 98.16;

Eff. July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3221 CONTINUOUS QUALITY
IMPROVEMENT (CQI) STANDARDS

(a) This rule shall apply to child care facilities that have earned a
two through five star rated license using the program assessment
licensure pathway or the classroom and instructional quality
licensure pathway in Rules .3203, .3204, .3205 and .3206 of this
Section. Child care facilities that have earned a two through five
star rated license using the accreditation and Head Start licensure
pathway in Rule .3207 of this Section shall comply with standards
set forth by those organizations for continuous quality
improvement.

(b) Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) means a process that
individuals and facilities shall use to identify areas of growth and
determine a path toward enhanced teaching, learning and
practices to achieve better outcomes for children, staff, and
programs. The CQI process builds over time, using established
goals to support individuals and facilities in achieving and
sustaining continual improvements.

(c) All administrators and other staff members with caregiving
responsibilities on a routine schedule of at least once per week
shall complete an individual continuous quality improvement
plan. This shall also apply to operators of centers located in a
residence, as described in Rule .0102 of this Chapter, and their
employed staff members. Each individual continuous quality
improvement plan shall be reviewed annually, accompany the
professional development plan required in Rule .1104 of this
Chapter, be maintained in the individual's personnel file, and
include:

(1 Identification of the resources or supports
needed by the individual to achieve the
established goal(s) of the professional
development plan, including but not limited to,
the time estimated to achieve the goal and

specific support needed from the operator to
complete the goal;

2) Documentation of the individual's -efforts
toward completion of the established goal(s),
changes to the established goal and challenges
experienced;

3) Development of a new goal during the annual
review if established goal is achieved or
changed; and

4 Documentation from the individual regarding
how their progress or completion of a goal has
enhanced their knowledge, skills, and abilities.

(d) A child care center's administrator shall also complete a
continuous quality improvement plan that addresses
programmatic goals. The programmatic continuous quality
improvement plan shall be updated annually, maintained on file
at the center, and include:

€)) Identification of at least one programmatic
goal, the timeframe estimated to achieve the
goal and the steps that will be taken by the
center administrator to complete the goal;

2) Documentation of the reason or source of need
for each goal, such as sustaining programmatic
achievements, feedback received from staff or
families, or licensure pathway requirements;

3) Identification of resources needed by the center
administrator to achieve the programmatic
goal, including but not limited to materials,
technical assistance, participation of staff, or
other items specific to the goal;

“) Documentation of supports offered by the
program to encourage longevity and retention
of staff;

%) Documentation of efforts toward completion of

the established goal, changes to the established
goal and challenges experienced; and

(6) Development of a new goal during the annual
review if established goal is achieved or
changed.

(e) The operator of a family child care home and any additional
caregivers, as set forth in Rule .1729 of this Chapter, shall
complete a continuous quality improvement plan that addresses
professional goals. The continuous quality improvement plan
shall be updated annually, accompany the professional
development plan required in Rule .1703(f) of this Chapter, be
maintained in the operators personnel file, and include:

(1) Identification of at least one professional goal,
the timeframe estimated to achieve the goal, the
resources needed to achieve the goal, and the
steps that will be taken by the operator to
complete the goal;

2) Documentation of the reason or source of need
for the goal, such as sustaining programmatic
achievements, feedback received from families,
or licensure pathway requirements;

3) Documentation of efforts toward completion of
the established goal, changes to the established
goal and challenges experienced;
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4) Development of a new goal during the annual
review if the established goal is achieved or
changed; and

(5) Documentation from the operator regarding
how progress toward or completion of a goal
has enhanced their knowledge, skills, and
abilities.

(f) Sample continuous quality improvement plan templates may
be found on the Division's website at
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Provider/Provider-Documents-
and-Forms. Another form may be used other than the sample
template provided by the Division as long as the form includes the
information set forth in this Rule.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-
90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45;
Eff- July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3222
RATING

(a) A representative of the Division may make announced or
unannounced visits to facilities to assess on-going compliance
with requirements of a star rating after it has been issued. When
the division representative documents violations with the
standards that determine a rating, the representative shall take one
or more of the following actions:

(1) advise the operator to submit
verification that the violation has
corrected;

2) return to the facility for an unannounced visit at
a later date to determine if compliance has been
achieved;

3) require a program assessment be conducted
pursuant to Rule .3203 or .3204 of this Section,
if applicable to the licensure pathway;

@) request verification of accreditation award
status from the accrediting organization, if
applicable to the licensure pathway;

MAINTAINING THE STAR

written
been

(5) request verification of Head Start designation
from grantee, if applicable to the licensure
pathway;

(6) require a complete assessment of requirements
of the star rating issued to the facility;

(7 require that the star rating be reduced; or

(®) recommend  administrative  action  in
accordance with G.S. 110, Article 7 of this
Chapter.

(b) If changes unrelated to employment occur at a facility that
result in noncompliance with the standards in this Section for the
star rating issued, the operator shall correct the noncompliance
within 30 days. If the operator does not correct the noncompliance
within 30 days, the operator shall notify the Division. Based upon
the information obtained, the Division shall take any of the actions
described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

(c) If employment-related changes occur at a facility that result
in noncompliance with or failure to meet the standards in the
Section for the star rating issued, the operator shall correct the
noncompliance within six months. If the operator does not correct
the noncompliance within six months, the operator shall notify the

Division. Based upon the information obtained, the Division shall
take any of the actions described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(d) Each child care facility licensed under this Section with a two
through five-star rated license shall be reassessed by the Division
at least once every three years to ensure compliance with pathway
requirements.

(e) The Division shall provide for one evaluation using an
approved program assessment tool referenced in Rules .3202 and
.3204 of this Section, free of charge, once every three years when
reassessing the ratings of operators that select the program
assessment licensure pathway.

(f) Notwithstanding the above, if a facility loses its accreditation
or Head Start designation, it shall notify the Division within 30
calendar days from the date of termination and submit an
application at that time for a two through five-star rated license
that indicates the alternate licensure pathway selection. The
operator of the child care facility shall have a complete assessment
conducted within six months from the date of termination or be
reduced to one-star so long as the requirements for a one-star
rating described in G.S. 110-91 and this Chapter are met.

(g) Notwithstanding the above, if a facility allows its
accreditation or Head Start designation to lapse or expire prior to
applying for a two through five- star rated license using an
alternate licensure pathway, the license shall be reduced to one-
star so long as the requirements for a one-star rating described in
G.S. 110-91 and this Chapter are met.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-
168.3; 42 USCS 9858e; 45 CFR 98.45;
Eff- July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3223 HOW AN OPERATOR MAY
REQUEST OR APPEAL A CHANGE IN RATING

(a) An operator may request a change in the star rating, including
licensure pathway selection, by following the procedures in Rule
.3202 of this Section.

(b) After an initial four or five-star rating is issued, the Division
shall provide one evaluation of program standards using the
program assessment tool referenced in Rules .3202 and .3204 of
this Section during each three-year period thereafter at no cost to
the operator. An operator may have extra program assessments,
as referenced in Rules .3203 and .3204 of this Section, performed
at his or her own expense in addition to the free one performed by
the Division. The additional program assessments shall be
completed by individuals approved by the Division to perform
them.

(¢) An operator may appeal the reduction of a star rating as
provided in G.S. 110-94.

History Note:
168.3;
Eff July 1, 2025.

Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-

10A NCAC 09 .3224
INITIATIVES

(a) A child care operator may choose to request one or more areas
of recognition to accompany the issuance of a two through five-
star rated license earned through compliance with any licensure
pathway requirement of this Section. Quality initiatives shall not

RECOGNITION OF QUALITY
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be used to earn a star rating. Verification of requirements for each
recognition shall be reassessed at least every three years, at the
time of reassessment for a two through five-star rated license.

(b) The Division shall issue recognition of quality initiatives upon
verification of the requirements set forth in this Rule.

(c) An Education Recognition may be requested when at least one
of the following requirements are met:

(1)

2

3)

“4)

©)

(6)

()

@®)

)

75 percent of teachers employed by a child care
facility have earned an AAS degree or higher in
early childhood education, child development
or related field.

75 percent of lead teachers employed by a child
care facility have earned a BA/BS degree or
higher in early childhood education, child
development, or related field.

All lead teachers employed by a child care
facility have earned an AAS degree or higher in
early childhood education, child development
or related field.

The operator of a family child care home has
earned a BS/BS degree in early childhood
education, child development or related field.
The operator of a family child care home has
earned an AAS degree in early childhood
education, child development or related field
and is enrolled in a BA/BS degree program in
early  childhood education or child
development.

75 percent of teachers employed by a child care
facility have an active Child Development
Associate (CDA).

The operator of a child care facility participates
in the T.E.A.C.H. program or other education
initiative that supports employed staff that want
to enroll in or who are enrolled in college
coursework.

75 percent of lead teachers and educators, as
defined in this Section, have an active
certification in the NC Early Care and
Education Professional Certification Scale at
https://www.ncidp.org/documents/EEC_EDE
Scale.pdf.

The operator of a family child care home has an
active certification in the NC Early Care and
Education Professional Certification Scale at
https://www.ncicdp.org/documents/EEC_ECE
_Scale.pdf.

(d) A Professional Development Recognition may be requested
when at least one of the following requirements is met:

(M

2

The operator of a family child care home
completes 20 training hours annually, in
addition to training hours required for their
licensure level as set forth in this Section and in
addition to ongoing training requirements set
forth in Rule .1703 of this Chapter and
education requirements set forth in Rule .3217
of this Section.

The operator of a family child care home is an
approved trainer for an established course as set

3

Q)

)

(6)

(7

®

forth in Rule .1703 of this Chapter and provides
at least one training course for early childhood
professionals in their community annually or
when the operator develops a training course,
obtains approval for training as set forth in Rule
.1703 of this Chapter, and provides at least one
training course for early childhood
professionals in their community annually.

A center administrator or operator of a family
child care home provides evidence of active
membership in a professional or community
organization.

A child care facility operator compensates staff
members for time spent completing
professional development activities.

A child care facility operator compensates staff
members for the cost of professional
development activities.

A child care center operator pays for at least 50
percent of staff members to have an active
membership in a professional or community
organization and provides evidence of the paid
costs and memberships.

A child care center operator employs at least
one staff member who is an approved trainer for
an established training course as set forth in
Rule .1103 of this Chapter and the approved
trainer provides at least one training course for
all employees annually or when the child care
center operator, administrator or staff member
develops a training course, obtains approval for
training as set forth in Rule .1103 of this
Chapter, and provides at least one training
course annually for employed staff members.
A child care facility allows early childhood
education practicum students to complete
required activities in their facility when the
individuals are not employed by the facility.

(e) A Longevity and Experience Recognition may be requested
when at least one of the following requirements is met:

)

(@)

3

“

(&)

The operator of a family child care home has
been in operation for at least five years with a
compliance history score of 90 percent or
higher.

The operator of the family child care home has
been in operation for at least five years with a
four or five-star rated license.

A center administrator has at least 10 years of
child care administrative work experience in a
licensed child care facility.

75 percent of lead teachers and teachers have at
least 10 years of early childhood work
experience in a licensed child care facility.

All lead teachers and teachers have at least five
years of early childhood work experience in a
licensed child care facility and have been
employed by no more than two different child
care facilities.
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(6)

()

The child care center has a combined turnover
rate of 20 percent or less for the administrator,
lead teacher and teacher positions over the last
12 months.

In stand-alone school age care facilities, 75
percent of group leaders have at least five years
of school age care work experience in a licensed
or unlicensed school age program and have
been employed by no more than two different
child care facilities.

(f) A Staff Supports and Benefits Recognition may be requested
when at least one of the following requirements is met:

(1

2)

(€)

“4)

A child care facility offers a staff benefits
package that includes at least three of the
following benefits: paid time off for vacation,
sick and/or personal leave, paid family and
medical leave, fully or partially paid health
insurance, retirement contribution or annual
bonuses.

A child care facility offers two hours of paid
planning time for lead teachers on a weekly
basis, during a time when the lead teacher is not
responsible for supervising children.

A child care facility offers at least two mental
health supports such as training offered on-site,
paid time off for wellness, mental health
coverage as part of health benefits or assistance
in obtaining access to other services as
requested.

A child care center pays for costs associated
with enrolling in and completing early
childhood education or child development
coursework.

(g) A Program Features Recognition may be requested when at
least one of the following requirements is met:

(1)

2)

)

“4)

&)

(6)

A child care facility implements an approved
curriculum for all age groups served as defined
in Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter when not
required for licensure level or pathway.

A child care facility uses a program assessment
tool for self-study, self-assessment and
continuous quality improvement when not
required for licensure level or pathway.

A child care center earns a 5.0 on every
classroom assessed with ERS-3 and SACERS-
u.

A child care facility uses an approved formative
assessment tool for all age groups served as
defined in Rules .3205 or .3206 of this Section
when not required for licensure level or
pathway.

A child care facility implements all family and
community engagement practices as set forth in
Rules .3219 and .3220 of this Section, rather
than only the practices required for licensure
level or pathway.

A child care administrator or operator of a
family child care home participates in a
coaching or mentoring process as set forth in

Rules .3205 and .3206 of this Section when not
required for licensure level or pathway.

(h) A Health & Wellness Opportunities Recognition may be
requested when at least one of the following requirements is met:

)

(@)

3

“

(&)

(6)

(7

(8)

)

A child care facility provides support to staff
members and families regarding challenging
behaviors using community, regional or state
resources.
A child care center has a licensed or registered
nurse on staff for at least half of the operating
hours of the program.
A child care facility offers oral health education
and opportunities such as dental screenings and
outreach with community, regional and state
resources.
A child care facility offers supplemental
programs or contracts with external vendors to
provide opportunities for growth in specialty
areas, including but not limited to tumbling, art,
bookmobile, sports, dance, music or yoga.
A child care facility completes REACH
Healthy Child Care recognition. Information
for this program is Available at https://reach-
recognition.org/.
A child care facility completes Be Active
Kids/Go NAPSACC Program. Information for
this program is available at
https://www.beactivekids.org/.
A child care facility participates in Farm to
Early Education. Information for this program
is available at https://cefs.ncsu.edu/food-
system-initiatives/nc-farm-to-early-care-and-
education/.
A child care facility engages with a Child Care
Health Consultant by participating in one cycle
of assessments using the NC Health and Safety
Assessment Tool annually.
A child care facility implements five of six of
the following educational opportunities
regarding green environment practices:
(A) Provides outdoor learning
environments that have areas of shade
provided by trees that use heat tolerant
/drought resistant plant material.
Provides an indoor play space
allowing gross motor play, running,
jumping and physically active games
in an air conditioned/heated
environment.
Paints walkways and pavement in heat
reflecting colors in an effort to
decrease surface temperatures and
associated burn hazards.
Ensure use of non-toxic cleaning
products throughout the facility
(E) Creates and maintains a pollinator
and/or a vegetable garden as a method
to educate and emphasize ecofriendly
change and lifestyle.

(B)

©

(D)
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(F) Implement teaching practices that
support reducing and recycling such as
ensuring use of recyclable products
when  reusable  products  are
unavailable, providing reusable food
service products for meals and/or
snacks, and installing a system of
recycling in the facility where trash
and recyclables are in separate
containers and disposed of properly.

(i) A Language Concentration Recognition may be requested
when at least one of the following requirements is met:

(1) Children enrolled in a child care facility are
participating in use of languages other than
English on a regular basis.

2) A child care facility is a language immersion
program.

3) A child care facility is a bilingual program.

() A Culinary Emphasis Recognition may be requested when at
least one of the following requirements is met:

(1) An operator of a family child care home has
completed a food handler program training or
certification, such as ServSafe.

2) A chef or cook position at a child care center
has completed culinary classes or has
completed food

handler program training or certification, such as
ServSafe.

3) A child care facility utilizes farm-to-table
practices as part of their food and nutrition
program.

(k) A Ratio, Group Size, and Enrollment Practices Recognition
may be requested when at least one of the following requirements
is met:

(1) A child care center reduces staff to child ratios
or group sizes when not required for licensure
level or pathway.

2) An operator of a family child care home
voluntarily reduces enrollment when not
required for licensure level or pathway.

(1) A Supplemental Environments Recognition may be requested
when at least one of the following areas are provided within a
child care center or family child care home: gyms, active play
area, sensory focused environments, gardens or naturalized
outdoor play environments.

(m) A NC Breastfeeding-Friendly Child Care Designation
Program Recognition may be requested when this designation is
earned by meeting program requirements set forth at
https://fs27.formsite.com/nutritionnc/xghrnuqOtd/index.html,
incorporated by reference and available for free.

(n) A Military Child Care in Your Neighborhood — PLUS
Recognition may be requested by child care facilities participating
in the free assistance program for military families after meeting
the eligibility requirements set forth at
https://www.childcareaware.org/fee-
assistancerespite/fecassistancerespiteproviders/feeassistance,
incorporated by reference and available for free.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85(3); 110-88(7); 110-
90(4); 143B-168.3; S.L. 2024-34; 42 U.S.C. 9858e; 45 CFR
98.45;

Eff. July 1, 2025.

10A NCAC 09 .3225 ACCREDITING
ORGANIZATIONS AND STAR RATING EQUIVALENCY
(a) The Commission shall reassess an accreditation's star-rating
equivalency, as set forth in Rule .3207 of this Section, if the
standard for earning the accreditation is revised and may increase
or decrease the accreditation's star rating equivalency based on the
assessment in its discretion.

(b) The Commission may approve additional accreditations from
national early childhood education accreditation organizations
and determine their star-rating equivalency upon request by the
accrediting organization.

(c) Reassessments and assessments described in Paragraphs (a)
and (b) of this Rule shall be based on educational and
programmatic standards of the accrediting organization and how
they compare to or exceed the requirements of this Section.

History Note:
CFR 98.45;
Eff July 1, 2025.

Authority S.L. 2024-34; 42 USCS 9858e; 45

10A NCAC 09 .3226

ASSESSMENTS

(a) The Commission may approve formative assessments to

support implementation of classroom and instructional quality

licensure requirements set forth in Rules .3205 and .3206 of this

Section upon request.

(b) The Commission shall approve formative assessments that

meet the following criteria:

@9)] the formative assessment aligns with the

developmental domains described in the North
Carolina Foundations for Early Learning and

APPROVAL OF FORMATIVE

Development;

2) the formative assessment is research based;

3) the formative assessment has been developed
and validated for the intended population;

(@) the formative assessment requires collection of

information in a variety of ways such as
observances of children during daily routines,
play and group activities;  teacher
documentation of children's activities,
experiences at work; collaboration with
families; and communication with service
providers when applicable; and
5) the formative assessment promotes
documentation of children's development and
progress in a way that is sensitive and
responsive to the needs of all children from
culturally, linguistically, economically, and
ability diverse backgrounds.
Information regarding approved formative assessments may be
found on the Divisions website at
https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-
License/Curriculum.
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History Note:
CFR 98.45;
Eff- July 1, 2025.

Authority S.L. 2024-34; 42 U.S.C. 9858e; 45

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

12 NCAC 10B .0406
REINSTATEMENTS
(a) The general certification, pursuant to Rule .0404 of this
Section, or grandfather certification, as defined in G.S. 17E-7(a),
of a detention officer, as defined in Rule .0103(6) of this
Subchapter, or a telecommunicator, as defined in Rule .0103(20)
of this Subchapter, is eligible for lateral transfer to an agency and
be certified upon compliance with Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this
Rule.
(b) The employing agency shall verify the applicant's certification
status with the Division prior to submission of the application for
certification as a lateral transfer.
(¢) In order for a detention officer or telecommunicator to be
certified pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the employing
agency shall submit to the Division, along with the Report of
Appointment (F-4 or F-4T), the documents required in Rule .0408
of this Section.
(d) A justice officer whose certification was suspended pursuant
to Rule .0204(b)(1) of this Subchapter is eligible to have the
certification reinstated provided that:
(1) the period of suspension was six months or less;
(2) the employing agency submits to the Division,
along with a Report of Appointment, the
documents required in Rule .0408 of this
Subchapter except Subparagraphs (1), (2), (3),
(4), and (5) of Paragraph (a); and
3) the officer has successfully completed the basic
training requirements as prescribed in Sections
.0500, .0600, or .1300 of this Subchapter.
(e) A justice officer for whom a Report of Separation (Form F-5)
has been submitted to the Division, and who is re-appointed in the
same agency, is eligible for reinstatement provided that:

LATERAL TRANSFERS AND

(1) the period of separation has been six-months or
less; and
2) the employing agency submits to the Division,

along with a Report of Appointment, the
documents required in Rule .0408 of this
Subchapter except Subparagraphs (1), (2), (3),
(4), and (5) of Paragraph (a).

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7;

Eff. January 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; January 1, 1993, January 1, 1992;
July 1, 1990;

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; January 1, 2005; August 1, 2002;
August 1, 1998;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2025; December 1, 2023.

12 NCAC 10B .0411 IN-STATE LATERAL

TRANSFER OF A DEPUTY SHERIFF

(a) A North Carolina law enforcement officer is eligible to

transfer their certification from one law enforcement agency to

another law enforcement agency and be certified as a deputy

sheriff if the officer:

€)) has completed basic law enforcement training

and holds general or probationary certification
from the Commission or the Criminal Justice

Education and Training Standards
Commission; and
2) has not had more than a 12-month consecutive

break in service immediately preceding the
current application.
(b) Prior to certification being transferred per this rule, the
sheriff's office considering the applicant for employment as a
deputy sheriff shall complete the following tasks and submit a
Lateral Report of Appointment, Form F-4A, to the Division
reporting that the employing agency has completed these tasks
and provided the requested documents:
€8 obtained and forwarded the applicant's
fingerprints to the North Carolina State Bureau
of Investigation, in compliance with the
requirements set forth in Rule .0303 of this
Subchapter, reviewed the results of the criminal
history record check provided as a result, and
provided a copy of the results to the Division;
2) completed the AOC-CR-280 Law Enforcement
Application for Verification of Expunction
form and provided the results to the Division;

3) submitted to the Division a certified copy of the
applicant's oath of office;
4) obtained a signed and notarized Authorization

for Release of Information from the applicant,

pursuant to Rule .0305 of this Subchapter,

forwarded the Authorization for Release of

Information to the Division, and reviewed the

following documents of the applicant

maintained by or on behalf of any North

Carolina law enforcement agency where the

applicant was employed for any part of the five

year period preceding the current application:

(A) the  personnel file  including
confidential information as defined by
G.S. 153A-98, G.S. 160A-168, and
G.S. 126-24;

B) Report of Separation, Form F-5, if the
applicant has separated;

© Background Investigation, Form F-8;
and

D) any internal investigations.

&) verified that the applicant:
(A) has not had more than a 12-month

consecutive  break in  service
immediately preceding the current
application;

(B) has completed all mandatory in-
service training for the preceding
calendar year;
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© has not been charged with or been
convicted of criminal offenses that
would prohibit certification pursuant
to the Rule of this Subchapter;

(D) has not been the subject of any internal
investigation within the last 18 months
that contains allegations of a potential
violation of the Rules of this
Subchapter; and

(E) has qualified with the assigned duty
weapon which has been recorded on
the Firearm Qualification Record,
Form F-9A, and satisfactorily
completed the sheriff's office's in-
service firearms training program, as
prescribed in Rules .2103 and .2104 of
this  Subchapter. The  Firearm
Qualification  Record shall be
submitted to the Division with the
Lateral Report of Appointment.

(c) Form F-4A, Lateral Report of Appointment, is completed by
the employing agency in which the agency verifies that is has
completed the items required in Paragraph (b) of this rule.

History Note:
Eff: July 1, 2025.

12 NCAC 10B .0505

WAIVER
This Rule shall be used by Division staff in evaluating an
applicant's training and experience to determine eligibility for a
waiver of training as set forth in Rule .0504(a) of this Section.

(1)

2

Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7

EVALUATION FOR TRAINING

Persons who separated from a sworn law
enforcement position during their probationary
period after having completed a Commission-
accredited Basic Law Enforcement Training
Course as set forth in 12 NCAC 09B .0205 and
who have been separated from a sworn law
enforcement position for one year or less shall
serve the remainder of the initial certification
probationary period in accordance with G.S.
17E-7(b), but shall not be required to complete
an additional training program.
Persons who separated from a sworn law
enforcement position during their probationary
period without having completed Basic Law
Enforcement Training, or whose certification
was suspended pursuant to Rule .0204(b)(1) of
this Subchapter, and who have remained
separated or suspended for over one year shall:
(a) complete a Commission-accredited
Basic Law Enforcement Training
Course as set forth in 12 NCAC 09B
.0205 in its entirety;
(b) pass the state comprehensive
examination as set forth in 12 NCAC

(€))

“

the date he or she takes the Oath of
Office.

Unless a waiver has been granted pursuant to

Rule .1901 of this Subchapter, persons who

have any training and experience as a military

law enforcement officer and are appointed as a

deputy sheriff in North Carolina shall, within

one year of the date of his or her Oath of Office
complete:

(a) a Commission-accredited Basic Law
Enforcement Training Course as set
forth in 12 NCAC 09B .0205 in its
entirety regardless of previous
military training and experience; and

(b) pass the state comprehensive
examination as set forth in 12 NCAC
09B .0406.

Applicants who previously held certification
with the Commission or the North Carolina
Criminal Justice Education and Training
Standards Commission out-of-state transferees;
and federal transferees who meet the
requirements set forth in Items (5),(6), and (7)
of this Rule shall be allowed to select one of the
following two options for gaining North
Carolina certification as a deputy sheriff:
(a) Complete the Basic Law Enforcement
Training Course as set forth in 12
NCAC 09B .0205 in its entirety during
a one year certification probationary
period and pass the  state
comprehensive examination as set
forth in 12 NCAC 09B .0406; or
(b) Complete the following entry criteria:
6] Pass the Basic Law
Enforcement Training state
comprehensive examination
as set forth in 12 NCAC 09B
.0406 delivered at the end of
an ongoing Basic Law
Enforcement Training
Course. If the applicant fails
to pass the examination, he or
she may attempt to pass the
examination one additional
time. If the applicant fails to
pass the examination on the
second attempt, the applicant
shall be required to complete
the Basic Law Enforcement
Training Course as set forth
in 12 NCAC 09B .0205 in its
entirety and pass the state
comprehensive examination
as set forth in 12 NCAC 09B
.0406 during their one year

09B .0406; and certification ~ probationary
(c) complete a 12 month certification period;
probationary period which begins on
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(ii) Each applicant who is
authorized by the employing
sheriff to carry a firearm shall
prior to appointment
complete with passing scores
the Commission's In-service
Firearms  Training  and
Qualification Program as
prescribed in Rule .2104 of
this Subchapter.

(iii) Each applicant shall
demonstrate proficiency in
the following skills related
activities : First Responder;
Law Enforcement Driver
Training; Officer Health and
Wellness; and Compliance
and Control Tactics.
Successful completion of the
skills related activities as set
out in this Rule shall be
documented by the certified
instructor and submitted to
the Division.

(iv) All criteria referenced in this
Rule shall be successfully
completed within the one-
year certification
probationary period as set
forth in Rule .0504 of this
Section.

() North Carolina applicants referenced in Item
(4) of this Rule shall:

(a) have a minimum of two years full-time

sworn law enforcement experience

that occurred prior to their application;

(b) have had a break in service exceeding
one year;
(c) have previously received general or

grandfather, in accordance with G.S.
17C-10(a) or G.S. 17E-7(a),
certification as a sworn law
enforcement officer by either the
Commission or the North Carolina
Criminal Justice Education and
Training Standards Commission, and
such certification has not been denied,

revoked, or suspended by either
Commission; and
(d) have held general powers of arrest.
(6) Out-of-state transferees referenced in Item (4)
of this Rule shall:
(a) have a minimum of two years full-time

sworn law enforcement experience
that occurred prior to their application.
An applicant's attendance at his or her
basic law enforcement training course
shall not count towards the two years

full-time sworn law enforcement
experience;

(b) have held certification as a sworn law
enforcement  officer from the

appropriate peace officer's standards
and training entity in the transferee's
respective state and such certification
has not been denied, revoked, or

suspended;

() have had general powers of arrest; and

(d submit documentation verifying their
qualified status.

@) Federal Transferees referenced in Item (4) of

this Rule shall:

(a) have a minimum of two years full-time
sworn law enforcement experience;

(b) have held certification or
commissioning as a sworn law
enforcement  officer from the

appropriate federal entity authorized
to issue such sworn law enforcement
officers certification or commission,
and such certification or commission
has not been denied, revoked, or

suspended.

(©) have held general powers of arrest;
and

(d) submit documentation verifying their

qualified status.

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7;

Eff. January 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000;
August 1, 1998, February 1, 1998, January 1, 1996, January 1,
1994; January 1, 1993; January 1, 1992;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2025, January 1, 2019.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

15ANCAC 01X .0101 PURPOSE

The purpose of these Rules is to set forth the processes and
procedures for implementation of the Department's express
review program to provide expedited permit and certification
reviews for certain new or modified permits, plans, or
certifications.

History Note:
143B-279.13;
Eff July 1, 2025.

Authority S.L. 2023-134, s. 12.13.(b); G.S.

15ANCAC 01X .0102 DEFINITIONS
For purposes of this Subchapter,
(1) "Acceptance Date" means the assigned date
upon which the Department will begin the
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formal review of an Application after granting
a Request for Express Review;

2) "AccessDEQ" means the Department's online
portal for electronic permit applications, which
can be found at https://portal.deq.nc.gov. In the
event AccessDEQ is unavailable for a specific
type of Application, alternative submissions
may be made to the regional office with
jurisdiction over the project location by
submitting one electronic copy or two paper
copies of the Application;

3) "Application" means the materials to be
reviewed by the applicable program once a
Request for Express Review has been granted;

4 "Department" means the North Carolina
Department of Environmental Quality;

(5) "ESC Plan" means an Erosion and
Sedimentation Control Plan submitted pursuant
to G.S. 113A, Article 4.

(6) "Experienced Consultant" means an individual
that has received from the Department 25 ESC
Plan approvals or 5 issued PCSW Permits,
specific to the type of Application for which a
Request for Express Review is being made;

@) "PCSW  Permit" means Coastal Post-
Construction Stormwater Permits submitted
pursuant to G.S. 143, Article 21, Part 1;

®) "Pre-Application Review Meeting" means the
initial meeting between the Applicant or the
Experienced Consultant and the Department to
perform a preliminary review of all materials
submitted as part of the Request for Express
Review and Application to make a
determination regarding whether the Request
for Express Review should be granted or
denied, as well as provide initial feedback of the
Application Materials. The Department is
under no obligation to perform any form of
technical review of the materials submitted
prior to the meeting; and

9 "Request for Express Review" means the initial
submission requesting consideration  for
express review, including all applicability,
eligibility, and availability reviews.

History Note:
143B-279.13;
Eff July 1, 2025.

Authority S.L. 2023-134, s. 12.13.(b); G.S.

15A NCAC 01X .0103 APPLICABILITY

The rules in this Subchapter apply to the submission and review
of Requests for Express Review of Applications for the following
permits, plans, or certifications:

(1 Coastal Post-Construction Stormwater Permits
pursuant to G.S. 143, Article 21, Part 1; and
2) Erosion and Sedimentation Control Plans

pursuant to G.S. 113A, Article 4.

History Note:  Authority S.L. 2023-134, s. 12.13.(b); G.S.
143B-279.13;

Eff- July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 01X .0104 REQUESTS FOR EXPRESS
REVIEW

In addition to the information required in Rules .0202 and .0302
of this Subchapter, a Request for Express Review shall be
submitted on a form including:

(1) Applicant name and contact information;

2) Experienced Consultant name and contact
information;

3) Project name, location, and receiving waters;

4 Narrative description of the project, including

its various features, impacts, and proximity to
surface waters identified in Item (5) of this
Rule;

() Vicinity map identifying the project area, GPS
coordinates, and any nearby surface waters.
Nearby surface waters shall include Class SA
waters as identified in 15A NCAC 02B .0221,
Outstanding Resource Waters as identified in
15A NCAC 02B .0225, High Quality Waters,
as identified in 15A NCAC 02B .0224, or Trout
Waters, as defined in 15A NCAC 02B
.0202(58); 15A NCAC 02B .0221, 15A NCAC
02B .0225, 15A NCAC 02B .0224 and 15A
NCAC 02B .0202 are incorporated by
reference, including subsequent amendments,

and may be accessed at
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp at no
charge;

(6) Site plan identifying the boundaries of all
surface waters, wetlands, regulatory flood
zones, protected vegetated setbacks, and
protected riparian buffers;

@) A list of all existing State or Federal permits,
plans, certifications, or approvals related to the
project; and

(®) A list of all other State or Federal permits,
plans, certifications, or approvals necessary to
conduct the project and their current status.

History Note:  Authority S.L. 2023-134, s. 12.13.(b); G.S.
143B-279.13; G.S. 143-214.7; G.S. 1134-54.1; G.S. 1134-57;
Eff- July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 01X .0105
EXPRESS REVIEW
The Department shall grant Requests for Express Review that are
determined to be complete and eligible, in accordance with Rules
.0104, .0201, .0202, .0301 and .0302 of this Subchapter. The
Department shall not grant a Request for Express Review if it is
incomplete or if the review of the Application cannot be
completed within the deadlines established in Rules .0203 and
.0303 of this Subchapter due to:

GRANTING REQUESTS FOR

(1) staffing vacancies or absences at the
Department;
2) existing workloads at the Department;
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)
4)

History Note:
143B-279.13;
Eff. July 1, 2025.

emergencies; or

other factors that would conflict with the
purposes or requirements of G.S. 143B-279.13
or would prevent an Application from being
reviewed prior to the deadlines established in
Rules .0203 and .0303 of this Subchapter.

Authority S.L. 2023-134, s. 12.13.(b); G.S.

1SANCAC 01X .0106 PROCESSING OF REQUESTS
FOR EXPRESS REVIEW

The processing

of Requests for Express Review shall be

performed as follows:

(1

2

3)

“4)

To be considered for express review under
these Rules, an applicant shall submit a Request
for Express Review and intake fee via
AccessDEQ, including the information
required pursuant to Rules .0104, .0202, and
.0302 of this Subchapter. Current fees may be
found at
https://www.deq.nc.gov/accessdeq/express-
permitting or in AccessDEQ. The Department
shall provide the applicant with notice once the
necessary fees have been received. Fees are
nonrefundable.

Upon receipt of a Request for Express Review
and intake fee, the Department shall perform an
administrative review to make an initial
determination of applicability pursuant to Rule
.0103 of this Section, eligibility pursuant to
Rules .0201 and .0301 of this Subchapter, and
availability pursuant to Rule .0105 of this
Section. The Department is under no obligation
to perform any form of technical review of the
materials submitted prior to the Pre-Application
Review Meeting.

Once an initial determination of applicability,
eligibility, and availability is made by the
Department, notice shall be provided to the
applicant and a Pre-Application Review
Meeting shall be scheduled with the applicant
and their Experienced Consultant.

During the Pre-Application Review Meeting,
the Department, applicant, or applicant's
Experienced Consultant shall discuss the
project, jointly review the submitted
application materials, and advise regarding any
initially identified deficiency issues. If the
Request for Express Review involves a PCSW
Permit, both the applicant and applicant's
Experienced Consultant shall be required
to attend the Pre-Application Review Meeting.
If, during the Pre-Application Review Meeting,
it is determined that the project is ineligible for
express review or the Application is
incomplete, the Request for Express Review
may be denied. If required information is

identified as missing during the Pre-
Application Review Meeting, an extension may
be granted for up to three business days to
submit the required information, after which
time a determination regarding the Request for
Express Review shall be made. If these
identified items are not submitted by the
extension deadline, the Request for Express
Review shall be considered incomplete and
shall be denied.

&) If the Request for Express Review is granted,
the next available Acceptance Date shall be
assigned to the Application and the application
review shall proceed in accordance with Rule
.0203 or .0303 of this Subchapter.

6) Once an Acceptance Date is assigned to the
Application, the applicant shall submit the
necessary fees via AccessDEQ or by check
submitted to the regional office with
jurisdiction over the project location. Current
fees may be found at
https://www.deq.nc.gov/accessdeq/express-
permitting or in AccessDEQ. The Department
shall provide the applicant with notice once the
necessary fees have been received. Fees are
nonrefundable.

7 If the necessary fees have not been received by
the Department via AccessDEQ or by check
submitted to the regional office with
jurisdiction over the project location one
business day prior to the Acceptance Date, the
Acceptance Date shall be cancelled.

®) If the Department determines, after granting the
Request for Express Review, that the project is
ineligible for express review, the Department
shall conclude the Express Review in
accordance with Rules .0203(4) or .0303(4) of
this Subchapter.

O] Receipt of an Application as part of a Request
for Express Review shall not constitute receipt
or submission of an application for purposes of
the timeframes set forth in G.S. 143-214.7(b6)
orin G.S. 113A-54.1(a).

History Note:  Authority S.L. 2023-134, s. 12.13.(b); G.S.
143B-279.13;
Eff July 1, 2025.

15ANCAC 01X .0201 PROJECT ELIGIBILITY
The following PCSW Permit Applications shall be ineligible for
express review:

) PCSW Permit Applications submitted by an
individual who does not meet the requirements
of being an Experienced Consultant, as defined
in 15A NCAC 01X .0102(6), familiar with
coastal soil performance and stormwater
control design standards and specifications in
North Carolina.

2) Transfers.
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)
4)

)

(6)

(7

®)

)

(10)

(11)

(12)

Renewals.

Applications for high density projects that
propose or modify four or more primary
stormwater control measures, as defined in 15A
NCAC 02H .1002(37); 15A NCAC 02H .1002
is incorporated by reference, including
subsequent amendments, and may be accessed
at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp at no
charge.

Applications for projects that will impact
another PCSW Permit, unless Applications for
both projects are submitted jointly.
Applications for projects that will overlap with
another PCSW Permit, unless Applications for
both projects are submitted jointly.
Applications for projects whose construction or
permitting would cause another PCSW Permit
to become out of compliance, unless
Applications for both projects are submitted
jointly.

Applications for projects that would require a
variation pursuant to I15A NCAC 02H .1003(6)
or would modify a project subject to a variation
previously granted; 15A NCAC 02H .1003 is
incorporated by  reference, including
subsequent amendments, and may be accessed
at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp at no
charge.

Applications for projects that would require a
Director's Certification pursuant to 15A NCAC
02H .1040(7) or would modify a project subject
to a Director's Certification previously granted;
15A NCAC 02H .1040 is incorporated by
reference, including subsequent amendments,

and may be accessed at
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp at no
charge.

Applications for projects that are out of
compliance at the time of submission or review,
unless approval of the Application would bring
the project into compliance. This provision
does not allow applicants to apply for renewal
of expired PCSW Permits as part of a Request
for Express Review.

Applications that have been previously returned
pursuant to Rule .0203(4) of this Section or 15A
NCAC 02H .1042(3)(a)(ii), or denied pursuant
to 15A NCAC 02H .0140(5); 15A NCAC 02H
.1042 is incorporated by reference, including
subsequent amendments, and may be accessed
at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp at no
charge.

Applications for projects that the Department
determines to be too complex, unconventional,
irregular, or that utilize New Stormwater
Technologies approved pursuant to 15A NCAC
02H .1050(15) that have been approved by the
Department for less than five years; 15A NCAC
02H .1050 is incorporated by reference,

(13)

History Note:
143B-279.13;
Eff July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 01X .0202

including subsequent amendments, and may be

accessed at
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp at no
charge.

Applications for projects that do not provide all
submission requirements from Rule .0202 of
this Section.

Authority S.L. 2023-134, s. 12.13.(b); G.S.

APPLICATION SUBMISSION

REQUIREMENTS
Applications shall include:

)
2

3

“

(6))

History Note:

The type of permitting action and the type of
PCSW Permit or approval being requested;

A list of the number and type of stormwater
control measures intended to be utilized in the
project;

A drainage area map depicting the location of
all stormwater control measures within the
project;

The Supplement form found at
https://www.deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/energ
y-mineral-and-land-
resources/stormwater/stormwater-
program/stormwater-design-manual
summarizing compliance with I5A NCAC 02H
.1000 requirements; 15A NCAC 02H .1000 is
incorporated by  reference, including
subsequent amendments, and may be accessed
at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp at no
charge; and

State stormwater ~ management  permit
application materials listed in 15SA NCAC 02H
.1042(2)(a) through (m).

Authority S.L. 2023-134, s. 12.13.(b); G.S.

143B-279.13; G.S. 143-214.7;

Eff. July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 01X.0203

REVIEW OF APPLICATIONS

The review of a PCSW Permit Application shall proceed as

follows:

)

Upon granting a Request for Express Review

pursuant to Rule .0106(5) of this Subchapter,

the Department shall review the Application

within ten business days of the Acceptance

Date and shall make a determination to:

(A) Issue or deny the PCSW Permit
pursuant to 15A NCAC 02H .1040;

(B) Request  additional  information
pursuant to 15A NCAC O02H
.1042(3)(a)(i); or

©) Extend the review deadline upon
agreement by both the Department and
the applicant.
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2)

3)

“4)

History Note:

When a request for additional information is
made by the Department, the applicant shall
respond with the requested information within
five business days from receipt of the request,
beginning the first business day after the
request is received. A single, five business day
extension may be granted by the Department
upon receipt of a justification for the request for
extension prior to the expiration of the initial
five business day response period.

Upon receipt of the information in Item (2) of
this Rule, the Department shall review the
Application and additional information within
five business days, starting with the first
business day after receipt and shall make a
determination in accordance with Item (1) of
this Rule.

No more than two requests for additional
information shall be made under this Rule. If
additional information, clarification, or revision
is required after two requests, or if the
Department determines, after granting the
Request for Express Review, that the project is
ineligible for express review, the Application
shall be returned in accordance with the
procedures set forth in 15A NCAC 02H
.1042(3)(a)(ii)) and the applicant shall be
required to resubmit the Application to the
standard permit review process with a new
application fee.

Authority S.L. 2023-134, s. 12.13.(b); G.S.

143B-279.13; G.S. 143-214.7;

Eff July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 01X .0301 PROJECT ELIGIBILITY
The following Erosion and Sedimentation Control Plan
Applications shall be ineligible for express review:

(1

2

3)

“4)

ESC Plans submitted by an individual who does
not meet the requirements of being an
Experienced Consultant, as defined in 15A
NCAC 01X .0102(6), who is familiar with soil
performance and erosion control design
standards and specifications in North Carolina.
ESC Plans submitted where the financially
responsible party, pursuant to 15A NCAC 04B
.0118(c), is currently subject to a Notice of
Violation issued pursuant to the authority of
G.S. 113A, Article 4; 15A NCAC 04B .0118 is
incorporated by  reference, including
subsequent amendments, and may be accessed
at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp at no
charge.

ESC Plans submitted for a site that is currently
subject to a Notice of Violation issued pursuant
to the authority of G.S. 113A, Article 4.

ESC Plans impacting buffer zones adjacent to
Trout Waters, as defined in 15A NCAC 02B
.0202(58), unless a Trout Buffer Waiver has

been obtained in advance in accordance with
ISANCAC 04B .0125(c) and G.S. 113A-57(1);
15A NCAC 04B .0125 is incorporated by
reference, including subsequent amendments,

and may be accessed at
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp at no
charge;

(5) ESC Plans with a limit of disturbance greater

than 20 acres, except where the Department
provides prior approval.

6) ESC Plans that propose a site or grading plan
that does not comply with G.S. 143-214.7, the
rules of Section .1000 of Subchapter 02H, G.S.
113A, Article 7, Part 4, the rules of title 15A of
Chapter 07, or G.S. 74-49(7)(f).

7 ESC Plans that do not include all submission
requirements from Rule .0302 of this Section.

History Note:  Authority S.L. 2023-134, s. 12.13.(b); G.S.
143B-279.13;
Eff July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 01X .0302 APPLICATION SUBMISSION

REQUIREMENTS
Applications for ESC Plan reviews shall include:
) All items listed in the Erosion and
Sedimentation Control Plan Preliminary
Review Checklist found at

https://www.deq.nc.gov/ESCforms
summarizing compliance with G.S. 113A,
Article 4 and 15A NCAC 04; 15A NCAC 04 is
incorporated by  reference, including
subsequent amendments, and may be accessed
at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp at no
charge;

2) The authorized statement of financial
responsibility and documentation of property
ownership, pursuant to 15A NCAC 04B
.0118(c);

3) A detailed construction sequence for all erosion
and sedimentation controls on all permits, plans
or certifications necessary for the project;

“4) Applicable landowner-builder agreements as
described in 15A NCAC 04B .0118 and G.S.
113A-54.1(a); and

(5) If the project is for a single-source borrow pit,
all items necessary to meet the requirements of
G.S. 74-49(7)(%).

History Note: Authority S.L. 2023-134, s. 12.13.(b); G.S.
143B-279.13; G.S. 1134-54.1; G.S. 1134-57;
Eff July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 01X .0303 REVIEW OF APPLICATIONS
The review of an ESC Plan Application shall proceed as follows:
(1) Upon granting a Request for Express Review
pursuant to Rule .0106(5) of this Subchapter,
the Department shall review the ESC Plan
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within five business days of the Acceptance
Date and shall make a determination to:

(A) Request  additional  information,
clarification or revision;

(B) Approve the ESC Plan;

©) Approve the ESC Plan with

modification;

(D) Disapprove the ESC Plan; or

(E) Transfer the ESC Plan to the standard
ESC Plan review process;

2) When a request for additional information,
clarification, or revision is made by the
Department, the applicant shall respond with
the requested information, clarifications, or
revisions within five business days from receipt
of the request, beginning the first business day
after the request is received.

3) Upon receipt of the information in Item (2) of
this Rule, the Department shall review the ESC
Plan and additional information within five
business days, starting with the first business
day after receipt and shall make a determination
in accordance with Item (1) of this Rule.

@) No more than one request for additional
information, clarification, or revision shall be
made under Sub-Item (1)(A) of this Rule. If
additional information, clarification, or revision
is required after one request, or if the
Department determines, after granting the
Request for Express Review, that the project is
ineligible for express review, the ESC Plan
shall either be disapproved or transferred to the
standard ESC Plan review process. If
transferred, the date of receipt of the
Application for purposes of G.S. 113A-54.1 or
G.S. 113A-57 shall be the date upon which the
transfer occurs.

History Note: Authority S.L. 2023-134, s. 12.13.(b); G.S.
143B-279.13; G.S. 1134-54.1; G.S. 1134-57;
Eff July 1, 2025.

sk ok sk ok ok ok sk sk sk sk sk sk sk sk ok ok ok sk sk sk

15A NCAC 05C .0101 DEFINITIONS

(a) "Department" means the North Carolina Department of
Environmental Quality in Raleigh, North Carolina.

(b) "Explorations" means geological, geophysical, and other
surveys and investigations, including seismic methods for the
discovery and location of oil, gas, or other mineral prospects.

(c) "Party chief" means the leader of the on-site crew conducting
the exploration work for a company that is permitted to conduct
such work under this Subchapter.

(d)  "Secretary" means Secretary of the Department of
Environmental Quality.

(e) "Seismic agent" means a North Carolina Department of
Environmental Quality representative who shall be responsible
for observing and monitoring compliance with the rules and

regulations of the Department and the issued permit for
geophysical operations.

(f) "Seismic explorations" means any geophysical exploration
method involving the use of explosives and shall include the
seismic vibrator method.

(g) "Seismic vibrator method" means a vibrator device used as an
energy source to generate a controlled acoustic wave train.

(h) "Shooting component" means one explosive charge.

(1) "Shot" means the use and detonation of Trinitrotoluene (TNT),
powder, dynamite, nitroglycerin, each use of the seismic vibrator
method, or other explosives.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. January 31, 1979;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1990,

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.

15SA NCAC 05C .0103 CORRESPONDENCE

Reports and correspondence by all parties in connection with this
Subchapter shall be addressed to "North Carolina Department of
Environmental Quality, 1612 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, N.C.
27699-1612" unless parties subject to this Subchapter shall be
notified in writing by the Department to direct communications to
a specified division or a specified representative of the
Department.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. January 31, 1979;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 1982,

Amended Eff. April 1, 1990,

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0104 SITE REGULATION

The Secretary of the Department of Environmental Quality with
the advice of the Director of the N.C. Wildlife Resources
Commission and representatives of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service, shall designate the extent of how much exploration work
may be conducted under this Subchapter.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff- January 31, 1979;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1990,

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0105 PERMIT REQUIRED

A permit from the Department is required for all seismic
exploration work in the area to which this Subchapter is
applicable. No such seismic work shall be started without a permit
and all such work shall be carried out in compliance with all
applicable laws, rules, and regulations.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 1982;
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Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0106 PERMIT APPLICATION
Application for permits for geophysical exploration work shall be
filed electronically or in paper form with the Department at least
30 business days before issuance of permits and shall be
accompanied by a detailed map showing the exact area in which
the geophysical operations are to be conducted, such area to be
shown, where possible, by reference to established objects or
permanent landmarks. If the applicant is not the owner of the land
and owner of the mineral rights to be explored, the applicant shall
include the owner's written consent for the applicant to submit an
exploration application to conduct exploration activities.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0107 PERMIT DURATION

Permits are limited to a period of six months from the date of
issuance, but may be renewed for not more than two additional
90-day periods at the discretion of the Department. The
Department will consider factors including compliance with the
original permit; updated environmental impact information, new
impacts to public safety and infrastructure, changes to local or
regional land use, and renewed bonding and financial assurances.
Applications for each renewal shall be submitted electronically or
in paper form. Applications can be found on the Department's
website at: https://www.deq.nc.gov/energy-climate/oil-and-gas-
program/oil-and-gas-program-forms. After the expiration of a
permit and any renewals thereof, work may continue or be
resumed under any new permit issued or application made as
provided in Rule .0106 of this Section.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff- August 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff- July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0108
WORK

A seismic exploration shall not be conducted outside of the
permitted area.

GEOGRAPHIC LIMITS ON

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0109 SEISMIC AGENTS

Each seismic exploration crew working under a permit issued
pursuant to this Subchapter shall always be accompanied by a
seismic agent, unless a written exception has been granted by the
Department. If a geophysical company employs more than one
shooting component or more than one seismic vibration crew, and
the operations are at such a distance apart that it is impossible for
the seismic agent to travel from one to the other in time to observe
the shots of each crew, a seismic agent shall be assigned to each

geophysical crew. The seismic agent shall be physically present
for each shot and each use of the seismic vibrator method.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 1982,
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0110 DAILY REPORT REQUIRED

The permittee shall file a daily report on exploration work with
the Department at the end of each working day. A separate report
shall be made and filed with the Department for each working day
whether or not data acquisition is in progress. The Department
may request additional information.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0111 NOTIFICATION

Permittees shall notify the Department electronically with
verifying receipt at least two weeks in advance of the beginning
of work, and shall give notice of interruption, and of cessation of
work in any area.

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff- August 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0112  SIZE OF EXPLOSIVE CHARGES
Explosive charges in excess of 50 pounds of Trinitrotoluene
(TNT) or its equivalent shall not be used except pursuant to
written authorization from the Department. Requests shall be
submitted with the permit application to the Department. Requests
to use such charges shall be made in writing, giving the reasons
why such charges are needed, the size of the charges to be used,
and the depth at which they are to be suspended or buried. Should
multiple charges be used, the total amount of explosives should
not exceed 50 pounds of TNT or its equivalent without permission
from the Department.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0113 PLACING OF CHARGES

The placing of explosive charges on the bottoms of the water at
any area covered by a permit issued pursuant to this Subchapter is
prohibited. No such charges should be detonated that are less than
five feet to the bottom. No undetonated charges shall be left
following the work day.

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.
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15A NCAC 05C .0115 REMOVAL

All pipe used in geophysical operations shall be removed by the
permittee using such pipe to at least six feet below the bottom of
the water body and in charted navigable channels, eight feet below
charted dredge depth before leaving the location where the pipe is
placed.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff- August 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff- July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0116 IDENTIFICATION
All permittees using pipe shall have stamped at each end of each
joint the name or abbreviation of the name of the permittee.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0117 PIPES AND BUOYS

All pipes, buoys, and other markers used in connection with
seismic work shall be flagged in the daytime and lighted at night
according to the navigation rules of the U.S. Army Corps of
Engineers and the U.S. Coast Guard.

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976,

Readopted Eff. August 1, 1982,
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0118 EXPLOSIVES

No explosives shall be discharged within 1,000 feet of a boat
operating in the water without notice being given to such boat so
that it may move from the area.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff- August 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff- July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0119 SHOOTING

(a) No shot shall be allowed except in daylight hours. Shot is
defined in 15A NCAC 05C .0101(i).

(b) No shot shall be allowed in heavy fog.

(¢) The permittee shall stop gas and water spouts caused by
drilling or shooting operations of seismic crews as soon as
possible, but no later than 24 hours after the spout is first noticed.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff- August 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0120 MINIMUM DEPTHS

(a) Minimum required depths of explosive charges detonated in
holes below the bottom water within the jurisdiction of this State
shall be as follows:

1 five pounds or less of trinitrotoluene (TNT) or
its equivalent; 20 feet below the bottom,
2) up to 20 pounds of TNT or its equivalent;40 feet
below the bottom,
3) up to 30 pounds of TNT or its equivalent;50 feet
below the bottom,
4 up to 40 pounds of TNT or its equivalent;60 feet
below the bottom,
%) up to 50 pounds of TNT or its equivalent;70 feet
below the bottom.
(b) Irrespective of the minimum depths specified in Paragraph (a)
of this Rule, all operators shall use responsible precautions per
I5A NCAC 05C .0126 to ensure charges have been detonated at
sufficient depths to prevent the creation of craters.
(¢) These minimum required depths shall not apply to trial
charges and charges for determining condition of the weathering
layer; provided that such charges are not over five pounds and not
fired without permission of the seismic agent.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff- August 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff- July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0121 DETAILED PROVISIONS

(a) When more than one shot is fired in the same hole, the
permittee shall measure the minimum required depths of the hole,
as defined in 15A NCAC 05C .0120(a), after every shot is fired.
(b) All surveying hub stakes used for survey lines shall be
stamped with the name of the permittee using the stakes at
three-foot intervals.

(c) All holes drilled in geophysical operations in land areas shall
be filled by the permittee before leaving the location.

(d) No explosives shall be discharged within 300 feet of any
oyster reef or bed, including any state-owned natural reefs, or
within 300 feet of any dock, pier, causeway, or other structure
anchored to the seabed without written permission signed by the
owner and lessee of the reef or bed, and approved by the
Department.

(e) Boats, marsh buggies, or other types of marsh vehicles shall
be used to cause minimum disturbance to lands, waterbottoms,
wildlife, and fisheries thereon.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0123 POWERS OF SEISMIC AGENTS
The seismic agent has the authority to stop any particular shooting
if it will violate the rules in this Subchapter, but does not have the
authority to shut down the entire exploration work allowed by the
associated permit. If the rules in this Subchapter continue to be
violated, the seismic agent shall contact the Department within 24
hours.

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff- February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 1982,
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Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0124 DUTIES OF PARTY CHIEF

(a) The party chief shall provide the Department's representative
or his or her agent with transportation facilities for inspection of
the working area, if required.

(b) The party chief is required to notify the Department if the
seismic agent is not on the working area. The Department shall
arrange relief for the seismic agent, if necessary.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976,

Readopted Eff- August 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff- July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0125
REGULATIONS

No seismic agent shall have the authority to release any operator
from the obligations imposed by this Subchapter. Permittees may
request an exception to these Rules in writing by setting forth
reasons for the request. Exceptions may be granted by the
Department and shall designate the particular area and rule
affected and the procedure to be followed in lieu of the established
rule. Exceptions may be granted based on the circumstances
provided by the Permittee for the requested change, the
significance of the rule to the given project, and the availability
and viability of an alternative procedure presented by the
Permittee in lieu of the established rule.

RELEASE FROM THESE

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.

15A NCAC 05C .0126 DUTIES OF OPERATORS

All permittees conducting seismic operations shall use precaution
in accordance with approved and accepted methods to prevent
destruction of, or injury to, fish, oysters, shrimp, and other aquatic
life, wildlife, or other natural resources.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-391;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff- August 1, 1982;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025.
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15A NCAC 07H .0314 INSTALLATION AND
MAINTENANCE OF WHEAT STRAW BALES FOR
SAND FENCING IN OCEAN HAZARD AREAS

(a) Wheat straw bales, for the purposes of building and protecting
dunes by trapping windblown sand, shall only be installed by a
local, state, or federal government or a local homeowners

emergency vehicle access. Wheat straw bales shall not be installed
in a manner that impedes or restricts established

common law and statutory rights of public access and use of
public trust lands and waters.

(c) Wheat straw bales shall not be installed in a manner that
impedes, traps, or otherwise endangers sea turtles, sea

turtle nests, or sea turtle hatchlings. CAMA permit applications
for wheat straw bales shall be subject to review by

the Wildlife Resources Commission and the U.S. Fish and
Wildlife Service in order to determine whether the proposed
design or installation will have an adverse impact on sea turtles or
other threatened or endangered species.

(d) The permittee shall remove any ties or binding from wheat
straw bales during installation.

(e¢) Wheat straw bales shall be placed as far landward as possible
to avoid interference with sea turtle nesting,

public access, recreational use of the beach, and emergency
vehicle access. Additionally:

(1) Wheat straw bales shall not be placed on the

wet sand beach;

2) Wheat straw bale sections shall not exceed 2
feet in width, 3 feet in height as measured from
the bottom bale, and 10 feet in length;

Wheat straw bales installed on or waterward of
the crest of the frontal or primary dune shall be
installed at an angle no less than 45 degrees to
the shoreline. No portion of a wheat straw bale
section shall extend more than 10 feet
waterward of the following locations as defined
in 15SA NCAC 07H .0305: the first line of stable
and natural vegetation, the toe of the frontal or
primary dune, or the erosion escarpment of the
frontal or primary dune;

Wheat straw bales along public accessways
may span the length of the structural accessway
and shall be aligned no less than 45 degrees to
the shoreline on the waterward end. The
waterward location of the sections shall not
exceed 10 feet waterward of the locations
identified in Subparagraph (3) of this
Paragraph; and

A minimum of seven feet of spacing shall be
maintained between any part of the installed
wheat straw bales or other dune building
materials such as wooden sand fencing.

(f) Any non-functioning, damaged, or displaced wheat straw
bales or stakes used to anchor the bales shall be repaired or
removed by the permittee.

3)

“

(6))

History Note:
1134-126;
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

Authority G.S. 1134-107; 1134-113(b)(6);

association, as defined in G.S. 47F-1-103(3) that has the authority
to approve the locations of structures on lots within the territorial
jurisdiction of the association and has jurisdiction over at least one
mile of ocean shoreline.

(b) Wheat straw bales shall not impede existing public access to
the beach, recreational use of the beach, or

TITLE 17 - DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
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17 NCAC 04B .0603 INDEPENDENT BOOKKEEPING
17 NCAC 04B .0604 CPA'S: NOT A REGULATORY
LICENSE

17 NCAC 04B .0605 DRAFTSMAN

17 NCAC 04B .0606 GRAVE PLOTS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 105-41; 105-262; S.L. 2023-134

s. 42.7(a);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 22, 2018;

Repealed Eff- July 1, 2025.

17 NCAC 04B .0609 OPTICIAN

17 NCAC 04B .0610 PHYSICAL THERAPIST

17 NCAC 04B .0611 PRACTICING PHYSICIANS

17 NCAC 04B .0612 GOVERNMENT ATTORNEYS-

AT-LAW AND OTHER PROFESSIONALS EXEMPT
FROM PRIVILEGE LICENSE TAX

History Note:
s. 42.7(a);
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. March 14, 1980; June 11, 1977,

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 22, 2018,

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2021,

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2025.

Authority G.S. 105-41; 105-262; S.L. 2023-134

17 NCAC 04B .0614 PSYCHOLOGIST
History Note:
s. 42.7(a),
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. December 22, 2018;

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2025.

Authority G.S. 105-41; 105-262; S.L. 2023-134

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 10 - CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS

21 NCAC 10 .0204
LICENSE

(a) Initial Licensure. The initial license awarded to an applicant
who passed the examination shall be mailed to the address
appearing on the application form.

(b) Change of Contact Information. The licentiate shall inform
the Board of any change in his or her contact information.
Updated contact information shall be forwarded to the Board
office email at ncboce@ncchiroboard.com within 30 days after
any such change.

(c) General. The renewal, inactivation, and restoration of a
license are governed by G.S. 90-155 and this Rule. A current
license that is not renewed shall be placed on inactive status on
January 30th of the following year. A licentiate desiring license
renewal shall submit to the Board, on or before the date of

LICENSURE; RENEWAL OF

inactivation, a completed license renewal form accompanied by
the renewal fee as provided in Paragraph (i) of this Rule. The
renewal fee shall only be paid through the Board's website,
www.ncchiroboard.com.

(d) License Renewal Notification and Form. On or before
December 1 of each year, the Board shall email to each licentiate,
at the licentiate's current email address on file with the Board,
license renewal instructions. The license renewal form with
instructions shall also be available at the Board's website,
www.ncchiroboard.com, or upon request at the Board's office. A
licentiate desiring license renewal shall note on the form changes
in name, address, specialty, employment circumstances, and
criminal convictions since the last renewal form was submitted to
the Board. The licentiate shall also note on the form any
professional development continuing education for which the
licentiate seeks credit pursuant to Rule .0210(d) of this Chapter.
(e) Continuing Education. As used in G.S. 90-155, one "day" of
continuing education shall mean nine hours. Except as provided
in Paragraphs (f), (g) and (h) of this Rule, a licentiate seeking
license renewal shall obtain 18 hours (2 days) of Board-approved
continuing education each calendar year. At least 10 hours shall
be obtained by attending in-person or live on-line educational
sessions. Live online hours include the opportunity to interact
with the instructor in real-time. As many as eight hours may be
obtained in the manner set forth in Rule .0210 of this Section. The
Board shall not award credit for any continuing education hours
until the sponsor or licentiate submits to the Board the sponsor's
certificate of attendance or course completion.

(f) First-Year Continuing Education Exemptions. A licentiate
who was enrolled in chiropractic college at any time during the
year of initial licensure or a licentiate initially licensed after
September 1st of the current year shall be permitted to renew his
or her license for the ensuing year without obtaining continuing
education but shall be required to submit a license renewal form
and pay the renewal fee. In subsequent years, a licentiate shall not
be permitted to renew his or her license until the continuing
education requirements set forth in Paragraph (e) of this Rule are
satisfied.

(g) Hardship Waivers. A licentiate seeking a hardship waiver of
the continuing education requirement shall make written
application to the Board no later than December 15th of the
current year explaining the nature and circumstances of the
hardship. Upon the applicant's showing that compliance with the
continuing education requirement poses an undue hardship, the
Board shall waive the requirement in whole or part or grant an
extension of time within which to comply. "Undue hardship" shall
include protracted medical illness, natural disaster, or extended
absence from the United States.

(h) Military Hardship. A licentiate who is serving in the Armed
Forces of the United States and to whom G.S. 93B-15(a) grants
an extension of time to pay a renewal fee shall also be granted an
identical extension of time to complete the continuing education
required for license renewal.

(i) Renewal Fee. A renewal fee in the maximum amount allowed
by G.S. 90-155 shall be paid by each licentiate applying for
renewal.

(j) Restoration of Inactive License. Evidence of Proficiency. In
order to provide evidence of proficiency, a former licentiate
whose license has been inactive for 180 or fewer days due to non-
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compliance with G.S. 90-155 shall be re-examined and shall pay
the non-refundable application fee prescribed in Rule .0202(d) of
this Section and shall demonstrate compliance with continuing
education requirements. A former licentiate whose license has
been inactive for more than 180 days shall comply with Rule
.0203(f) of this Section in addition to this Paragraph. Payment of
the application fee shall not constitute payment of the
reinstatement fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) mandated by
G.S. 90-155.

History Note:
148, 93B-15;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff- January 27, 1978,

Amended Eff. January 1, 1983;

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. January 31, 1983;

Curative Amended Eff. February 28, 1983,

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014, December 1, 1988;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2025; January 1, 2024, January 1, 2022;
January 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-145; 90-155; 90-
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CHAPTER 29 - LOCKSMITH LICENSING BOARD

21 NCAC 29 .0404 FEES

The license issuance fee shall be three hundred dollars ($300.00).
The license issuance fee shall accompany the application for
licensure. Replacement licenses shall be available upon written
request and the fee for issuance of a replacement license shall be
ten dollars ($10.00).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 74F-6, 74F-7; 74F-9; 74F-10;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 17, 2002,

Eff. August 1, 2004,

Readopted Eff- June 1, 2017;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2025, January 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 29 .0702 DUE DATE

(a) Applications for license renewal shall be submitted prior to
the date of license expiration.

(b) Licensees who submit their applications for renewal after the
date on which the license expires, but within twelve months,
thereafter shall pay a late fee of three hundred dollars ($300.00),
in addition to the license renewal fee of three hundred dollars
($300.00). Licensees who apply to reinstate their license more
than twelve months after the date on which the license expires
shall pay a reinstatement fee of two hundred fifty dollars
($250.00), in addition to the late fee of three hundred dollars
($300.00) and the license renewal fee of three hundred dollars
($300.00).

(c) The Board shall deem applications submitted on the date of
their postmark or upon receipt by staff at the Board's offices,
whichever is earlier.

History Note:
Eff- July 1, 2005;

Authority G.S. 74F-6; 74F-9; 74F-10;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2025, June 1, 2017.

21 NCAC 29 .0703
LICENSE
Licenses that have been expired for more than one year are
eligible for reinstatement pursuant to Rule .0701 of this Section.
A licensee with an expired license may apply for reinstatement
only if he or she has completed at least eight contact hours of
continuing education within one year preceding the application.

REINSTATEMENT OF EXPIRED

History Note:
Eff- July 1, 2005;
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2017,
Amended Eff- July 1, 2025.

Authority G.S. 74F-6; 74F-9; 74F-10;

TITLE 24 - INDEPENDENT AGENCIES

24 NCAC 02D .0101 PURPOSE

This Chapter describes the operating procedures for the Large
Animal Healthcare Enhancement Advisory Committee and the
North Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority implementing the
Large Animal Healthcare Enhancement Fund for the
enhancement of large animal veterinary services in North
Carolina. Procedures and requirements for participating
applicants are also established. The purpose of the program is to
provide grants to encourage veterinary practitioners to sustainably
serve as large or mixed animal veterinarians in underserviced
areas in the state of North Carolina, and to provide additional
resources for large or mixed animal veterinary practices that
operate in underserviced areas to help them to better serve their
communities.

History Note:
10.1(c);
Eff July 1, 2025.

Authority G.S. 106-1074; S.L. 2023-134, s.

24 NCAC 02D .0102 DEFINITIONS

In addition to the terms defined in Article 88 of Chapter 106 of

the North Carolina General Statutes, the following terms used in

this Chapter have the following meanings:

) "Applicant" means a large animal veterinarian
as defined in Article 88 of Chapter 106 of the
North Carolina General Statutes who applies
for funds from the Large Animal Healthcare
Enhancement Fund.
2) "Application" means the "Large Animal

Healthcare Enhancement Fund Application
Form" detailed in Rule .0103(c) of this Section,
developed and made available by the Large
Animal Healthcare Enhancement Advisory
Committee, including, but not limited to, any
attachments and other information or
documentation required by the form, for an
applicant to complete and submit to the
advisory committee to request a grant from the
fund.
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3) "Chair" or "Commissioner" means the chair of
the advisory committee who is also the
Commissioner of Agriculture.

@) "Grant" means an amount of money designated
by the advisory committee to be given to a
qualified applicant who has been chosen by the
advisory committee.

(5) "Financial records" means documentation that
provides evidence or a summary of business
transactions, which may include invoices,
receipts, and general monetary ledgers.

(6) "Grant recipient" means a qualified applicant
who has received a grant.
@) "Large animal" means any of the animals

referenced in Article 88 of Chapter 106 of the
North Carolina General Statutes.

®) "Qualified applicant" means a large animal
veterinarian who meets the criteria described in
this Rule and in Article 88 of Chapter 106 of the
North Carolina General Statutes.

History Note:
10.1(c);
Eff July 1, 2025.

Authority G.S. 106-1074; S.L. 2023-134, s.

24 NCAC 02D .0103
APPLICATIONS
(a) Applicants for funding from the fund shall submit a completed
application within 60 days from the date of the public
announcement of requests for proposals (the "application
deadline").

(b) Applications and instructions shall be available online at
WWW.ncagr.gov.

(c) To be eligible for consideration for funding, applicants shall
complete the application, which shall be titled the "Large Animal
Healthcare Enhancement Fund Application Form," and which
shall contain the following information:

€)) identifying information such as location,
business name, and contact information;

2) statement from the applicant that acknowledges
and agrees that in the event that the applicant's
veterinary license expires, is revoked, or is
suspended during the fiscal year in which the
grant is awarded, or if the applicant fails to
practice at least 30% large animal veterinary
medicine in the designated counties named in
the applicant's application, the applicant shall
repay the entire amount received from the fund;

3) statement from the applicant that the applicant
shall have no conflicting service obligation that
would prevent the State from benefitting from
the applicant's services, with the exception of
service in the National Guard or military

EVALUATION OF

reserve;
4 an essay which describes the applicant's
professional ~ambition and how those

professional goals fit with the intent of the fund,
which shall be submitted in a format using an
eight hundred word maximum, typed in 12-

point Times New Roman font, and double
spaced;
®) three personal or professional references listing
the individual's name, telephone number, and
email address; and
(6) certification that the applicant currently
practices a minimum of 30% large animal
veterinary medicine in at least one designated
county.
(d) Each completed application shall be evaluated by the advisory
committee staff based on the information provided in the
application and in accordance with the fund criteria described in
this rule and in Article 88 of Chapter 106 of the North Carolina
General Statutes.
(e) The staff shall review all applications for completeness. If
staff deems an application incomplete in that it does not contain
information required by statute or these rules, the applicant shall
be asked by the authority staff to complete the application within
seven days if the application deadline has expired.
(f) After the staff has reviewed each application for completeness,
the advisory committee shall then review the applications
prepared by each applicant.
(g) All applicants shall meet the following criteria for grant
eligibility:
) the applicant must practice veterinary medicine
in at least one of the approved counties pursuant
to G.S. 106-1077;
2) the applicant must be a currently licensed
veterinarian in the state of North Carolina; and
3) the applicant shall be practicing at least thirty
percent cumulatively of their veterinary
operation within the field of large animal care.
(h) Grants shall be awarded contingent on the availability of
sufficient funds to do so. Grants shall be conveyed to grant
recipient(s) through contracts with the North Carolina
Agricultural Finance Authority. If the advisory committee
determines that grants are not being used for the purpose for
which they were awarded, the fund shall immediately cease
making payments under the grant schedule and shall demand
return of all amounts from the grant pursuant to G.S. 106-1079.
Grant recipient(s) must reimburse the fund all funds that the
advisory committee determines to have been spent in violation of
G.S. 106-1079(e).
History Note:  Authority G.S. 106-1074; S.L. 2023-134, s.
10.1(c);
Eff July 1, 2025.

24 NCAC 02D .0104 GRANT AGREEMENT

(a) The advisory committee shall approve applications based on
the criteria set forth by Article 88 of Chapter 106 of the North
Carolina General Statutes. Once approved by the committee, a
written agreement shall be executed between the grant recipient(s)
and the North Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority.

(b) The agreement shall define the North Carolina Agricultural
Finance Authority's and grant recipient's responsibilities and
obligations, the project period, project scope, and the amount of
grant assistance.
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(c) The approved application and any support documentation
submitted by the applicant shall become a part of the grant
agreement.

(d) The grant agreement may be amended upon mutual consent
and approval by the North Carolina Agricultural Finance
Authority and the grant recipient(s). The grant recipient(s) shall
submit a written request for amendment to the North Carolina
Agricultural  Finance Authority. Any amendment for
consideration must adhere to the eligibility requirements set forth
by Article 88 of Chapter 106 of the Noth Carolina General
Statutes.

(e) Grant payments shall be made only for activities within the
grant contract period and projects may not begin until the North
Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority and grant recipient(s)
sign the agreement.

(f) The grant agreement shall include a requirement that the grant
recipient(s) understands, acknowledges, and agrees that in the
event that the grant recipient'(s") veterinary license expires, is
revoked, or is suspended during the fiscal year in which the grant
is awarded, or the grant recipient(s) fails to practice a minimum
of 30% large animal veterinary medicine in at least one designated
county named in the grant recipient'(s') application, the grant
recipient(s) shall repay the entire amount received from the Fund.

History Note:
10.1(c);
Eff- July 1, 2025.

Authority G.S. 106-1074; S.L. 2023-134, s.

24 NCAC 02D .0105 REPORTING

(a) Grant recipients shall submit to the North Carolina
Agricultural Finance Authority a written progress report within
180 days of receipt of the grant.

(b) Written reports shall describe the status of the project,
progress toward achieving program objectives, notable
occurrences, any problems encountered, and steps taken to
overcome the problems, and a statement of affirmation that
supports the following:

(1) the grant recipient's veterinary license has not
expired, been revoked, or been suspended, and
2) the grant recipient(s) is currently practicing a

minimum of 30% large animal veterinary
medicine across their cumulative practice in at
least one designated county named in the grant
recipient's(s') application.
(c) Upon completion of the project, the grant recipient shall make
a final written report to the North Carolina Agricultural Finance
Authority that shall include project accomplishments and
benefits, all expenditures by line item as established in the
application, and a statement of affirmation that supports the

2 the grant recipient(s) practiced a minimum of
30% large animal veterinary medicine across
their cumulative practice in at least one
designated county named in the grant
recipient's(s') application.
(d) The North Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority shall
review the progress reports for completeness, which shall include
a showing of how the project is meeting its stated goals and
performance standards. If the North Carolina Agricultural
Finance Authority finds that the report is deficient in showing how
the project is meeting its stated goals and performance standards,
the grant recipient(s) shall be notified of the deficiency and shall
provide a changed and corrected report within 30 business days.
A corrected or changed report shall be submitted to the North
Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority within 30 business days.
(e) All grant funds shall be spent within 180 days of receipt by
the grant recipient. If grant funds are not spent by the grant
recipient by the end of this 180-day period, the grant funds shall
be returned to the North Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority.
(f) Grant recipient(s) shall submit monitoring reports annually to
the North Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority by email at
largeanimalvetgrants@ncagr.gov, as well as mailed to or hand
delivered to 1101 Spring Forest Road, Suite 150, Raleigh, North
Carolina 27615. The monitoring reports shall include all the
reporting requirements set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule.

History Note:
10.1(c);
Eff- July 1, 2025.

Authority G.S. 106-1074; S.L. 2023-134, s.

24 NCAC 02D .0106 RECORDS

Grant recipients shall keep financial records, as defined in Rule
.0102 of this Section, of the project for a period of five years,
following completion of the project, or until audited. The records
shall be made available to the Commissioner and the North
Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority upon request. The North
Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority shall maintain and
dispose of paper and electronic records in accordance with the
approved Functional Schedule for North Carolina State Agencies,
Program Record Retention and Disposition Schedule and
Electronic Records and Imaging Policy, incorporated by reference
with subsequent editions and amendments. The policy can be
accessed free of charge at
https://archives.ncdcr.gov/documents/functional-schedule-state-
agencies.

History Note:
10.1(c);
Eff. July 1, 2025.

Authority G.S. 106-1074; S.L. 2023-134, s.

following:
(1) the grant recipient's veterinary license has not
expired, been revoked, or been suspended, and
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission June 26, 2025, 2025 at 1711 New Hope
Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC. Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the
Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners. Specific
instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850. Anyone wishing to address
the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2" business day before the meeting.
Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Jake Parker (15t Vice-Chair)
John Hahn Paul Powell (2"¢ Vice-Chair)
Jeff Hyde Wayne R. Boyles, IlI
Brandon Leebrick Christopher Loutit
Bill Nelson Randy Overton

COMMISSION COUNSEL
William W. Peaslee 984-236-1939
Seth M. Ascher 984-236-1934
Travis Wiggs 984-236-1929

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES
August 28, 2025 October 30, 2025
September 25, 2025 November 20, 2025

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING
MINUTES
June 26, 2025

The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, June 26, 2025, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and the meeting was streamed for the public via Webex.

Commissioners Wayne R. Boyles lll, Jeanette Doran, John S. Hahn, Jeff Hyde, Chris Loutit, Randy Overton, Bill Nelson,
Jake Parker, and Paul Powell were present in the Commission Room.

Staff member Alexander Burgos, Commission Counsel Seth Ascher, Bill Peaslee, and Travis Wiggs were present in the
room.

The meeting was called to order at 10:06 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding.

The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest.

The Chairman notified the Commissioners that the following item on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end
of the agenda: Permanent Rules from the Department of Labor, Private Protective Services Board, Environmental
Management Commission, and the Commission for Public Health.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes from the May 29, 2025 meeting.
There were none, and the minutes were unanimously approved as distributed.

FOLLOW-UP MATTERS

Gasoline and Oil Inspection Board

The Commission unanimously voted to further extend the period of review for 02 NCAC 42 .0201 until the July 30, 2025
meeting. No action was required by the Commission.
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LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES)

Child Care Commission

10A NCAC 09 .0102, .2902, .2905, .3002, .3009, .3010, .3201, .3202, .3203, .3204, .3205, .3206, .3207, .3208, .3209,
3210, .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216, .3217, .3218, .3219, .3220, .3221, .3222, .3223, .3224, .3225, .and 3226
were unanimously approved.

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission
12 NCAC 10B .0406, .0411, and .0505 were unanimously approved.

Department of Labor
The Commission unanimously voted to extend the period of review for 13 NCAC 07F .0201 until July 30, 2025, meeting.
Barbara Jackson, the interim rulemaking coordinator with the agency, addressed the Commission.

Private Protective Services Board
The Commission unanimously voted to extend the period of review for 14B NCAC 16 .0701,.0707, .0801, .1203, .1301,
.1307, .1401, .1501, and .1502 until the July 30, 2025 meeting.

The Commission voted to waive the deadline for Rule 26 NCAC 05 .0105 to allow the agency the opportunity to address
the RRC on the permanent rules before the Commission.

Jeff Gray, the rulemaking coordinator and general counsel for the agency, addressed the Commission.

Department of Environmental Quality
15A NCAC 01X .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0301, .0302, and .0303 were unanimously
approved.

The Chair called the meeting into a brief recess at 10:54 a.m. The meeting came out of recess at 11:01 a.m.

Environmental Management Commission

The Commission unanimously voted to object to 15A NCAC 02B .0733 for failing to meet the standards in G.S. 150B-
21.9(a)(1), (3), and (4) by adopting the staff opinion dated June 20, 2025.

Elly Young, with the Department of Justice and representing the agency, addressed the Commission.

Oil and Gas Commission
15A NCAC 05C .0101, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0110, .0111, .0112, .0113, .0115, .0116, .0117,
.0118, .0119, .0120, .0121, .0123, .0124, .0125, and .0126 were unanimously approved.

Coastal Resources Commission
15A NCAC 07H .0314 was unanimously approved.

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2), the Commission received over ten letters of objection requesting legislative review
and a delayed effective date for 15A NCAC 07H .0314.

Commission for Public Health
The Commission voted to object to 15ANCAC 18C .1540, finding that the rule did not satisfy G.S. 150B-21.9(a). Specifically,
the Commission adopted the opinion of staff dated June 19, 2025. Commissioner Powell voted against.

Bethany Burgon, with the Department of Justice and representing the agency, addressed the Commission.

Department of Revenue
17 NCAC 04B .0603, .0604, .0605, .0606, .0609, .0610, .0611, .0612, and .0614 were unanimously approved.

Board of Chiropractic Examiners
21 NCAC 10 .0204 was unanimously approved.

Locksmith Licensing Board
21 NCAC 29 .0404, .0702, and .0703 were unanimously approved.
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Agricultural Finance Authority
Prior to the review of the rules from the Agricultural Finance Authority, Commissioner Parker recused himself and did not
participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because of a potential conflict of interest.

24 NCAC 02D .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, and .0106 were approved.
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES)

Wildlife Resources Commission
15A NCAC 10C .0325 and 10D .0260 were unanimously approved.

EXISTING RULES REVIEW
Department of Commerce
04 NCAC 19L — The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency.

HHS - Division of Health Benefits
10A NCAC 21, 22 — The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency.

Sheriffs’ Education and Training Standards Commission
12 NCAC 10 — The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency.

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission
14B NCAC 15A — The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency.

Coastal Resources Commission
15A NCAC 07B - The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency.

Cemetery Commission
21 NCAC 07 - The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency.

Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors
21 NCAC 50 - The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency.

Respiratory Care Board
21 NCAC 61 - The Commission unanimously approved the report as submitted by the agency.

Board of Agriculture
02 NCAC 09,38,43,51,52 - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule the readoption of these
Rules no later than March 1, 2028 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2).

Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services
02 NCAC 52K - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule the readoption of these Rules no later
than September 1, 2027 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2).

Department of Insurance
11 NCAC 18, 20, 21 — As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule the readoption of these Rules
no later than June 1, 2027 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2).

Environmental Management Commission
15A NCAC 02S - As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule the readoption of these Rules no
later than August 1, 2027 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2).

Board of Chiropractic Examiners
21 NCAC 10 — As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule the readoption of these Rules no later
than June 1, 2027 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2).

Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners
21 NCAC 06 — As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule the readoption of these Rules no later
than February 1, 2028 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2).
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Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners
21 NCAC 14 — As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule the readoption of these Rules no later
than August 1, 2027 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2).

Board of Environmental Health Specialist Examiners
21 NCAC 62 — As reflected in the attached letter, the Commission voted to schedule the readoption of these Rules no later
than June 1, 2027 pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2).

COMMISSION BUSINESS

Request to modify 2024-2027 Existing Rules Review Schedule: Secretary of State

18 NCAC 01, 04, 13 — The agency requested early review of these reports, and that they be reviewed immediately. The
Commission adopted the staff opinion dated June 24, 2025. Specifically, the Commission waived the timing requirements
of 26 NCAC 05 .0205, granted the request for early review, reviewed the reports, and approved the reports as submitted by
the agency.

The meeting adjourned at 11:45 a.m.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Wednesday, July 30, 2025, at 10:00 a.m.

Alexander Burgos, Paralegal

Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission:
Jeanette Doran, Chair
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June 26, 2025

Rules Review Commission
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June 26, 2025

Rules Review Commission
Meeting
Please Print Legibly

Name Agency
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Rules Review Commission Meeting June 26, 2025

Via WebEx
Name Agency
Jennifer Fickler DEQ
Tamika Jenkins DHHS
Will Casola WRC
William Casola WRC
McGhee, Dana IC
Brian Liebman OAH
Funderburk, Amy DOI
Christenbury, Mike DEQ
Sophie Plott Labor
Wall, Ann B SOSNC
James Chapman DEQ
Jessica Montie DEQ
Christopher Ventaloro DEQ
Huisman, John DEQ
John Huisman DEQ
Julie Ventaloro OSBM
Willis, Angela DEQ
Rachel Love-Adrick DEQ
Todd, Mackenzie L DEQ
Jonathan Howell DEQ
Valerie Fegans Commerce
Toni Moore Commerce
Harper Buskirk Commerce
Dennis Seavers Barber Board
Catherine Blum DEQ
Julie Youngman SELC
Liz Rasheed SELC
Alexandra Bott
Julian Steinmeyer DOJ
Stephanie Schweickert ncconservationnetwork.org
Renee Metz ABC
Donna Coffey DHHS
Hope Ascher
Bill Croft NCRCB
Jaden Henderson DOJ
Shazia Keller DHHS
Rhonda Rivers leafspringcharlotte.com
R Pendergraft DPJ
Wilson Mize DHHS
Jack Kelly DEQ
Grant Simpkins hedrickgardner.com
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MEMORANDUM OF ABSTENTION FROM

PARTICIPATION IN OFFICIAL ACTION

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

In accordance with N.C. General Statute G.S. 138A-15(e), 1 have abstained from

taking any verbal or written action, including voting, on the agenda item regarding

Hyrieothy e Finana. pvthonty (Fm13)

1 have abstained because U{C_ o [Pml(i/l Pl C'O'V‘i[/fch owC itere st

R
This the A 4 day of \jV"" g ,202 .

Signature of Commi&sion Member

No public servant authorized to perform an official action requiring the exercise of discretion shall
knowingly participate in an official action by the board if the public servant, a member of the public
servant's extended family, or a business with which the public servant is associated has an economic
interest in, or a reasonably foreseeable benefit from, the matter under consideration, which would impair
the public servant's independence of judgment or from which it could be reasonably inferred that the
interest or benefit would influence the public servant's participation. A potential benefit includes a
detriment to a business competitor or (1) the public servant; (2) a member or the public servant's extended
family, or (3) a business with which the public servant is associated. The public servant shall abstain from
taking any verbal or written action and shall submit in writing to the board the reasons for the abstention.
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVEHEARINGS

June 26, 2025

Anna Hayworth

Sent via email to; Anna.Havworth@ncagr.gov

Re: Readoption deadline for 02 NCAC 09, 38, 43, 51, 52
Dear Ms. Hayworth:

Attached to this letter is a list of rules subject to readoption pursuant to the periodic review and expiration
of existing rules as set forth in G.8. 150B-21.3A. After consultation with your agency, the Rules Review
Commission established a readoption date for these rules at the Rules Review Commission meeting on June
26, 2025.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2), the rules listed in the attachment shall be readopted by the agency
no later than March 1, 2028.

If you have any questions regarding the Commission’s actions, please let me know.

Sincerely,

/s/ Travis Wiggs
Travis Wiggs
Commission Counsel

Donald Robert van der Vaart, Director John C. Evans
Chief Administrative Law Judge Senior Administrative Law Judge

An Equal Employment Opportunity Employer

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609
Telephone: (984) 236-1850 | Facsimile: (984) 236-1871
www.oah.ne.gov
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RRC DETERMINATION
PERIODIC RULE REVIEW
January 30, 2025
APQ Review: April 02, 2025
Agriculture, Board of

Total: 149

RRC Determination: Necessary

02 NCAC 09B
02 NCAC 08B
02 NCAC 08B
02 NCAC 02B
02 NCAC 08C
02 NCAC 08C
02 NCAC 08C
02 NCAC 08C
02 NCAC 02C
02 NCAC 08C
02 NCAC 08C
02 NCAC 09C
02 NCAC 08C
02 NCAC 02C
02 NCAC 08C
02 NCAC 09C
02 NCAC 09C
02 NCAC 09C
02 NCAC 09C
02 NCAC 09C
02 NCAC 08C
02 NCAC 02C
02 NCAC 09D
02 NCAC 08D
02 NCAC 09D
02 NCAC 08D
02 NCAC 08D

02 NCAC 08D
02 NCAC 0%E
02 NCAC 0SE
02 NCAC 0SE
02 NCAC 08E
02 NCAC 0%E
02 NCAC 09E
02 NCAC 0SE

02 NCAC 0SE .

.0116
.0133
.0134
.0135
.0301
.0302
.0303
.0304
.0305
.0306
.0308
.0501
.0502
.0503
.0504
.0505
.0506
.0507
.0601
.0701
.0702
.0703
0101
.0102
.0103
.0104
.0105
02 NCAC 08D .
.0107
.0101
.0102
.0103
.0104
0105
.0106
.0107

0106

0108

02 NCAC 09E .0109
02 NCAC 09E.0110
02 NCAC 09E .0111

02 NCAC 09E.0113
02 NCAC 09E .0115
02 NCAC 09E .0116
02 NCAC 09F .0101

02 NCAC 09F .0102
02 NCAC 09F .0103
02 NCAC 08F .0204
02 NCAC 08F .0301

02 NCAC 09F .0302
02 NCAC 09F 0303
02 NCAC 09F .0304
02 NCAC 08F .0305
02 NCAC 08F .0306
02 NCAC 09G .0101
02 NCAC 09G .0103
02 NCAC 09G .2001
02 NCAC 098G .2003
02 NCAC 09G .2004
02 NCAC 08G .2005
02 NCAC 09G .2008
02 NCAC 098G .2008
02 NCAC 08G .2010
02 NCAC 09H .0109
02 NCAC 09J.0101

02 NCAC 08J.0102

02 NCAC 08K .0101

02 NCAC 09K .0102
02 NCAC 08K .0103
02 NCAC 03K .0104
02 NCAC 09K .0105
02 NCAC 09K .0106
02 NCAC 08K .0107
02 NCAC 09K .0108
02 NCAC 08K .0109

02 NCAC 09K .0112
02 NCAC 09K .0113
02 NCAC 08K .0114
02 NCAC 08K .0201
02 NCAC 09K .0202
02 NCAC 09K .0203
02 NCAC 09K .0204
02 NCAC 09K .0205
02 NCAC 09K .0206
02 NCAC 09K .0207
02 NCAC 09K .0208
02 NCAC 09K .0209
02 NCAC 09K .0210
02 NCAC 09K .0211
02 NCAC 09K .0212
02 NCAC 09K .0213
02 NCAC 09K .0214
02 NCAC 09M .0101
02 NCAC 09M .0103
02 NCAC 09N 0101
02 NCAC 090 .0101
02 NCAC 090 .0102
02 NCAC 090 .0103
02 NCAC 080 .0104
02 NCAC 090 .0105
02 NCAC 090 .0106
02 NCAC 090 .0107
02 NCAC 38.0101
02 NCAC 38.0102
02 NCAC 38.0201
02 NCAC 38.0202
02 NCAC 38.0203
02 NCAC 38.0204
02 NCAC 38.0205
02 NCAC 38 .0301
02 NCAC 38.0401
02 NCAC 38.0501

02 NCAC 38,0502
02 NCAC 38.0504
02 NCAC 38.0505
02 NCAC 38.0507
02 NCAC 38.0508
02 NCAC 38.0601
02 NCAC 38.0603
02 NCAC 38,0604
02 NCAC 38.0701
02 NCAC 38.0702
02 NCAC 38.0703
02 NCAC 38.0704
02 NCAC 38.0705
02 NCAC 38.0801
02 NCAC 38.0802
02 NCAC 38,0803
02 NCAC 38.0804
02 NCAC 43F.0101
02 NCAC 43F .0102
02 NCAC 43F.0103
02 NCAC 43F.0104
02 NCAC 43F .0105
02 NCAC 43F .0106
02 NCAC 43F .0107
02 NCAC 43F.0108
02 NCAC 43F.0109
02 NCAC 43F.0110
02 NCAC 43F.0111
02 NCAC 51.0201
02 NCAC 51.0203
02 NCAC 52A.0101
02 NCAC 52A.0102
02 NCAC 52A.0103
02 NCAC 52A.0107
02 NCAC 52A.0110
02 NCAC 52A.0111
02 NCAC 52A.0112
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AR

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

June 26, 2025

Alisha Benjamin, Department of Insurance
Sent via email onlv to: alisha.benjamin@nedoi.gov

Re: Readoption deadline for 11 NCAC 18, 20, and 21
Dear Ms. Benjamin

Attached to this letter is a list of rules subject to readoption pursuant to the periodic review and expiration
of existing rules as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.3A. After consultation with your agency, the Rules Review
Commission established a readoption date for these rules at the June 26, 2025, Rules Review Commission
meeting,.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2), the rules listed in the attachment shall be readopted by the agency no
later than June 1, 2027,

If you have any questions regarding the Commission’s actions, please let me know.
Sincerely,

/s/ Seth Ascher
Seth Ascher
Commission Counsel

Donald Robert van der Vaart, Director John C. Evans
Chief Administrative Law Judge Senior Adminisirative Law Judge

An Equal Employment Opportunity Employer

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609
Telephone: (984) 236-1850 | Facsimile: (984) 236-1871
WWW.0diHC.ZOV
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Generated 4/16/2025 at 1:46 PM

RRC Determination: Necessary with substantive public interest

Rule
02 NCAC 52K ,0101
02 NCAC 52K .0102

02 NCAC 52K .0601
02 NCAC 52K 0602
02 NCAC 52K .0603
02 NCAC 52K .0604
02 NCAC 52K 0701
02 NCAC 52K .0702

RRC DETERMINATION

PERIODIC RULE REVIEW

January 30, 2025

APO Review: April 02, 2025
Agriculture, Commissioner of

Total: 20

Determination

Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
Necessary with substantive public interest
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVEHEARINGS

June 26, 2025

Anna Hayworth
Sent via email to: Anna.Hayworth@ncagr.gov

Re: Readoption deadline for 02 NCAC 52K
Dear Ms, Hayworth:

Atlached to this letter is a list of rules subject to readoption pursuant to the periodic review and expiration
of existing rules as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.3A. After consultation with your agency, the Rules Review
Commission established a readoption date for these rules at the Rules Review Commission meeting on June
26, 2025.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2), the rules listed in the attachment shall be readopted by the agency
no later than September 1, 2027.

If you have any questions regarding the Commission’s actions, please let me know.

Sincerely,

/s/ Travis Wiggs
Travis Wiggs
Commission Counsel

Donald Robert van der Vaart, Direclor John C. Evans
Chief Administrative Law Judge Senior Administrative Law Judge

An Equal Employment Opportunity Employer
1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609
Telephone: (984) 236-1850 | Facsimile: (984) 236-1871
www.oah.ne.gov
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11 NCAC 18

11 NCAC 18
11 NCAC 18
11 NCAC 18
11 NCAC 18
11 NCAC 18
11 NCAC 18
11 NCAC 18
11 NCAC 18
11 NCAC 18
11 NCAC 18
11 NCAC 18
11 NCAC 18
11 NCAC 18
11 NCAC 18
11 NCAC 18

11 NCAC 18
11 NCAC 18
11 NCAC 18

11 NCAC 20.
.0201
.0202
.0203
11 NCAC 20.
0205
.0301

11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20

11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20

T1TNCAC20.
11 NCAC20.
.0401

11 NCAC 20

.0101
T1NCAC18.
0103
0104
.0105
.0106
.0107
.0108
.0109
.0110
0111
.0112
0113
.0114
0115
.0116
0117
11 NCAC 18.
0119
0120
0121

0102

0118

0101

0204

0302
0304

RRC DETERMINATION: Necessary

PERIODIC RULE REVIEW
November 26, 2024
APO Review: January 26, 2025
Insurance, Department of
Total: 62

11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 20
11 NCAC 21
11 NCAC 21
11 NCAC 21
11 NCAC 21
11 NCAC 21
11 NCAC 21
11 NCAC 21
11 NCAC 21
11 NCAC 21
11 NCAC 21

.0402
.0403
.0404
-0405
.0406
0407
.0408
0410
0411
.0501
.0502
0503
0504
.0505
0508
.0507
.0508
.0508
.0511
.0601
.0602
L0101
.0102
.0103
.0104
.0105
.0106
0107
0108
.0109
.0110
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

June 26, 2025

Jennifer Everett, Environmental Management Commission
Sent via email only to: Jennifer.everett@deg.nc.gov

Re: Readoption deadline for 15A NCAC 028
Dear Ms. Everett,

Attached to this letter is a list of rules subject to readoption pursuant to the periodic review and expiration
of existing rules as set forth in G.8. 150B-21.3A. After consultation with your agency. the Rules Review
Commission established a readoption date for these rules at the June 26, 2025, Rules Review Commission
meeting.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2), the rules listed in the attachment shall be readopted by the agency no
later than August 1, 2027.

If you have any questions regarding the Commission’s actions, please let me know.
Sincerely,

/s/ Seth Ascher
Seth Ascher
Commission Counsel

Donald Robert van der Vaart, Direclor John C. Evans
Chief Administrative Law Judge Senior Administrative Law Judge

An Equal Employment Opportunity Employer

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609
Telephone: (984) 236-1850 | Facsimile: (984) 236-1871
WWW.0dH.HE.gov
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

RRC DETERMINATION
PERIODIC RULE REVIEW
February 27, 2025
APOQO Review: April 30, 2025

Environmental Management Commission

Total: 16

RRC Determination: Necessary

15ANCAC 028
15A NCAC 028
15ANCAC 028
15ANCAC 025
1SANCAC 028

15A NCAC 025
15A NCAC 023
15A NCAC 028
15A NCAC 028
15ANCAC 028
18A NCAC 028
15A NCAC 028
15ANCAC 025
15ANCAC 028
15ANCAC 028

0101
.0102
.0103
.0201
.0202
15ANCAC 02S.
.0302
.0501
.0502
.0503
.0504
.0505
.0506
.0507
.0508
.0509

0301
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVEHEARINGS

June 26, 2025

Dennis Seavers

Sent via email to: Dennis.Seavers@ne.gov

Re: Readoption deadline for 21 NCAC 06
Dear Mr. Seavers:

Attached to this letter is a list of rules subject to readoption pursuant to the periodic review and expiration
of existing rules as set forth in G.8. 150B-21.3A. After consuliation with your agency, the Rules Review
Commission established a readoption date for these rules at the Rules Review Commission meeting on June
26, 2025.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2), the rules listed in the attachment shall be readopted by the agency
no later than February 1, 2028.

1f you have any questions regarding the Commission’s actions, please let me know.

Sincerely,

/s/ Travis Wiggs
Travis Wiggs
Commission Counsel

Donald Robert van der Vaart. Director Johm C. Evans
Chief Administrative Law Judge Senior Administrative Law Judge

An Equal Employment Opportunity Employer

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609
Telephone: (984) 236-1850 | Facsimile: (984) 236-1871
www.oah.ne.gov

40:03

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

AUGUST 1, 2025

392



RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

RRC Determination:
21 NCAC 06A.0102
21 NCAC 06B .0101
21 NCAC 06B .0105
21 NCAC 06B .0202
21 NCAC 06B .0307
21 NCAC 06B .0501
21 NCAC 06B .0502
21 NCAC 06B .05083
21 NCAC 06C .0204
21 NCAC 06C .0903
21 NCAC 06C .0905
21 NCAC 06C .0906
21 NCAC 06C .0907
21 NCAC 06C .0912
21 NCAC 06C .0913
21 NCAC 06F .0101
21 NCAC 06F .0102
21 NCAC 06F .0103
21 NCAC 06F .0104
21 NCAC 06F .0109
21 NCAC 06F .0110
21 NCAC 06F .0111
21 NCAC 06F .0113
21 NCAC 06F .0116
21 NCAC 06F .0119
21 NCAC 06F .0120
21 NCAC 06F .0121
21 NCAC 06F .0122
21 NCAC 06F .0123
21 NCAC 06F .0124
21 NCAC 06F .0125
21 NCAC 06F .0126
21 NCAC 06F .0127
21 NCAC 06F .0128
21 NCAC 06G .0103
21 NCAC 06G .0106

RRC DETERMINATION
PERIODIC RULE REVIEW
February 27, 2025
APO Review: April 30, 2025

Barber and Electrotysis Examiners, Board of

Total: 140

Necessary

21 NCAC 06H .0101
21 NCAC 061.0101

21 NCAC 061.0105

21 NCAC 06}.0101

21 NCAC06J.0108

21 NCAC 06J.0109

21 NCAC 06J.0110

21 NCAC 06K .0101
21 NCAC 06K .0104
21 NCAC 06K .0110
21 NCAC 06K .0111
21 NCAC 06K .0112
21 NCAC 06K .0113
21 NCAC 06L .0102
21 NCAC 06L .0103
21 NCAC 06L .0104
21 NCAC 06L .0105
21 NCAC 06L .0106
21 NCAC 06L .0107
21 NCAC 06L .0109
21 NCAC 06L .0111

21 NCAC 06L .0112
21 NCAC 06L .0113
21 NCAC 06L.0114
21 NCAC 06L .0115
21 NCAC 06L .0116
21 NCAC 06L.0117
21 NCAC 06L.0118
21 NCAC 06L.0119
21 NCAC 06L .0120
21 NCAC 06N .0101
21 NCAC 06N .0102
21 NCAC 06N .0103
21 NCAC 06N .0104
21 NCAC 06N .0105
21 NCAC 06N .0106

21 NCAC 06N .0107
21 NCAC 06N .0109
21 NCAC 06N .0110
21 NCAC 06N .0111
21 NCAC 06N .0112
21 NCAC 06N .0113
21 NCAC 06N .0114
21 NCAC 06N .0117
21 NCAC 060.0101
21 NCAC 060 .0102
21 NCAC 060.0103
21 NCAC 060.0104
21 NCAC 060.0105
21 NCAC 060.0106
21 NCAC 060.0107
21 NCAC 060.0108
21 NCAC 060 .0109
21 NCAC 060 .0110
21 NCAC 060 .0111
21 NCAC 060.0112
21 NCAC 060 .0113
21 NCAC 060.0114
21 NCAC 060 .0115
21 NCAC 060 .0116
21 NCAC 060 .0117
21 NCAC 060.0118
21 NCAC 060 .0119
21 NCAC 060 .0121
21 NCAC 060 .0122
21 NCAC 06P .0101
21 NCAC 06P .0103
21 NCAC 06Q .0101
21 NCAC 06R .0101
21 NCAC 06S .0101
21 NCAC 06T.0103
21 NCAC 06U .0101

21 NCAC 06U .0102
21 NCAC 06U .0103
21 NCAC 06U .0104
21 NCAC 06U .0105
21 NCAC 06V .0101

21 NCAC 06V .0102
21 NCAC 06V .0103
21 NCAC 06V .0104
21 NCAC 06V .0105
21 NCAC 06V .0106
21 NCAC 06V .0107
21 NCAC 06V .0108
21 NCAC 06V .0109
21 NCAC 06V .0110
21 NCAC 06W.0101
21 NCAC 06X .0101

21 NCAC 06X.0102
21 NCAC 06X .0103
21 NCAC 06X .0104
21 NCAC 06X.0105
21 NCAC 06X .0106
21 NCAC 06X.0107
21 NCAC 06X.0108
21 NCAC 06X.0109
21 NCAC 06X .0110
21 NCAC 06X .0112
21 NCAC 06Y.0101

21 NCAC 06Y.0102
21 NCAC 06Y.0103
21 NCAC 06Y .0104
21 NCAC 06Y .0105
21 NCAC 06Y .0106
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

June 26, 2025

Dr, Joe Siragusa, Board of Chiropractic Examiners
Sent via email only to: dr.joe@ncchiroboard.com

Re: Readoption deadline for 21 NCAC 10
Dear Dr. Siragusa,

Attached to this letter is a list of rules subject to readoption pursuant to the periodic review and expiration
of existing rules as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.3A. After consultation with your agency, the Rules Review
Commission established a readoption date for these rules at the June 26, 2025, Rules Review Commission
meeting.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2), the rules listed in the attachment shall be readopted by the agency no
later than June 1, 2027,

If you have any questions regarding the Commission’s actions, please let me know,
Sincerely,

/s/ Seth Ascher
Seth Ascher
Commission Counsel

Donald Robert van der Vaart, Dircctor John C. Evans
Chief Administrative Law Judge Senior Administrative Law Judge

An Equal Employment Opportunity Employer

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609
Telephone: (984) 236-1850 | Facsimile: (984) 236-1871
www.oah.nc.gov
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

RRC DETERMINATION
PERIODIC RULE REVIEW
December 19, 2024
APO Review: February 18, 2025
Chiropractic Examiners, Board of
Total: 30

RRC Determination: Necessary

21 NCAC10
21 NCAC 10
21 NCAC 10
21NCAC10
21 NCAC 10
21NCAC10
21NCAC 10
21 NCAC10
21NCAC 10
21NCAC 10
21 NCAC 10
21 NCAC 10
21NCAC 10
21 NCAC 10
21 NCAC 10
21 NCAC 10
21 NCAC 10
21 NCAC 10
21 NCAC 10
21 NCAC10
21 NCAC10
21 NCAC 10
21 NCAC10.
21 NCAC10.
21 NCAC10.
21 NCAC10.
21 NCAC10.
21 NCAC10.
21NCAC10.
21NCAC10.

0103
.0104
.0202
.0203
.0204
.0207
.0208
.0209
.0210
0211
0212
.0213
.0215
.0216
0217
.0302
.0303
.0304
.0305
.0306
.0401
.0403

0406
0501
0503
0504
0706
0708
0708
0803
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

June 26, 2025

Stefanie Kuzdrall, Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners

Sent via email only to: skuzdrall@nccosmeticarts.com

Re: Readoption deadline for 21 NCAC 14
Dear Ms. Kuzdrall,

Attached to this letter is a list of rules subject to readoption pursuant to the periodic review and expiration
of existing rules as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.3A. After consultation with your agency, the Rules Review
Commission established a readoption date for these rules at the June 26, 2025, Rules Review Commission
meeting.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2), the rules listed in the attachment shall be readopted by the agency no
later than August 1, 2027.

If you have any questions regarding the Commission’s actions, please let me know.
Sincerely,

/s/ Seth Ascher
Seth Ascher
Commission Counsel

Donald Robert van der Vaart, Director John C. Evans
Chief Administrative Law Judge Senior Administrative Law Judge

An Equal Empioyment Opportunity Employer

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609
Telephone: (984) 236-1850 | Facsimile: (984) 236-1871
www.oah.ne.gov
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

RRC DETERMINATION
PERIODIC RULE REVIEW
December 19, 2024

APO Review: February 19, 2025
Cosmetic Art Examiners, Board of

RRC Determination: Necessary

21 NCAC 14A.0101
21 NCAC 14A.0104
21 NCAC 14A .0401
21 NCAC 14A.0402
21 NCAC 14A.0403
21 NCAC 14A .0404
21 NCAC 14B .0101
21 NCAC 14B .0102
21 NCAC 14B .0105
21 NCAC 14B .0107
21 NCAC 14B .0201
21 NCAC 14B .0302
21 NCAC 14B .0304
21 NCAC 14B .0305
21 NCAC 14B .0306
21 NCAC 14B .0307
21 NCAC 14B .0308
21 NCAC 14B .0309
21 NCAC 14B .0501
21 NCAC 14B .0502
21 NCAC 14B .0503
21 NCAC 14B .0505
21 NCAC 14B .0506
21 NCAC 14B .0601
21 NCAC 14B .0603
21 NCAC 14B .0605
21 NCAC 14B .0607
21 NCAC 14B .0608
21 NCAC 14C .0101
21 NCAC 14C .0103
21 NCAC 14C .0201
21 NCAC 14C .0203
21 NCAC 14C .0204
21 NCAC 14C .0205

21 NCAC 14C
21 NCAC 14C
21 NCAC 14C
21 NCAC 14C
21 NCAC 14C
21 NCAC 14C
21 NCAC14C
21 NCAC 14C
21 NCAC 14C
21 NCAC 14C
21 NCAC 14C
21 NCAC 14C
21 NCAC 14C
21 NCAC 14C
21 NCAC 14D
21 NCAC 14D
21 NCAC 14D
21 NCAC 14D
21 NCAC 14D
21 NCAC 14D
21 NCAC 14D
21 NCAC 14D
21 NCAC 14D
21 NCAC 14D
21 NCAC 14D
21 NCAC 14D
21 NCAC 14G
21 NCAC 14H
21 NCAC 14H
21 NCAC 14H
21 NCAC 14H
21 NCAC 14H
21 NCAC 14H
21 NCAC 14H

Total: 136

.0503 21 NCAC 14H .0401
.0601 21 NCAC 14H .0402
.0801 21 NCAC 14H .0403
.0802 21 NCAC 14H .0404
.0803 21 NCAC 14H .0501
.0804 21 NCAC 14H .0502
.0805 21 NCAC 14H .0503
.0807 21 NCAC 14H .0504
.0808 21 NCAC 141 .0401

.0903 21 NCAC 14N .0102
.0904 21 NCAC 14N .0103
.0906 21 NCAC 14N .0107
.0907 21 NCAC 14N .0110
.0908 21 NCAC 14N .0111
.0101 21 NCAC 14P .0101
.0103 21 NCAC 14P .0102
.0104 21 NCAC 14P .0104
.0105 21 NCAC 14P .0105
.0302 21 NCAC 14P .0106
.0303 21 NCAC 14P .0107
.0305 21 NCAC 14P .0108
.0306 21 NCAC 14P .0109
.0307 21 NCAC 14P .0110
.0308 21 NCAC 14P .0111
.0309 21 NCAC 14P .0113
.0310 21 NCAC 14P .0115
.0116 21 NCAC 14P .0116
.0201 21 NCAC 14P .0117
.0203 21 NCAC 14R .0105
.0204 21 NCAC 14T.0101
.0301 21 NCAC 14T .0102
.0302 21 NCAC 14T .0201
.0303 21 NCAC 14T .0301
.0304 21 NCAC 14T .0302

21 NCAC 14T7.0303
21 NCAC 14T7.0304
21 NCAC 14T7.0305
21 NCAC 14T .0401
21 NCAC 14T .0402
21 NCAC 14T .0403
21 NCAC 14T.0404
21 NCAC 147.0501
21 NCAC 14T .0502
21 NCAC 14T .0601
21 NCAC 14T .0602
21 NCAC 14T .0603
21 NCAC 14T .0604
21 NCAC 14T .0605
21 NCAC 14T .0606
21 NCAC 147 .0607
21 NCAC 14T .0608
21 NCAC 14T .0609
21 NCAC 147 .0610
21 NCAC 147.0611
21 NCAC 14T .0612
21 NCAC 14T7.0613
21 NCAC 14T7.0614
21 NCAC 14T .0615
21 NCAC 14T .0616
21 NCAC 14T .0617
21 NCAC 14T .0701
21 NCAC 14T7.0702
21 NCAC 14T.0703
21 NCAC 14T.0705
21 NCAC 14T.0706
21 NCAC 14T.0802
21 NCAC 14T.0803
21 NCAC 14T.0801
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

June 26, 2025

Wilson Mize, Board of Environmental Health Specialist Examiners
Sent via email only to: Wilson.mize@dhhs.ne.gov

Re: Readoption deadline for 21 NCAC 62
Dear Mr, Mize,

Attached to this letter is a list of rules subject to readoption pursuant to the periodic review and expiration
of existing rules as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.3A. After consultation with your agency, the Rules Review
Commission established a readoption date for these rules at the June 26, 2025, Rules Review Commission
meeting.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A(d)(2), the rules listed in the attachment shall be readopted by the agency no
later than June 1, 2027.

If you have any questions regarding the Commission’s actions, please let me know.
Sincerely,

/s/ Seth Ascher
Seth Ascher
Commission Counsei

Donald Robert van der Vaart, Director John C, Evans
Chief Administrative Law Judge Senior Administrative Law Judge

An Equal Employment Opportunity Employer

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609
Telephone: (984) 236-1850 | Facsimile: (984) 236-1871
www.oah.ne.gov
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

RRC DETERMINATION
PERIODIC RULE REVIEW
December 19, 2024
APO Review: February 19, 2025
Environmental Health Specialist Examiners, Board of
Total: 13

RRC Determination: Necessary

21 NCAC 62
21 NCAC 62
21 NCAC 62
21 NCAC 62
21 NCAC 62
21 NCAC 62
21 NCAC 62
21 NCAC 62
21 NCAC 62
21 NCAC 62
21 NCAC 62
21 NCAC 62
21 NCAC 62

.0102
.0103
.0201
.0401
.0402
.0403
.0404
.0405
.0406
.0407
0411
.0414
.0415
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES

June 26, 2025 Meeting
CHILD CARE COMMISSION

Definitions 10ANCAC 09 .0102
License 10A NCAC 09 .2902
Family Services 10A NCAC 09 .2905
Facility Requirements 10A NCAC 09 .3002
Staff-to-Child Ratio and Class Size 10A NCAC 09 .3009
Family Engagement 10A NCAC 09 .3010
Scope 10A NCAC 09 .3201
Application for a Two Through Five Start Rated License 10A NCAC 09 .3202
Program Assessment Pathway for Child Care Centers 10ANCAC 09 .3203
Program Assessment Pathway for Family Child Care Homes 10A NCAC 09 .3204
Classroom and Instructional Quality Pathway for Child Car... 10A NCAC 09 .3205
Classroom and Instructional Quality Pathway for Family Ch... 10A NCAC 09 .3206
Accreditation and Head Start Pathway for Child Care Facil... 10A NCAC 09 .3207
Enhanced Staff/Child Ratios for a Rated License for Child... 10A NCAC 09 .3208
Reduced, Enhanced Staff/Child Care Rations for a Rated... 10A NCAC 09 .3209
Enhanced Space Requirements for Child Care Centers 10ANCAC 09 .3210
Enhanced Education Standards for Child Care Center On-Sit... 10A NCAC 09 .3211
Enhanced Education Standards for Child Care Center Lead... 10ANCAC 09 .3212
Enhanced Education Standards for Child Care Center Teachers 10ANCAC 09 .3213
Enhanced Education Standards for Program Coordinators in ... 10ANCAC 09 .3214
Enhanced Education Standards for Group Leaders in Child... 10ANCAC 09 .3215
Enhanced Education Standards for Administrators of Child ... 10A NCAC 09 .3216
Enhanced Education Standards for Family Child Care Home... 10ANCAC 09 .3217
Competency Evaluations 10ANCAC 09 .3218
Family and Community Engagement Standards for Child Care ... 10ANCAC 09 .3219
Family and Community Engagement Standards for Family Chil... 10A NCAC 09 .3220
Continuous Quality Improvement (CQl) Standards 10ANCAC 09 .3221
Maintaining the Star Rating 10ANCAC 09 .3222
How an Operator May Request or Appeal a Change in Rating 10ANCAC 09 .3223
Recognition of Quality Initiatives 10ANCAC 09 .3224
Accrediting Organizations and Star Rating Equivalency 10A NCAC 09 .3225
Approval of Formative Assessments 10A NCAC 09 .3226
SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION

Lateral Transfer/Reinstatements 12 NCAC 10B .0406
In-State Lateral Transfer of a Deputy Sheriff 12 NCAC 10B .0411
Evaluation for Training Waiver 12 NCAC 10B .0505
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, DEPARTMENT OF

Purpose 15A NCAC 01X .0101
Definitions 15A NCAC 01X .0102
Applicability 15A NCAC 01X .0103
Requests for Express Review 15A NCAC 01X .0104
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

Granting Requests for Express Review 15A NCAC 01X .0105
Processing of Requests for Express Review 15A NCAC 01X .0106
Project Eligibility 15A NCAC 01X .0201
Application Submission Requirements 15A NCAC 01X .0202
Review of Applications 15A NCAC 01X .0203
Project Eligibility 15A NCAC 01X .0301
Application Submission Requirements 15A NCAC 01X .0302
Review of Applications 15A NCAC 01X .0303
OIL AND GAS COMMISSION

Definitions 15A NCAC 05C .0101
Correspondence 15A NCAC 05C .0103
Site Regulation 15A NCAC 05C .0104
Permit Required 15A NCAC 05C .0105
Permit Application 15A NCAC 05C .0106
Permit Duration 15A NCAC 05C .0107
Geographic Limits on Work 15A NCAC 05C .0108
Seismic Agents 15A NCAC 05C .0109
Daily Report Required 15A NCAC 05C .0110
Notification 15A NCAC 05C .0111
Size of Explosive Charges 15A NCAC 05C .0112
Placing of Charges 15A NCAC 05C .0113
Removal 15A NCAC 05C .0115
Identification 15A NCAC 05C .0116
Pipes and Bouys 15A NCAC 05C .0117
Explosives 15A NCAC 05C .0118
Shooting 15A NCAC 05C .0119
Minimum Depths 15A NCAC 05C .0120
Detailed Provisions 15A NCAC 05C .0121
Powers of Seismic Agents 15A NCAC 05C .0123
Duties of Party Chief 15A NCAC 05C .0124
Release From These Regulations 15A NCAC 05C .0125
Duties of Operators 15A NCAC 05C .0126
COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION

Installation and Maintenance of Wheat Straw Bales for San... 15A NCAC O07H .0314
REVENUE, DEPARTMENT OF

Independent Bookingkeeping 17 NCAC 04B .0603
CPA's: Not a Regulatory License 17 NCAC 04B .0604
Draftsman 17 NCAC 04B .0605
Grave Plots 17 NCAC 04B .0606
Optician 17 NCAC 04B .0609
Physical Therapist 17 NCAC 04B .0610
Practicing Physicians 17 NCAC 04B .0611
Government Attorneys-at-Law and Other Professionals Exemp... 17 NCAC 04B .0612
Psychologist 17 NCAC 04B .0614
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS, BOARD OF
Licensure; Renewal of License 21 NCAC 10 .0204

LOCKSMITH LICENSING BOARD

Fees 21 NCAC 29 .0404
Due Date 21 NCAC 29 .0702
Reinstatement of Expired License 21 NCAC 29 .0703

AGRICULTURAL FINANCE AUTHORITY

Purpose 24 NCAC 02D .0101
Definitions 24 NCAC 02D .0102
Evaluation of Applications 24 NCAC 02D .0103
Grant Agreement 24 NCAC 02D .0104
Reporting 24 NCAC 02D .0105
Records 24 NCAC 02D .0106
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	Title 02 – Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Agriculture intends to amend the rules cited as 02 NCAC 37 .0201-.0203.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncagr.gov/divisions/legal-affairs/legal-affairs-rules
	Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025
	Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Any person may request a public hearing on the proposed rules by submitting a request in writing no later than August 16th, 2025 to Anna Hayworth...
	Reason for Proposed Action:  These rules (02 NCAC 37 .0201- soil testing; 02 NCAC 37 .0202 - plant analysis to include analysis of waste, solutions, and media; and 02 NCAC 37 .0203 - nematode assay) mandate the delivery of agronomic laboratory advisor...
	Comment period ends:  September 30, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 37 - Agronomic Services
	SECTION .0200 - PROGRAMS
	The Agronomic Services Division shall analyze all samples for volume weight, pH, BpH, humic matter, phosphorus, potassium, calcium, magnesium, manganese, copper and zinc. The Agronomic Services Division shall make nutrient and management recommendatio...
	(a)  The Agronomic Services Division shall analyze all samples for volume weight, pH, BpH, humic matter, phosphorus, potassium, calcium, magnesium, sulfur, sodium, manganese, copper and zinc. The Agronomic Services Division shall make nutrient and man...
	(b)  Fees for these services shall be as follows:
	(1) Routine soil analysis during peak season - five dollars ($5.00).
	(2) Expedited soil testing – two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00).
	(3) Special services:

	(a)  The Agronomic Services Division shall analyze all samples for nitrogen, phosphorus, potassium, calcium, magnesium, manganese, copper, zinc, boron and other elements, as needed to make recommendations for corrective action. Results of the test and...
	(b)  Fees for these services, to be paid at the time of submission, shall be as follows:
	(1) Routine plant analysis - $5.00. ten dollars ($10.00).
	(2) Routine solution analysis - $5.00. ten dollars ($10.00).
	(3) Routine soilless media analysis - $5.00. ten dollars ($10.00).
	(4) Routine waste analysis - $8.00. fifteen dollars ($15.00).
	(5) Research plant, waste, soilless media, and solution analysis – twelve dollars ($12.00).
	(6) Nonresident plant, waste, soilless media, and solution analysis – twenty-five dollars ($25.00).
	(7) Special services:

	(a)  Individuals desiring nematode analysis may obtain sample containers and instructions from the Agronomic Services Division, county extension office, farm supply dealers, Agronomic Division Regional Agronomists, or other local agricultural advisors...
	(b)  Per sample fees for those services, to be paid at the time of submission, are as follows:
	(1) Routine nematode assay - $3.00. ten dollars ($10.00).
	(2) Research nematode assay - $10.00. fifteen dollars ($15.00).
	(3) Pinewood nematode assay - $10.00. fifteen dollars ($15.00).
	(4) Nematode species identification by molecular diagnosis - $20.00. thirty dollars ($30.00).
	(5) Out-of-state surcharge – ten dollars ($10.00).
	(6) Regulatory assay – twenty dollars ($20.00).



	Title 12 – Department of Justice
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0412, amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 10B .1002, .1006, .1202, .1206, .1402, .1406...
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/n...
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/sheriffs/all-certification-forms-publications/proposed-rule-amendments/
	Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025
	Reason for Proposed Action:
	12 NCAC 10B .0412- This new rule sets forth the requirements of G.S. 17E - 16 for agencies to report critical incidents to the Division to be maintained in a database.
	12 NCAC 10B .1002 - This amended rule updates the Professional certificate program for sheriffs by pulling information from .1004 and.1005.
	12 NCAC 10B .1006 - This amended rule updates the Professional certificate program for sheriffs by specifying how to apply.
	12 NCAC 10B .1202 - This amended rule updates the Professional certificate program for sheriffs by pulling information from .1204 and.1205.
	12 NCAC 10B .1206 - This amended rule updates the Professional certificate program for sheriffs by specifying how to apply.
	12 NCAC 10B .1402 - This amended rule updates the Professional certificate program for sheriffs by pulling information from .1404 and.1405.
	12 NCAC 10B .1406 - This amended rule updates the Professional certificate program for sheriffs by specifying how to apply.
	12 NCAC 10B .1602 - This amended rule updates the Professional certificate program for sheriffs by pulling information from .1604 and.1605.
	12 NCAC 10B .1606 - This amended rule updates the Professional certificate program for sheriffs by specifying how to apply.
	12 NCAC 10B .1901 - This amended rule updates the military transferee rules to streamline the language regarding when the applicant submits documentation to the Division.
	The following rules are repealed since the relevant information has been incorporated into the above listed proposed amended rules.
	12 NCAC 10B .1004, .1005, .1204, .1205, .1404, .1405, .1604, .1605.
	Comment period ends:  September 30, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 10 - Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission
	SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION
	SECTION .0400 - CERTIFICATION OF JUSTICE OFFICERS
	(a)  For all law enforcement agencies in the State that employ personnel certified by the North Criminal Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission, the Department Head shall submit the Critical Incident Report, Form F-27, to the Sheriff's ...
	(1) date and time of incident;
	(2) location of incident;
	(3) officer involved;
	(4) whether the incident involved serious bodily injury or death; and
	(5) notice that the officer has 30 days after receipt to request a hearing in superior court for a determination of whether the officer's involvement was properly placed in the database and that if a copy of that filing is not provided to the Division...

	(b)  Information contained in the submitted Critical Incident Report, (F-27), that is confidential under state or federal law shall remain confidential.
	(c)  The Division shall develop and maintain a statewide database for use by law enforcement agencies that tracks all critical incident data in North Carolina that is reported to the Division.

	SECTION .1000 - PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE PROGRAM FOR SHERIFFS AND DEPUTY SHERIFFS
	(a)  In order to be eligible for one or more of the professional awards, certificates, a sheriff or deputy sheriff shall first meet the following preliminary qualifications:
	(1) be an elected or appointed sheriff or be a deputy sheriff who holds valid General general or Grandfather Certification. grandfather certification as defined in G.S. 17E-7(a). A deputy sheriff serving under a probationary certification is not eligi...
	(2) be familiar with and subscribe to the Law Enforcement Code of Ethics as promulgated by the International Association of Chiefs of Police; and meet and maintain the requirements of certification pursuant to Rule .0301 and Section .0500 of this Subc...
	(3) if the applicant is a deputy sheriff, the applicant shall be a full-time sworn law enforcement officer of a North Carolina Sheriff's Office, as certified in writing by the sheriff; sheriff's office. or be a full-time law enforcement officer of an ...

	(b)  Employees of a North Carolina Sheriff's Office who have previously held general or grandfather law enforcement officer certification but are presently, by virtue of promotion or transfer, serving in non-sworn positions not subject to certificatio...
	(c)  Only training or experience gained in an officer's area of expertise as described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule is eligible for application to this program.
	(d)  Certificates shall be awarded based upon a formula that combines formal education, law enforcement training, and actual experience as in a sworn law enforcement officer. position as defined in Rule .0103(19) of this Subchapter. These professional...
	(1) each semester hour of college credit shall equal one education point and each quarter hour shall equal two-thirds of an education point. No correspondence or vocational courses shall be credited towards education points unless an accredited instit...
	(2) twenty 20 classroom hours of commission-approved law enforcement training shall equal one training point; and
	(3) experience as a sworn law enforcement officer as defined in Rule .0103(19) of this Subchapter is acceptable for consideration.

	(e)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Paragraphs (a), (b), (c), and (d) of this Rule, applicants for the Intermediate Law Enforcement Certificate shall have acquired the following combination of educational points or degrees, law enforce...
	(f)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Paragraphs (a), (b), (c), and (d) of this Rule, applicants for the Advanced Law Enforcement Certificate shall have acquired the following combination of educational points or degrees, law enforcement...
	(g)  Educational points or degrees claimed shall have been earned at a technical institute, technical college, community college, junior college, college or university accredited as such by the Department of Education of the state in which the institu...
	(h)  No more than 160 hours of training obtained by completing an accredited basic law enforcement training program required to serve in a sworn law enforcement position as defined in Rule .0103(19) of this Subchapter shall be credited toward training...
	(a)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Rule .1002 of this Section, applicants for the Intermediate Law Enforcement Certificate shall possess or be eligible to possess the Basic Law Enforcement Certificate and shall have acquired the follo...
	(b)  Educational points and degrees claimed shall have been earned at a technical institute, technical college, community college, junior college, college or university accredited as such by the Department of Education of the state in which the instit...
	(c)  No more than 160 hours of training obtained by completing the commission-mandated basic law enforcement training course shall be credited toward training points.
	(a)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Rule.1002 of this Section, applicants for the Advanced Law Enforcement Certificate shall possess or be eligible to possess the Intermediate Law Enforcement Certificate and shall have acquired the fol...
	(b)  Educational points or degrees claimed shall have been earned at a technical institute, technical college, community college, junior college, college or university accredited as such by the Department of Education of the state in which the institu...
	(c)  No more than 160 hours of training obtained by completing the commission-mandated basic law enforcement training course shall be credited toward training points.
	(a)  All applicants for an award of the basic, intermediate or advanced professional certificates for sheriffs and deputy sheriffs shall complete an "Application: Professional Certificate/Service Award", (F-6). the "Application for Professional Certif...
	(b)  Documentation of education shall be provided by copies of transcripts, diplomas, or certified letters from the accredited institution.
	(c)  Documentation of training shall be provided by copies of training records signed by the agency's training officer or department head, or by providing certificates of completion. Military Police Officers shall provide a military DD -214 form DD214...
	(d)  Military Police Officers shall provide a military DD214, Certificate of Release from Active Duty form, for verification of service. Federal government employees with service in a sworn law enforcement position, as defined in Rule .0103(19) of thi...
	(d)(e)  Documentation of the applicant's length of service in North Carolina shall be based upon the Division's certification records, however, oaths of office may be requested of the applicant. applicant if confirmation of dates of service is require...
	(e)(f)  The applicant shall submit the "Application: Professional Certificate/Service Award", (F-6) "Application for Professional Certificate/Service Award," Form F-6, shall be signed by the department head and forwarded to the Division. to the agency...

	SECTION .1200 - PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE PROGRAM FOR DETENTION OFFICERS
	(a)  In order to be eligible for one or more of the detention officer professional awards, certificates, a detention officer shall first meet the following preliminary qualifications:
	(1) be a full-time detention officer who holds a valid general or grandfather certification. certification as defined in G.S. 17E-7(a). A detention officer serving under a probationary certification is not eligible for consideration. Any detention off...
	(2) any detention officer subject to suspension or revocation proceedings, under investigation for possible decertification action, under a period of active revocation of their certification, or under probation or suspended sanction, by the Commission...
	(2)(3) be familiar with and subscribe to the Law Enforcement Code of Ethics as promulgated by the International Association of Chiefs of Police including any subsequent editions or modifications thereto. A copy of the Code of Ethics may be obtained at...

	(b)  Employees of a North Carolina Sheriff's Office sheriff's office who have previously held a general or grandfather detention officer certification certification, but are presently, by virtue of promotion or transfer, serving in positions not subje...
	(c)  Only training and experience gained in an officer's area of expertise expertise, as described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, shall be eligible for application to this program.
	(d)  Certificates shall be awarded based upon a formula contained herein which that combines formal education, training, and actual experience as a detention officer. Points are computed in the following manner:
	(1) each semester hour of college credit shall equal one education point and each quarter hour of college credit shall equal two thirds of an education point. No correspondence or vocational courses shall be credited towards education points unless an...
	(2) twenty 20 classroom hours of commission-approved detention officer training shall equal one training point; and
	(3) experience as a member of a correctional or detention facility in North Carolina Carolina, as defined in Rule .0103(6) of this Subchapter is acceptable for consideration; Subchapter.

	(e)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Paragraphs (a), (b), (c), and (d) of this Rule, applicants for the Intermediate Detention Officer Professional Certificate shall have acquired the following combination of educational points or degre...
	(f)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Paragraphs (a), (b), (c), and (d) of this Rule, applicants for the Advanced Detention Officer Professional Certificate shall possess or be eligible to possess the Intermediate Detention Officer Profe...
	(g)  Educational points or degrees claimed shall have been earned at a technical institute, technical college, community college, junior college, college or university accredited as such by the Department of Education of the state in which the institu...
	(h)  No more than 80 hours of training obtained by completing the detention officer certification course, as set out in Rule .0601 of this Subchapter, shall be credited toward training points.
	(a)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Rule .1202 of this Section, applicants for the Intermediate Detention Officer Professional Certificate shall possess or be eligible to possess the Basic Detention Officer Professional Certificate and...
	(b)  Educational points and degrees claimed shall have been earned at a technical institute, technical college, community college, junior college, college or university accredited as such by the Department of Education of the state in which the instit...
	(c)  No more than 80 hours of training obtained by completing the commission-mandated detention certification course shall be credited toward training points.
	(a)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Rule .1202 of this Section, applicants for the Advanced Detention Officer Professional Certificate shall possess or be eligible to possess the Intermediate Detention Officer Professional Certificate ...
	(b)  Educational points and degrees claimed shall have been earned at a technical institute, technical college, community college, junior college, college or university accredited as such by the Department of Education of the state in which the instit...
	(c)  No more than 80 hours of training obtained by completing the commission-mandated detention certification course shall be credited toward training points.
	(a)  All applicants for an award of the detention officer Basic, Intermediate intermediate or Advanced Certificates advanced professional certificates shall complete an "Application: Professional Certificate/Service Award", (F-6). the "Application for...
	(b)  Documentation of education shall be provided by copies of transcripts, diplomas, or certified letters from the accredited institution.
	(c)  Documentation of training shall be provided by copies of training records signed by the agency's training officer or department head, or by providing certificates of completion. No out-of-state training shall be accepted, unless, unless the offic...
	(d)  Documentation of the applicant's length of service in North Carolina shall be based upon the Division's certification records, however, certified letters of verification of employment from present or former employers may be requested of an applic...
	(e)  The applicant shall submit the "Application: Professional Certificate/Service Award", (F-6) "Application for Professional Certificate/Service Award," Form F-6, shall be signed by to his sheriff the department head who shall attach his recommendat...

	SECTION .1400 - PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE FOR RESERVE DEPUTY SHERIFFS
	(a)  In order to be eligible for one or more of the professional certificates, a reserve deputy sheriff shall first meet the following preliminary qualifications:
	(1) be an appointed reserve deputy sheriff who holds a valid General general or Grandfather Certification. grandfather certification as defined in G.S. 17E-7(a). A reserve deputy sheriff serving under a probationary certification is not eligible for c...
	(2) any reserve deputy sheriff subject to suspension or revocation proceedings, under investigation for possible decertification action, under a period of active revocation of their certification, or under probation or suspended sanction, by the Commi...
	(2)(3) be familiar with and subscribe to the Law Enforcement Code of Ethics as promulgated by the International Association of Chiefs of Police to include any subsequent editions or modifications thereto. A copy of the Code of Ethics may be obtained a...
	(3)(4) the applicant shall be a sworn law enforcement officer officer, as defined in Rule .0103(19) of this Subchapter, of a North Carolina Sheriff's Office, as certified in writing by the sheriff; or be a sworn law enforcement officer of an agency wh...
	(4) only training or experience gained in an officer's area of expertise will be eligible for application to this program. All training must be completed during the time of service as a sworn law enforcement officer, with the exception of Basic Law En...

	(b)  Only training or experience gained in an officer's area of expertise, as described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, shall be eligible for application to this program.
	(b)(c)  Certificates are shall be awarded based upon a formula which that combines law enforcement training and actual participation experience as a reserve deputy sheriff in a law enforcement functions. position, as defined in Rule .0103(19) of this ...
	(1) a minimum of ninety-six (96) 96 hours achieved worked as a reserve deputy sheriff over a one-year period of participation in law enforcement functions, by having been called into reserve duty by the appointing sheriff, shall equal one year of rese...
	(2) twenty 20 hours of commission-approved law enforcement training shall equal one law enforcement training point; and
	(3) service as a reserve deputy sheriff in a sworn law enforcement position, as defined in Rule .0103(19) of this Subchapter. shall be acceptable for consideration. An officer who is otherwise ineligible to receive an equivalent certificate through th...

	(d)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, applicants for the Intermediate Reserve Deputy Sheriff Professional Certificate shall have acquired the following law enforcement training points and years ...
	(1) 8 years of reserve officer law enforcement experience; and
	(2) 35 minimum law enforcement training points.

	(e)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, applicants for the Advanced Deputy Sheriff Professional Certificate shall possess or be eligible to possess the Intermediate Reserve Deputy Sheriff Professi...
	(1) 12 years of reserve officer law enforcement experience; and
	(2) 50 minimum law enforcement training points.

	(f)  No more than 160 hours of training obtained by completing an accredited basic law enforcement training program required to serve in a sworn law enforcement position, as defined in Rule .0103(19) of this Subchapter, shall be credited toward traini...
	In addition to the qualifications set forth in Rule .1402 in this Section, applicants for the Intermediate Reserve Deputy Sheriff Certificate shall possess or be eligible to possess the Basic Reserve Deputy Sheriff Certificate and shall have acquired ...
	In addition to the qualifications set forth in Rule .1402 of this Section, applicants for the Advanced Deputy Sheriff Certificate shall possess or be eligible to possess the Intermediate Reserve Deputy Sheriff Certificate and shall have acquired the f...
	(a)  All applicants for an award of the basic, intermediate or advanced reserve officer professional certificates shall complete an "Application: Reserve Deputy Sheriff Professional Certificate/Service Recognition", (F-6R). the "Application for Profes...
	(b)  Documentation of training shall be provided by copies of training records signed by the agency's training officer or department head, or by providing certificates of completion.
	(c)  Verification of the applicant's length of service as a reserve deputy sheriff sheriff, as required in 12 NCAC 10B .1402(b)(1) Rule .1402(c)(1) of this Section, shall be documented by providing certified letters, signed by the employing sheriff or...
	(d)  The applicant shall submit the application "Application for Professional Certificate/Service Award," Form F-6R, to the agency head who shall attach his/her recommendation and forward the application shall be signed by the department head and forw...

	SECTION .1600 - PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE PROGRAM FOR TELECOMMUNICATORS
	(a)  In order to be eligible for one or more of the telecommunicator professional awards, certificates, a telecommunicator shall first meet the following preliminary qualifications:
	(1) be a full-time telecommunicator who holds a valid general or grandfather certification certification, as defined in G.S. 17E-7(a). under the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission. A telecommunicator serving under a p...
	(2) any telecommunicator subject to suspension or revocation proceedings, under investigation for possible decertification action, under a period of active revocation of their certification, or under probation or suspended sanction, by the Commission ...
	(2)(3) be familiar with and subscribe to the Telecommunicator Code of Ethics as published by the Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials and the National Emergency Number Association including any subsequent editions or modifications the...

	(b)  employees Employees of a North Carolina Sheriff's Office sheriff's office or other agency who have previously held general or grandfather telecommunicator certification under the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commissio...
	(c)  Only training and experience gained in a telecommunicator's area of expertise expertise, as described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, will be eligible for application to this program.
	(d)  Certificates shall be awarded based upon a formula contained herein which combines formal education, training, and actual experience as a telecommunicator. Points are computed in the following manner:
	(1) each semester hour of college credit shall equal one education point and each quarter hour of college credit shall equal two thirds of a point; an education point. No correspondence or vocational courses shall be credited towards education points ...
	(2) twenty 20 classroom hours of commission-approved telecommunicator training shall equal one training point; and
	(3) only experience as a full-time telecommunicator telecommunicator, as defined in Rule .0103(20) of this Subchapter. certified through the Commission shall be acceptable for consideration.

	(e)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Paragraphs (a), (b), (c), and (d) of this Rule, applicants for the Intermediate Telecommunicator Professional Certificate shall have acquired the following combination of educational points or degree...
	(f)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Paragraphs (a), (b), (c), and (d) of this Rule, applicants for the Advanced Telecommunicator Professional Certificate shall possess or be eligible to possess the Intermediate Telecommunicator Profess...
	(g)  Educational points or degrees claimed shall have been earned at a technical institute, technical college, community college, junior college, college or university accredited as such by the Department of Education of the state in which the institu...
	(h)  No more than 40 hours of training obtained by completing the telecommunicator certification course, as set out in Rule .1302 of this Subchapter, shall be credited toward training points.
	(a)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Rule .1602 of this Section, applicants for the Intermediate Telecommunicator Certificate shall possess or be eligible to possess the Basic Telecommunicator Certificate and shall have acquired the fol...
	(b)  Educational points and degrees claimed shall have been earned at a technical institute, technical college, community college, junior college, college or university accredited as such by the Department of Education of the state in which the instit...
	(c)  No more than 40 hours of training obtained by completing the commission-mandated telecommunicator certification course shall be credited toward training points.
	(a)  In addition to the qualifications set forth in Rule .1602 of this Section, applicants for the Advanced Telecommunicator Certificate shall possess or be eligible to possess the Intermediate Telecommunicator Certificate and shall have acquired the ...
	(b)  Educational points and degrees claimed shall have been earned at a technical institute, technical college, community college, junior college, college or university accredited as such by the Department of Education of the state in which the instit...
	(c)  No more than 40 hours of training obtained by completing the commission-mandated telecommunicator certification course shall be credited toward training points.
	(a)  All applicants for an award of the telecommunicator basic, intermediate or advanced professional certificates shall complete an "Application: Professional Certificate/Service Award", (F-6). the "Application for Professional Certificate/Service Aw...
	(b)  Documentation of education shall be provided by copies of transcripts, diplomas, or certified letters from the accredited institution.
	(c)  Documentation of training shall be provided by copies of training records signed by the agency's training officer or department head, or by providing certificates of completion. No out-of-state training shall be accepted, unless the officer is em...
	(d)  Documentation of the applicant's length of service in North Carolina shall be based upon the Division's certification records, however, certified letters of verification of employment from present or former employers may be requested of the appli...
	(e)  The applicant shall submit the "Application: Professional Certificate/Service Award", (F-6) "Application for Professional Certificate/Service Award," Form F-6, shall be signed by the department head t o the agency head who shall attach his recomm...

	SECTION .1900 – MILITARY TRAINED APPLICANT AND MILITARY SPOUSE
	(a)  An individual who applies for seeking justice officer certification as a military trained applicant pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1 who applies to the Division for a certification issued by the Commission must shall meet and submit, along with other do...
	(1) Been awarded a military occupational specialty that is substantially equivalent to or exceeds the training requirements required for certification and performed in the occupational specialty;
	(2) Completed a military program of training, completed testing or equivalent training and experience as determined by Paragraph (c) of this Rule;
	(3) Engaged in the active practice of that occupation for at least two of the five years prior to the date of appointment; and
	(4) Not committed any act in any jurisdiction that would have constituted grounds for refusal, suspension of or revocation of a license to practice that occupation in this State at the time the act was committed. The military trained applicant shall s...

	(b)  An individual who applies for seeking justice officer certification as a military spouse pursuant to G.S. 93B-15.1 who applies to the Division for a certification issued by the Commission must shall meet and submit, along with other documentation...
	(1) Hold a current license, certification or registration from another jurisdiction which is substantially equivalent to or exceeds the training requirements required for certification;
	(2) Be in good standing with the issuing agency and not have been disciplined by the agency that has the jurisdiction to issue the license, certification or permit; and
	(3) Demonstrate competency in the occupation by:

	The military spouse shall submit documentation to the Division verifying his or her compliance with the above listed criteria.
	(c)  The Division shall review the documents received to determine if any additional training is required to satisfy the certification requirements of this Subchapter. as set out in Rule .0504 of this Subchapter. Where training provided by the militar...
	(d)  In the event the applicant's prior training is not equivalent to the Commission's standards, the Commission shall prescribe as a condition of certification, supplementary or remedial training deemed necessary to equate previous training with curr...
	(e)  Where certifications issued by the Commission require satisfactory performance on a written examination as part of the training, the Commission shall require such examinations for the certification. certification of military trained and military ...



	Title 15A – Department of Environmental Quality
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Department of Environmental Quality intends to adopt the rules cited as 15A NCAC 01W .0101-.0105.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.deq.nc.gov/accessdeq/rules-regulations/deq-proposed-rules/proposed-rules
	Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The adoption of proposed rules 15A NCAC 01W .0101-.0105, “Emergency Infrastructure Bridge Loan Program for Commercial UST” is in response to the requirement for DEQ to adopt rules in compliance with Session Law 2024-53, Se...
	Comment period ends:  September 30, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 01 - Departmental Rules
	subchapter 01W - EMERGENCY INFRASTRUCTURE BRIDGE LOAN PROGRAM FOR COMMERCIAL USTS
	SECTION .0100 - EMERGENCY INFRASTRUCTURE BRIDGE LOAN PROGRAM FOR COMMERCIAL USTS
	(a)  Applicability. The rules of this Subchapter shall apply to emergency infrastructure bridge loans for commercial underground storage tanks as established by S.L. 2024-53, s. 4C.8 for short-term financial liquidity necessary to immediately conduct ...
	(b)  Documents and payments required to be submitted to the Division by the rules of this Subchapter may be submitted to the Division's Underground Storage Tank Section at the Division's mailing address at 1646 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1...
	(c)  Definitions. The definitions found in Part 2A of Article 21A of Chapter 143 of the General Statutes, the definitions in 15A NCAC 02N, the definitions in Sections 1.4 and 4C.8 of S.L. 2024-53 shall apply to the rules of this Subchapter. For the pu...
	(a)  An owner or operator of a commercial underground storage tank permitted by the Division in accordance with 15A NCAC 02N that is located in the affected area may apply for an emergency infrastructure bridge loan in accordance with S.L. 2024-53, s....
	(1) the owner's contact information, including the name, phone number, email address, and mailing address for the contact person or authorized representative for the owner, and the business name if the owner is a business;
	(2) the operator's contact information, including the name, phone number, email address, and mailing address for the contact person or authorized representative for the operator, and the business name if the operator is a business;
	(3) the UST facility name, UST facility identification number for the operating permit issued by the Division in accordance with 15A NCAC 02N, and the physical address and the county in which the UST system is located;
	(4) a description of the impacts and damage to the UST system from Hurricane Helene, including photographs of the impacts or damage;
	(5) a description of the testing and repairs and the scope of work for which the applicant is requesting funds;
	(6) a list of contractors the applicant is proposing to use for completion of the scope of work;
	(7) the project costs, including costs expended at the time of application and estimated future costs;
	(8) a description and the amount of federal disaster relief funds and private insurance reimbursement that the applicant has applied for and the source of those funds;
	(9) a description and the amount of disaster relief funds that the applicant has already received from other sources as of the date of the application;
	(10) copies of repair cost estimates, contracts, or receipts that comply with Paragraphs (d), (e), and (f) of this Rule;
	(11) a description of the attachments included with the application; and
	(12) a certification signed by the applicant or the applicant's authorized representative certifying that the application and documentation provided to the Division are true and accurate to the best of the applicant's knowledge.

	(b)  The application shall be submitted by December 31, 2025.
	(c)  The Division shall review the submitted application and provide a response in writing stating either that the application is complete and under review, or that the application is incomplete and stating the information or attachments that are requ...
	(d)  The UST system testing and repairs for which the loan is being requested shall comply with S.L. 2024-53 and the rules of this Subchapter.
	(e)  Copies of receipts from testing or repairs in accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule that have been completed and paid for at the time the application is submitted shall be submitted with the application. The receipts shall include the name a...
	(f)  Copies of cost estimate documentation such as quotes, invoices, contracts, or similar documents for testing and repairs in accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule shall be submitted with the application for testing or repairs that are proposed...
	(a)  The Division shall review an application submitted that complies with Rule .0102 of this Section and determine whether the loan is eligible for approval. The Division may determine that the loan is not eligible for approval, that the loan is elig...
	(1) the information submitted in the application;
	(2) the remaining amount of loan funds available;
	(3) the location of the UST system within the affected areas as defined in S.L. 2024-53, with priority given to the areas with the greatest impacts from Hurricane Helene;
	(4) whether the costs included in the scope of work are significantly different from a range of expected or reasonable costs for such work, as determined by the Division;
	(5) federal disaster relief or private insurance reimbursement received for Hurricane Helene response prior to submittal of the application;
	(6) the level of need for other submitted applications under review by the Division that have not yet been awarded pursuant to S.L. 2024-53, s. 4C.8.(h);
	(7) the type of work included in the scope of work, with funding priority given to the specific examples of repairs and testing listed in the definition of emergency services in S.L. 2024-53, s. 4C.8.(b); and
	(8) the operational status of the UST system and the status of the scope of work submitted.

	(b)  If the Division determines that the loan is eligible for approval, either for the requested amount or a portion of the requested amount, the Division shall send the applicant a letter of intent to award the loan in accordance with S.L. 2024-53, s...
	(1) accept the offer by executing a loan agreement in accordance with Rule .0104(c) of this Section and returning it to the Division; or
	(2) provide a written response to the Division rejecting the offer.

	(c)  If the applicant has not accepted or rejected the offer in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule within 30 days after the offer is issued, the Division may rescind the offer to award the loan by providing written notice to the applicant. The...
	(d)  If the Division determines that the loan is not eligible for approval because it does not comply with S.L. 2024-53 or the rules of this Subchapter, the Division shall send the applicant a letter via certified mail outlining the reasons that the a...
	(e)  If the applicant disagrees with the Division's determination, the applicant may elect to submit an informal appeal to the Division supplying additional supporting information. The appeal must be submitted within 30 days of the date the Division i...
	(a)  Within 10 business days after an applicant elects to accept a loan after it is awarded in accordance with S.L. 2024-53, s. 4C.8.(i), the recipient shall submit a signed NC Substitute W-9 form to the Division. The Substitute W-9 form may be obtain...
	(b)  Loan Agreement. If an applicant elects to accept a loan after it is awarded in accordance with S.L. 2024-53, s. 4C.8.(i), a loan agreement shall be executed between the Division and the recipient. The loan agreement shall include the terms and co...
	(1) the conditions for issuance of the loan, including the requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule;
	(2) information regarding the intended use of the loan proceeds;
	(3) a deadline by which the applicant shall have entered into a construction contract to begin testing and repairs;
	(4) conditions under which the loan will be repaid, including any payment plan schedules if a payment plan is required by Rule .0105(a) of this Section, or requested by the applicant;
	(5) the rights and responsibilities of the parties;
	(6) the loan identification number assigned by the Division; and
	(7) any other applicable terms and conditions of the loan as outlined in Rule .0105 of this Section.

	(c)  The recipient shall sign the loan agreement, the signature shall be notarized by a notary public, and the original signed and notarized copy shall be returned to the Division. The Division shall also sign the loan agreement, and the signature sha...
	(d)  After the loan agreement is executed, the applicant may submit a request in writing for an amendment to the loan amount or the terms of the loan agreement. The request shall include the amendment being requested and supporting evidence for the re...
	(a)  In addition to the loan terms in S.L. 2024-53, s. 4C.8 and the applicable requirements of S.L. 2024-53, s. 3.1, a bridge loan from the program is subject to the following terms and conditions:
	(1) The total amount awarded for the loan shall be repaid in full by the maturity date as defined in S.L. 2024-53, s. 4C.8, and no later than June 30, 2030.
	(2) A loan may be repaid early or on a payment plan outlined in the loan agreement prior to the maturity date without penalty.
	(3) A loan in the amount of $200,000 or more shall be placed on a structured payment plan. The terms and schedule of the payment plan shall be included in the loan agreement required by Rule .0104 of this Section. Loan payments shall be submitted to t...
	(4) The applicant may not assign, transfer, or otherwise convey any of their rights or obligations under the loan agreement to any third party without the prior written consent of the Division. The applicant shall not be released from the loan obligat...

	(b)  In addition to the loan limitations in S.L. 2024-53, s. 4C.8, a bridge loan from the program shall not be used for purposes that do not comply with the requirements of S.L. 2024-53, such as the following purposes:
	(1) removal of a commercial UST unless the applicant provides evidence in the loan application that damage or impacts from Hurricane Helene necessitated the removal, and the removal is necessary to restore the UST system to operational capacity;
	(2) work or testing or repairs related to aboveground storage tanks or non-commercial underground storage tanks, notwithstanding new action from the General Assembly;
	(3) purposes that are or may be eligible for reimbursement from the Commercial Leaking Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Cleanup Fund in accordance with G.S. 143-215.94B;
	(4) any repairs or testing that have already been paid for or reimbursed by federal disaster relief or private insurance or other emergency funding sources; or
	(5) any repairs or testing that occurred or were necessary prior to the date of Hurricane Helene, or that were not a result or impact of Hurricane Helene.

	(c)  The recipient shall submit a final report within 90 days after completion of testing and repairs. The report shall include a description of:
	(1) the operational capacity of the UST system;
	(2) any deviations from the scope of work submitted in the application; and
	(3) receipts for completed repairs that were not submitted in the application.

	(d)  If a recipient fails to comply with S.L. 2024-53, the rules of this Subchapter, or the loan agreement, the Division shall notify the recipient in writing that they are in default, and provide the actions the recipient must take in order to cure t...
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Environmental Management Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 15A NCAC 02H .0804.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-resources-commissions/environmental-management-commission/emc-proposed-rules
	Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The scope of Parameter Methods for which the Wastewater/Groundwater Laboratory Certification Branch (WW/GW LCB) may offer certification is limited to those Parameters listed in Rule 15A NCAC 02H .0804. Amending the Rule as...
	Comment period ends:  September 30, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required



	Chapter 02 - Environmental Management
	SUBCHAPTER 02H - PROCEDURES FOR PERMITS: APPROVALS
	(a)  Commercial Laboratories shall obtain Certification for Parameter Methods used to generate data that will be reported by the client to the State in accordance with the rules of this Section. Municipal and Industrial Laboratories shall obtain Certi...
	(b)  Inorganics: Each of the inorganic, physical characteristic, and microbiological analytes listed in this Paragraph shall be considered a certifiable parameter. Analytical methods shall be determined from the sources listed in Rule .0805(a)(1) of t...
	(1) Acidity;
	(2) Alkalinity;
	(3) Biochemical Oxygen Demand;
	(4) Bromide;
	(5) Carbonaceous Biochemical Oxygen Demand;
	(6) Chemical Oxygen Demand;
	(7) Chloride;
	(8) Chlorine, Free Available;
	(9) Chlorine, Total Residual;
	(10) Chlorophyll;
	(11) Coliform, Fecal;
	(12) Coliform, Total;
	(13) Color;
	(14) Conductivity/Specific Conductance;
	(15) Cyanide;
	(16) Dissolved Organic Carbon;
	(17) Dissolved Oxygen;
	(18) Enterococci;
	(19) Escherichia Coliform (E. coli);
	(20) Flash Point;
	(21) Fluoride;
	(22) Hardness, Total;
	(23) Ignitability;
	(24) Surfactants as Methylene Blue Active Surfactants;
	(25) Nitrogen, Ammonia;
	(26) Nitrogen, Nitrite plus Nitrate;
	(27) Nitrogen, Nitrate;
	(28) Nitrogen, Nitrite;
	(29)_ Nitrogen, Total
	(29)(30) Nitrogen, Total Kjeldahl;
	(30)(31) Oil and Grease;
	(31)(32) Orthophosphate;
	(32)(33) Paint Filter Liquids;
	(33)(34) pH;
	(34)(35) Phenols;
	(35)(36) Phosphorus, Total;
	(36)(37) Residue, Settleable;
	(37)(38) Residue, Total;
	(38)(39) Residue, Total Dissolved;
	(39)(40) Residue, Total Suspended;
	(40)(41) Residue, Volatile;
	(41)(42) Salinity;
	(42)(43) Salmonella;
	(43)(44) Silica;
	(44)(45) Sulfate;
	(45)(46) Sulfide;
	(46)(47) Sulfite;
	(47)(48) Temperature;
	(48)(49) Total Organic Carbon;
	(49)(50) Turbidity;
	(50)(51) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 1;
	(51)(52) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 2;
	(52)(53) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 3;
	(53)(54) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 4;
	(54)(55) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 5;
	(55)(56) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 6;
	(56)(57) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 7;
	(57)(58) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 8; and
	(58)(59) Vector Attraction Reduction: Option 12.

	(c)  Metals: Each of the metals listed in this Paragraph shall be considered a certifiable Parameter. One or more Parameter Methods shall be listed with a laboratory's certified Parameters. Analytical methods shall be determined from the sources liste...
	(1) Aluminum;
	(2) Antimony;
	(3) Arsenic;
	(4) Barium;
	(5) Beryllium;
	(6) Boron;
	(7) Cadmium;
	(8) Calcium;
	(9) Chromium, Hexavalent (Chromium VI);
	(10) Chromium, Total;
	(11) Chromium, Trivalent (Chromium III);
	(12) Cobalt;
	(13) Copper;
	(14) Hardness, Total (Calcium + Magnesium);
	(15) Iron;
	(16) Lead;
	(17) Lithium;
	(18) Magnesium;
	(19) Manganese;
	(20) Mercury;
	(21) Molybdenum;
	(22) Nickel;
	(23) Potassium;
	(24) Phosphorus;
	(25) Selenium;
	(26) Silica;
	(27) Silver;
	(28) Sodium;
	(29) Strontium;
	(30) Thallium;
	(31) Tin;
	(32) Titanium;
	(33) Vanadium; and
	(34) Zinc.

	(d)  Organics: Each of the organic Parameters listed in this Paragraph shall be considered a certifiable Parameter. One or more Parameter Methods shall be listed with a laboratory's certified Parameters. Analytical methods shall be determined from the...
	(1) 1,2-Dibromoethane (EDB); 1,2-Dibromo-3-chloro-propane (DBCP); 1,2,3-Trichloropropane (TCP);
	(2) Acetonitrile;
	(3) Acrolein, Acrylonitrile;
	(4) Adsorbable Organic Halides;
	(5) Base/Neutral and Acid Organics;
	(6) Benzidines;
	(7) Chlorinated Acid Herbicides;
	(8) Chlorinated Hydrocarbons;
	(9) Chlorinated Phenolics;
	(10) Explosives;
	(11) Extractable Petroleum Hydrocarbons;
	(12) Haloethers;
	(13) N-Methylcarbamates;
	(14) Nitroaromatics and Isophorone;
	(15) Nitrosamines;
	(16) Nonhalogenated Volatile Organics;
	(17) Organochlorine Pesticides;
	(18) Organophosphorus Pesticides;
	(19) Per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS);
	(20) Pharmaceutical Pollutants
	(20)(21) Phenols;
	(21)(22) Phthalate Esters;
	(22)(23) Polychlorinated Biphenyls;
	(23)(24) Polynuclear Aromatic Hydrocarbons;
	(24)(25) Purgeable Aromatics;
	(25)(26) Purgeable Halocarbons;
	(26)(27) Purgeable Organics;
	(27)(28) Total Organic Halides;
	(28)(29) Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons – Diesel Range Organics;
	(29)(30) Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons – Gasoline Range Organics; and
	(30)(31) Volatile Petroleum Hydrocarbons.

	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Marine Fisheries Commission intends to amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 03I .0101, .0114; 03O .0201, .0207, .0208, .0210, and .0501-.0503.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://deq.nc.gov/mfc-proposed-rules
	Proposed Effective Date:  Subject to Legislative Review
	Reason for Proposed Action:
	Permits
	15A NCAC 03I .0101 DEFINITIONS
	Proposed amendments broaden the definition of "educational institution" to better align with the original purpose of the Scientific and Educational Activity Permit and Coastal Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit. Additional proposed amendmen...
	15A NCAC 03I .0114 RECORDKEEPING REQUIREMENTS
	Proposed amendments set the same recordkeeping requirements for quota monitoring logs as for trip tickets for licensed fish dealers but apply only to dealers holding a permit for monitoring fisheries under a quota or allocation. Additional proposed am...
	15A NCAC 03O .0501 PROCEDURES AND REQUIREMENTS TO OBTAIN PERMITS
	Proposed amendments remove the requirement for a permit application signature to be notarized, instead requiring the initial permit general condition form to be notarized. This is a more appropriate time in the permit issuance process to verify a perm...
	15A NCAC 03O .0502 GENERAL PERMIT CONDITIONS
	Proposed amendments relocate from proclamation to rule the permit condition that makes it unlawful to refuse to allow N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries (DMF) employees to obtain data for the conservation and management of marine and estuarine resource...
	15A NCAC 03O .0503 PERMIT CONDITIONS; SPECIFIC
	Proposed amendments address seven items. First, proposed amendments relocate four existing permits from proclamation into rule: Estuarine Gill Net Permit, Estuarine Flounder Dealer Permit, Shellfish Lease Restoration Permit, and Shellfish Relocation P...
	Franchises and Shellfish Leases
	15A NCAC 03I .0101 DEFINITIONS
	Proposed amendments clarify the existing definition of "holder" to align occurrences of "franchise holder" throughout N.C. Marine Fisheries Commission rules with shellfish franchises recognized pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 113-206.
	15A NCAC 03O .0201 STANDARDS AND REQUIREMENTS FOR SHELLFISH LEASES AND FRANCHISES
	Proposed amendments include the removal of franchises from all shellfish production requirements, as the production requirements are grounds for termination of a leasehold only. Shellfish franchises recognized under N.C.G.S. § 113-206 are perpetual. T...
	15A NCAC 03O .0207 SHELLFISH LEASE AND FRANCHISE PRODUCTION REPORTS
	Proposed amendments remove franchises from production report requirements. Franchises are perpetual and not subject to termination, and compliant production reports relate to procedures for termination.
	15A NCAC 03O .0208 TERMINATION PROCEDURES FOR SHELLFISH LEASES AND FRANCHISES
	Proposed amendments align the rule with Session Law 2024-32, Section 5.(a), by eliminating references to franchises.
	15A NCAC 03O .0210 STANDARDS AND REQUIREMENTS FOR FRANCHISES
	Proposed amendments clarify the proper activation of a shellfish franchise enables the franchise to be permitted, remove the time limit of 30 days following activation, and remove the method for evaluating production of a franchise, as franchises are ...
	Comment period ends:  September 30, 2025
	Rule(s) is automatically subject to legislative review: S.L. 2019-37, Section 3, as amended by S.L. 2024-32, Section 5.(a): 15A NCAC 03O .0201; S.L. 2019-198: 15A NCAC 03I .0114, 03O .0501-.0503
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required


	Chapter 03 - Marine Fisheries
	SUBCHAPTER 03I – GENERAL RULES
	SECTION .0100 – GENERAL RULES
	All definitions set out in G.S. 113, Subchapter IV and the following additional terms shall apply to this Chapter:
	This habitat occurs in both subtidal and intertidal zones and may occur in isolated patches or cover extensive areas. In defining SAV habitat, the Marine Fisheries Commission recognizes the Aquatic Weed Control Act of 1991 (G.S. 113A-220 et. seq.) and...
	(a)  It shall be unlawful for a licensed fish dealer:
	(1) to record false information on the North Carolina trip ticket or to fail to legibly record all items on the North Carolina trip ticket for each transaction transaction, including for fish harvested but not sold pursuant to 15A NCAC 03I .0123, and ...
	(2) to fail to provide to the Division a Trip Ticket Submittal/Transaction form indicating the number of transactions that occurred during the previous month;
	(3) to fail to make paper copies or electronic copies of trip tickets or N.C. Trip Ticket Program Dock Tickets available at the dealer location for inspection by Marine Fisheries inspectors;
	(4) to fail to submit trip tickets to the Division via electronic file transfer if that dealer reported an annual average of greater than 50,000 pounds of finfish for the previous three calendar years. Dealers subject to the electronic reporting requi...
	(5) to fail to use software or web-based utilities authorized by the Division when reporting electronically; and
	(6) to fail to keep all trip tickets and all supporting documentation for each transaction including receipts, checks, bills of lading, records, electronic files, and accounts for a period of not less than three years. years;
	(7) to fail to submit quota monitoring logs in accordance with 15A NCAC 03O .0503 if the licensed fish dealer holds a dealer permit for monitoring fisheries under a quota or allocation; and
	(8) to fail to keep all quota monitoring logs including electronic files for a period of not less than three years.

	(b)  It shall be unlawful for a seller licensed under G.S. 113, Article 14A or donor to fail to provide to the fish dealer, at the time of transaction, the following:
	(1) a current and valid license or permit to sell the type of fish being offered and if a vessel is used, the Commercial Fishing Vessel Registration; and
	(2) complete and accurate information on harvest method and area of catch and other information required by the Division, in accordance with G.S. 113-168.2 and G.S. 113-169.3.

	(c)  It shall be unlawful to transport fish without having ready at hand for inspection a bill of consignment, bill of lading, or other shipping documentation provided by the shipping dealer showing the following items:
	(1) name of the consignee;
	(2) name of the shipper;
	(3) date of the shipment;
	(4) name of fish being shipped; and
	(5) quantity of each fish being shipped.

	In the event the fisherman taking the fish is also a licensed fish dealer and ships from the point of landing, all shipping records shall be recorded at the point of landing. Fishermen who transport their fish directly to licensed fish dealers are exe...
	(d)  It shall be unlawful to export fish landed in the State in a commercial fishing operation without a North Carolina licensed fish dealer completing all the recordkeeping requirements in G.S. 113-168.2(i).
	(e)  It shall be unlawful to offer for sale fish purchased from a licensed fish dealer without having ready at hand for inspection by Marine Fisheries inspectors or other agents of the Fisheries Director written documentation of purchase showing the f...
	(1) name of the licensed fish dealer;
	(2) name of the purchaser;
	(3) date of the purchase;
	(4) name of fish purchased; and
	(5) quantity of each fish purchased.

	(f)  It shall be unlawful for a holder of a Fish Dealer License to have fish in possession at a licensed location without written documentation from a licensed fish dealer or a completed North Carolina trip ticket to show the quantity and origin of al...


	SUBCHAPTER 03O - LICENSES, LEASES, FRANCHISES, AND PERMITS
	SECTION .0200 – shellfish LEASES AND FRANCHISES
	(a)  For the purpose of this Section:
	(1) "any acres under a shellfish lease" shall include a water column amendment superjacent to a franchise.
	(2) "application for additional shellfish lease acreage" shall include a water column amendment application to an existing shellfish bottom lease or to a franchise when the franchise holder also holds a shellfish bottom lease.
	(1)(3) "extensive shellfish culture" shall mean shellfish grown on the bottom without the use of cages, racks, bags, or floats.
	(2)(4) "intensive shellfish culture" shall mean shellfish grown on the bottom or in the water column using cages, racks, bags, or floats.
	(3)(5) "plant" shall mean providing evidence of purchasing shellfish seed or planting shellfish seed or authorized cultch materials on a shellfish lease or franchise. lease.
	(4)(6) "produce" shall mean the culture and harvest of oysters, clams, scallops, or mussels from a shellfish lease or franchise and lawful sale of those shellfish to the public at large or to a licensed shellfish dealer.

	(b)  All areas of the public bottom underlying Coastal Fishing Waters shall meet the following standards and requirements, in addition to the standards in G.S. 113-202, in order to be deemed suitable for leasing for shellfish aquaculture purposes:
	(1) the proposed shellfish lease area shall not contain a "natural shellfish bed," as defined in G.S. 113-201.1, or have 10 bushels or more of shellfish per acre;
	(2) the proposed shellfish lease area shall not be closer than 250 feet from a developed shoreline or a water-dependent shore-based structure, except no minimum setback is required when the area to be leased borders the applicant's property, the prope...
	(3) the proposed shellfish lease area shall not be closer than 250 feet to an existing lease;
	(4) the proposed shellfish lease area, either alone or when considered cumulatively with other existing lease areas in the vicinity, shall not interfere with navigation or with existing, traditional uses of the area; and
	(5) the proposed shellfish lease area shall not be less than one-half acre and shall not exceed 10 acres.

	(c)  To be suitable for leasing for shellfish aquaculture purposes, shellfish water column leases superjacent to a shellfish bottom lease shall meet the standards in G.S. 113-202.1 and shellfish water column leases superjacent to franchises shall meet...
	(d)  Shellfish bottom leases and franchises granted or renewed on or before July 1, 2019 and not renewed after July 1, 2019 shall be terminated unless they meet the following requirements, in addition to the standards in and as allowed by G.S. 113-202:
	(1) they produce 10 bushels of shellfish per acre per year; and
	(2) they are planted with 25 bushels of seed shellfish per acre per year or 50 bushels of cultch per acre per year, or a combination of cultch and seed shellfish where the percentage of required cultch planted and the percentage of required seed shell...

	(e)  Shellfish water column leases granted or renewed on or before July 1, 2019 and not renewed after July 1, 2019 shall be terminated unless they meet the following requirements, in addition to the standards in and as allowed by G.S. 113-202.1 and G....
	(1) they produce 40 bushels of shellfish per acre per year; or
	(2) the underlying bottom is planted with 100 bushels of cultch or seed shellfish per acre per year.

	(f)  Shellfish bottom leases and franchises granted or renewed after July 1, 2019 shall be terminated unless they meet the following requirements, in addition to the standards in and as allowed by G.S. 113-202:
	(1) they produce a minimum of 20 bushels of shellfish per acre averaged over the previous three-year period beginning in year five of the shellfish bottom lease or franchise; lease; or
	(2) for intensive culture bottom operations, the holder of the shellfish bottom lease or franchise provides evidence of purchasing a minimum of 23,000 shellfish seed per acre annually and for extensive culture bottom operations, the holder of the leas...

	(g)  Shellfish water column leases granted or renewed after July 1, 2019 shall be terminated unless they meet the following requirements, in addition to the standards in and as allowed by G.S. 113-202.1 and 113-202.2:
	(1) they produce a minimum of 50 bushels of shellfish per acre averaged over the previous three-year period beginning in year five of the shellfish water column lease; or
	(2) the holder of the shellfish water column lease provides evidence of purchasing a minimum of 23,000 shellfish seed per acre annually.

	(h)  The following standards shall be applied to determine compliance with Paragraphs (d), (e), (f), and (g) of this Rule:
	(1) only shellfish planted or produced as defined in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be included in the annual shellfish lease and franchise production reports required by Rule .0207 of this Section.
	(2) if more than one shellfish lease or franchise is used in the production of shellfish, one of the leases or franchises used in the production of the shellfish shall be designated as the producing lease or franchise for those shellfish. Each bushel ...
	(3) production information and planting effort information shall be compiled and averaged separately to assess compliance with the requirements of this Rule. Shellfish bottom leases and franchises granted on or before July 1, 2019 shall meet both the ...
	(4) all bushel measurements shall be in standard U.S. bushels.
	(5) in determining production and marketing averages and planting effort averages for information not reported in bushel measurements, the following conversion factors shall be used:
	(6) production rate averages shall be computed irrespective of transfer of the shellfish lease or franchise. lease. The production rates shall be averaged for the following situations using the time periods described:
	(7) in the event that a portion of an existing shellfish lease or franchise is obtained by a new lease or franchise holder, the production history for the portion obtained shall be a percentage of the originating lease or franchise production equal to...

	(i)  To Consistent with G.S. 113-202, G.S. 113-202.1, and G.S. 113-202.2, to be deemed eligible for by the Secretary to hold additional shellfish lease acreage, persons holding any acres under a shellfish lease or franchise shall meet the following re...
	(1) Paragraphs (d), (e), (f), and (g) of this Rule;
	(2) Rule .0204 of this Section; and
	(3) Rule .0503(a) of this Subchapter.

	(a)  The holder or holders of a shellfish lease or franchise shall provide an annual production report to the Division of Marine Fisheries by March 31 of each year showing the amounts of material planted, purchased, and harvested; where and when the m...
	(b)  The Division shall provide reporting forms annually to each shellfish lease or franchise holder to be used for the annual production report.
	(c)  Failure by the holder or holders of the shellfish lease or franchise to submit the required annual production report or filing an incomplete report or a report containing false information constitutes grounds for termination as set forth in Rule ...
	(a)  Procedures for termination of shellfish leases and franchises are provided in G.S. 113-202.
	(b)  Consistent with G.S. 113-202(l1) and G.S. 113-201(b), a shellfish lease or franchise holder that failed to meet the requirements in G.S. 113-202, G.S. 113-202.1, G.S. 113-202.2, or the rules of this Section that govern a determination of failure ...
	(1) death, illness, or incapacity of the shellfish lease or franchise holder or the holder's immediate family as defined in G.S. 113-168 that prevented or will prevent the lease or franchise holder from working the lease;
	(2) damage to the shellfish lease or franchise from hurricanes, tropical storms, or other severe weather events recognized by the National Weather Service;
	(3) shellfish mortality caused by disease, natural predators, or parasites; or
	(4) damage to the shellfish lease or franchise from a manmade disaster that triggers a state emergency declaration or federal emergency declaration.

	(c)  In the case of hardship as described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the notice shall state the shellfish lease or franchise number. In the case of hardship as described in Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule, the notice shall also state the name of ...
	(a)  A franchise holder desiring a permit from the Division of Marine Fisheries to conduct shellfish aquaculture on their franchise shall submit a Shellfish Management Plans, Plan, prepared in accordance with the standards for a Shellfish Lease Manage...
	(b)  The Shellfish Management Plan requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule and all other requirements and conditions of this Section affecting management of franchises shall apply to all valid franchises.
	(c)  Commercial production requirements for franchises shall be identical to that required for shellfish bottom leases in accordance with Rules .0201 and .0207 of this Section averaged over the most recent three-year period after January 1 following t...

	SECTION .0500 - PERMITS
	(a)  To obtain a Division of Marine Fisheries permit, an applicant, responsible party, or person holding a power of attorney shall provide the following information:
	(1) the full name, physical address, mailing address, date of birth, and signature of the applicant on the application and, if the applicant is not appearing before a license agent or the designated Division of Marine Fisheries contact, the applicant'...
	(2) a current picture identification of the applicant, responsible party, or person holding a power of attorney, acceptable forms of which shall include driver's license, North Carolina Identification card issued by the North Carolina Division of Moto...
	(3) for permits that require a list of designees, the full names and dates of birth of the designees of the applicant who will be acting pursuant to the requested permit;
	(4) certification that the applicant and his or her designees do not have four or more marine or estuarine resource convictions for violation of any provision of Subchapter 113 of the North Carolina General Statutes under the authority of the Marine F...
	(5) for permit applications from business entities:

	(b)  A permittee shall hold a valid:
	(1) Recreational Commercial Gear License, Standard Commercial Fishing License, or Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License to hold an Estuarine Gill Net Permit.
	(1)(2) Standard or Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License in order to hold:

	The master designated on the single vessel corporation Standard Commercial Fishing License is the individual required to hold the Permit for Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp.
	(2)(3) Fish Dealer License in the proper category in order to hold dealer permits for monitoring fisheries under a quota or allocation for that category.

	(c)  An individual who is assigned a valid Standard Commercial Fishing License with applicable endorsements shall be eligible to hold any permit that requires a Standard Commercial Fishing License except a Pound Net Set Permit.
	(d)  If mechanical methods to take shellfish are used, a permittee and his a permittee's designees shall hold a valid Standard or Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License with a Shellfish Endorsement in order for a permittee to hold a:
	(1) Depuration Permit;
	(2) Permit to Transplant Oysters from Seed Oyster Management Areas; or
	(3) Permit to Use Mechanical Methods for Shellfish on Shellfish Leases or Franchises, except as provided in G.S. 113-169.2.

	(e)  If mechanical methods to take shellfish are not used, a permittee and his a permittee's designees shall hold a valid Standard or Retired Standard Commercial Fishing License with a Shellfish Endorsement or a Shellfish License in order for a permit...
	(1) Depuration Permit; or
	(2) Permit to Transplant Oysters from Seed Oyster Management Areas.

	(f)  Aquaculture Operation Permit and Aquaculture Collection Permit:
	(1) A permittee shall hold a valid Aquaculture Operation Permit issued by the Fisheries Director to hold an Aquaculture Collection Permit.
	(2) The permittee or designees shall hold appropriate licenses from the Division of Marine Fisheries for the species harvested and the gear used under the Aquaculture Collection Permit.

	(g)  Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit:
	(1) An applicant for an Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit shall declare one of the following types of gear for an initial permit and at intervals of three consecutive license years thereafter:

	For the purpose of this Rule, a "beach seine" shall mean a swipe net constructed of multi-filament or multi-fiber webbing fished from the ocean beach that is deployed from a vessel launched from the ocean beach where the fishing operation takes place....
	(2) A person is not eligible for more than one Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit regardless of the number of Standard Commercial Fishing Licenses, Retired Standard Commercial Fishing Licenses, or assignments held by that person.

	(h)  Applications submitted without complete and required information shall not be processed until all required information has been submitted. Incomplete applications shall be returned within two business days to the applicant with the deficiency in ...
	(i)  A permit shall be issued only after the application is deemed complete and the applicant certifies his or her agreement to abide by the permit general and specific conditions established under 15A NCAC 03J .0501 and .0505, 03K .0103 and .0107, Ru...
	(j)  For permit renewals, the permittee's signature on the specific condition form shall certify all information is true and accurate. Notarized signatures on renewal permits shall not be required.
	(j)(k)  In determining whether to issue, modify, or renew a permit, the Fisheries Director or his or her agent shall evaluate the following factors:
	(1) potential threats to public health or marine and estuarine resources regulated by the Marine Fisheries Commission;
	(2) whether the permit application meets the requirements for the permit; and
	(3) whether the applicant has a history of eight or more violations of any provision of Subchapter 113 of the North Carolina General Statutes under the authority of the Marine Fisheries Commission or any rule adopted by the Marine Fisheries Commission...

	(k)(l)  The Division of Marine Fisheries shall notify the applicant in writing of the denial or modification of any permit application and the reasons therefor. The applicant may submit further information or reasons why the permit application should ...
	(l)(m)  Permits are valid from the date of issuance through the expiration date printed on the permit. Unless otherwise established by rule, the Fisheries Director may establish the issuance timeframe for specific types and categories of permits based...
	(m)  For permit renewals, the permittee's signature on the application shall certify all information is true and accurate. Notarized signatures on renewal applications shall not be required.
	(n)  It shall be unlawful for a permit holder to fail to notify the Division of Marine Fisheries within 30 days of a change of name or address, in accordance with G.S. 113-169.2.
	(o)  It shall be unlawful for a permit holder to fail to notify the Division of Marine Fisheries of a change of designee prior to use of the permit by that designee.
	(p)  Permit applications shall be available at all the Division of Marine Fisheries offices. Fisheries; a list of permits and the location where each permit application is available is on the Division's website at https://deq.nc.gov/dmf-permit-info.
	(a)  It shall be unlawful to violate any permit condition.
	(b)  The following conditions shall apply to all permits issued by the Fisheries Director:
	(1) it shall be unlawful to:
	(2) the Fisheries Director or the Fisheries Director's agent may, by conditions of the permit, impose on a commercial fishing operation and for recreational purposes any of the following restrictions for the permitted purposes:
	(3) unless specifically stated as a condition on the permit, all statutes, rules, and proclamations shall apply to the permittee and the permittee's designees.

	(a)  Aquaculture Operation Permit and Aquaculture Collection Permit:
	(1) It shall be unlawful to conduct aquaculture operations using marine and estuarine resources without first securing an Aquaculture Operation Permit from the Fisheries Director.
	(2) It shall be unlawful:
	(3) Aquaculture Operation Permits and Aquaculture Collection Permits shall be issued or renewed on a calendar year basis.
	(4) It shall be unlawful to fail to provide the Division with a listing of all designees acting pursuant to an Aquaculture Collection Permit at the time of application.

	(b)  Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit:
	(1) It shall be unlawful to take striped bass from the Atlantic Ocean in a commercial fishing operation without first obtaining an Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit.
	(2) It shall be unlawful to obtain more than one Atlantic Ocean Striped Bass Commercial Gear Permit during a license year, regardless of the number of Standard Commercial Fishing licenses, Retired Standard Commercial Fishing licenses, or assignments.

	(c)  Blue Crab Shedding Permit: It shall be unlawful to possess more than 50 blue crabs in a shedding operation without first obtaining a Blue Crab Shedding Permit from the Division of Marine Fisheries. Division.
	(d)  Coastal Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit:
	(1) It shall be unlawful for the responsible party seeking exemption from recreational fishing license requirements for eligible individuals to conduct an organized fishing event held in Joint or Coastal Fishing Waters without first obtaining a Coasta...
	(2) The Coastal Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit shall only be issued for recreational fishing activity conducted solely for the participation and benefit of one of the following groups of eligible individuals:

	For the purpose of this Paragraph, educational institutions include high schools and other secondary educational institutions.
	(3) The Coastal Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit shall be valid for the date, time, and physical location of the organized fishing event for which the exemption is granted and the duration of the permit shall not exceed one year from the ...
	(4) The Coastal Recreational Fishing License Exemption Permit shall only be issued if all of the following, in addition to the information required in Rule .0501 of this Section, is submitted to the Fisheries Director, in writing, at least 30 days pri...

	(e)  Requirements for Dealer dealer permits for monitoring fisheries under a quota or allocation:
	(1) All species-specific permits listed in Subparagraphs (e)(2) through (e)(6) of this Rule are subject to the requirements of this Paragraph. During the commercial season harvest of a fishery opened by proclamation or rule for the fishery for which a...
	(2) Atlantic Ocean Flounder Dealer Permit:
	(3) Black Sea Bass North of Cape Hatteras Dealer Permit:
	(4) Estuarine Flounder Dealer Permit:
	(4)(5) Spiny Dogfish Dealer Permit:
	(5)(6) Striped Bass Dealer Permit:

	(f)  Horseshoe Crab Biomedical Use Permit:
	(1) It shall be unlawful to use horseshoe crabs for biomedical purposes without first obtaining a permit.
	(2) It shall be unlawful for persons who have been issued a Horseshoe Crab Biomedical Use Permit to fail to submit an annual report on the use of horseshoe crabs to the Division of Marine Fisheries, due on February 1 of each year. Such reports shall b...
	(3) It shall be unlawful for persons who have been issued a Horseshoe Crab Biomedical Use Permit to fail to comply with the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission Interstate Fishery Management Plan for Horseshoe Crab. The Atlantic States Marine F...

	(f)  Estuarine Gill Net Permit:
	(1) It shall be unlawful for an individual to deploy gill nets in Internal Waters, except for runaround, strike, drop, or drift gill nets, without possessing a valid Estuarine Gill Net Permit issued by the Division.
	(2) Estuarine Gill Net Permits shall be issued or renewed by the Division on a calendar year basis. For renewals, any changes in information or supporting documents shall be provided by the permit holder at the time of renewal.
	(3) It shall be unlawful for a permit holder:

	(g)  Permit for Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp:
	(1) It shall be unlawful to take shrimp with trawls from 9:00 p.m. on Friday through 12 noon on Saturday without first obtaining a Permit for Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp.
	(2) It shall be unlawful for a holder of a Permit for Weekend Trawling for Live Shrimp to use trawls from 12:01 p.m. on Saturday through 4:59 p.m. on Sunday.
	(3) It shall be unlawful for a permit holder during the timeframe specified in Subparagraph (g)(1) of this Rule to:

	(h)  Pound Net Set Permit: The holder of a Pound Net Set Permit shall follow the Pound Net Set Permit conditions as set forth in 15A NCAC 03J .0505.
	(i)  Scientific or Educational Activity Permit:
	(1) It shall be unlawful for institutions or agencies organizations seeking exemptions from license, rule, proclamation, or statutory requirements to collect, hold, culture, or exhibit for scientific or educational purposes any marine or estuarine spe...
	(2) The Scientific or Educational Activity Permit shall only be issued for collection methods and possession allowances approved by the Division of Marine Fisheries. Division.
	(3) The Scientific or Educational Activity Permit shall only be issued for approved activities conducted by or under the direction of Scientific or Educational institutions educational institutions, nongovernmental conservation organizations, or scien...
	(4) It shall be unlawful for the responsible party issued a Scientific or Educational Activity Permit to fail to submit an annual report on collections and, if authorized, sales to the Division, due on December 1 of each year, unless otherwise specifi...
	(5) It shall be unlawful to sell marine or estuarine species taken under a Scientific or Educational Activity Permit without:
	(6) It shall be unlawful to fail to provide the Division with a list of all designees acting under a Scientific or Educational Activity Permit at the time of application.
	(7) The permittee or designees utilizing the permit shall call or email the Division of Marine Fisheries Communications Center at 800-682-2632 or 252-515-5500 no later than 24 hours prior to use of the permit, specifying activities and location. Calls...

	(j)  Shellfish Lease Restoration Permit:
	(1) It shall be unlawful to transport shellfish cultivated on a shellfish lease or franchise to a restoration site without first obtaining a Shellfish Lease Restoration Permit.
	(2) The Shellfish Lease Restoration Permit shall only be issued for approved activities associated with a shellfish lease or franchise.
	(3) It shall be unlawful to harvest shellfish under a Shellfish Lease Restoration Permit without being recorded on a trip ticket through a certified shellfish dealer as set forth in 15A NCAC 03I .0114.
	(4) It shall be unlawful for the permittee or permit designee to fail to maintain a record of all shellfish transported for restoration purposes and to fail to submit the record annually, unless otherwise specified on the permit.
	(5) The permittee or designees utilizing the permit shall call the Division of Marine Fisheries Communications Center at 800-682-2632 or 252-515-5500 no later than 24 hours prior to use of the permit, specifying activities, location, and product size.

	(k)  Shellfish Relocation Permit:
	(1) It shall be unlawful, without first obtaining a Shellfish Relocation Permit, to relocate shellfish from an area designated by the Fisheries Director as a site where shellfish would otherwise be destroyed due to maintenance dredging, construction, ...
	(2) The Shellfish Relocation Permit shall be issued by the Fisheries Director only as part of a Coastal Area Management Act Permit issued in accordance with G.S. 113A-118 and G.S. 113-229 for development projects based on the status of shellfish resou...

	(j)(l)  Under Dock Oyster Culture Permit:
	(1) It shall be unlawful to cultivate oysters in containers under docks for personal consumption without first obtaining an Under Dock Oyster Culture Permit.
	(2) An Under Dock Oyster Culture Permit shall be issued only in accordance with provisions set forth in G.S. 113-210(c).
	(3) The applicant shall complete and submit an examination, with a minimum of 70 percent correct answers, based on an educational package provided by the Division of Marine Fisheries pursuant to G.S. 113-210(j), demonstrating the applicant's knowledge...
	(4) Action by an Under Dock Oyster Culture Permit holder to encroach on or usurp the legal rights of the public to access public trust resources in Coastal Fishing Waters shall result in permit revocation.




	Title 21 - Occupational Licensing Boards and Commissions
	Chapter 16 - Dental Examiners
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Dental Examiners intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 16Q .0105, and amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 16Q .0301.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  www.ncdentalboard.org
	Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025
	Reason for Proposed Action:  21 NCAC 16Q .0105 is proposed for adoption to require a sedation refresher course for all IV-level sedation permit holders covering certain critical patient safety areas.
	21 NCAC 16Q .0301 is proposed for amendment to make clear the standards for courses that would qualify an applicant to apply for a moderate conscious sedation permit and to also clarify conduct that is prohibited for the moderate conscious sedation pe...
	Comment period ends:  September 30, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required
	SUBCHAPTER 16Q - GENERAL ANESTHESIA AND SEDATION
	SECTION .0100 – GENERAL
	(a)  All general anesthesia permit holders, moderate conscious sedation permit holders, moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit holders, and all auxiliaries dedicated to patient monitoring for these sedation procedures, shall complete a Board-app...
	(1) patient assessment and selection;
	(2) appropriate medications and dosages;
	(3) different levels of sedation and anesthesia, including inducement, recognition, and reversal;
	(4) proper patient monitoring;
	(5) effective airway management; and
	(6) recognizing, diagnosing, and effectively managing medical emergencies.

	(b)  The update course shall incorporate a demonstration of sedating a patient or a simulation that includes induction of deep sedation, recognition of deep sedation, and reversal of deep sedation. If this demonstration involves a live patient, it sha...
	(c)  The update course may apply toward fulfillment of the continuing education requirements for permit renewal.
	(d)  The requirements of this Rule shall take effect on January 1, 2027.

	SECTION .0300 - MODERATE CONSCIOUS SEDATION
	(a)  Before a dentist licensed to practice in North Carolina may administer or supervise a CRNA employed to administer administer, or RN employed to deliver deliver, moderate conscious sedation, the dentist shall obtain a permit from the Board by comp...
	(b)  The permit holder shall provide supervision to any CRNA employed to administer administer, or RN employed to deliver deliver, sedation, and shall ensure that the level of the sedation does not exceed the level of the sedation allowed by the permi...
	(c)  A dentist applying for a permit to administer moderate conscious sedation shall document provide the following: documentation of the following:
	(1) Training that may consist of either:
	(2) Unexpired ACLS certification; and
	(3) That all All auxiliaries involved in sedation procedures that have unexpired BLS certification.

	(d)  All applicants for a moderate conscious sedation permit shall be in good standing with the Board.
	(e)  Prior to issuance of a moderate conscious sedation permit, the applicant shall pass an evaluation and a facility inspection. The applicant shall be responsible for passing the evaluation and inspection of his or her facility.
	(f)  A dentist who holds a moderate conscious sedation permit shall not intentionally administer deep sedation. sedation, or administer deep sedation or reversal agents on a repeated basis.
	(g)  A moderate conscious sedation permit holder may provide moderate conscious sedation at the office of another licensed dentist, regardless of the permit, if any held, by the hosting dentist. The permit holder shall ensure that the facility where t...



	Title 26 – Office of Administrative Hearings
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Office of Administrative Hearings intends to adopt the rules cited as 26 NCAC 03 .0601-.0622.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.oah.nc.gov/hearings-division
	Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2025
	Reason for Proposed Action:  OAH seeks to adopt Section .0600 to govern the process of special education complaints arising under the federal Individual with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) (codified at 20 U.S.C. 1400, et seq.), its supporting regul...
	This is a reposting of rules that were originally published in Volume 40, Issue 02 on July 15, 2025.
	Comment period ends:  September 30, 2025
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit a written objection to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives wri...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 03 - Hearings Division
	SECTION .0600 – Special EDUCATION COMPLAINT PROCESS
	(a)  Applicability to Special Education Complaints. This Subchapter applies to special education Complaints filed in the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) pursuant to the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act of 2004 (I...
	(b)  Waiver of Rules. The presiding administrative law judge (ALJ) may waive the rules of this Section to promote the interests of justice or judicial economy. All waiver requests shall be by motion. In determining whether to grant a waiver, the presi...
	(1) the necessity of the waiver;
	(2) the party's responsibility for the conditions creating the need for the waiver;
	(3) the party's prior requests for a waiver;
	(4) the precedential value of such a waiver;
	(5) notice to and opposition by the opposing parties; and
	(6) the potential harm to the party if the waiver is not granted.

	(c)  The provisions of 34 CFR Part 300 are hereby incorporated by reference, including all subsequent amendments and editions. 34 CFR Part 300 is available online at no cost at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-34/subtitle-B/chapter-III/part-300.
	As used in this Section, the following terms have the meanings indicated:
	(a)  Initiating the Complaint Process. To begin the Complaint process, the Petitioner shall file the Complaint with OAH in accordance with Rule .0101(b) of this Chapter.
	(b)  Service of Complaint:
	(1) Service to Opposing Party. Petitioner shall serve the opposing party with a copy of the Complaint. If the Respondent is a Public School Unit (PSU) or State Education Agency (SEA), Petitioner shall serve either the superintendent or the exceptional...
	(2) Service to the Due Process Hearing Coordinator. Petitioner shall serve a copy of the Complaint and all subsequent filings on the DPI's Due Process Hearing Coordinator;
	(3) Certificate of Service. Petitioner shall simultaneously file a Certificate of Service as evidence that the Complaint has been served on both the opposing party and the Due Process Hearing Coordinator.

	(c)  Service by Electronic Mail. The three-day period for service under G.S. 1A-1, Rule 6(e) does not apply to service by e-filing or electronic mail.
	(d)  No Additional Mailing Requirement for E-Filers. E-filers are not required to send an additional copy of the document to OAH, as specified in Rule .0101(b) of this Chapter.
	(e)  Certificate of Service Required. All subsequent documents, notices, and orders filed in the case shall include a Certificate of Service, confirming service to both the parties and the Due Process Hearing Coordinator.
	(f)  Form Requirements. All documents filed with the Office of Administrative Hearings shall comply with the form requirements outlined in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 10, and, if filed electronically, with the requirements in Section .0500 of this Chapter.
	(a)  Complaint Contents. A Regular FAPE Complaint and an Expedited FAPE Complaint shall comply with 34 CFR 300.508(b) and the rules of this Section. A Petitioner may, but is not required to use, the model Complaint forms developed by the State Board o...
	(1) A clear delineation of the contested issue or issues, separate from general background information.
	(2) If applicable, the names and last known contact information of any person who may be subject to joinder as a party under G.S. 1A-1, Rule 19, including noncustodial parents and any individual or entity with educational decision-making authority for...

	(b)  Non-Parent Filing on Behalf of a Student. When a non-parent files and serves a Complaint on behalf of a student, the Petitioner shall include a court order from the General Court of Justice or another signed and notarized document from the child'...
	(c)  Parent Filing on Behalf of an Adult Student. When a parent files and serves a Complaint on behalf of an adult student, the parent shall include proof of guardianship, power of attorney, or another written document granting him or her legal author...
	In a Regular FAPE Complaint, the Petitioner, the Respondent, and OAH shall adhere to the following procedures after the Complaint is filed:
	The Expedited FAPE Complaint process follows the same procedures contained in Rule .0605 of this Section, except as stated below. The Petitioner, the Respondent, and OAH shall adhere to the following procedures with respect to an Expedited FAPE Compla...
	(a)  Bifurcation of Regular FAPE Complaint and Expedited FAPE Complaint Issues. An administrative law judge, either on his or her own motion or upon the motion of a party, shall bifurcate the issues related to a Regular FAPE Complaint and an Expedited...
	(1) Issues related to the Expedited FAPE Compliant shall be adjudicated following the expedited resolution and hearing process as described in Rule .0606.
	(2) Issues related to the Regular FAPE Complaint shall be adjudicated following the regular resolution and hearing process in Rule .0605.

	(b)  Bifurcation of Other Issues in a Regular FAPE Complaint. A party may request bifurcation of other issues in a Regular FAPE Complaint either by mutual agreement, stipulation, or by filing a Motion to Bifurcate with OAH.
	(c)  If either party files a motion to bifurcate, the opposing party shall have five business days from the service of the motion to file a response.
	(a)  Consent and Approval for Consolidation. With the consent of all parties and the approval of the Chief administrative law judge, multiple Regular FAPE Complaints shall be consolidated in accordance with Rule .0111 of this Chapter. However, consoli...
	(b)  Scheduling After Consolidation. After consolidation, the parties shall confer with the presiding administrative law judge regarding the scheduling of the evidentiary hearing and adjustment of applicable timelines. A revised Consent Scheduling Ord...
	(a)  Response Deadline. The opposing party shall file a Response to Complaint within 10 days of service of a Regular FAPE Complaint, unless the opposing party has previously provided Petitioner with a Prior Written Notice regarding the allegations.
	(b)  Extension of Response Deadline An administrative law judge may grant a motion for an extension of time to extend the response deadline for good cause or by mutual consent. In either case, the response deadline for a Regular FAPE Complaint shall i...
	(c)  Response to Expedited FAPE Complaint. No response is required to an Expedited FAPE Complaint.
	(d)  Impact on Notice of Insufficiency. An extension of the response deadline shall not affect the deadline for the filing of a Notice of Insufficiency.
	(a)  Motion Requirements. In addition to the requirements of Rule .0115 of this Chapter, any request for the administrative law judge to enter an order or act on behalf of any party shall be made in writing, through a motion filed in the record. With ...
	(b)  Motion Content. A motion shall clearly state the reasons for the desired action and specify whether a hearing on the motion is being requested. A motion shall be decided without oral argument, unless a hearing is requested by either party. The ad...
	(c)  Pre-filing Communication. Before filing a motion, the moving party shall inform the opposing party about the basis of the motion. The parties shall attempt to resolve the need for the motion. If the parties are unable to reach resolution, the mov...
	(d)  Response to Motion. Regardless of whether the administrative law judge requests a response to the motion, a response may be filed within 10 days of service. Replies to responses and sur-replies shall not be filed without prior approval from the a...
	(e)  Supporting Documentation. Upon filing, the motion and response shall include all supporting documentation, legal memoranda, and a proposed order.
	(a)  Within the applicable timelines during the Resolution Period and Hearing Period for a Regular or Expedited FAPE Complaint, the parties may choose to participate in the following options:
	(1) a Resolution Session,
	(2) DPI Mediation, and
	(3) if DPI Mediation is unsuccessful, a Settlement Conference

	(b)  Waiver of Resolution Session for DPI Mediation. If the parties agree to waive the Resolution Session in accordance with 34 CFR 300.506 and G.S. 115C-109.4 and participate in DPI Mediation, the Respondent shall file a Resolution Form noticing this...
	(c)  Request for DPI Mediation. If the parties agree to continue settlement negotiations after a Resolution Session or waive the Resolution Session to participate in DPI Mediation, they shall request the appointment of a DPI mediator through DPI's Due...
	(d)  Notice of Mediation Date. Within 10 days of requesting the appointment of a DPI mediator, the parties shall file with OAH a Notice of Mediation Date or a Status Report if the mediation date has not yet been scheduled
	(e)  Status Report After Resolution Session or DPI Mediation. Within three days of the completion of a Resolution Session or DPI Mediation, the parties shall file with OAH a Status Report detailing the results.
	(f)  Request for Settlement Conference. After DPI Mediation has been attempted, the parties may file a joint motion requesting the appointment of an administrative law judge to hold a Settlement Conference pursuant to Rule .0107 of this Chapter.
	(g)  Report of Settlement Conference. Within three days of the completion of a Settlement Conference, the settlement administrative law judge shall file a Report of Settlement Conference.
	(h)  Enforceability of Written Agreements. A party may seek enforcement, through OAH, of a written agreement resulting from a resolution meeting, DPI Mediation, or Settlement Conference. This mechanism is not mandatory and cannot delay or deny a party...
	(a)  No Extension in Expedited FAPE Complaints. No extension of the Resolution Period in an Expedited FAPE Complaint shall be allowed.
	(b)  Joint Motion for 30-Day Extension. Before the Resolution Period expires, the parties may jointly file a motion for a 30-day extension of the Resolution Period for a Regular FAPE Complaint. The administrative law judge shall grant further extensio...
	(1) Finalization of a settlement agreement.
	(2) School board approval of a settlement agreement.
	(3) Additional time to obtain all necessary signatures.

	(c)  Impact of DPI Mediation or Settlement Conference on Resolution Period. The use of DPI Mediation or a Settlement Conference shall not affect the 30-day Resolution Period unless the administrative law judge grants a joint motion to extend the Resol...
	(d)  Motion to Continue Hearing and Extension of Resolution Periods. If the parties jointly move for a continuance of the hearing deadline before the Resolution Period expires for settlement purposes, the motion shall be treated as a motion to extend ...
	(e)  Extension Order Requirements. If an extension of the Resolution Period is granted, the administrative law judge shall specify:
	(1) the specific time period for the extension,
	(2) the end date of the Resolution Period,
	(3) the start date of the 45-day Hearing Period, and
	(4) the deadline for issuance of the Final Decision.

	(a)  Expedited FAPE Complaints. No continuance of the hearing deadline shall be allowed for an Expedited FAPE Complaint.
	(b)  Motion for Continuance. After the Resolution Period ends and during the 45-day Hearing Period, either party may file a motion for a continuance of the hearing for good cause. However, the administrative law judge shall grant a further continuance...
	(c)  Motion Requirements. A motion to continue the Hearing Period shall include a Proposed Consent Scheduling Order, which sets deadlines for the following:
	(1) Expert witness designations.
	(2) Dispositive motions.
	(3) Prehearing Conference.
	(4) Court Reporter Contract.
	(5) Five-day evaluation disclosure and five-day evidence exchange.
	(6) Filing of admitted exhibits.
	(7) Proposed Final Decisions.
	(8) Final Decision issuance.

	(d)  Mediation or Settlement Conference Continuances. If continuance is requested and granted due to DPI Mediation or a Settlement Conference, the parties shall file the notices and Status Reports as required by Rules .0611 and .0612 of this Section.
	(a)  Allowable Amendments. Amendment of a Complaint shall only be allowed as prescribed by 20 U.S.C. 1415(c)(2)(E) and 34 CFR 300.508(d)(3).
	(b)  Motion for Leave to Amend. The administrative law judge shall decide a motion for leave to amend a Complaint without response unless, within three business days of receipt of the motion, the Respondent files a response or files notice that it int...
	(c)  Effect of Amendment on Pending Motions and Notices. Once an amended Complaint is filed, all pending motions and notices shall be considered moot.
	(d)  Resetting of Timelines. The filing of an amended Complaint shall reset the timelines for the Resolution Period and Hearing Period, and the administrative law judge shall issue an Amended Scheduling Order.
	(a)  Except as provided below, the Prehearing Conference shall be governed by Rule .0108 of this Chapter, and by Rule 7 of the North Carolina General Rules of Practice for the Superior and District Courts.
	(b)  Purpose and Requirements. A Prehearing Conference shall be held at least once before the evidentiary hearing to:
	(1) finalize the issues to be litigated;
	(2) establish the length of the hearing and the number of witnesses;
	(3) determine time limitations for each party's case;
	(4) discuss remaining matters not previously resolved; and
	(5) draft the Prehearing Conference Order.

	(c)  Timing of the Prehearing Conference.
	(1) The Prehearing Conference shall be held within two weeks prior to a Regular FAPE Complaint hearing;
	(2) The Prehearing Conference shall be held five business days prior to an Expedited FAPE Complaint hearing.

	Regardless of whether the parent or the PSU is the Petitioner or the Respondent, the following governs the exchange of education records, disclosures and evidence:
	If the parent cannot obtain these records within the timelines specified in this Item, he or she shall provide them at least 48 hours before the Resolution Session or DPI Mediation, if resolution is waived.
	Beyond the mandatory disclosures required in Rule .0617 of this Section, formal discovery is available under the following conditions:
	(a)  Petitioner's Court Reporter Contract. At least five business days before the hearing, the Petitioner shall contract with a court reporter and file the OAH Court Reporter Contract for a special education hearing.
	(b)  Court Reporter Fees and Transcript Costs. DPI shall pay the court reporter's appearance fee, expenses, and the costs for the Petitioner's and OAH's non-expedited transcripts.
	(c)  Transcript Requests and Delivery. Transcript requests shall be made before the hearing adjourns. The court reporter shall provide the transcripts to the parties and submit the original transcript to OAH within 15 business days following the last ...
	Each Proposed Final Decision shall contain citations to exhibits and transcripts that support factual allegations. Citations shall refer to the specific bate-stamped page numbers in the exhibits and the volume, page, and line numbers of the transcripts.
	(a)  Issuance Deadline. OAH shall issue the Final Decision separately to the parties or their attorneys on or before the deadline established in the final scheduling order, unless an extension is granted upon joint request of the parties.
	(b)  Appeal Information. The Final Decision shall include information on the judicial review process and advise the party seeking judicial review to file a copy of the Petition for Judicial Review in Superior Court or a copy of the Federal Complaint i...
	(c)  Redacted Version. Within 14 days of the issuance of the Final Decision, each party may file a redacted version of the Final Decision, indicating proposed redactions.
	(d)  Redacted Final Decision Filing. Within 30 days of the issuance of the Final Decision, a Redacted Final Decision shall be filed and published on the OAH website. The Redacted Final Decision shall conform to 34 CFR 300.32 and 34 CFR 99.3.
	(a)  Civil Action. Any party aggrieved by the Final Decision may bring a civil action in any State court of competent jurisdiction or federal district court of the United States.
	(b)  Filing in State Court. After filing a civil action in a State reviewing court, the aggrieved party shall file a copy of the petition for review with OAH within 10 days of initiating the review. The Clerk's Office shall forward the record of the a...
	(c)  Filing in Federal District Court. After filing a civil action in federal district court, the aggrieved party shall file a copy of the federal district court complaint with OAH. Within the timeframe specified by the federal court, the parties are ...


	TITLE 15A – Department of Environmental Quality
	Rule-making Agency:  Wildlife Resources Commission
	Rule Citation:  15A NCAC 10C .0325
	Effective Date:  July 7, 2025
	Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  June 26, 2025
	Reason for Action:  The N.C. Marine Fisheries Commission adopted the Spotted Seatrout Fishery Management Plan Amendment 1 at their March 2025 meeting. To be consistent with the Spotted Seatrout Fishery Management Plan, a slot limit for Spotted Seatrou...

	Chapter 10 - Wildlife Resources and Water Safety
	SUBCHAPTER 10C - INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS
	SECTION .0300 – GAME FISH IN INLAND FISHING WATERS
	(a)  The daily creel limit for sea trout (spotted or speckled) is four three fish.
	(b)  The minimum size limit is 14 inches. inches, but no fish between 20 and 26 inches in length may be possessed and only one sea trout greater than 26 inches may be possessed.
	(c)  There is no closed season.
	Rule-making Agency:  Wildlife Resources Commission
	Rule Citation:  15A NCAC 10D .0260
	Effective Date:  July 7, 2025
	Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  June 26, 2025
	Reason for Action:  The Lutz Tract portion of the game land is heavily used and overcrowded in the summer months with people camping and gathering. This use results in litter and human waste that creates environmental hazards and habitat degradation. ...
	The US Forest Service is closing the southern section of the Wilson Creek corridor, and NCDOT is beginning construction on the access road which will exacerbate issues on the game land. The portion of Wilson Creek on the Lutz Tract is designated as De...



	Chapter 10 - Wildlife Resources and Water Safety
	SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS
	SECTION .0200 - USE OF GAME LANDS
	Pisgah game land Game Land is a Seven Days per Week Area, in which the following applies:
	The terms and phrases used in this Chapter are defined as follows:
	(a)  Developmental Day services shall be available for preschool children for a minimum of 8 hours per day, 5 days per week, Monday through Friday, and 12 months per year except in the following circumstances:
	(1) in counties where no Community-Based Developmental Day Center operates, a Developmental Day program operated by the Local Education Agency may provide services for the 10 month school year (as defined by the State Board of Education); or
	(2) if a Community-Based Developmental Day center opens in a county where Developmental Day services are only provided by a Developmental Day program operated by the Local Education Agency, the Developmental Day program operated by the Local Education...

	(b)  For purposes of this Rule, a "Community-Based Developmental Day Center" means a Developmental Day Center not operated by the Local Education Agency.
	(c)  Developmental Day Centers shall maintain a four or five star rated license as set forth in Section .3200 of this Chapter.
	(d)  A child care center with a temporary license may receive certification status if all rules in this Section are met, except for Paragraph (c) of this Rule, and an application for a two to five star rated licensed has been submitted in accordance w...
	(e)  The child care center license shall indicate certification as a Developmental Day Center.
	(f)  The center shall comply with the staff-child ratio and maximum group size as follows:
	MAXIMUM
	AGE  RATIO STAFF/  GROUP SIZE
	CHILDREN
	0-12 Months  1/4   8
	1 to 2 Years  1/5   10
	2 Years and Older 1/6   18
	(g)  A minimum of two staff members shall be on site at all times while children are in attendance at the facility.
	(h)  A child care center may appeal the removal of certification status in accordance with G.S. 110-94; however, an appeal shall not preclude a Local Education Agency from removing contracted children from the program before a final decision on the ap...
	The center shall facilitate family involvement as evidenced by meeting the following requirements. The activities used to meet this requirement may not be used to meet the requirements set forth in Rule .3219 of this Chapter.
	(a)  Programs serving NC Pre-K children shall maintain a four-or five-star rated license in accordance with G.S. 110-90(4) and Section .3200 of this Chapter.
	(b)  NC Pre-K programs that have earned a four-or five-star rated license using the program assessment licensure pathway or the classroom instructional quality licensure pathway in Rules .3203 and .3205 of this Chapter shall have an assessment complet...
	(c)  During the NC Pre-K day, classrooms serving NC Pre-K children shall provide outdoor time, either as part of a small group, whole group, or individual activity, for no less than 45 minutes per day when weather conditions permit as defined in Rule ...
	The classroom shall not exceed a maximum staff-to-child ratio of one to 10 with a maximum class size of 20 children, with at least one teacher and one teacher assistant per classroom. A classroom of 10 children or less is not required to have a teache...
	NC Pre-K programs shall develop a plan for family engagement consisting of strategies designed to develop partnerships with families that promote shared decision-making opportunities. These opportunities shall include:
	Items (1), (2), (4) and (6) of this Rule may be used to meet requirements set forth in Rule .3219 of this Chapter regarding family and community engagement.
	(a)  This Section shall apply to all child care facilities that have met requirements for a one-star rated license and choose to apply for and earn a rated license of two-stars or higher.
	(b)  A child care facility shall be eligible for a rated license of two through five-stars upon application and assessment of compliance with the requirements of this Section.
	(c)  No requirement in any component of a two-star or higher rating shall be less than the requirements for a one-star rating described in G.S. 110-91 and this Chapter. Prior to issuance of an initial two through five-star rating, all requirements in ...
	(d)  Nothing in this Section shall preclude or interfere with the issuance of an administrative action as allowed by G.S. 110, Article 7 and this Chapter.
	(a)  After a licensed child care facility has demonstrated compliance with applicable child care requirements while operating with a temporary license as set forth in Rules .0403 and .1701 of this Chapter, the operator may apply for an initial two thr...
	(b)  The operator shall submit a completed application to the Division for a two through five-star rated license on the form provided by the Division. The substance of the form shall cover requirements established by statute and the rules of this Chap...
	(c)  An operator may select one of three licensure pathways in order to earn a two through five-star rated license. The operator shall meet the requirements set forth in this Section for the star rating desired within the selected licensure pathway. R...
	(1) Program Assessment Pathway as set forth in Rules .3203 and .3204 of this Section;
	(2) Classroom and Instructional Quality Pathway as set forth in Rules .3205 and .3206 of this Section: and
	(3) Accreditation and Head Start Pathway as set forth in Rule .3207 of this Section.

	(d)  A Division representative shall assess a facility requesting a two through five-star rated license to determine if all applicable requirements have been met to achieve the requested star rating. The assessment shall include a review of Division r...
	(e)  Upon completion of the Divisions assessment:
	(1) If the assessment indicates all the applicable requirements to achieve the requested rating have been met, the Division shall issue the rating.
	(2) If the assessment indicates all the applicable requirements to achieve the requested rating have not been met, the Division shall notify the operator of the requirements that were not met and the requested two through five-star rating shall not be...

	(a)  This Rule shall apply to child care centers, including centers located in a residence, that choose to earn a two through five-star rated license using the program assessment licensure pathway.
	(b)  As used in this Rule, "educators" shall mean teachers, group leaders, and administrative staff, including directors, assistant directors, program coordinators, education coordinators, curriculum specialists, and other staff that have responsibili...
	(c)  As used in this Rule, "structured self-study" shall mean the process used to reflect on current teaching practices and educational environments, and identify areas of strength, needs, and action steps required to achieve the standards of the appl...
	(d)  Child care centers shall be evaluated using "Infant/Toddler Environment Rating Scale, Third Edition" (ITERS-3), "Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale, Third Edition" (ECERS-3), and "School-Age Care Environment Rating Scale, Updated Edition" (...
	(1) the program assessment tool is research-based;
	(2) the program assessment tool has demonstrated reliability and validity;
	(3) the program assessment tool has been developed and validated for the intended population;
	(4) the standards being evaluated by the program assessment tool are measurable;
	(5) the program assessment tool is published or otherwise publicly available;
	(6) the program assessment tool assesses and supports early childhood environments in a way that is sensitive and responsive to the needs of all children and families from culturally, linguistically, economically, and ability diverse backgrounds; and
	(7) the program assessment tool and training for its use has a process to reduce bias.

	Upon approval of additional program assessment tools, a child care center may choose which assessment tool they utilize to earn a star rating in this licensure pathway, as long as their choice is applicable to the ages of children served, the type of ...
	(e)  For a child care center to earn a two-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met:
	(1) The child care center shall meet either the enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3208 of this Section or the enhanced space requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this Section.
	(2) At least fifty percent of lead teachers and at least fifty percent of educators shall meet the individual education standards at the two-star level, as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215,

	.3216 and .3218 of this Section, or higher.
	(3) The child care center shall implement family and community engagement foundational practices set forth in Rule .3219 of this Section.
	(4) The child care center shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
	(5) All administrators and lead teachers shall complete a structured self-study.

	(f)  For a child care center to earn a three-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met:
	(1) The child care center shall meet either the enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3208 of this Section or the enhanced space requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this Section.
	(2) At least fifty percent of lead teachers and at least fifty percent of educators shall meet the individual education standards at the three-star level, as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section, or hig...
	(3) The child care center shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule .3219 of this Section for a three-star rated license.
	(4) The child care center shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
	(5) All administrators and lead teachers shall complete a structured self-study.
	(6) The child care center shall request and complete an external program assessment and use the results of the assessment in the continuous quality improvement plan set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.

	(g)  For a child care center to earn a four-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met:
	(1) The child care center shall meet either the enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3208 of this Section or the enhanced space requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this Section.
	(2) At least fifty percent of lead teachers and at least fifty percent of educators shall meet the individual education standards at the four-star level, as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213 .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section, or higher.
	(3) The child care center shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule .3219 of this Section for a four-star rated license.
	(4) The child care center shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
	(5) All administrators and lead teachers shall complete a structured self-study.
	(6) The child care center shall request and complete an external program assessment:
	(7) Child care centers that are licensed to serve four-year-old children shall implement a curriculum as defined in Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter in any classroom serving four-year-old children and older.

	(h)  For a child care center to earn a five-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met:
	(1) The child care center shall meet the enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3208 of this Section. Meeting the enhanced space requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this Section is optional.
	(2) At least fifty percent of all lead teachers and at least fifty percent of educators shall meet the individual education standards at the five-star level, as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section, or ...
	(3) The child care center shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule .3219 of this Section for a five-star rated license.
	(4) The child care center shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
	(5) All administrators and lead teachers shall complete a structured self-study.
	(6) The child care center shall request and complete an external program assessment:
	(7) Child care centers that are licensed to serve four-year-old children shall implement a curriculum as defined in Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter in any classroom serving four-year-old children and older.

	(i)  For any child care center serving pre-school age children, the following shall also apply:
	(1) Each child care center shall comply with the requirements set forth in Rule .0508 of this Chapter for written activity schedules and plans and Rule .0509 of this Chapter for general activity requirements;
	(2) Each child care center shall comply with the requirements for activity areas for preschool-age children as set forth in Rule .0510 of this Chapter, expect that all five of the activity areas listed in G.S. 110-91(12) shall be available each day an...
	(3) The requirements for activities for infants and toddlers set forth in Rule .0511 of this Chapter shall apply for children under three years of age.

	(j)  For child care centers with a licensed capacity of 200 or more, there shall be a second administrator on-site for a minimum of 20 hours per week who shall have the Level I North Carolina Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved e...
	(k)  For child care centers providing school-age care with 200 or more school-aged children enrolled, there shall be two program coordinators on-site, one of whom shall not have concurrent group leader responsibilities. The additional program coordina...
	(l)  The above requirements shall apply to centers located in a residence, as described in Rule .0102 of this Chapter, expect that the following shall apply when determining individual staff education standards;
	(1) If the operator is the only lead teacher, the operator shall meet the individual education standards at the desired star level, as set forth in Rule .3212 of this Section, or higher.
	(2) If additional lead teachers are employed by the operator, at least fifty percent of all lead teachers, including the operator, shall meet the individual education standards at the desired star level, as set forth in Rule .3212, or higher.

	(a)  This Rule shall apply to operators of family child care homes that choose to earn a two through five-star rated license using the program assessment licensure pathway.
	(b)  For purposes of this Rule, "structured self-study" shall mean the process that family child care home operators use to reflect on current teaching practices and educational environments, and identify areas of strength, needs and action steps requ...
	(c)  Family child care homes shall be evaluated using "Family Child Care Environment Rating Scale, Third Edition" (FCCERS-3). Alternatively, the Commission may approve additional program assessment tools that meet the following criteria:
	(1) the program assessment tool is research-based;
	(2) the program assessment tool has demonstrated reliability and validity;
	(3) the program assessment tool has been developed and validated for the intended population;
	(4) the standards being evaluated by the program assessment tool are measurable;
	(5) the program assessment tool is published or otherwise publicly available;
	(6) the program assessment tool assesses and supports early childhood environments in a way that is sensitive and responsive to the needs of all children and families from culturally, linguistically, economically, and ability diverse backgrounds; and
	(7) the program assessment tool and training for its use has a process to reduce bias.

	Upon approval of additional program assessment tools, the operator of a family child care home may choose which assessment tool they utilize to earn a star rating in this licensure pathway, as long as their choice is applicable to the ages of children...
	(d)  For a family child care home to earn a two-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met:
	(1) The operator shall meet education standards at the two-star level set forth in Rule .3217 of this Section or higher.
	(2) The operator shall implement the family and community engagement foundational practices set forth in Rule .3220 of this Section.
	(3) The operator shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
	(4) The operator shall complete a structured self-study.

	(e)  For a family child care home to earn a three-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met:
	(1) The operator shall meet education standards at the three-star level set forth in Rule .3217 of this Section or higher.
	(2) The operator shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule .3220 of this Section for a three-star rated license.
	(3) The operator shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
	(4) The operator shall complete a structured self-study.
	(5) The operator shall request and complete an external program assessment and use the results of the assessment in the continuous quality improvement plan set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.

	(f)  For a family child care home to earn a four-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met:
	(1) The operator shall meet education standards at the four-star level set forth in Rule .3217 of this Section or higher.
	(2) The operator shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule .3220 of this Section for a four-star rated license.
	(3) The operator shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
	(4) The operator shall complete a structured self-study.
	(5) The family child care home operator shall request and complete external program assessment:
	(6) Operators that are licensed to serve four-year-old children shall implement a curriculum as defined in Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter for use with children four years old and older.

	(g)  For a family child care home to earn a five-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met:
	(1) The operator shall meet education standards at the five-star level set forth in Rule .3217 of this Section, or higher.
	(2) The operator shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule .3220 of this Section for a five-star rated license.
	(3) The operator shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
	(4) The operator shall complete a structured self-study.
	(5) The operator shall request and complete an external program assessment:
	(6) Operators that ae licensed to serve four-year-old children shall implement a curriculum as defined in Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter for use with children four years old or older.

	(a)  This Rule shall apply to child care centers that choose to earn two through five star rated license using the classroom and instructional quality licensure pathway.
	(b)  As used in this Rule, "educators" shall mean teachers, group leaders, and administrative staff, including directors, assistant directors, program coordinators, education coordinators, curriculum specialists, and other staff that have responsibili...
	(c)  For a child care center to earn a two-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met:
	(1) The child care center shall meet either the enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3208 of this Section or the enhanced space requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this Section.
	(2) A least fifty percent of lead teachers and at least fifty percent of educators shall meet the individual education standards at the two-star level as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section or higher.
	(3) The child care center shall implement the family and community engagement foundational practices set forth in Rule .3219 of this Section.
	(4) The child care center shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
	(5) The child care center shall implement a curriculum for all ages served that is:
	(6) In curriculum planning, the child care center shall ensure modifications and adaptations are made to involve all children with special health and developmental needs.

	(d)  For a child care center to earn a three-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met:
	(1) The child care center shall meet either the enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3208 of this Section or the enhanced space requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this Section.
	(2) At least fifty percent of the lead teachers and fifty percent of the educators shall meet the individual education standards at the three-star level as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section or higher.
	(3) The child care center shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule .3219 of this Section for a three-star rated license.
	(4) The child care center shall implement continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
	(5) The child care center shall implement a curriculum for all ages served that is:
	(6) In curriculum planning, the child care center shall ensure modifications and adaptations are made to involve all children with special health and developmental needs.
	(7) The child care center shall ensure child observations are conducted for each child enrolled in the facility. Child observations shall include evidence of the child's activities and may include the following:
	(8) The administrator participates in one of the following activities regarding classroom and instructional quality practices:

	(e)  For a child care center to earn a four-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met:
	(1) The child care center shall meet the enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3208 of this Section. The child care center may choose to meet the enhanced space requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this Section.
	(2) At least fifty percent of lead teachers and at least fifty percent of educators shall meet the individual education standards at the four-star level as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section or higher.
	(3) The child care center shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule .3219 of this Section for a four-star license.
	(4) The child care center shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
	(5) The child care center shall implement a curriculum that has been approved by the Commission as defined in Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter for all ages served. A list of curricula that has been approved by the Commission is available at http://ncchi...
	(6) In curriculum planning, the child care center shall ensure modifications and adaptations are made to involve all children with special health and developmental needs.
	(7) The child care center shall conduct on-going formative assessments to gather information about each child's growth and skill development based on individual development and learning needs and maintain evidence of each child's on-going assessment. ...
	(8) The lead teacher shall share the results of the formative assessment with families at least once annually. The manner in which the results are shared shall be convenient for the family such as by telephone, email, virtually, or in-person.
	(9) The administrator shall complete training related to the approved curriculum and formative assessment tool that is used by center staff with children, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1103 of this Chapter. Verification of this train...
	(10) The administrator shall participate in one of the following activities regarding classroom and instructional quality practices:
	(11) All lead teachers shall participate in one of the following activities regarding classroom and instructional quality practices:

	(f)  For a child care center to earn a five-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met:
	(1) The child care center shall meet the reduced, enhanced ratio requirements set forth in Rule .3209 of this Section. The child care center may choose to meet the enhanced space requirements set forth in Rule .3210 of this Section.
	(2) At least fifty percent of lead teachers and at least fifty percent of educators shall meet the individual education standards at the five-star level as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 of this Section, or higher.
	(3) The child care center shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule .3219 of this Section for a five-star rated license.
	(4) The child care center shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
	(5) The child care center shall implement a curriculum that has been approved by the Commission as defined in Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter for all ages served. A list of curricula that has been approved by the Commission is available at https://ncch...
	(6) In curriculum planning, the child care center shall ensure modifications and adaptations are made to involve all children with special health and developmental needs.
	(7) The child care center shall conduct on-going formative assessments to gather information about each child's growth and skill development based on individual development and learning needs and maintain evidence of each child's on-going assessment. ...
	(8) The lead teacher shall share the results of the formative assessment with families at least twice annually. While sharing the results, the lead teacher shall provide an opportunity for families to contribute additional information to the formative...
	(9) The administrator and all lead teachers shall complete training related to the curriculum and formative assessment tool that is used by the center with children, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1103 of this Chapter. Verification of...
	(10) The administrator participates in one of the following activities regarding classroom and instructional quality practices:
	(11) All lead teachers participate in one of the following activities regarding classroom and instructional quality practices:

	(g)  For any child care center serving pre-school age children, the following shall also apply:
	(1) Each child care center shall comply with the requirements set forth in Rule .0508 of this Chapter for written activity schedules and plans and Rule .0509 of this Chapter for general activity requirements;
	(2) Each child care center shall comply with the requirements for activity areas for preschool-age children as set forth in Rule .0510 of this Chapter, except that all five of the activity areas listed in G.S. 110-91(12) shall be available each day an...
	(3) The requirements for activities for infants and toddlers set forth in Rule .0511 of this Chapter shall apply for children under three years of age.

	(h)  For centers with a licensed capacity of two hundred or more, there shall be a second administrator on-site for a minimum of twenty hours per week who shall have the Level I North Carolina Early Childhood Administrator Credential or its approved e...
	(i)  For centers providing school-age care with two hundred or more school-aged children enrolled, there shall be two program coordinators on-site, one of whom shall not have concurrent group leader responsibilities. The additional program coordinator...
	(j)  The above requirements shall apply to centers located in a residence, as describes in Rule .0102 of this Chapter, except that the following shall apply when determining individual staff education standards:
	(1) If the operator is the only lead teacher, the operator shall meet the individual education standards at the desired star level, as set forth in Rule .3212 of this Section, or higher.
	(2) If additional lead teachers are employed by the operator, at least fifty percent of all lead teachers, including the operator, shall meet the individual education standard at the desired star level, as set forth in Rule .3212, or higher.

	(a)  This Rule shall apply to family child care homes that choose to earn two through five-star rated license using the classroom and instructional quality licensure pathway.
	(b)  For a family child care home to earn two-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met:
	(1) The operator shall meet education standards at the two-star level as set forth in Rule .3217 of this Section or higher.
	(2) The operator shall implement the family and community engagement foundational practices set forth in Rule .3220 of this Section for a two-star rated license.
	(3) The operator shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
	(4) The operator shall implement a curriculum for all ages served that is:
	(5) In curriculum planning, the operator shall ensure modifications and adaptations are made to involve all children with special health and developmental needs.

	(c)  For a family child care home to earn a three-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met:
	(1) The operator shall meet education standards at the three-star level as set forth in Rule .3217 of this Section or higher.
	(2) The operator shall implement the family and community engagement standards set for in Rule .3220 of this Section for a three-star rated license.
	(3) The operator shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
	(4) The operator shall implement a curriculum for all ages served that is:
	(5) In curriculum planning the operator shall ensure modifications and adaptations are made to involve all children with special health and developmental needs.
	(6) The operator shall ensure child observations are conducted for each child enrolled in the family child care home. Child observations shall include evidence of the child's activities and may include the following:
	(7) The operator participates in one of the following activities regarding classroom and instructional quality practices:

	(d)  For a family child care home to earn a four-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met:
	(1) The operator shall meet education standards at the four-star level as set forth in Rule .3217 of this Section or higher.
	(2) The operator shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule .3220 of this Section for a four-star rated license.
	(3) The operator shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
	(4) The operator shall implement a curriculum that has been approved by the Commission as defined in Rule .0102(13) of this Chapter for all ages served. A list of curricula that has been approved by the Commission is available at http://ncchildcare.nc...
	(5) In curriculum planning, the operator shall ensure modifications and adaptations are made to involve all children with special health and developmental needs.
	(6) The operator shall conduct on-going formative assessments to gather information about each child's growth and skill development based on individual development and learning needs and maintain evidence of each child's on-going assessment. The opera...
	(7) The operator shall share the results of the formative assessment with families at least once annually. The manner in which the results are shared shall be convenient for the family such as by telephone, email, virtually, or in-person.
	(8) The operator shall complete training related to the curriculum and formative assessment tool that is used by center staff with children, in addition o applicable requirements in Rule .1703(f) of this Chapter. Verification of this training shall be...
	(9) The operator participates in one of the following activities regarding classroom and instructional quality practices:

	(e)  For a family child care home to earn a five-star rated license, the following requirements shall be met:
	(1) If the family child care home is meeting license capacity requirements in G.S. 110-91(7)(b)(1), no more than four children shall be under the age of twenty-four months of the children who are birth to five years of age. This requirement shall not ...
	(2) The operator shall meet the education standards at the five-star level set forth in Rule .3217 of this Section, or higher.
	(3) The operator shall implement the family and community engagement standards set forth in Rule .3220 of this Section for a five-star rated license.
	(4) The operator shall implement the continuous quality improvement standards set forth in Rule .3221 of this Section.
	(5) The operator shall implement a curriculum that has been approved by the Commission as defined in Rule .0102(13) of this Chapter for all ages served. A list of curricula that has been approved by the Commission is available at http://ncchildcare.nc...
	(6) In curriculum planning, the operator shall ensure modifications and adaptations are made to involve all children with special health and developmental needs.
	(7) The operator shall conduct on-going formative assessments to gather information about each child's growth and skill development based on individual development and learning needs and maintain evidence of each child's on-going assessment. The opera...
	(8) The operator shall share the results of the formative assessment with families at least twice annually. While sharing the results, the operator shall provide an opportunity for families to contribute additional information to the formative assessm...
	(9) The operator shall complete training related to the curriculum and formative assessment tool that is used, in addition to applicable requirements in Rule .1703(f) of this Chapter. Verification of this training shall be maintained in the operator's...
	(10) The operator participates in one of the following activities regarding classroom and instructional quality practices:

	(a)  This Rule shall apply to child care facilities that choose to earn a two through five-star rated license using the accreditation and Head Start licensure pathway.
	(b)  As used the Rule, "educators" shall mean teachers, group leaders, and administrative staff, including directors, assistant directors, program coordinators, education coordinators, curriculum specialists, and other staff that have responsibility f...
	(c)  When a child care facility is accredited by one of the following organizations, a three-star license may be issued based on programmatic standards:
	(1) National Association for Family Child Care (NAFCC)
	(2) National Early Childhood Program Accreditation (NECPA)
	(3) American Montessori Society (AMS)
	(4) International Montessori Council (IMC)

	(d)  A child care facility accredited by one of the organizations listed in Paragraph (c) of this Rule may increase its star rating to a four- star rated license, by requesting an evaluation of its education standards and be issued a four-star rated l...
	(1) For child care centers, at least fifty percent of lead teachers and at least fifty percent of educators shall meet the individual education standards at the four-star level, as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 and .3218 ...
	(2) For a family child care home, the operator shall meet education standards at the four-star level, as set forth in Rule .3217 of this Section or higher.

	(e)  A child care facility accredited by one of the organizations listed in Paragraph (c) of this Rule may increase its star rating to a five-star rated license, by requesting an evaluation of its education standards and be issued a five-star rated li...
	(1) For child care centers, at least fifty percent of all lead teachers and at least fifty percent of all other educators shall meet individual education standards at the five-star level, as set forth in Rules .3211, .3212, .3213, .3214, .3215, .3216 ...
	(2) The operator of a family child care home shall meet education standards at the five-star level, as set forth in Rule .3217 of this Section or higher.

	(f)  When a child care facility is accredited by one of the following organizations, a five-star rated license may be issued based on educational and programmatic standards:
	(1) National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
	(2) National Accreditation Commission for Early Care and Education Programs (NAC)
	(3) Cognia, that includes early learning standards
	(4) Cognia, that includes extended learning standards for school age care only programs

	(g)  When a child care facility is designated as Head Start or Early Head Start, a five-star rated license may be issued based on educational and programmatic standards,
	(h)  Verification of accreditation status, Head Start designation or Early Head Start designation shall be maintained at the child care facility at all times and be provided to the Division on request.
	(i)  Accredited, Head Start and Early Head Start facilities shall meet the staff/child ratio requirements of the organization when required to obtain and maintain the accreditation or designation. If a facility may receive an accreditation award or He...
	(j)  Accredited facilities, Head Start facilities and Early Head Start facilities are not required to meet additional programmatic requirements described in this Section when in good standing with accreditation or performance standards. Programmatic r...
	(k)  For any child care center serving pre-school age children, the following shall also apply:
	(1) Each child care center shall comply with the requirements set forth in Rule .0508 of this Chapter for written activity schedules and plans and Rule .0509 of this Chapter for general activity requirements;
	(2) Each child care center shall comply with the requirements for activity areas for preschool-age children as set forth in Rule .0510 of this Chapter, except that all five of the activity areas listed in G.S. 110-91(12) shall be available each day an...
	(3) The requirements for activities for infants and toddlers set forth in Rule .0511 of this Chapter shall apply for children under three years of age.

	(l)  For centers with a licensed capacity of 200 or more, there shall be a second administrator on-site for a minimum of 20 hours per week who shall have the Level I North Carolina Early Childhood Administration Credential or its approved equivalent.
	(m)  For centers providing school-age care with two hundred or more school-age children enrolled, there shall be two program coordinators on-site, one of whom shall not have concurrent group leader responsibilities. The additional program coordinator ...
	(a)  This Rule shall apply to evaluating the staff/child ratios and maximum group sizes for a rated license for child care centers.
	(b)  Enhanced staff/child ratio means that the center shall comply with the following staff/child ratios and maximum group sizes.
	(c)  The provisions of Rule .0713(a) through (e) of this Chapter shall apply in evaluating the staff/child ratios and maximum group sizes within this Rule.
	(d)  Enhanced staff/child ratios shall not apply to facilities who choose to use multi-age group staff child ratios as set forth in Rule .0713(f) of this Chapter.
	(e)  The staff/child ratio applicable to a classroom shall be posted in that classroom in an area that parents are able to view at all times.
	(a)  This Rule shall apply to evaluating the staff/child ratios and maximum group sizes for a rated license for child care centers.
	(b)  Enhanced staff/child ratio means that the center shall comply with the following staff/child ratios and maximum group sizes.
	(c)  The provisions of Rule .0713(a) through (e) of this Chapter shall apply in evaluating the staff/child ratios and maximum group sizes within this Rule.
	(d)  Reduced, enhanced staff/child ratios shall not apply to facilities who choose to use multi-age group staff/child ratios as set forth in Rule .0713(f) of this Chapter.
	(e)  The staff/child ratio applicable to a classroom shall be posted in that classroom in an area that parents are able to view at all times.
	In order for a child care center to meet enhanced space requirements:
	(a)  This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of an on-site administrator, as defined in G.S. 110-86(2a), in a child care center.
	(b)  A child care provider meets the two-star education standard for on-site administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two:

	(c)  A child care provider meets the three-star education standard for on-site administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two:

	(d)  A child care provider meets the four-star education standard for on-site administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two:

	(e)  A child care provider meets the five-star education standard for on-site administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, or Option Three as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two:
	(3) Option Three:

	(f)  Semester hours in early childhood education or child development coursework required to meet the education standards set forth in this Rule shall not include the coursework necessary for the North Carolina Early Childhood Administration Credentia...
	(g)  Completion of school-age experience requirements shall count toward meeting work experience requirements.
	(h)  For centers located in a residence, if an individual has responsibility both for administering the child care program and for planning and implementing the daily activities of a group of children, the educational requirements for lead teacher in ...
	(a)  This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of a lead teacher, as defined by G.S. 110-86(5a), in a child care center.
	(b)  A child care provider meets the two-star education standard for lead teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, or Option Three as follows:
	(1) Option One: Completion of a Child Development Associate (CDA) that is active with no credit for prior learning.
	(2) Option Two: Successful completion of at least three semester hours in early childhood education or child development coursework at an accredited college or university.
	(3) Option Three:

	(c)  A child care provider meets the three-star education standard for lead teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, Option Three, or Option Four as follows:
	(1) Option One: Completion of a Child Development Associate (CDA) that is active with credit for prior learning.
	(2) Option Two: Successful completion of at least nine semester hours in early childhood education or child development coursework at an accredited college or university.
	(3) Option Three:
	(4) Option Four:

	(d)  A child care provider meets the four-star education standard for lead teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, or Option Three as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two: Completion of an Early Childhood Certificate.
	(3) Option Three:

	(e)  A child care provider meets the five-star education standard for lead teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, Option Three, Option Four, or Option Five as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two:
	(3) Option Three:
	(4) Option Four:
	(5) Option Five:

	(f)  Semester hours in early childhood education or child development coursework required to meet the education standards set forth in this Rule shall not include the coursework necessary for the North Carolina Early Childhood Credential.
	(a)  This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of a teacher, defined in Rule .0102(47) of this Chapter, for a child care center.
	(b)  A child care provider meets the two-star education standard for teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
	(1) Option One: Be enrolled in at least three semester hours in early childhood education or child development coursework at an accredited college or university.
	(2) Option Two: Have at least one year of early childhood work experience.

	(c)  A child care provider meets the three-star education standard for teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, Option Three, or Option Four as follows:
	(1) Option One: NC Early Childhood Credential or its approved equivalent.
	(2) Option Two: Successful completion of at least three semester hours in early childhood education or child development coursework at an accredited college or university.
	(3) Option Three: Have at least two years of early childhood work experience.
	(4) Option Four:

	(d)  A child care provider meets the four-star education standard for teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, or Option Three as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two:
	(3) Option Three: Completion of a Child Development Associate (CDA) that is active with no credit for prior learning

	(e)  A child care provider meets the five-star education standard for teachers if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, Option Three, or Option Four as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two:
	(3) Option Three:
	(4) Option Four: Completion of a Child Development Associate (CDA) that is active with credit for prior learning.

	(f)  Semester hours in early childhood education or child development coursework required to meet the standards set forth in this Rule shall not include the coursework necessary for the North Carolina Early Childhood Credential.
	(a)  This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of a program coordinator for a child care center that serves school-age children, as required by Rule .2510(b) of this Chapter.
	(b)  A child care provider meets the two-star education standard for program coordinators if the providers meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
	(1) Option One: Be enrolled in at least three semester hours of school-age care coursework at an accredited college or university.
	(2) Option Two: Have at least three months licensed school-age care experience or have at least six months unlicensed school-age care experience.

	(c)  A child care provider meets the three-star education standard for program coordinators if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two: Have six months licensed school-age care experience or have nine months unlicensed school-age care experience.

	(d)  A child care provider meets the four-star education standard for program coordinators if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, or Option Three as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two: Completion of an AAS degree in early childhood education, child development or school-age related field at an accredited college or university.
	(3) Option Three:

	(e)  A child care provider meets the five-star education standard for program coordinator if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, Option Three, or Option Four as follows:
	(1) Option One: Completion of a bachelor's degree in early childhood, child development, or a school-age related field at an accredited college or university.
	(2) Option Two:
	(3) Option Three:
	(4) Option Four:

	(a)  This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of a group leader for a child care center, as required by Rule .2510(c) of this Chapter.
	(b)  A child care provider meets the two-star education standard for group leaders if the provider successfully completes BSAC training.
	(c)  A child care provider meets the three-star education standard for group leaders if the provider meets, at minimum, the following requirements:
	(1) Successful completion of BSAC training; and
	(2) Annual completion of at least 0.5 continuing education credits related to school-age care, in addition to applicable requirements in Rules .1103 and .2510 of this Chapter; or
	(3) Has at least three months licensed or unlicensed school-age care experience.

	(d)  A child care provider meets the four-star education standard for group leaders if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, or Option Three as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two: Is currently enrolled in at least two semester hours of school-age care coursework at an accredited college or university if BSAC has not yet been completed as set forth in Rule .2510(j) of this Chapter.
	(3) Option Three:

	(e)  A child care provider meets the five-star education standard for group leaders if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two:

	(a)  This Rule and not Rule .3211 of this Section shall apply when evaluating the education of an administrator, as defined by G.S. 110-86(2a), for a child care center that only provides care to school-age children.
	(b)  A child care provider meets the two-star education standard for administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two:

	(c)  A child care provider meets the three-star education standard for administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two:

	(d)  A child care provider meets the four-star education standard for administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two:

	(e)  A child care provider meets the five-star education standard for administrators if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One or Option Two as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two:

	(a)  This Rule shall apply when evaluating the education of a family child care home operator.
	(b)  A child care provider meets the two-star education standard for a family child care home operator if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, Option Three, or Option Four as follows:
	(1) Option One: Completion of a Child Development Associate (CDA) that is active with no credit for prior learning.
	(2) Option Two: Successful completion of at least four semester hours in early childhood education or child development coursework at an accredited college or university.
	(3) Option Three: NC Family Child Care Credential or its approved equivalent.
	(4) Option Four:

	(c)  A child care provider meets the three-star education standard for a family child care home operator if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, or Option Three as follows:
	(1) Option One: Completion of a Child Development Associate (CDA) that is active with credit for prior learning.
	(2) Option Two:
	(3) Option Three:

	(d)  A child care provider meets the four-star education standard for a family child care home operator if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, Option Three, or Option Four as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two:
	(3) Option Three: Completion of an Early Childhood Certificate.
	(4) Option Four:

	(e)  A child care provider meets the five-star education standard for a family child care home operator if the provider meets, at minimum, the requirements set forth in Option One, Option Two, Option Three, Option Four, or Option Five as follows:
	(1) Option One:
	(2) Option Two:
	(3) Option Three:
	(4) Option Four:
	(5) Option Five:

	(f)  Semester hours in early childhood education or child development coursework required to meet the standards set forth in this Rule shall not include the coursework necessary for the North Carolina Family Child Care Credential.
	(a)  This Rule shall apply to operators of a family child care home, lead teachers, and teachers that choose an education standard option in this Section that requires successful completion of a competency evaluation.
	(b)  Successful completion of a competency evaluation means that an individual has demonstrated the knowledge, skills, and abilities set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule.
	(c)  Competency evaluations shall align with the developmental domains described in the North Carolina Foundations for Early Learning and Development and address an individual's knowledge, skills, and abilities to provide developmentally, linguistical...
	(1) supporting children's approaches to learning by providing engaging experiences and interactions that nurture:
	(2) engaging in responsive, respectful interactions with each child and offering guidance that supports children's emotional and social development including:
	(3) providing developmentally appropriate learning opportunities to promote children's health and physical development including:
	(4) facilitating verbal and non-verbal communication through back-and-forth exchanges and use developmentally appropriate, play-based experiences to promote language development and foundational emergent literary skills such as:
	(5) fostering children's cognitive development by providing experiences and interactions that support children's exploration, thinking, and knowledge or the world around them including:

	(d)  An initial competency evaluation shall be completed by individuals approved by the Division to perform the evaluation and shall include:
	(1) One in-person unannounced observation of the family child care home operator, lead teacher or teacher performing the duties of their position. The evaluator shall provide written notification to the individual requesting the competency evaluation ...
	(2) A review of documentation submitted by the family child care home operator, lead teacher or teacher that provides evidence of each applicable competency for their employment position, age range of children served, and education standards as set fo...

	(e)  The evaluator shall document the individual's competency evaluation using a form approved by the Division that includes all applicable competencies and documents how each competency was met or not met.
	(f)  If the evaluator determines that the provider meets the competencies set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the provider will be notified in writing, and the successful completion determination shall be valid for a period of three years.
	(g)  To renew a competency evaluation determination, the provider shall submit updated evidence of each applicable competency for their employment position and education standards as set forth in Paragraph (d)(2) of this Rule at least thirty days prio...
	(h)  If the evaluator determines that the provider does not meet the competencies in Paragraph (c) of this rule, the provider shall be notified in writing and have an opportunity to provide additional information within 30 days regarding the competenc...
	(i)  When an individual does not meet the requirements for successful completion of the competency evaluation, whether or not they submit additional information for a record review, they may resubmit for a competency evaluation six months after the le...
	(j)  Competency evaluation standards and forms may be found on the Division's website at http://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Provider/Provider-Documents-and-Forms.
	(a)  The rule shall apply to child care centers that have earned a two through five-star rated license using the program assessment licensure pathway or the classroom and instructional quality licensure pathway in Rules .3203 and .3205 of this Section...
	(b)  For a child care center to meet family and community engagement standards at the two-star level, the center administrator shall implement the following foundational practices:
	(1) Provide communication from the center to families regarding program activities in a manner that is responsive to the needs of the families served, such as via text, email, and electronic applications, and considering language comprehension.
	(2) Offer an annual family conference with teaching staff for the purpose of providing information to the family about their child. During the conference, families are offered an opportunity to set a goal(s) for their child. Conferences shall be condu...
	(3) Offer annual opportunities for families to share cultural heritage in their child's classroom.
	(4) Offer annual volunteer opportunities for families.
	(5) Communicate with families regarding community resources and services that are available, upon request from the family or when a need is identified by a child's lead teacher.

	(c)  For a child care center to meet family and community engagement standards at the three-star level, the center administrator shall ensure that the child care facility meets the foundational practices as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule plus...
	(d)  For a child care center to meet family and community engagement standards at the four-star level, the center administrator shall ensure that the child care facility meets the foundational practices set forth in Paragraphs (b) of this Rule plus th...
	(e)  For a child care center to meet family and community engagement standards at the five-star level, the center administrator shall ensure that the child care facility meets the foundational practices set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule plus fou...
	(f)  Categories of family and community engagement shall include the following:
	(1) Communications Options:
	(2) Engagement and Leadership Options:
	(3) Educational Opportunity Options:

	(g)  Options set forth in Subparagraphs (f)(1)(C), (f)(2)(B), (f)(2)(C), and (f)(3)(A) of this Rule shall be used to meet requirements set forth in Rule .3010 of this Chapter regarding family engagement for NC Pre-K Programs.
	(a)  This rule shall apply to operators of a family child care home that have earned a two through five-star rated license using the program assessment licensure pathway or the classroom and instructional quality licensure pathway in Rules .3204 and ....
	(b)  For a family child care home to meet family and community engagement standards for a two-star level, the operator shall implement the following foundational practices:
	(1) Have a plan that will encourage family participation that shall be reviewed with the family on or before the child's first day of attendance. A copy of this plan shall be given to the family at the time of review. The plan shall include the follow...
	(2) Provide communication to families regarding family child care home activities in a manner that is responsive to the needs of the families served, such as via text, email, and electronic applications, and considering language comprehension.
	(3) Communicate with families regarding community resources and services that are available, upon request from the family or when a need is identified by the operator.

	(c)  For a family child care home to meet family and community engagement standards at the three-star level, the operator shall ensure implementation of foundational practices set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule plus one additional family and comm...
	(d)  For a family child care home to meet family and community engagement standards at the four-star level, the operator shall ensure implementation of foundational practices set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule plus two additional family and commu...
	(e)  For a family child care home to meet family and community engagement standards at the five-star level, the operator shall ensure implementation of foundational practices set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule plus three additional family and com...
	(f)  Categories of family and community engagement shall include the following:
	(1) Communication Options:
	(2) Engagement and Leadership Options:
	(3) Educational Opportunities Options:

	(a)  This rule shall apply to child care facilities that have earned a two through five star rated license using the program assessment licensure pathway or the classroom and instructional quality licensure pathway in Rules .3203, .3204, .3205 and .32...
	(b)  Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) means a process that individuals and facilities shall use to identify areas of growth and determine a path toward enhanced teaching, learning and practices to achieve better outcomes for children, staff, and p...
	(c)  All administrators and other staff members with caregiving responsibilities on a routine schedule of at least once per week shall complete an individual continuous quality improvement plan. This shall also apply to operators of centers located in...
	(1) Identification of the resources or supports needed by the individual to achieve the established goal(s) of  the professional development plan, including but not limited to, the time estimated to achieve the goal and specific support needed from th...
	(2) Documentation of the individual's efforts toward completion of the established goal(s), changes to the established goal and challenges experienced;
	(3) Development of a new goal during the annual review if established goal is achieved or changed; and
	(4) Documentation from the individual regarding how their progress or completion of a goal has enhanced their knowledge, skills, and abilities.

	(d)  A child care center's administrator shall also complete a continuous quality improvement plan that addresses programmatic goals. The programmatic continuous quality improvement plan shall be updated annually, maintained on file at the center, and...
	(1) Identification of at least one programmatic goal, the timeframe estimated to achieve the goal and the steps that will be taken by the center administrator to complete the goal;
	(2) Documentation of the reason or source of need for each goal, such as sustaining programmatic achievements, feedback received from staff or families, or licensure pathway requirements;
	(3) Identification of resources needed by the center administrator to achieve the programmatic goal, including but not limited to materials, technical assistance, participation of staff, or other items specific to the goal;
	(4) Documentation of supports offered by the program to encourage longevity and retention of staff;
	(5) Documentation of efforts toward completion of the established goal, changes to the established goal and challenges experienced; and
	(6) Development of a new goal during the annual review if established goal is achieved or changed.

	(e)  The operator of a family child care home and any additional caregivers, as set forth in Rule .1729 of this Chapter, shall complete a continuous quality improvement plan that addresses professional goals. The continuous quality improvement plan sh...
	(1) Identification of at least one professional goal, the timeframe estimated to achieve the goal, the resources needed to achieve the goal, and the steps that will be taken by the operator to complete the goal;
	(2) Documentation of the reason or source of need for the goal, such as sustaining programmatic achievements, feedback received from families, or licensure pathway requirements;
	(3) Documentation of efforts toward completion of the established goal, changes to the established goal and challenges experienced;
	(4) Development of a new goal during the annual review if the established goal is achieved or changed; and
	(5) Documentation from the operator regarding how progress toward or completion of a goal has enhanced their knowledge, skills, and abilities.

	(f)  Sample continuous quality improvement plan templates may be found on the Division's website at https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Provider/Provider-Documents-and-Forms. Another form may be used other than the sample template provided by the Division ...
	(a)  A representative of the Division may make announced or unannounced visits to facilities to assess on-going compliance with requirements of a star rating after it has been issued. When the division representative documents violations with the stan...
	(1) advise the operator to submit written verification that the violation has been corrected;
	(2) return to the facility for an unannounced visit at a later date to determine if compliance has been achieved;
	(3) require a program assessment be conducted pursuant to Rule .3203 or .3204 of this Section, if applicable to the licensure pathway;
	(4) request verification of accreditation award status from the accrediting organization, if applicable to the licensure pathway;
	(5) request verification of Head Start designation from grantee, if applicable to the licensure pathway;
	(6) require a complete assessment of requirements of the star rating issued to the facility;
	(7) require that the star rating be reduced; or
	(8) recommend administrative action in accordance with G.S. 110, Article 7 of this Chapter.

	(b)  If changes unrelated to employment occur at a facility that result in noncompliance with the standards in this Section for the star rating issued, the operator shall correct the noncompliance within 30 days. If the operator does not correct the n...
	(c)  If employment-related changes occur at a facility that result in noncompliance with or failure to meet the standards in the Section for the star rating issued, the operator shall correct the noncompliance within six months. If the operator does n...
	(d)  Each child care facility licensed under this Section with a two through five-star rated license shall be reassessed by the Division at least once every three years to ensure compliance with pathway requirements.
	(e)  The Division shall provide for one evaluation using an approved program assessment tool referenced in Rules .3202 and .3204 of this Section, free of charge, once every three years when reassessing the ratings of operators that select the program ...
	(f)  Notwithstanding the above, if a facility loses its accreditation or Head Start designation, it shall notify the Division within 30 calendar days from the date of termination and submit an application at that time for a two through five-star rated...
	(g)  Notwithstanding the above, if a facility allows its accreditation or Head Start designation to lapse or expire prior to applying for a two through five- star rated license using an alternate licensure pathway, the license shall be reduced to one-...
	(a)  An operator may request a change in the star rating, including licensure pathway selection, by following the procedures in Rule .3202 of this Section.
	(b)  After an initial four or five-star rating is issued, the Division shall provide one evaluation of program standards using the program assessment tool referenced in Rules .3202 and .3204 of this Section during each three-year period thereafter at ...
	(c)  An operator may appeal the reduction of a star rating as provided in G.S. 110-94.
	(a)  A child care operator may choose to request one or more areas of recognition to accompany the issuance of a two through five-star rated license earned through compliance with any licensure pathway requirement of this Section. Quality initiatives ...
	(b)  The Division shall issue recognition of quality initiatives upon verification of the requirements set forth in this Rule.
	(c)  An Education Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following requirements are met:
	(1) 75 percent of teachers employed by a child care facility have earned an AAS degree or higher in early childhood education, child development or related field.
	(2) 75 percent of lead teachers employed by a child care facility have earned a BA/BS degree or higher in early childhood education, child development, or related field.
	(3) All lead teachers employed by a child care facility have earned an AAS degree or higher in early childhood education, child development or related field.
	(4) The operator of a family child care home has earned a BS/BS degree in early childhood education, child development or related field.
	(5) The operator of a family child care home has earned an AAS degree in early childhood education, child development or related field and is enrolled in a BA/BS degree program in early childhood education or child development.
	(6) 75 percent of teachers employed by a child care facility have an active Child Development Associate (CDA).
	(7) The operator of a child care facility participates in the T.E.A.C.H. program or other education initiative that supports employed staff that want to enroll in or who are enrolled in college coursework.
	(8) 75 percent of lead teachers and educators, as defined in this Section, have an active certification in the NC Early Care and Education Professional Certification Scale at https://www.ncidp.org/documents/EEC_EDE_Scale.pdf.
	(9) The operator of a family child care home has an active certification in the NC Early Care and Education Professional Certification Scale at https://www.ncicdp.org/documents/EEC_ECE_Scale.pdf .

	(d)  A Professional Development Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following requirements is met:
	(1) The operator of a family child care home completes 20 training hours annually, in addition to training hours required for their licensure level as set forth in this Section and in addition to ongoing training requirements set forth in Rule .1703 o...
	(2) The operator of a family child care home is an approved trainer for an established course as set forth in Rule .1703 of this Chapter and provides at least one training course for early childhood professionals in their community annually or when th...
	(3) A center administrator or operator of a family child care home provides evidence of active membership in a professional or community organization.
	(4) A child care facility operator compensates staff members for time spent completing professional development activities.
	(5) A child care facility operator compensates staff members for the cost of professional development activities.
	(6) A child care center operator pays for at least 50 percent of staff members to have an active membership in a professional or community organization and provides evidence of the paid costs and memberships.
	(7) A child care center operator employs at least one staff member who is an approved trainer for an established training course as set forth in Rule .1103 of this Chapter and the approved trainer provides at least one training course for all employee...
	(8) A child care facility allows early childhood education practicum students to complete required activities in their facility when the individuals are not employed by the facility.

	(e)  A Longevity and Experience Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following requirements is met:
	(1) The operator of a family child care home has been in operation for at least five years with a compliance history score of 90 percent or higher.
	(2) The operator of the family child care home has been in operation for at least five years with a four or five-star rated license.
	(3) A center administrator has at least 10 years of child care administrative work experience in a licensed child care facility.
	(4) 75 percent of lead teachers and teachers have at least 10 years of early childhood work experience in a licensed child care facility.
	(5) All lead teachers and teachers have at least five years of early childhood work experience in a licensed child care facility and have been employed by no more than two different child care facilities.
	(6) The child care center has a combined turnover rate of 20 percent or less for the administrator, lead teacher and teacher positions over the last 12 months.
	(7) In stand-alone school age care facilities, 75 percent of group leaders have at least five years of school age care work experience in a licensed or unlicensed school age program and have been employed by no more than two different child care facil...

	(f)  A Staff Supports and Benefits Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following requirements is met:
	(1) A child care facility offers a staff benefits package that includes at least three of the following benefits: paid time off for vacation, sick and/or personal leave, paid family and medical leave, fully or partially paid health insurance, retireme...
	(2) A child care facility offers two hours of paid planning time for lead teachers on a weekly basis, during a time when the lead teacher is not responsible for supervising children.
	(3) A child care facility offers at least two mental health supports such as training offered on-site, paid time off for wellness, mental health coverage as part of health benefits or assistance in obtaining access to other services as requested.
	(4) A child care center pays for costs associated with enrolling in and completing early childhood education or child development coursework.

	(g)  A Program Features Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following requirements is met:
	(1) A child care facility implements an approved curriculum for all age groups served as defined in Rule .0102(11) of this Chapter when not required for licensure level or pathway.
	(2) A child care facility uses a program assessment tool for self-study, self-assessment and continuous quality improvement when not required for licensure level or pathway.
	(3) A child care center earns a 5.0 on every classroom assessed with ERS-3 and SACERS-U.
	(4) A child care facility uses an approved formative assessment tool for all age groups served as defined in Rules .3205 or .3206 of this Section when not required for licensure level or pathway.
	(5) A child care facility implements all family and community engagement practices as set forth in Rules .3219 and .3220 of this Section, rather than only the practices required for licensure level or pathway.
	(6) A child care administrator or operator of a family child care home participates in a coaching or mentoring process as set forth in Rules .3205 and .3206 of this Section when not required for licensure level or pathway.

	(h)  A Health & Wellness Opportunities Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following requirements is met:
	(1) A child care facility provides support to staff members and families regarding challenging behaviors using community, regional or state resources.
	(2) A child care center has a licensed or registered nurse on staff for at least half of the operating hours of the program.
	(3) A child care facility offers oral health education and opportunities such as dental screenings and outreach with community, regional and state resources.
	(4) A child care facility offers supplemental programs or contracts with external vendors to provide opportunities for growth in specialty areas, including but not limited to tumbling, art, bookmobile, sports, dance, music or yoga.
	(5) A child care facility completes REACH Healthy Child Care recognition. Information for this program is Available at https://reach-recognition.org/.
	(6) A child care facility completes Be Active Kids/Go NAPSACC Program. Information for this program is available at https://www.beactivekids.org/.
	(7) A child care facility participates in Farm to Early Education. Information for this program is available at https://cefs.ncsu.edu/food-system-initiatives/nc-farm-to-early-care-and-education/.
	(8) A child care facility engages with a Child Care Health Consultant by participating in one cycle of assessments using the NC Health and Safety Assessment Tool annually.
	(9) A child care facility implements five of six of the following educational opportunities regarding green environment practices:

	(i)  A Language Concentration Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following requirements is met:
	(1) Children enrolled in a child care facility are participating in use of languages other than English on a regular basis.
	(2) A child care facility is a language immersion program.
	(3) A child care facility is a bilingual program.

	(j)  A Culinary Emphasis Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following requirements is met:
	(1) An operator of a family child care home has completed a food handler program training or certification, such as ServSafe.
	(2) A chef or cook position at a child care center has completed culinary classes or has completed food
	handler program training or certification, such as ServSafe.
	(3) A child care facility utilizes farm-to-table practices as part of their food and nutrition program.

	(k)  A Ratio, Group Size, and Enrollment Practices Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following requirements is met:
	(1) A child care center reduces staff to child ratios or group sizes when not required for licensure level or pathway.
	(2) An operator of a family child care home voluntarily reduces enrollment when not required for licensure level or pathway.

	(l)  A Supplemental Environments Recognition may be requested when at least one of the following areas are provided within a child care center or family child care home: gyms, active play area, sensory focused environments, gardens or naturalized outd...
	(m)  A NC Breastfeeding-Friendly Child Care Designation Program Recognition may be requested when this designation is earned by meeting program requirements set forth at https://fs27.formsite.com/nutritionnc/xghrnuq0td/index.html, incorporated by refe...
	(n)  A Military Child Care in Your Neighborhood – PLUS Recognition may be requested by child care facilities participating in the free assistance program for military families after meeting the eligibility requirements set forth at https://www.childca...
	(a)  The Commission shall reassess an accreditation's star-rating equivalency, as set forth in Rule .3207 of this Section, if the standard for earning the accreditation is revised and may increase or decrease the accreditation's star rating equivalenc...
	(b)  The Commission may approve additional accreditations from national early childhood education accreditation organizations and determine their star-rating equivalency upon request by the accrediting organization.
	(c)  Reassessments and assessments described in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule shall be based on educational and programmatic standards of the accrediting organization and how they compare to or exceed the requirements of this Section.
	(a)  The Commission may approve formative assessments to support implementation of classroom and instructional quality licensure requirements set forth in Rules .3205 and .3206 of this Section upon request.
	(b)  The Commission shall approve formative assessments that meet the following criteria:
	(1) the formative assessment aligns with the developmental domains described in the North Carolina Foundations for Early Learning and Development;
	(2) the formative assessment is research based;
	(3) the formative assessment has been developed and validated for the intended population;
	(4) the formative assessment requires collection of information in a variety of ways such as observances of children during daily routines, play and group activities; teacher documentation of children's activities, experiences at work; collaboration w...
	(5) the formative assessment promotes documentation of children's development and progress in a way that is sensitive and responsive to the needs of all children from culturally, linguistically, economically, and ability diverse backgrounds.

	Information regarding approved formative assessments may be found on the Divisions website at https://ncchildcare.ncdhhs.gov/Services/Licensing/Star-Rated-License/Curriculum.
	(a)  The general certification, pursuant to Rule .0404 of this Section, or grandfather certification, as defined in G.S. 17E-7(a), of a detention officer, as defined in Rule .0103(6) of this Subchapter, or a telecommunicator, as defined in Rule .0103(...
	(b)  The employing agency shall verify the applicant's certification status with the Division prior to submission of the application for certification as a lateral transfer.
	(c)  In order for a detention officer or telecommunicator to be certified pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the employing agency shall submit to the Division, along with the Report of Appointment (F-4 or F-4T), the documents required in Rule .04...
	(d)  A justice officer whose certification was suspended pursuant to Rule .0204(b)(1) of this Subchapter is eligible to have the certification reinstated provided that:
	(1) the period of suspension was six months or less;
	(2) the employing agency submits to the Division, along with a Report of Appointment, the documents required in Rule .0408 of this Subchapter except Subparagraphs (1), (2), (3), (4), and (5) of Paragraph (a); and
	(3) the officer has successfully completed the basic training requirements as prescribed in Sections .0500, .0600, or .1300 of this Subchapter.

	(e)  A justice officer for whom a Report of Separation (Form F-5) has been submitted to the Division, and who is re-appointed in the same agency, is eligible for reinstatement provided that:
	(1) the period of separation has been six-months or less; and
	(2) the employing agency submits to the Division, along with a Report of Appointment, the documents required in Rule .0408 of this Subchapter except Subparagraphs (1), (2), (3), (4), and (5) of Paragraph (a).

	(a)  A North Carolina law enforcement officer is eligible to transfer their certification from one law enforcement agency to another law enforcement agency and be certified as a deputy sheriff if the officer:
	(1) has completed basic law enforcement training and holds general or probationary certification from the Commission or the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission; and
	(2) has not had more than a 12-month consecutive break in service immediately preceding the current application.

	(b)  Prior to certification being transferred per this rule, the sheriff's office considering the applicant for employment as a deputy sheriff shall complete the following tasks and submit a Lateral Report of Appointment, Form F-4A, to the Division re...
	(1) obtained and forwarded the applicant's fingerprints to the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation, in compliance with the requirements set forth in Rule .0303 of this Subchapter, reviewed the results of the criminal history record check prov...
	(2) completed the AOC-CR-280 Law Enforcement Application for Verification of Expunction form and provided the results to the Division;
	(3) submitted to the Division a certified copy of the applicant's oath of office;
	(4) obtained a signed and notarized Authorization for Release of Information from the applicant, pursuant to Rule .0305 of this Subchapter, forwarded the Authorization for Release of Information to the Division, and reviewed the following documents of...
	(5) verified that the applicant:

	(c)  Form F-4A, Lateral Report of Appointment, is completed by the employing agency in which the agency verifies that is has completed the items required in Paragraph (b) of this rule.
	This Rule shall be used by Division staff in evaluating an applicant's training and experience to determine eligibility for a waiver of training as set forth in Rule .0504(a) of this Section.
	The purpose of these Rules is to set forth the processes and procedures for implementation of the Department's express review program to provide expedited permit and certification reviews for certain new or modified permits, plans, or certifications.
	For purposes of this Subchapter,
	The rules in this Subchapter apply to the submission and review of Requests for Express Review of Applications for the following permits, plans, or certifications:
	In addition to the information required in Rules .0202 and .0302 of this Subchapter, a Request for Express Review shall be submitted on a form including:
	The Department shall grant Requests for Express Review that are determined to be complete and eligible, in accordance with Rules .0104, .0201, .0202, .0301 and .0302 of this Subchapter. The Department shall not grant a Request for Express Review if it...
	The processing of Requests for Express Review shall be performed as follows:
	The following PCSW Permit Applications shall be ineligible for express review:
	Applications shall include:
	The review of a PCSW Permit Application shall proceed as follows:
	The following Erosion and Sedimentation Control Plan Applications shall be ineligible for express review:
	Applications for ESC Plan reviews shall include:
	The review of an ESC Plan Application shall proceed as follows:
	(a)  "Department" means the North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality in Raleigh, North Carolina.
	(b)  "Explorations" means geological, geophysical, and other surveys and investigations, including seismic methods for the discovery and location of oil, gas, or other mineral prospects.
	(c)  "Party chief" means the leader of the on-site crew conducting the exploration work for a company that is permitted to conduct such work under this Subchapter.
	(d)  "Secretary" means Secretary of the Department of Environmental Quality.
	(e)  "Seismic agent" means a North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality representative who shall be responsible for observing and monitoring compliance with the rules and regulations of the Department and the issued permit for geophysical oper...
	(f)  "Seismic explorations" means any geophysical exploration method involving the use of explosives and shall include the seismic vibrator method.
	(g)  "Seismic vibrator method" means a vibrator device used as an energy source to generate a controlled acoustic wave train.
	(h)  "Shooting component" means one explosive charge.
	(i)  "Shot" means the use and detonation of Trinitrotoluene (TNT), powder, dynamite, nitroglycerin, each use of the seismic vibrator method, or other explosives.
	Reports and correspondence by all parties in connection with this Subchapter shall be addressed to "North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality, 1612 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, N.C. 27699-1612" unless parties subject to this Subchapter shall...
	The Secretary of the Department of Environmental Quality with the advice of the Director of the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission and representatives of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, shall designate the extent of how much exploration work may b...
	A permit from the Department is required for all seismic exploration work in the area to which this Subchapter is applicable. No such seismic work shall be started without a permit and all such work shall be carried out in compliance with all applicab...
	Application for permits for geophysical exploration work shall be filed electronically or in paper form with the Department at least 30 business days before issuance of permits and shall be accompanied by a detailed map showing the exact area in which...
	Permits are limited to a period of six months from the date of issuance, but may be renewed for not more than two additional 90-day periods at the discretion of the Department. The Department will consider factors including compliance with the origina...
	A seismic exploration shall not be conducted outside of the permitted area.
	Each seismic exploration crew working under a permit issued pursuant to this Subchapter shall always be accompanied by a seismic agent, unless a written exception has been granted by the Department. If a geophysical company employs more than one shoot...
	The permittee shall file a daily report on exploration work with the Department at the end of each working day. A separate report shall be made and filed with the Department for each working day whether or not data acquisition is in progress. The Depa...
	Permittees shall notify the Department electronically with verifying receipt at least two weeks in advance of the beginning of work, and shall give notice of interruption, and of cessation of work in any area.
	Explosive charges in excess of 50 pounds of Trinitrotoluene (TNT) or its equivalent shall not be used except pursuant to written authorization from the Department. Requests shall be submitted with the permit application to the Department. Requests to ...
	The placing of explosive charges on the bottoms of the water at any area covered by a permit issued pursuant to this Subchapter is prohibited. No such charges should be detonated that are less than five feet to the bottom. No undetonated charges shall...
	All pipe used in geophysical operations shall be removed by the permittee using such pipe to at least six feet below the bottom of the water body and in charted navigable channels, eight feet below charted dredge depth before leaving the location wher...
	All permittees using pipe shall have stamped at each end of each joint the name or abbreviation of the name of the permittee.
	All pipes, buoys, and other markers used in connection with seismic work shall be flagged in the daytime and lighted at night according to the navigation rules of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and the U.S. Coast Guard.
	No explosives shall be discharged within 1,000 feet of a boat operating in the water without notice being given to such boat so that it may move from the area.
	(a)  No shot shall be allowed except in daylight hours. Shot is defined in 15A NCAC 05C .0101(i).
	(b)  No shot shall be allowed in heavy fog.
	(c)  The permittee shall stop gas and water spouts caused by drilling or shooting operations of seismic crews as soon as possible, but no later than 24 hours after the spout is first noticed.
	(a)  Minimum required depths of explosive charges detonated in holes below the bottom water within the jurisdiction of this State shall be as follows:
	(1) five pounds or less of trinitrotoluene (TNT) or its equivalent; 20 feet below the bottom,
	(2) up to 20 pounds of TNT or its equivalent;40 feet below the bottom,
	(3) up to 30 pounds of TNT or its equivalent;50 feet below the bottom,
	(4) up to 40 pounds of TNT or its equivalent;60 feet below the bottom,
	(5) up to 50 pounds of TNT or its equivalent;70 feet below the bottom.

	(b)  Irrespective of the minimum depths specified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, all operators shall use responsible precautions per 15A NCAC 05C .0126 to ensure charges have been detonated at sufficient depths to prevent the creation of craters.
	(c)  These minimum required depths shall not apply to trial charges and charges for determining condition of the weathering layer; provided that such charges are not over five pounds and not fired without permission of the seismic agent.
	(a)  When more than one shot is fired in the same hole, the permittee shall measure the minimum required depths of the hole, as defined in 15A NCAC 05C .0120(a), after every shot is fired.
	(b)  All surveying hub stakes used for survey lines shall be stamped with the name of the permittee using the stakes at three-foot intervals.
	(c)  All holes drilled in geophysical operations in land areas shall be filled by the permittee before leaving the location.
	(d)  No explosives shall be discharged within 300 feet of any oyster reef or bed, including any state-owned natural reefs, or within 300 feet of any dock, pier, causeway, or other structure anchored to the seabed without written permission signed by t...
	(e)  Boats, marsh buggies, or other types of marsh vehicles shall be used to cause minimum disturbance to lands, waterbottoms, wildlife, and fisheries thereon.
	The seismic agent has the authority to stop any particular shooting if it will violate the rules in this Subchapter, but does not have the authority to shut down the entire exploration work allowed by the associated permit. If the rules in this Subcha...
	(a)  The party chief shall provide the Department's representative or his or her agent with transportation facilities for inspection of the working area, if required.
	(b)  The party chief is required to notify the Department if the seismic agent is not on the working area. The Department shall arrange relief for the seismic agent, if necessary.
	No seismic agent shall have the authority to release any operator from the obligations imposed by this Subchapter. Permittees may request an exception to these Rules in writing by setting forth reasons for the request. Exceptions may be granted by the...
	All permittees conducting seismic operations shall use precaution in accordance with approved and accepted methods to prevent destruction of, or injury to, fish, oysters, shrimp, and other aquatic life, wildlife, or other natural resources.
	(a)  Wheat straw bales, for the purposes of building and protecting dunes by trapping windblown sand, shall only be installed by a local, state, or federal government or a local homeowners association, as defined in G.S. 47F-1-103(3) that has the auth...
	(b)  Wheat straw bales shall not impede existing public access to the beach, recreational use of the beach, or
	emergency vehicle access. Wheat straw bales shall not be installed in a manner that impedes or restricts established
	common law and statutory rights of public access and use of public trust lands and waters.
	(c)  Wheat straw bales shall not be installed in a manner that impedes, traps, or otherwise endangers sea turtles, sea
	turtle nests, or sea turtle hatchlings. CAMA permit applications for wheat straw bales shall be subject to review by
	the Wildlife Resources Commission and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service in order to determine whether the proposed design or installation will have an adverse impact on sea turtles or other threatened or endangered species.
	(d)  The permittee shall remove any ties or binding from wheat straw bales during installation.
	(e)  Wheat straw bales shall be placed as far landward as possible to avoid interference with sea turtle nesting,
	public access, recreational use of the beach, and emergency vehicle access. Additionally:
	(1) Wheat straw bales shall not be placed on the wet sand beach;
	(2) Wheat straw bale sections shall not exceed 2 feet in width, 3 feet in height as measured from the bottom bale, and 10 feet in length;
	(3) Wheat straw bales installed on or waterward of the crest of the frontal or primary dune shall be installed at an angle no less than 45 degrees to the shoreline. No portion of a wheat straw bale section shall extend more than 10 feet waterward of t...
	(4) Wheat straw bales along public accessways may span the length of the structural accessway and shall be aligned no less than 45 degrees to the shoreline on the waterward end. The waterward location of the sections shall not exceed 10 feet waterward...
	(5) A minimum of seven feet of spacing shall be maintained between any part of the installed wheat straw bales or other dune building materials such as wooden sand fencing.

	(f)  Any non-functioning, damaged, or displaced wheat straw bales or stakes used to anchor the bales shall be repaired or removed by the permittee.



	Chapter 10 - Chiropractic Examiners
	(a)  Initial Licensure. The initial license awarded to an applicant who passed the examination shall be mailed to the address appearing on the application form.
	(b)  Change of Contact Information. The licentiate shall inform the Board of any change in his or her contact information. Updated contact information shall be forwarded to the Board office email at ncboce@ncchiroboard.com within 30 days after any suc...
	(c)  General. The renewal, inactivation, and restoration of a license are governed by G.S. 90-155 and this Rule. A current license that is not renewed shall be placed on inactive status on January 30th of the following year. A licentiate desiring lice...
	(d)  License Renewal Notification and Form. On or before December 1 of each year, the Board shall email to each licentiate, at the licentiate's current email address on file with the Board, license renewal instructions. The license renewal form with i...
	(e)  Continuing Education. As used in G.S. 90-155, one "day" of continuing education shall mean nine hours. Except as provided in Paragraphs (f), (g) and (h) of this Rule, a licentiate seeking license renewal shall obtain 18 hours (2 days) of Board-ap...
	(f)  First-Year Continuing Education Exemptions. A licentiate who was enrolled in chiropractic college at any time during the year of initial licensure or a licentiate initially licensed after September 1st of the current year shall be permitted to re...
	(g)  Hardship Waivers. A licentiate seeking a hardship waiver of the continuing education requirement shall make written application to the Board no later than December 15th of the current year explaining the nature and circumstances of the hardship. ...
	(h)  Military Hardship. A licentiate who is serving in the Armed Forces of the United States and to whom G.S. 93B-15(a) grants an extension of time to pay a renewal fee shall also be granted an identical extension of time to complete the continuing ed...
	(i)  Renewal Fee. A renewal fee in the maximum amount allowed by G.S. 90-155 shall be paid by each licentiate applying for renewal.
	(j)  Restoration of Inactive License. Evidence of Proficiency. In order to provide evidence of proficiency, a former licentiate whose license has been inactive for 180 or fewer days due to non-compliance with G.S. 90-155 shall be re-examined and shall...

	Chapter 29 - Locksmith Licensing Board
	The license issuance fee shall be three hundred dollars ($300.00). The license issuance fee shall accompany the application for licensure. Replacement licenses shall be available upon written request and the fee for issuance of a replacement license s...
	(a)  Applications for license renewal shall be submitted prior to the date of license expiration.
	(b)  Licensees who submit their applications for renewal after the date on which the license expires, but within twelve months, thereafter shall pay a late fee of three hundred dollars ($300.00), in addition to the license renewal fee of three hundred...
	(c)  The Board shall deem applications submitted on the date of their postmark or upon receipt by staff at the Board's offices, whichever is earlier.
	Licenses that have been expired for more than one year are eligible for reinstatement pursuant to Rule .0701 of this Section. A licensee with an expired license may apply for reinstatement only if he or she has completed at least eight contact hours o...
	This Chapter describes the operating procedures for the Large Animal Healthcare Enhancement Advisory Committee and the North Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority implementing the Large Animal Healthcare Enhancement Fund for the enhancement of large...
	In addition to the terms defined in Article 88 of Chapter 106 of the North Carolina General Statutes, the following terms used in this Chapter have the following meanings:
	(a)  Applicants for funding from the fund shall submit a completed application within 60 days from the date of the public announcement of requests for proposals (the "application deadline").
	(b)  Applications and instructions shall be available online at www.ncagr.gov.
	(c)  To be eligible for consideration for funding, applicants shall complete the application, which shall be titled the "Large Animal Healthcare Enhancement Fund Application Form," and which shall contain the following information:
	(1) identifying information such as location, business name, and contact information;
	(2) statement from the applicant that acknowledges and agrees that in the event that the applicant's veterinary license expires, is revoked, or is suspended during the fiscal year in which the grant is awarded, or if the applicant fails to practice at...
	(3) statement from the applicant that the applicant shall have no conflicting service obligation that would prevent the State from benefitting from the applicant's services, with the exception of service in the National Guard or military reserve;
	(4) an essay which describes the applicant's professional ambition and how those professional goals fit with the intent of the fund, which shall be submitted in a format using an eight hundred word maximum, typed in 12-point Times New Roman font, and ...
	(5) three personal or professional references listing the individual's name, telephone number, and email address; and
	(6) certification that the applicant currently practices a minimum of 30% large animal veterinary medicine in at least one designated county.

	(d)  Each completed application shall be evaluated by the advisory committee staff based on the information provided in the application and in accordance with the fund criteria described in this rule and in Article 88 of Chapter 106 of the North Carol...
	(e)  The staff shall review all applications for completeness. If staff deems an application incomplete in that it does not contain information required by statute or these rules, the applicant shall be asked by the authority staff to complete the app...
	(f)  After the staff has reviewed each application for completeness, the advisory committee shall then review the applications prepared by each applicant.
	(g)  All applicants shall meet the following criteria for grant eligibility:
	(1) the applicant must practice veterinary medicine in at least one of the approved counties pursuant to G.S. 106-1077;
	(2) the applicant must be a currently licensed veterinarian in the state of North Carolina; and
	(3) the applicant shall be practicing at least thirty percent cumulatively of their veterinary operation within the field of large animal care.

	(h)  Grants shall be awarded contingent on the availability of sufficient funds to do so. Grants shall be conveyed to grant recipient(s) through contracts with the North Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority. If the advisory committee determines tha...
	(a)  The advisory committee shall approve applications based on the criteria set forth by Article 88 of Chapter 106 of the North Carolina General Statutes. Once approved by the committee, a written agreement shall be executed between the grant recipie...
	(b)  The agreement shall define the North Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority's and grant recipient's responsibilities and obligations, the project period, project scope, and the amount of grant assistance.
	(c)  The approved application and any support documentation submitted by the applicant shall become a part of the grant agreement.
	(d)  The grant agreement may be amended upon mutual consent and approval by the North Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority and the grant recipient(s). The grant recipient(s) shall submit a written request for amendment to the North Carolina Agricul...
	(e)  Grant payments shall be made only for activities within the grant contract period and projects may not begin until the North Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority and grant recipient(s) sign the agreement.
	(f)  The grant agreement shall include a requirement that the grant recipient(s) understands, acknowledges, and agrees that in the event that the grant recipient'(s') veterinary license expires, is revoked, or is suspended during the fiscal year in wh...
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